Kia Cerato Koup 1.6 T-GDI previewed – RM150k est

Kia Cerato Koup 1 (1)

The Kia Cerato Koup has made its first local appearance at the Kia On Tour roadshow at 1 Utama today – the sportier, low-slung two-door version of the popular Cerato sedan and successor to the Forte Koup will be launched soon with an estimated price of RM150,000.

UPDATE: We’ve driven the Kia Cerato Koup T-GDI – read the full review.

That’s over RM30k more than the range-topping 2.0 sedan, but there’s a reason for that. In place of a 161 PS/194 Nm naturally-aspirated engine resides a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI (Turbocharged Gasoline Direct Injection) four-cylinder mill – the same engine as in the the Hyundai Veloster Turbo (albeit in a higher state of tune) and Kia cee’d/pro_cee’d GT – that delivers 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm from 1,750-4,000 rpm.

Kia Cerato Koup 15

As a result, with a six-speed automatic gearbox as standard, the Koup sprints from 0-100 km/h in just 7.4 seconds before hitting a top speed of 222 km/h.

While clearly related to the sedan, the Koup is differentiated through a slimmer upper grille, a large lower grille with faux carbon fibre trim, big round fog lights, gloss black wing mirrors and door handles, more angular tail lights and a diffuser-like design for the rear bumper, complete with twin tailpipes. The doors are longer to improve entry and egress, and the front seat belts can be extended for easier reach.

Kia Cerato Koup 29

Standard equipment includes xenon headlights with LED DRLs, LED tail lights, 18-inch dual-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a reverse camera, front and rear parking sensors, dual-zone auto climate control with cluster ioniser, 4.2-inch LCD Supervision cluster, leather seats with front heating (the driver’s side also gets ventilation and electric lumbar adjustment) and a sunroof.

Safety kit includes six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors for the rear seats, the same as on the sedan.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Message to Same Lorrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:16 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 265
    • Rm150k is a stupid price, even though it’s good but it can’t beat the pocket rockets 1 segment lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 13
      • Gargantia on May 13, 2015 at 11:49 am

Agree and again the problem were not Hyundai or Kia (Korean brand).

Main concern “Malaysia Dealers” that makes the brand getting bad comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:57 am

Why buy this car? Got no freebies. Come to UMW, any Toyota you buy, I will give you free bra and panties matching set, same colour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 51
    • cendol (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

I want to buy that 2014 Camry 2.5 at 98k, give me contact please

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:36 am

I never bad mouth anything, neither I have any personal preference with kimchi. I always comment based on FACTS.
      1. Kia is kimchi car – fact
      2. Kimchi cars have no RV – fact
      3. Cerato only cost around RM100k – fact
      4. This Koup cost 1/2 more – fact

So tell me who will pay RM150k for this kimchi C segment 2 doors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 48
      • 2014 Camry 2.0G - RM85k on May 13, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Toyota Altis 2013 model accident free and only done 22,000km selling for RM68k. Brand new RM120k. What RV you talking about? Go to mudah and see for yourself

Camry 2.5, July 2014 make, selling for RM98k, down RM180k. Accident free and also done 22,000km. In 10 months can drop RM82k.

Camry 2.0G, high spec, 2014 model, selling RM98k. Brand new selling RM160k. After bargaining, seller KAJ auto willing to go down to RM85k.

So, in 1 year, Camry 2.0G from RM160k becomes RM85k. Half price. Facts are facts. Go to Mudah and see for yourself now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
        • Jimmy on May 13, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Likely false advertisements or false statements, or just isolated cases, to be fair. Those isolated cases do not reflect the real second-hand values of Toyotas.

You can put high RV for your Korean vehicles; even at lower RV prices, you will find difficulties to look for buyers. This also happens to high end Mercs and BMWs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • BeemerFreak on May 13, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Says the man that lives in the 19th century. Come on man we live in the 21st, wake up.

• samlok on May 15, 2015 at 7:07 pm

accident car lah wakeup.

