DRIVEN: Kia Cerato Koup – annyeong haseyo, turbo!

Kia Cerato Koup Msia 7

What do you look for in a car? Posed to an enthusiast, the largely intangible “driver appeal” will rank high, while there are some of us who chant the “manual or nothing” mantra. We may be part of the latter dying breed, but understand very well that there’s a real world out there who doesn’t give two hoots about three pedals and steering feel.

Just like with humans, it’s undeniable that how a car looks is an important (if not the most important) part of the charm offensive. We’re visual creatures, and if a good looking car is well equipped and priced attractively, it’ll find suitors.

The Kia Forte Koup, introduced here in 2011, was such a car. The previous-gen Forte was pretty handsome to begin with, but the Koup threw away two doors to great effect, its visual appeal elevated by the lack of coupe options in our market. Never mind that it didn’t have the performance to back up the sporty style, it looked good. Still does.

Enter the Kia Cerato Koup. The formula is the same, but this time around, there’s go to match the show. The two-door Cerato will be offered here with a turbocharged direct-injection engine, Naza Kia’s first petrol turbo offering. A 1.6 litre T-GDI motor with 204 PS and 265 Nm of torque makes the Koup an interesting proposition at an estimated RM150k.

Like the Forte Koup, the Cerato Koup is based on Kia’s global C-segment sedan. The footprint of the coupe isn’t significantly smaller – there’s not much difference in terms of width (1,780 mm), and the 2,700 mm wheelbase is identical, but the Koup is 30 mm shorter than the sedan at 4,530 mm. This car’s roofline is also 25 mm lower, at 1,420 mm.

Just a sedan with two less doors? Not really, because Kia has put considerable effort into differentiating the Koup from the saloon. Unlike the old two-door Forte, this one gets a unique face.

While the sedan’s front end is dominated by a large radiator grille sitting on top of a slim lower grille, the coupe’s inverse arrangement sees a slim radiator grille (pinched in the middle to make a ‘tiger nose’) above a gaping lower intake. It’s a sportier, more forceful image that’s appropriate for the sexier sibling. Kia even manufactured frameless door windows, a classic coupe cue, for the Koup, so it’s an ‘A’ for effort.

Cerato Koup Review-43

The long headlamps – with distinctive LED daytime running light ‘eyebrows’ – are shared with the sedan, but there’s more night-time jewellery here in the form of LED rings outlining the fog lamps.

That’s part of the Koup T-GDI package (normally-aspirated Koups are available elsewhere), which also includes horizontal bar grille inserts (as opposed to honeycomb), gloss black door handles and wing mirror caps, twin tailpipes and carbon fibre-look trim for the front bumper bar and rear diffuser. The sportier look is finished by 18-inch alloys in a unique flower spoke design.

The Cerato Koup, which goes up against the Honda Civic Si and Scion tC in the US, looks stylish enough, but I personally prefer the sharp lines of the Forte (and by extension, Forte Koup) over the more organic shape of the K3. If I had to describe the Cerato Koup with an S-word, it’ll be ‘sophisticated’ instead of ‘sporty’, despite the Turbo add-ons. This format’s limitations considered, Kia’s coupe looks very good. Check out the Honda and Scion to see what we mean.

Kia Cerato Koup Msia 8

You might have noticed that the Koup’s roofline is not the most daring, and the side profile shows a rather squarish rear section aft of the B pillar. The more sedate shape is by design, and it pays dividends inside, especially at the back.

The Cerato Koup works well as a four-seater (three abreast at the back should be left for emergencies, lack of width and shape of the bench not being conducive) and this 175 cm writer survived a Korean highway journey as rear passenger without emerging with cramps. The daylight opening is kind to backbenchers and rear passenger vents are a surprise find in a such a car. Coupes are generally seen as selfish buys, but this one will be easier to justify to the spouse.

Both will be seated comfortably in front, thanks to sizeable leather chairs with CF-style trimmings unique to the T-GDI, plus seat ventilation for the driver. The latter, a practical luxury also found in the Cerato sedan, is a real boon on hot days and will put an end to sweaty backs.

No one will feel claustrophobic in here, as the windscreen and windows are large, and one doesn’t sit very low. Not nearly low enough for this driver, in fact, with the height adjuster pumped to the max. The high perch, coupled with the big windows, means that some Koup drivers will feel like they’re sitting on the seat rather than sinking into it.

The dashboard is per the Cerato K3, which means that the basic design isn’t very sporty. Odd even, with waves of curves emanating from the instrument cluster, including two such lines on the panel in front of the passenger. It’s simply not evocative enough for a car with sporty aspirations, but the Koup has to make do with what it has been handed – I understand.

The all-black cabin environment is also very business-like despite the carbon-style trim on the dashboard and seats. Mazda, in its bread-and-butter models, does the classy-sporty blend a lot better, with seating that also caters to keen drivers.

Kia Cerato Koup Msia 6

The Cerato Koup is no longer just about style. For Malaysia, only the T-GDI (turbocharged-gasoline direct injection) variant will be available; the 1.6 litre four-pot producing 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm. It’s the same unit used in the recently-launched Hyundai Veloster Turbo, but the blown Gamma in that car is in a 186 PS/265 Nm tune.

