Ops Warta – police warn traffic offenders to settle their fines by May 15, or it’s detention and off to court

Cop shop

The police have again reminded traffic offenders to settle their outstanding summonses by this Friday before Ops Warta starts next week, which is when traffic police will begin operations to find and detain traffic offenders who have outstanding warrants of arrest against them.

Bukit Aman traffic chief Senior Asst Comm Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff said that despite the two-week grace period for traffic offenders to pay up, only a fraction had done so. He told reporters that as of Monday, only 18,260 summonses with warrants of arrest status had been settled.

He explained that out of 4.09 million arrest warrants issued to traffic summons defaulters, only 2.49 million – or 61% – had been settled. He added that from next week, police will begin looking at the remaining 1.59 million outstanding arrest warrants, and advised those offenders to pay their fines by May 15.

polis-saman 630

“I warn them to settle their summonses immediately. If they fail to do so, they will be taken to court. And if they do not give full cooperation, police will invoke the arrest procedure including handcuffing the offenders,” he stated, adding that the police will go knocking on doors of homes and workplaces of those with arrest warrants under their names.

Motorists can check if they have outstanding summons through many avenues – myeg.com.my, rilek.com.my, and at traffic police counters, post offices, Maybank ATMs, plus selected shopping malls and Road Transport Department (JPJ) branches.

Last week, Fuad had said that all traffic police stations nationwide would be extending their front counter operation hours until 10 pm from Monday to Friday starting from May 5 to make it easier for those who wish to settle their summonses.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• here we go again…

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 13, 2015 at 10:06 am

The Polis, can go arresting and got time for this. But basic offence of motor beating the light, that they cannot control.

PDRM can be at the traffic lights, they can see the Rempit beating the lights but they just smile. Not just rempit, every other normal motorbike also nowadays just beating the lights

Most times, not just one or two officers at the lights, sometimes even a few. Polis love to berkumpul under the bridge at four way junction to chit chat. They all blatantly see so many moto beating the lights, all they do is smile at the offender. But now, they got time to arrest people.

Datuk Fuad, what kind of officers are these? Just see crime being done but don’t do anything.

Then the officers can even see a dead dog in the middle of the road, or a fallen helmet, or a fallen tree, PDRM officers just pass by, don’t do anything.

In their minds, they say it is not their job. It is DBKL job to pick up that helmet in the middle of the road.

in the UK, the polis officer even climb up the tree to go and catch a cat that is meowing so loud and disturbing the neighbourhood. Not his duty but he goes over and above his duty.

Time PDRM start thinking the same.

PDRM, why Motor can beat the lights, camera take picture also, you so scared to post saman to them. But car kena AES pix or normal camera pix, so quick PDRM post the saman and want to arrest car drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • IGP mom on May 13, 2015 at 10:33 am

Not to mention the police are daily breaking the traffic lights themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:07 am

Or you think how they gonna cover the RM42bil 1MDB debt?

Money Money Money!

The cronies won’t fall before the government fall.

The government won’t fall before you and me fall.

Under the logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:54 am

Imagine RM42bil debt can buy the whole Sorella, Skiva and Triumph International factory and brands.

Malaysia can be the No 1 undergarments manufacturer in the world

• PDRM tak pakai Belt? on May 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

I never see any PDRM officers wear safety belt in the car. Eventhough it is for their own safety.

Come on PDRM, show an example to all of us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • LOOKYOURSELF on May 13, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Why didn’t you pick up the dead dog or helmet when you saw it? NOT your job? I thought you have been to UK?

• IGP mom on May 13, 2015 at 9:33 am

Why is the police so beria-ria punishing the rakyat? Why not these bullies do their work properly and settle all the open police reports, catch the real criminals and save keep the country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on May 15, 2015 at 2:31 am

Catching criminal and rempit not productive la brader. No money to earn one. Rempit no money to pay oso pocket only got 2 ringgit how to makan duit kopi? Catch you and saman can earn billions. Itu baru productive la.