• Hilat kimchi owner on May 13, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Totally agree with you, I am a previous Kimchi owner, never will be again. Any day I will pick any local brand to Kimchi.
        And this clown every time cut/paste his/her long bullsh*t comment is really mentally sick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
      • “”Facts””
        1 – Kia is Kia, Kimchi is Kimchi, do people call japanese cars Ramen? No
        2 Korean cars have no value according to you, if you worry so much about “RV” then maybe you should buy a house? Or even better, don’t buy a car at all. Best value!
        3 Toyota Corolla costs over 120k
        4 Toyota gt86 which, lets not forget, its predecessor is actually known as a corolla, costs 240k but you dont complain?
        I agree this car is overpriced but your irrational hate against Korean cars is advertising how ignorant you are. And you managed to create more haters for Toyota than fans. Excellent job!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 1:54 pm

I don’t hate Korean (aka kimchi) cars, you should know what you get while buying kimchi cars.

1. I called Japanese cars as sushi cars. I call people Ah Beng while you call them “ignorance emotional human being”.
          2. Car is car, house is house. Don’t compare your mum with your wife, they ain’t same class. Among all cars, sushi cars still best RV – fact.
          3. Even a 4 door Japanese car cost RM30k (20%) less than pathetic Korean cerato. You must too naive to neglect what you can do with RM30k.
          4. GT86 so expensive, thanks to the fantastic import tax, excise duty and AP. Thanks to your beloved government and Proton’s protection. If we could sell it at RM66k (Japan price), we will.

I don’t hate kimchi cars, I only hate the government rip off cause generations of Malaysian to either pay sky high for good car, or suffer junk cars (Proton).

Not happy with Toyota? You are welcome to try out Mazda, Nissan and Honda. As I always said, you wont’ go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 40
          • Carrrrrrrrrrr on May 13, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Wow, One of the few times that I see sense in your argument.

• Goosfraba on May 13, 2015 at 5:14 pm

LOL! As much as I hate to agree with troller Same Lorr, I have to agree this time. As a working adult, RV is important though not as important as to how Same Lorr puts it.

Nevertheless, credits have to be given where credits are due, while Kia and Hyundai are ‘alright’ cars, they don’t shout ‘QUALITY’ or ‘GOOD RESALE VALUE’ all the way. They’re pretty alright as carmakers. They’re ambitious and they try their best to compensate their own people with better cars but with the tech Honda, Toyota (OVERSEAS) and Mazda with their Skyactiv, Earthdreams, Fuel Cell tech, the Koreans don’t stand a chance as they still look to improving their quality, their current signature design and offering the most features they can for the money (OVERSEAS). The Koreans are still growing.

All in all, while the Japs are superior to the Koreans in car making, the Koreans started building cars how long ago? At least they give the Japs a challenge while Malaysia masih boleh boleh boleh, tapi Preve je yang ada. As I said, Korean cars are ‘alright and improving’ and the Japs ‘while superior, can do better in Malaysia’. No point arguing. We all hope for the best of both worlds for better cars and cheaper prices.

Which brings to question, WHY ON EARTH IS THIS KOUP SO EXPENSIVE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo says he doesnt hate Korean cars..LOL Biggeest joke of the year!
            Do you think that people who buys a Korean car doesnt know what they are getting into?
            Go ask someone why they bought a golf or 308, the answer is that they simply wanted one.
            There is not a single Korean car post that i haven’t seen you talking sht about.
            And you say you dont hate Korean cars, LMAO what a hypocrite.
            We dont need you to remind other people that a Toyota gets X.XX value more than another car.
            Because tell me, who on earth doesnt know that?
            Also a nissan is not much better in Resale value compared to a Korean car, same goes to Mazda. If you really care about “RV” Toyota and Honda are the only two jap manufacturers that are actually safe purchases, so quit exaggerating like every single Jap brand is the second coming of Christ.
            Because you seem to remind people about this on every single post on Paul Tan, im amazed that you have so much time on your hands. If i have as much free time as you i could probably start a new car company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 11:59 am

You are not in the industry you will be surprised how many car buyer buy car based on emotion or personal preference instead of rational consideration. Let me ask you a few simple question!

1. If kimchi so good, why so many kimchi owner come to my showroom asking to trade-in and buy our sushi cars?
            2. Since kimchi RV so low, why those kimchi owners don’t even bother to stick with their old kimchi for a few years?

Answer is kimchi really bad in quality, RV and expensive in spare parts.

That’s why i keep on seeing disappointed/frustrated/angry kimchi owner wanna get rid of their car.

