Peugeot 508 GT facelift previewed – RM205k estimated

Peugeot 508 GT Facelift 56

The facelifted Peugeot 508 will be the next car that Malaysian Peugeot distributor Nasim will introduce in Malaysia. This diesel-powered 508 GT variant is being previewed at East Atrium of Mid Valley Megamall this week.

According to the spec sheets, the 508 GT is powered by a 2.2 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel, so it looks like we won’t get the new 180 hp 2.0 litre BlueHDi engine. No loss, because the 2.2 litre is the most powerful diesel on offer so far. Mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox, it hits the 100 km/h mark in 8.4 seconds thanks to 204 hp and 450 Nm of torque from as low as 2,000 rpm.

The interior may look the same at first glance, but but upon closer inspection, the iDrive-style controller is gone, and in its place is a new storage box with lid. This addresses one of the few complaints we have about the 508 – the lack of cabin storage spaces. How do you control the infotainment system then? With your finger – the seven-inch display is now a touch screen.

The spec sheet on the stand next to the car mentions an estimated price of RM205,000 for the 508 GT sedan, about RM5k more than the current car. The pre-facelifted 508 range offered both sedan and SW wagon body styles – will the latter continue to be offered with the facelifted range?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oh please bring the GT SW

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Yea the acceleration is similar to our Camry but much more expensive than Camry. Our Camry offer boss class interior and world class safety features. Not to forget, high RV as well. This Diesel engine need to be serviced frequently due to our lousy quality. Thus maintenance cost is higher compare with Camry. Somemore RV is low. You will regret if you buy this GT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 106
      • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Peugeot is European’s Proton.

Getting a Peugeot is no difference from get a Proton, just a much more expensive Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 56
        • Bob_B78 on May 13, 2015 at 4:08 pm

If Peugeot, VW or Renault are European protons, then when the actual proton goes to Europe, what will become of proton? If you are referring to pricing, you guys really need study European automotive taxation system for each country there.

• jemah on May 13, 2015 at 2:23 pm

keep lying your mom

• I have to be honest. I tested camry acceleration. It is very slow for new 2.5L. The old 2.0 however is worst. Cancelled & changed my mind for camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
        • Bob_B78 on May 13, 2015 at 4:21 pm

This is 1 thing i dun understand. The new camry hybrid has a claimed 7.2s for 0-100km/h. How can that be called slow? Please dun compare to VW golf GTI or Ferrari. Or issit you were driving the old non hybrid 2.5l camry?

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I think he is comparing with his 900kg Myvi or EX5..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Bob_B78 on May 13, 2015 at 2:58 pm

When you can afford more RM150K car you still need to worry about RV or FC or maintenance? Sorry to say but I still believe European cars structure is heavier and stronger, thus making its FC inferior to Japanese cars. Ride and handling should be better than Camry and you could put in more golf bags in the 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • Sorry to say but I still believe European cars structure is heavier and stronger, thus making its FC inferior to Japanese cars.
          ———————————————–

Are u nuts, read properly …this 508GT is a diesel, its FC is much superior than a Japs’s petrol sedan and much powerful (204HP + 450nm torque from a low 2,000rpm)!..wt this GT u can have both power & frugal combine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Bob_B78 on May 13, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Not nuts. Just referring to general European offerings against Japanese. Thats why I only mentioned ‘European’ not 508

• So does you Camry have full LED head lights? What about 5 stars in the latest Euro NCAP? It doesn’t even have ESP on the base model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • paparadzi (Member) on May 13, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Yes Camry hybrid does have full LED headlights.

• oh really now? show me where you found this information.

• hmhmhm on May 13, 2015 at 3:23 pm

people buy a camry because they can’t afford anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • intermilan on May 13, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Diam la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Well since the new 308 was estimated to be 140k in the first place I think this will be just under 200k. It does look quite good. Can’t wait to see it in person.

• wowow on May 13, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Full LED headlights!! yessss

• xtremex on May 13, 2015 at 2:16 pm

ahhh… Sam lor again talking about RV. Ur camry is nowhere near to this beauty in terms of interior n exterior styling n even performance. I believe this 508 wont hv a very low RV cos its beautiful, reliable, gd quality. Peugeot has improved a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Salwani85 on May 13, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Ouh..I’m so tempted..can afford to buy this beauty but can’t afford to bare Naza after sales incompetency problem I keep hear from many auto forum..

• If you live in PJ go to GeotAuto for maintenance. Really good service there.

• Salwani85 on May 13, 2015 at 6:47 pm

I live in Kelantan

• oh then forget it. only buy conti cars if you can service in klang valley. Anywhere else just buy japanese.

• wan em dee bee on May 13, 2015 at 2:52 pm

wasnt a big fan of peugeot before, but i have to say this one is a looker

• Diesel on May 13, 2015 at 2:55 pm

No doubt this is a very good car. Ride handling is good & comfort. Equipped with most technologies. Only problem is the RV. Good if buy & keep

• theanswer on May 13, 2015 at 3:24 pm

gt suspension spec might be different from thp one..so i cant comment on comfort. but for turbo s and comfort not in the same sentence. comfort is not 508 forte. if want comfort..go for teana or camry. *508 driver here*

• difff on May 13, 2015 at 6:08 pm

The GT & petrol are 2 very different cars. You don’t drive a diesel the same way as petrol cars. The GT has a double wishbone setup to better handle the heavier diesel engine whereas the petrol models have a standard MacPherson suspension.

• awesome lukin car. the GT power is really crazy fun.. test drive it people who never drive GT b4. thn u wil know hw powerful it is.. and at same time gud fuel efficient too. full tank can go for 1200KM :)

• Poker Face on May 13, 2015 at 7:16 pm

CAR magazine has dyno tested the previous peugeot 2.2 diesel before and the torque figure was somewhat a lot lower compared with quoted figure 450Nm. My question is Peugeot Malaysia lying about their engine figures? I suspect it was due our diesel quality..

• farhanatan on May 13, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Ok. So this over the new ford mondeo? Just asking. I cant afford these new, 2nd hand can.

Camry? Can afford but i hate stinky UMW.

• Gorgeous look.. but how is this fare against new mondeo? hopefully PT can arrange for the comparison soon… no need to include accord, teana or boring camry.. just these 2 cars..

• ex5 je on May 16, 2015 at 8:43 am

Wonder why people bother about other people like and desire. Do you think when you like your girlfriend very much then other people would also like her the way you like her? Cit pooodah..

I tell you what..most of proton haters are driving vios or city and possibly never drive or sit in proton. They think if not because of proton they would drive BMW instead of vios or city.