Kia Rio facelift launched in M’sia – 1.4 SX only, RM79k

Kia Rio 1.4 SX Facelift 1

Unveiled at the Paris Motor Show last year, the facelifted Kia Rio has finally made its local introduction. First up, the pricing – from now on, the third-gen UB will now be available solely in full-spec SX trim, priced at RM79,080, on-the-road inclusive of insurance, 6% GST and a five-year unlimited mileage warranty (the same as before). The previous RM73,580 entry-level EX has been dropped with the advent of the facelift.

New exterior touches include a broader lower grille, flanked by reshaped fog light surrounds with twin strakes on either side. Moving to the rear, a reprofiled bumper sports vertical fog lights and a wider black insert, replacing the previous diffuser-style item. Like the facelifted Optima K5, the new Rio ditches the distinctive flat-dish wheels of old, going for a very Citroën DS-like four-split-spoke 17-inch design instead.

Inside, the changes are much more subtle – there’s a mildly-redesigned head unit with seek and folder scrolling buttons moved up to flank the monochrome LCD screen, allowing all the preset buttons to sit in one row (previously two). Next to it, you’ll notice that the previous cubby hole and seat belt indicator panel have disappeared; the latter now sits in between the middle air vents, which feature a new silver surround.

Kit count has remained static post-makeover, retaining projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, auto lights and wipers, keyless entry, push-button start, a Supervision instrument cluster, single-zone automatic air conditioning with a cluster ioniser, a multifunction leather steering wheel, a sunroof and alloy foot pedals.

The generous safety equipment from the outgoing model has also been carried over, so you get six airbags, ABS, stability control and Isofix child seat anchors on the outer rear seats. Four colour options are available: Deep Blue, Signal Red, Clear White and Bright Silver.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kelvin194 on May 13, 2015 at 12:19 am

79k gt a super safety feature with sunroof,why noy KIA?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:15 am

RM79k cheap? You want people pay RM850 (9 years some more) for such kimchi hatchback? Come on!

People rather pay RM7k extra get a Elantra.

Rio vs Elantra? You kena when you wanna trade in. I see sour faces everyday in my showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
  • Reckless Myvi Driver on May 13, 2015 at 12:24 am

Kimchi cars useless, even girls also fake faces. Better buy Myvi, even Sushi SUV also not good when crash. See the pathetic family. Myvi is good and really fast, 2nd gear already reached slightly above 80 km/h, your Toyota can or not, even Vios manual also can’t do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 100
    • You’re trying really hard to be funny but you tripped and fell on your own face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • Message to Same Lorrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:09 am

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180,000. Camry 2.0 2014 model now selling for RM85k. Go to mudah and see. Call up and ask for cheapest price.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time Sam Loo, De La Junk, Same Lorrrr and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • elson on May 13, 2015 at 12:25 am

absolutely rxmah look with lot of “cincin outfit”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • normal_user on May 13, 2015 at 12:41 am

1. High levels of equipment & safety gears are most welcome.
    2. Rear seat is one of the nicest among B-segment hatch (alongside Jazz & Iriz). The seat base cushion is as long as the bigger Cerato, thigh feels comfortable even for six footer adults. But sadly legroom remains snug.
    3. Old rim design looks better than this.
    4. Being a hatch means that it lacks competition againts more mainstream City, Vios & Almera. Naza should consider bringing in the Rio sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • 79k with old tech and seriously 4 speed auto transmission ?

I am not praising honda jazz but CVT is still way better than this 4 speed crap thing and 79k without a infotainment system ? not even reverse camera ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
    • jibby on May 13, 2015 at 9:17 am

y not? rm79k for EURO NCAP 5 star rating is good enough. this is the cheapest B segment car with safest rating in malaysia. HU & reverse camera can be fitted later and not costing an arm and a leg. just spent 2k and u get a good HU with good camera. for me, safety features comes 1st than any other. u can retrofit any HU / camera / audio, but u cant retrofit additional airbags or ESC. life value is more important…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on May 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

typical malaysian. at 79k all he care is infotainment and reverse camera. 80k vios with 4 speeder and 2 airbags nobody bats and eye..this car 4 speeder and top safety spec, everybody lose their mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • UMW Mampus on May 13, 2015 at 9:52 am

LOL… see that’s what Malaysians care about. Blings blings like anti snatch hook, reverse camera, tissue box holder, push start button, etc.

Sad reality there are people who are still not giving a dam to safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • VWfanboi on May 13, 2015 at 12:51 am

Wow Kia quite a fast learner…… learnt a good facelift knowledge from Volkswagen….. so now where’s the facelift?

• nabill (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 1:33 am

same 4 speed auto??
    looks good , tons of spec , and it does seem to sell in numbers judging by how many i see on the road(i stil think the rear kinda looks like a last gen Seat Leon…
    like the Pug 208 , it does need more ratios on the gearbox side…

• ben yap on May 13, 2015 at 1:36 am

at almost RM80K, i’ll go for a honda city any time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • sambalbabi on May 13, 2015 at 1:53 am

well, at least they still retain the rear brake disc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • naChe on May 13, 2015 at 7:06 am

Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • karam singh on May 13, 2015 at 7:32 am

Sam loooo Toyota Vios/Yaris not worth tu buy compared to this car.
    Safety wise
    the specs are that good.sunroof & all auto things
    But practicality goes to Jazz
    downside- 4speed autobox (boring,,,)

• good job naza kia for being fast introducing new models. Hope to see more.