When people can go for Saga sacrificing quality, comfort, fuel saving, RV and safety, you know many ignorant car owner in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
        • Peter Parker on May 13, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Uncle Ben … as much as people hate Sam … to compare Corolla to gt86 is totally out of order. You gotta try better than just against Sam for the sake of it. And RV is important … unless you are super rich, which you won’t be fancy Korean cars then, you will regret later if not now. Those who do not care about RV drive Benz, BMW, Porche, Ferrari, etc … not those who are driving Kia, Hyundai, Toyota, Honda, Mazda, Proton, Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • dr sam on May 13, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Brother you need help . it’s just a car.no big deal. You are sick my friend.too emotional about cars.pls go see doctor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • same lor keem mak on May 13, 2015 at 3:41 pm

never in my life i will buy new korean car.used korean car? maybe.. better for me to stick with my waja..
      no loan no problem

• tokmoh. on May 13, 2015 at 11:16 am

No thanks, rather Fiesta ST at that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 13, 2015 at 11:22 am

Lucky I am selling panties and bra part time in Parkson at night. With cars like this, my daytime job at UMw will bring in ZERO to my pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Pantyfree on May 13, 2015 at 11:38 am

If you keep trying to sell panties to men at night, sure you will never have enough money to buy anything, let alone a 150k car.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Sam Loo (ori1) and myself are now the top undergarments salesman in Parkson. I wish to thank all PT readers for their support. Special promotion and pricing for readers of PT. 50% off on all Triumph products.

• Holofanboi on May 13, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Good point, unfortunately a manual in malaysia means that its only a night time/mornings car… A little too restrictive in terms of when to enjoy a drive…

Although i have to say, IF i realllly wanted a manual i would likely go for the 208 gti than fiesta due to pricing alone. Too bad the 208 has obscene skittish behaviour.

• waiyip on May 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

yarh, fiesta st or 208 gti. hot hatches are hotter. hehe.

• Waiyip, cannot con more waterfish in ur FoFo owner’s club? I heard u kena “throw chair” edi for making it to a “Dealer’s” club – LOL.
        Continue ur unwavering support to SDAC and Ahjib kor man!

• rio owner on May 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

Finally, the 1.6 turbo engine is here. Good job naza. Personally, I would have traded in my rio for kia proceed GT if it’s launched here at rm150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sign me up for one!!

• Wow nice, but i still hope they bring in new Rondo..please..

• cendol (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:29 am

Kia Koup is a poor man’s sports car .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • AT only? Why not offer MT?

• why cannot sell us proceed gt?

• elson on May 13, 2015 at 11:41 am

vios look , accord price

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 13, 2015 at 11:44 am

rear seat is larger,wider than mazda 3. But its overpriced,even thought Paul said it expensive with good reasons.

• sudonano (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:45 am

Its pretty cheap – for the size.

Though this isn’t really a full on performance coupe. Take this more like how we have the Scirocco 1.4TSI.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 13, 2015 at 11:46 am

there is no rear aircond vent.damn cerato k3 got.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 12:18 pm

There is.

http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/kia-cerato-koup-1-6-t-gdi-previewed-rm150k-est/kia-cerato-koup-49/

• nabill (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 11:48 am

for that price , the answer is 208 GTI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Jonn Dol on May 13, 2015 at 11:51 am

The exterior looks quite sporty, but dissapointingly there was no effort by KIA to spice up the interior (at least different interior trims or colour would be good to differentiate with the standard Cerato).

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 13, 2015 at 11:54 am

Honestly,Interior dun match the price tag level of rm150k. Interior look cheapo,same as cerato, come on, End user paid 30k more and interior materials please do some upgrade and look sporty lah.

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Not pretty enough for a coupe. Especially for that price. Same problem that afflicts the Audi A5 coupe.

The Veloster is ugly, but at least that one has some character. And slightly cheaper.

But that said, if they sell enough of these 2 T-GDI cars, maybe they would also bring in both the 1.6L and 2.0L T-GDI on thier C and D segment. That I want to see!

• hazamiey on May 13, 2015 at 12:35 pm

The turbo combo with conventional auto is a safe bet, unlike the problematic dry clucth DSG with VW cars. So with RM150k, you buy this car and can use it for the whole day, going to work, balik kampung, leisure, bring your wife and girlfriend without the fear of getting stalled in the middle of the road. Buy dry clutch equipped VW and spent 6 months at the workshop for the rest of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • protectvw on May 14, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Your VW is spending 6 month in workshop? how come…. or it is your car or friend cars? or you heard rumous. if this is your car, sent to TSC centre, there is VW expert from Germany may manage to assist you on this….

