GALLERY: 2015 Toyota Camry – 2.0G or 2.5 Hybrid?

2015_Toyota_Camry_Malaysia_ 001

Ah, a nice high-res gallery – surely one of the most under-rated joys in life. Today, we apply it to the Malaysian-market 2015 Toyota Camry facelift – we unite the middle-child 2.0G petrol and range-topping 2.5 Hybrid, for your ease of compare and contrast.

Pretty garang new face there, courtesy of the ‘Keen Look Identity’ and ‘Under Priority’ design philosophies. The 2.0G here is wearing the optional Aerokit, making it look a bit more planted than the 2.5 Hybrid, but the latter counters the former’s 215/60 R16 alloys with striking two-tone 215/55 R17 alloys.

The grille inserts are diamond-effect on the Hybrid and slatted on petrol variants, and the Hybrid sports blue Toyota logos – a Toyota hybrid hallmark. Round the back, you’ll find LED combination lamps bridged by a chrome strip, plus a reshaped rear bumper.

The 2.0G sees through self-levelling HID projector headlamps with DRLs; the Hybrid through twin-projector LED headlamps. The latter makes do with one tailpipe when the former has two, and due to the battery pack in the boot, the Hybrid holds 421 litres of cargo compared to the 2.0 litre variants’ 515 litres. For the same reason, the Hybrid doesn’t get the trunk-through feature available on the other two.

One car, two vastly-different hearts. In one corner is a new 6AR-FSE 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with VVT-iW Otto/Atkinson cycles and D-4S direct/port injection, channelling 167 PS and 199 Nm of torque through a six-speed Super ECT auto.

In the other corner sits a 205 PS hybrid system comprising a 160 PS/213 Nm 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine, a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor, an eCVT gearbox and a nickel-metal hydride battery.

Inside, the two cars share a re-designed, blue-backlit Optitron instrument panel with a colour multi-info display, new auto dual-zone climate controls, keyless entry and start, cruise control and eight-way power-adjustable leather seats. The 2.0G pictured here has the optional seven-inch DVD-AVN touch-screen, but the Hybrid has a lot more over the 2.0G.

Hybrid exclusives include wood grain on the top half of its steering wheel, Zebrawood grain trim (as opposed to the 2.0G’s Crotchwood), auto headlamps and wipers, plus a seven-inch touch-screen with navigation, Bluetooth, MirrorLink and reverse camera display.

Eco and EV modes, a 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system, a Panasonic Nanoe air ioniser, Qi wireless charging, a collapsible front passenger headrest, a powered rear sun blind and pull-up rear side windows blinds are also to be had only on the Hybrid.

Finally, safety. The 2.0G has an edge over the 2.0E in that it has VSC, traction control, hill start assist and emergency stop signal, but it also has only two airbags. The Hybrid has all of that along with seven airbags and a Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

For full prices, specs, equipment, options, colours and warranty details of all 2015 Toyota Camry variants in Malaysia – basically everything you need to know – visit CarBase.my. Also, we’ve taken the Camry 2.0G and 2.5 Hybrid for a quick spin – read our drive report here.

Or of course, you can let our man Gregory Sze take you around the car himself:

2015 Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 6:19 pm

This is so simple. Let uncle Sam help you!
    Got budget? 2.5
    No budget? 2.0
    Outstation always? 2.0
    Drive in town always? 2.5
    Seldom drive and keep at home? 2.0

Not to forget, we have alot of cheaper cars too (Altis, Vios, Avanza, Innova and Hailat lor!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 59
    • If i own a Toyota i would want to seldom drive it and keep it at home as well. Mainly because its a complete piece of SH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 20
      • Salambangi on May 12, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Dear potential Camry buyers.
        I just got the Hybrid and I can vouch that it’s the best car I have had.Ive driven and owned almost 15 cars excluding the big American cars while studying in the States, and nothing compares to the Hybrid. It’s so comfortable, refined, economical, fast,reasonably good handling and very quiet albeit slightly expensive.

The only thing that I deslike about the car is its look that is so apeky. So Malaysian uncles if you are looking for a D class segment your search has ended.