• ss427 on May 13, 2015 at 8:57 am

Hmmm… you sure your Bolehland Rios are 4AT? SG market Rio has a standard 6AT… but our Rio comes with manual aircon instead of full auto climate controls like yours.. :( Otherwise the equipment list, including 6 airbags and those wheels, are similar in both countries

http://www.kia.com/sg/wcm/groups/webcontent/@sg/documents/webvehiclecontent/094634.pdf

• rio owner on May 13, 2015 at 10:05 am

When it was launch somewhere in Jan 2013 at the curve, the following weekend I placed the booking. At that time, no other car with that price ranges fitted with 6 airbags, VSM, auto headlight, auto wiper, keyless entry, push start, auto climate, sunroof, abs, brake assist, a practical glove box which can even swallow my 13 inch laptop and best of all, it is certified euro ncap 5 stars.

It was a very practical choice for me for a run about car instead of jazz or myvi. I am not into resale value as I believe creature comfort and safety is utmost important. With 5 years unlimited warranty, it is no brained I bought it.

To date, my mileage is 40k and never once I am unhappy with it. It didn’t fail on me or gave wierd issue. It is quite a good highway car as it is pretty stable even up to speed of 160kmh. The nvh for this car beats even almera, vios and myvi.

For the young people who just came out to work, try this rio. You can never put a price on safety for you or your loved ones. I am not saying this car is 100%safe but at least you know if shit occurs, you have higher chances of survival.

For sam loo fan who disagree, I am ok if you thumb down my posting. At least I know I am not buying a 2 airbags car and a milo tin chasis.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
  • ae101 on May 13, 2015 at 10:21 am

Hmm not too sure why so many ppl concern about the 4At box. Technically 6At gives better Fc. But down to the road you may not even aware the differences especially small cc engine.

• Milo Tin God car on May 13, 2015 at 11:13 am

Funny nobody complained when Toyota camry and altis used to be 4AT for donkey years.

I agree for 1.4 engine, 4at is more practical but 6at would have been great. That only applies for kia rio 1.6 engine. Anyway, the wonder of more gears does improve fuel economy. Look at the current bmw with 8 speed auto. Their 1.6 engine is very economical (better than perodua) and their GB shifting is absolutely gorgeus.

• theanswer on May 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

yep..6 speed with low torque will gives you gear hunting problem. even with 240nm, 308 and 508 keep hunting gears.

• the pre-fl looks better, more sporty to me with the 5 spoke rims. And the rear bumper on the FL looks hideous at least in the pictures.

• Rio owner 2013 on May 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm

I get a RIO 2013, it is nice to drive,stylist, it all goods so far, no problem at all and i can say is it is tough, got 1 time kena bang by vios, my car just get scratch and the vios is almost kemek in front.
    for me RIO is for safety 1st. It a nice kimchi car.

• the pre-facelift looks better, more sporty to me with the 5 spoke rims. And the rear bumper on the FL looks hideous at least in the pictures.

• Rouge on May 13, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Safety comes first and with a RM79k tag, this is the best B-Segment hatch money can buy with all those safety features. Whoever says Korean cars are crap has never driven/owned one.

Kudos Kia!

• lawson on May 24, 2015 at 6:59 pm

They miss an opportunity getting the new Rio right by putting in a 1.6litre engine and a 6 speed auto gear box. At 79k I expect many would rather up by another 5k for top spec Jazz after discount or another 8k for the new Mazda 2. Really a miss opportunity.

• lawson on May 24, 2015 at 6:59 pm

They miss an opportunity getting the new Rio right by putting in a 1.6litre engine and a 6 speed auto gear box. At 79k I expect many would rather up by another 5k for top spec Jazz after discount or another 8k for the new Mazda 2. Really a miss opportunity.

• Top Star on Nov 29, 2016 at 12:51 pm

In photos this car look not that attractive. Yesterday i saw it in highway and it’s a bit different. I can say it’s more look and its’s body like A 250 or 308 Peoug. It’s not like Myvi, Axia or Iris. Very fw hatcbacks use sedan base. I’m not condemned those seems i use one of it for long time. The main problems of Myvi etc kind models when u ride on uneven road the suspension is really hard!!! After few times i realised that the design of car and suspension really hv relation. Cars use sedan base most likely gv u comfort rather than those cars. Rio good job.

• Kumares on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:16 pm

In photos this car look not that attractive. Yesterday i saw it in highway and it’s a bit different. I can say it’s more look and its’s body like A 250 or 308 Peoug. It’s not like Myvi, Axia or Iris. Very fw hatcbacks use sedan base. I’m not condemned these seem i use one of it for long time. The main problems of these kind models when u ride on uneven road the suspension is really hard. After few times i realised that the design of car and suspension really hv relation. The cars use sedan base most likely gv u comfort rather than those cars.