JDM Toyota Sai gets new UV400 glass for comfort

20150511_01_01

The Toyota Sai has been given a little update in its native Japanese domestic market. It now features UV400 glass on the front doors, which is claimed to be a world first. The glass is rated to cut UV light up to 400 nm wavelength, compared to the regular 380 nm rating.

Toyota says this improves interior comfort, and we suppose in a way it improve fuel economy as well since the occupants will be just that bit less likely to turn up the air conditioning.

Like the Prius, the Sai is a hybrid-only model powered by Toyota’s 2.4 litre Hybrid Synergy Drive system (now replaced by the 2.5 litre system in our Toyota Camry Hybrid). Its origins are found in the Lexus HS 250h, a model that has since been discontinued in Lexus markets except Japan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sh*t again? on May 13, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Toyota should check the meaning of their model name in other languages especially if it’s exported there.
    First it was the MR2 when translated to French is MR deux or Merde= SHIT!!
    Now it’s even worst Sai = SHIT again in Hokkien

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Billy on May 13, 2015 at 4:14 pm

If this design is “sai”. Then the Toyota models in Malaysia are not better than “sai” really.

Who wanna sits inside a “sai” or worse?

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Pajero in spanish also mean wanker, so?

Bear in mind not every chinese is Hokkien (there are cantonese, hakka etc), and hokkien doesn’t represent the whole chinese community.

Prius C in Japan also named Aqua. The Toyota Sai will have other name in Malaysia.

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • hokkien lang on May 13, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Sai means sh!t in hokkien

• Sentero on May 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Our local Toyota mentioned that they do have acoustic feature on their windscreen but at the end of the day all their windscreen is just the same. Some marketing gimmick.

Try and look at the windscreen marking on the new Vios and Altis. Even in brochure mentioned got Acoustic feature but it is just a normal windscreen. What a rip-off marketing gimmick.

Pilkington or even AGC will normally put ‘Ear’ symbol or ‘Acoustic’ word on its windscreen treated with PVB for Acoustic feature but our local Toyota.. None… So?

• prabowi on May 13, 2015 at 3:38 pm

probably the best looking piece of shit ever

• A: B, what car you driving now?
    B: Sai…
    A: I beg your pardon..
    B: Sai…Toyota Sai…
    A: …oh Sai…Ok..

• GrayImports on May 13, 2015 at 4:05 pm

This is definately Sam Loo’s piece of “sai” shit. Hahaha.

T- Tentu
    O- Orang
    Y- Yang
    O- Otak
    T- Tiada
    A- Angkat

Now we know how they came up with the name Sai.

BTW actual meaning of sai in japanese is a type of fork like dagger just like the one used by a ninja turtle

• kington on May 13, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Given their greedy policies, UMW should offer this to Malaysian market… but charge additional RM2000 for this, as how they charge for Altis safety package for additional 5 airbags on the standard 2.

• Japanese company, for Japanese people.

Malaysian may stay away.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Congrats, then pls stick with Proton and ninetology mobile phone. Time to get a Pensonic TV then.

If it is good, everyone use. Like iPhone
      If it is bad, force (protection, great discount) also no one buy. Like Proton

• In Bolehland, they will come up with special edition called “KanaSai” :D

• chowhai on May 13, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Did anybody notice the Vios advertisement on the main page? I bet Sam Loo is only of those holding the I WANT cards

• Samad Jain on May 13, 2015 at 7:08 pm

I can imaging Sam Loo promoting and selling Sai….hahahah..

• Krasher on May 13, 2015 at 7:09 pm

I have to admit that this is one good piece of “sai”

• michaelooi on May 13, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Translation to BM : Toyota Taik

• albag on May 13, 2015 at 8:22 pm

i hope someone bring in this car for us to have a great laugh on local roads

• I’m sure if they sell it here it will be relabeled with a more appropriate name. Although not everybody knows Hokkien enough people know the meaning of ‘sai’ to make it highly embarrassing.

• i am new on May 14, 2015 at 12:40 am

And finally!Let’s welcome the ‘toyota shit’!

• i am new on May 14, 2015 at 12:41 am

And finally!Let’s welcome the ‘toyota shit’!!!! *claps and cheers*