Ps; I’ve no experience with kimchis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
        • same loo on May 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Salam bangi

Can u tell us the fuel consumption on urban, extra urban and combined?

Thx

Semoga semua dipermudahkan

• crampycamry on May 12, 2015 at 10:49 pm

The boot is crampy, even City is more spacious
            Next!

• karam singh on May 13, 2015 at 7:24 am

look at the buttons,
            boring…
            Honda, lively
            ECO green button
            BTW steering buttons like the PS controller

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 13, 2015 at 9:56 am

Toyota really cheating customers la. This car in the US, non CKD, with 10 airbags, is sold for US$26k. At this price, Toyota of the US already making untung and profit and taxes already paid to the US Government ie duties and taxes.

UMW being the official country distributor for Malaysia will get this car far cheaper. They will get this car for US$20k or less. Let us assume its US$18k.

18K is about RM65,000. This is Hybrid so it is tax free. Masuk Malaysia, got no tax on this car.

Furthermore, they CKD this car in Malaysia, thus, the cost goes down even further. So, instead of RM65k, maybe it will be RM40k because it is using barang buatan Malaysia (Malaysia boleh!).

So, cost is RM40k. But sell RM180k. UMw sell this car 4.5x the global price to you. See how we Malaysians are cheated.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:23 am

Camry Hybrid general fuel consumption is 20km/l, means RM0.10 per km EVEN you are stuck in traffic jam at KL.

Want space? Get a van better instead of City. Your City is no larger than our Avanza also.

Some idiots likes to compare US price and MY price so much. Then I wanna ask, in Malaysia, what car is cheaper than US? None!!

Why ALL Malaysian cars so expensive? Thanks to your beloved government and its toy Proton.

Don’t blame UMW, blame yourself when you vote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:51 am

I can confirm one thing with you readers, ladies undergarments is cheaper in Malaysia than the US.

It is cheaper for you to buy bra and panties here compared to the states.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:22 pm

When the pervert Proton salesman has nothing to do due to their “awesome” Iriz sales, they come here use my name and bullshit around.

This kind of mentality is not even mature enough to be hired as car washer in our showroom. No wonder they stick with Proton forever, they can’t go nowhere. Good luck!

• Lololol on May 12, 2015 at 8:15 pm

They gave you the rubber mats leh…. thts why its the best….. LOL

• 2014 Camry 2.5 -RM98k on May 13, 2015 at 10:31 am

Wait 1 year before you buy this car. You see, 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5, registered in July 2014, done only 22,000KM and accident free is now going for RM98k.

If non hybrid can fall from RM180k to RM98k in 10 months, just imagine how much the Hybrid will fall. We all know, Hybrid RV falls even faster than normal car.

So, you can presume, you can get this car for RM80k in 1 year’s time.

Be wise. Let the first fool absorb the heavy 1st year depreciation. Always buy 2nd hand Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:30 pm

A lot of smart kids here comment the Camry is for uncles. And in fact, it is uncles’ favorite I admit. Coz uncles knows how to maximize every ringgit they spent.

All boys here will become uncle one day. But not all uncles can afford this Camry hybrid.

Uncles also did stupid car purchase when they were boys, like Hyundai Accent, Kia Forte, Perdana, Waja etc., thus they learn that Toyota still their best choice.

You think you are smarter/richer than Camry uncles??? Think again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Good choice bro! Buying the 2.0 is really sohai, glad you stick with the 2.5 hybrid.

P/s: I don’t like Toyota, but Toyota hybrid is worth to be praised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Goldie on May 12, 2015 at 11:56 pm

I have driven mine for 300km, City driving, 14km to a litre at the moment. Including morning school run with a 15minutes crawl. Personally I don’t think any car at this price range has a ‘more exciting ‘ dash board. The steering is precise with good feedback, better than Accord and Sonata. Only bad point: small boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Lololol on May 13, 2015 at 6:25 am

“more exciting ‘ dash board. The steering is precise with good feedback, better than Accord and Sonata” ….. You sure…? The car drives like a boat and the dash is soo old fashion. Red and blue rocker buttons and black LCD display is like a casio digital watch.