• Areyousure on May 13, 2015 at 9:37 am

Yay… Government running out of cash…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Open Letter to Datuk Fuad on May 13, 2015 at 10:12 am

Datuk, firstly, as with all other enforcements in the past, it will be a joke. Everytime you Trafik officers will do enforcement, it will be for 1 week, after that, it will be long forgotten story.

Even when enforcement is done, 9 out of 10 of your Trafik officers and road block gangs will ask the offender to settle on the spot. Your officers will ask, Encik boleh settle sekarang, tapi encik mesti bagi dengan ikhlas”. You know and I know about this.

Nowadays, although corruption is 2 ways, Trafik cops and officers are very brave. They always ask outright. And the rakyat, finding the easy way out, always just give.

So, there is no real enforcement at all. The purpose of this operasi is just a sham for the officers to make more pocket money for themselves.

Then, there is also the fact that your officers have no telur. They see big car or any car with single number plate, they just say, “Lalu lalu and lambai their tangan”

I have even seen Polis officers carrying balls also, big tinted Mercedes pass, the officer can salute also to the offender. Then the poor kancil fellow at the back, kena tahan and saman. We all Malaysians know, big car or some Datuk or Tan Sri, the Trafik officers telur will kecut.

Datuk, pls sort your Trafik first. Be fair. Saman everybody. Also, make sure your officers are clean. Clean up your officers, that is more important.

Do you dare to go to the Datuk’s or Tan Sri’s home and arrest him?

I can 100% confirm one thing, no single Datuk, Tan Sri or big Government Servant or big UMNO member will be arrested. We know they are the biggest offenders, some with a stack of summons but Polis banyak takut. Banyak banyak takut.

Datuk, instead of going home to house to arrest people, deploy your officers to ronda the neighbourhoods. Keep our streets safer. Every other woman or lady I know got their car windows smashed and handbag stolen. The theives are not scared because, they know PDRM dont patrol but go from house to house to arrest non paying saman offenders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Paul Si on May 13, 2015 at 9:37 am

I checked with 15888 recently and found that my 1994 Land Rover Discovery had two summonses totalling RM100. I bought the car in 2008, and could not recall breaking any rules in it. Went to pay, found out summonses were for illegal parking in 2005, under the name of a foreigner. He had sold the car to another foreigner, who sold it to me. I checked at the time of ownership transfer, and it was clean. No issues with renewing road tax over past 7 years. So how?

• Si Paul Si on May 13, 2015 at 10:51 am

You should have checked with 15888 or SAMANDAPAT before you bought the car.

I was told by a 2nd car dealer before that nevermind it follows the previous owner don’t worry wan…..when I checked with 15888. Of course I don’t trust them as most of them are crooks and cheaters. I mean would you trust a person that always turnback the odometer?

So one of your option is don’t pay the fine and go to jail lah. After all jail give you free food, free accomodation, free electricity, water and excercise all at the cost of the tax payer’s money.
      Enjoy :)!

• donkey J on May 13, 2015 at 10:22 am

handcuffing and court terms, now most Malaysian is crime.

• Only got ball to catch the weak, no ball to catch the dangerous wanted criminal…ptuiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Summons and summons with warrant not the same right?
    In any case, are these summons open for plead to reduce amount?

• blackbeard on May 13, 2015 at 11:20 am

Yana of FMC has RM1920 outstanding and is strutting around because “Yana ada orang dalam”. PDRM, fix your image by arresting ppl like her first!

• PR troopers sez “we should not pay the summons even if its our fault. Its our right to break the laws. We dun mind going to jail and accompany our dear leader. After all, those who went to jail becum famous and successful. Lawan sampai masuk penjara, dalam tetap lawan warden”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • klguy on May 13, 2015 at 1:06 pm

last resort to suck rakyat’s money

• i will pay it, bcoz i did offended. but it is wrong to treat ppl like they killed someone. traffic summons until you need to go up to ppl’s premises?? dont u have other better things to do ???

• the saman is it include DBKL and JPJ?