• vw owner on May 18, 2015 at 4:10 pm

which model is it? as i know.. 2012 vw car till the latest, the car with DSG has no longer DSG issue..
      if is rumour then pls stop it

• did you know many testing to be done by Group Quality Assurance management before they launched a new car?
      Every car is assure to build in good quality before they start producing. Come on common sense la.. dont just simply bash… -.-

• In this price range, Suzuki Swift easily dapao this fake sportscar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • therealmaserati on May 13, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Swift sport is a dream to drive. Dont compare this junk to swift sport.

Its an insult!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • poser sport on May 13, 2015 at 4:42 pm

The Swift Sport is slow and too wannabe. I know the handling is great, but seeing a few Swift Sports trying to tailgate a 335ci and driving like mad dogs on heat is just too much. Buy a real sports car instead of acting like you’re fast, you’re not.

• therealmaserati on May 13, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Shit car. Period. The specs 0-100 time will nvr match real life testing.

And ur 200hp will feel like a 130hp car.

This is and will be a truly shit car. I dont understand why people still say Korean cars are good? They are not good at all if u are a pro driver like me.

I dont look at paper specs. I priotise driving experience.

And Korean cars have the worst driving expwrience i have ever encountered. Totally no soul. Its a stupid box with 4 wheels to get u frm A to B.

And let me not get started on the driving dynamics of the car. The steering is horrible, the refinement is bullocks and the fuel consumption is worst than a 2.0 turbo car .

Ppl who buy Korean cars are poor ppl who wanna look good by appearing in an apparently good looking car but drives so poorly, it makes a Proton Waja driving feel like heaven.

Smart people will nvr plonk down money to buy Korean cars. Only stupid ppl who are fooled into Ventilated seats, keyless entry, and the rest of the marketing gimmicks buy the car . And true enough regret deep down inside 6 mths later. Of course, in forums they will say their car no problem and satisfied.

But in reality, they are cursing themselves for being fooled by the Koreans.

Think thrice before buying a Korean. Oh wait, dont even bother with Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 53
    • wajaGSR on May 13, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Why compare with Waja? Yes mechanically it’s handling is much better but it’s old car. Just let it go coz buyers want new car. Let them choose.

• Kia Fan on May 13, 2015 at 5:24 pm

I own a Kia Rio and I am definitely NOT poor. You generalise too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • therealmasera~tits on May 14, 2015 at 12:15 am

” commentor look poor than comment”
      Fact of people:
      1. Your view vs other ppl view is different about ” why they want a car”
      2.ultimately ” realmaserati” dont drive maserati but only swift & waja… but ppl outthere drive real maserati dont say ” poor ppl”
      3. ” real maserati” only think about performance vs other ppl think about performance & technology
      4.” Please say other ppl poor! Because wht you say is just ” mirror of you”
      Noted~ i dont drv korea but jap & usa & malay

• thepolygonal on May 13, 2015 at 1:11 pm

With that price, won’t be seeing much of these on the road I guess. There is a sweet spot for cars like these to be priced… around RM110k. Not too cheap and not too expensive, but pricing it at RM 150k is out of reach for the majority of buyers. Look at CRZ, at RM118, it sells, at RM180k, it stays in the showroom. Imagine if this is to sell at RM98k, people might just shift from city / vios to this… and everyone know how many vios / city is on the road.

• yeaaa on May 13, 2015 at 2:19 pm

yeaaaaa!!

So how much the tgdi engine? Want to buy and fit into k3 sedan.

Baru la boleh tapau myvi dekat duke nanti

• Nasi goreng Africa on May 13, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I would rather get the veloster turbo!

• kenot on May 13, 2015 at 3:07 pm

even at RM150K, people still call as cerato. nothing special la.

• same lor keem mak on May 13, 2015 at 3:40 pm

nice car though. of course my baby..

but for me.. i will stick with my 2005 mmc waja. i dun car even this car can fly..what i care at the most is loan..
    no loan no problem.. im a rich man baby

• thefact on May 13, 2015 at 3:54 pm

urghhh… the previous forte koup looked sharper an edgier.
    this one looks soft.

even the girls looks so ah lian. teruk. no class.

• Kia Fan on May 13, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Agree totally. The previous model looks way better too in my eyes.

• Nissan on May 13, 2015 at 4:03 pm

The interior design is fugly!

• 4.2″ screen really? My phone has a bigger screen than that…

• Carrrrrrrrrrr on May 13, 2015 at 4:53 pm

150k, Kia 2 door coupe, 200 bhp, that dashboard. Previous test drive on non-turbo model. No thank you.