Only good thing is the FC and pick up which is better than alot of other 2.5.

• So pity, u got chance to own a better car but u go to choose rubbish

• This Camry definitely has much better RV and any Kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • This guy is spamming. Why Paul Tan let his comment thru?

• Bob_B78 on May 12, 2015 at 9:57 pm

If Lexus CT200H still selling at RM170k, which would you choose? Posh branding with better economy but cramped space(thumbs up) or bigger size and equally comfortable but slighlty less economical(thumbs down)?

• Lololol on May 13, 2015 at 6:27 am

IF la. Not selling at that price anymore. Its like saying if Mercedes is C Class is priced at 170K which will you choose.

• Bob_B78 on May 13, 2015 at 8:57 am

That’s why I asked ‘If’ Just wanted to know how many would choose branding over practicality.

• Sheikh on May 13, 2015 at 4:18 pm

How much is the battery for the hybrid ?

• kyosho on May 12, 2015 at 6:36 pm

toyota get rid of the ugly old fashion wood panel for hybrid please!

• Gary Chong on May 12, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Sam Loo will be here anytime~

• fullerS on May 12, 2015 at 6:42 pm

What’s the purpose of hybrid if its price cannot justify the fuel saved from the frugal engine?

Better go for other cheaper Dsegment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • comtruce on May 13, 2015 at 2:16 am

Hybrids are smoother and quieter. No jittering and noisy engine rev when driving off from a set of lights. If you want your Camry to feel like a much more expensive luxury cruiser, the hybrid gives it that edge of silent ambience.

You’d understand what I mean if you have ever been driven as a passenger in a Prius. That car is hardly luxurious or well-built, but the silence of cruising in electric mode gives it the feeling of comfort and luxury.

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Toyota needs to fix their naming though…

Under priority
    Crotch wood

Goodness… Can we keep this G rated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • DPCraft on May 12, 2015 at 7:55 pm

say no to both, or just the 2.0. The 2.5 is ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Johnny on May 12, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Jealously luxury..
    like a 5 star hotel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • AhBengUnited on May 12, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Rear looks so Ah Beng… big no to me.. Honda just screwed their Accord facelift for making it looks so close to mangkali City. FORD trying to milk Malaysian for introducing the whopping price tag Mondeo… Mazda 6 still the best looking D segment out there. Korean too are just fine…Accordana anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Lololol on May 13, 2015 at 6:29 am

Even Mazda 6 is trying to milk everyone at the new 10K increase…. and its price is close to Mondeo. Only advantage Mazda has slightly better SC network.

• kelvin on May 12, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Hybrid = ah beng

• old dog on May 12, 2015 at 8:38 pm

still 3 years? and 17xk? I would buy a accord and axia..
    …by end of year when UMW still selling lousy, wont surprise Toyota comes into picture..

• Kenny on May 12, 2015 at 10:26 pm

My God! The wood trim looks so ah beng. Wood trim is nice if done properly and sparingly but this is totally overdone! It looks like cheap verneer.

• Barry on May 12, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Good and interesting review compare to those boring everything is good type of reviewer.( i called them handsomely paid reviewer, no offence ya guys) :-)
    I agree sport rims looks horrible,back light cluster look pretty stone age and dashboard pretty boring.
    Otherwise the car is quite interesting. I went to the showroom thinking of getting one but were put off with the above mention first impression.
    Anyhow, kudos to Toyoto for coming out from the normal boring uncle camry look.

• elson on May 12, 2015 at 11:41 pm

stupid wooden stitching interior

• Megane on May 13, 2015 at 6:54 am

Wow …Courts Mammoth wood furniture finishing inside . Bloody impressive ! Lol

• Heskey on May 13, 2015 at 6:58 am

Is that real wood?

• Aero (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 8:09 am

Saw four Camry Hybrids in one day driving from Ipoh to KL, all were black coloured (looks a bit more understated in black actually). I am convinced that the Camry Hybrid will sell well because of its excellent specs and safety, plus the tax rebate which is the icing on the cake.

My concern is what happens next for UMW Toyota ? Once the tax rebate expires in December, will they continue making the Camry Hybrid ? UMWT plans to make 9,000 Camry facelift models this year, 7,000 of which will be the Hybrid. Our government should just extend the tax rebate on all CKD Hybrid cars (but not CBU) to encourage more companies to set up Hybrid assembly plants here. Malaysia is the biggest market in ASEAN for Hybrid cars, and Proton is currently making their Hybrid car as well, so it will only get bigger.

• lembucamry on May 13, 2015 at 8:55 am

Both.suck. 2.0l drink fuel like lembu minum air. 2.5l is overpriced, no use the fuel saved.

• aboden on May 13, 2015 at 9:41 am

Overpriced is another word for I can’t afford it. I hate comments that doesn’t make sense. I’m not a fan of Toyota but the 2.5 hybrid is value if you don’t consider the hideous looking 70s wood interior

• mixer on May 13, 2015 at 1:51 pm

What value, better end up with other cheaper D segment cars rather than camry hybird. Saving on installment is better than saving on fuel

• AnotherAhBeng on May 13, 2015 at 10:11 am

Toyota knows only Ah Bengs will buy the Camry. The truth is they know the market has many Ah Bengs. How else did the Camry become the number 1 worldwide best seller in its segment for so many years if not for the Ah Bengs.

So Toyota has learned not to antagonize its loyal Ah Bengs and to pay no attention to dissenting voices of anti-Ah Bengs.

If owning a Camry Hybrid is Ah Beng, Toyota has added one more to its number cos I too just bought one. I am a Honda fan, but to me this hybrid is too good to miss given its pricing.

• Goldie on May 14, 2015 at 6:47 pm

At least you admitted that you bought one. As I mentioned earlier, only after a long test drive can anyone make a qualified decision on the merits of Camry hybrid. Appearance of wood trim and dashboard is matter of personal taste. I am glad the wood trim was not as obvious as previous models which suits me. For the dash, the emphasis on green driving is helping to reshape driving pattern to fuel conservation. Granted amount saved is not much but for the sake of environment.
      Anyway, which car below 175k has very exciting dash board?

• sammy on May 13, 2015 at 10:42 am

I don’t know why, despite the facelift and more aggressive styling, the Camry still feel so… soulless…
    Is it just me that feel that?
    I don’t even have to look at the spec sheet, I just don’t feel like driving it.

• camryjamban on May 13, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Camry Hybrid – you have to use it until 10 years then you can get the benefit from the cost of fuel saved.

Next!!!!!!!

• sammy on May 13, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Or the fuel price becomes double of the current market price maybe?

• why man choose? on May 15, 2015 at 3:12 am

My priority:
    1. Exterior design= sprty & rugged
    2. Interior= best tech + speakers( i luve song), spoty feel
    3. 5 door @ hatchback
    4. Handles= must one of best in segment
    5. Handfree @ voice cntrl ( dont hv to put ” weird” gadget ear
    6. Fuel cons= moderate
    7. Gear= at least 6 speed auto@ easy to traffic
    8. Tyre= at least 17 inch
    9. Keyless entry is must@ very practical@ key always in ur pocket. Dun hv to take out
    10. Rv ~ dosent matter!
    11 Budget mthly 1200-1400 installment

• Mondeo

• you be looking at mazda 6 wagon. but that instalment might be out of reach. with 35% down payment or second hand car you can.

• Flyguy70 on May 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Recently, UMW just quietly removed their ‘TOYOTA TRIBE’ forum discussion for consumers in their official Toyota website so that poor build quality posted by Toyota buyers, esp Vios poor quality problems can’t be seen in this Forum.

UMW is still don’t understand how to do biz on its automobile industry. Just give standard 6 or 7 airbags in their G-spec, either on Camry, Altis or Vios and get better quality spare-parts from its suppliers on Toyota cars, people will ‘FLOOD-IN’ again to buy Toyota cars, right?