• kia owner on May 13, 2015 at 5:00 pm

I owned Kia Forte before, it was a good car , sold off recently with 50% off from original price after 5 years.

I bought a Kia K3 2.0 in early 2014, for past 1 1/4 years of driving, I would tell you that the K3 is a very much improved car comparing to Forte, its handling and comfort are even better than a Civic or as good as the Altis.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pt5UTFuQUys

• therealmaserati on May 13, 2015 at 5:37 pm

KIA need an interior designer. Their interiors look horrendous. Worst than a myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • stanley on May 13, 2015 at 6:07 pm

well at least it is better than kia forte coup which is same engine with normal forte. no matter what, it is still a good effort by naza to provide pitiful malaysian with one more choice for sub 8 second 0-100km/h car. at least it is auto and bigger as malaysian likes auto and big car. but need to see how was the handling like.

• Abdul Wong on May 13, 2015 at 7:09 pm

I am glad not to follow japanese brand pro-salesmen advice. Proud owner of forte 2010. Still no problem so far. Always follow service schedule and not to over thinking your car designed to racing. And that applies to all car owner out there no matter what brand.

• FACT.##

the last forte koup.
    Launch..ppl buy… new cerato is out. Forte koup get oudated immediately.

Now. U buy cerato koup.
    Next year.. cerato gen2 is out.. outdated korean car again..

Better buy a d segment with a high level status rather than a playboy status.

• forgot86 on May 13, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Im surpise nobody commented how pretty the girl on the right is. To make it worse, the other girl looks is very contradicting which makes the other looks even more hot & sexy.

• civicEK on May 13, 2015 at 11:08 pm

150k? better buy D segment car leh..

• xatomic on May 13, 2015 at 11:38 pm

sadly korean cars all looks but no substance..has the hp and all but what bout the drive itself?

• Thing is to get a car that you don’t need to justify driving… why go around and tell ppl, this thing is actually better than an altis/civic/even a FT86? Don’t you feel tired that ppl say… wow… from the back like 5 sili… front like benz…
    get something that ppl wont question about… period

• Levin on May 14, 2015 at 2:21 am

Overpriced. Enough said.
    What were they thinking when they came up with the price? I mean, the 208GTi rated at 200hp goes for RM139k while the Fiesta ST just a tad below RM150, and these are considered “conti” cars and proper built with 6MT stick shift.I can vouch that both of these cars are quicker than this Koup turbo.
    I doubt if it will sell well with this price as the previous Forte Koup which was 30k cheaper was somewhat “rare” on Malaysian roads. Good luck KIA!
    On another note, Hyundai should step up the game and bring in the Genesis Coupe already. That’s a proper sports car: RWD turbo baby!

• Let some idiots buy this first and two years later who like can buy second hand at below 100k d.

• Johnny on May 14, 2015 at 10:50 am

They really need to fix that interior…
    It’s like they got a world class exterior designer, but used an intern to do the interior design.

• Kia Pro Ceed gt, why not introduce this car?Five doors hot hatch would be more suitable for the local market.

• “I just come here to read the Comment”

The number 1 reason I come to PT is to go the comment section and read the argument SAM LOO, SAM LORRR, and whatever SAM.. LOLX to be precise KIMCHI vs RAMEN / SUSHI debate.

Kudos trashing each other LOLX

• Heated seats? In Malaysia?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 15, 2015 at 8:47 am

I believe many cerato owner start to plan swap engine to this turbo heart. But got to wait many koup owner crash or totaled the car first.

• Benz Kaki on May 15, 2015 at 9:52 am

This is a crappy car, although 150k for a new coupe is consider cheap for Msia… there is certain market for this car eg.wannabe or girls/a beng that just want a sporty 2 door car.

More importantly, who are those two models? Who got their names? THEY ARE HOT!

• Benz Kaki on May 15, 2015 at 9:52 am

This is a crappy car, although 150k for a new coupe is consider cheap for Msia… there is certain market for this car eg.wannabe or girls/a beng that just want a sporty 2 door car.

More importantly, who are those two models? Who got their names? THEY ARE HOT!

• samlok on May 15, 2015 at 7:08 pm

selling more and more expensive, stupid kia

• joh_w on May 18, 2015 at 2:29 am

that’s a hot model. i mean, the girl on the right.

• Nissan on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Interior sibeh outdated!