The downsized turbo engine compares very well with the 2.0 litre Theta II in the Forte Koup. The old timer delivered 156 PS at 6,200 rpm and 194 Nm at 4,300 rpm – that’s 48 PS and 71 Nm less for RM290 more in road tax. Paired to Hyundai-Kia’s in-house six-speed torque converter automatic with paddle shifters, the Cerato Koup does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.4 seconds. Top speed is 222 km/h.

Figures aside, the T-GDI blesses the Koup with pace, something its predecessor never had in abundance. There’s a hint of lag from take off and when flooring the throttle at speed, but not of deal breaking proportions. But if you’re expecting serious kick in the back bursts of acceleration, Golf GTI-style, you won’t find it here.

Speed accumulation happens in a more measured way in the Koup T-GDI, and the six-speed auto has a similarly leisurely gait. The motor is smooth enough, but there isn’t much aural stimulation – so while this Kia is fast, it’s not very furious.

Those who attempt a furious approach will find that rewards are scant. For me, the steering is the biggest discouraging factor, with inconsistent assistance and a general lack of connectedness. As usual, Hyundai-Kia’s Flex Steer system is present, offering three levels of assistance – Comfort, Normal and Sport. Comfort is pointlessly light, and the difference between Normal and Sport is just an added dollop of weight for the latter, with the original flaws intact.

The MDPS (motor-driven power steering, Hyundai-Kia’s term for EPS) isn’t very confidence inspiring, but we pushed on in the name of research. The Koup doesn’t corner as flat as the best hot hatches, but that’s expected. It’s also not fond of mid-corner crests or expansion joints, and shows displeasure via a slightly floaty tail and/or small hops off the original line; ESP came out to greet me once when I wasn’t expecting it to, so there’s a slight mismatch between the Koup’s dynamic ability versus the speeds it’s capable of.

Cerato Koup Review-55

When expectations are aligned, the Koup’s good ride comfort and general refinement come to the fore, although the 225/40 Nexens won’t be the quietest rubber around. These two qualities may not sound very exciting, but can be appreciated daily, as opposed to the once-in-a-blue moon B-road blast.

They also complement the car’s decent range of amenities – above-mentioned leather and ventilated driver’s seat aside, the Koup comes with a sunroof, dual-zone auto air-con (with cluster ioniser), keyless entry and push start, front/rear park assist with reverse camera, cruise control and Bluetooth, among other things. Well covered on the safety front too, with six airbags, ESC and Isofix child seat anchors for the rear seats.

As you can probably tell by now, Kia’s sportiest product in Malaysia isn’t one to rival the hot hatch brigade. ‘Driver appeal’ isn’t a strong suit, but the Cerato Koup offers good coupe looks with uncoupe-like space and comfort, generous amounts of kit, plus turbocharged pace to avoid being embarrassed by small family cars. It’s a boulevard cruiser, not a backroad bruiser.

The Kia Cerato Koup T-GDI will be launched in Malaysia soon, and is now open for pre-orders. The red car you see here is exactly what we’ll be getting in terms of spec. Estimated price is RM150,000.

Kia Cerato Koup in South Korea

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 7:29 pm

The reality is this: the Cerato Koup (I’ll just call it the Koup) is just like the Veloster, highly relevant in the US, where cars are dirt cheap, and generally are bought by young college grads/college going kids.

In Malaysia, this isn’t really relevant, cause unlike the CR-Z which was cheap, this costs almost the same as the Kia Optima (which is a size bigger). Nor will this car compete with the sporty cars from the segment below, the Peugeot 208 GTI, Volkswagen Polo GTi and the Fiesta ST, and even the Renault Clio RS200 EDC will beat this car flat. If it has the same dynamics as the Cerato sedan, then don’t expect much, because the Cerato was OK for a 115k car, but anything more than that I’d probably have reconsidered, mainly because of the poor steering feel and not very good body control (in comparison to say a Mazda 3 or Honda Civic).

This car serves as more of a test bed for Kia to start bringing in the 1.6 T-GDI in. Expect the Cerato facelift to bring the T-GDI in as an option. In fact, don’t be surprised if Kia eventually brings in the Kia Cerato hatch, heck if we are lucky, we could probably get one of the Euro Kia’s like the pro_cee’d or the cee’d which are actually supposed to be pretty good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
    • karam singh on May 14, 2015 at 7:33 pm

agreed, most focused in engine …
      less focus on the handling/chasis

still long way to compete,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • jazzy spin on May 15, 2015 at 7:41 pm

I saw fifth gear gave a good rating on the kia proceed GT and even the testers were impressed by the Korean first try on hatchback market.

If Naza bring the kia proceed GT, I will be happy to trade in my current ride for it.

• Holofanboi on May 14, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Oh god if the Pro’ceed does come it would be amazing! But isn’t it euro-exclusive?

• sudonano (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 5:13 am

The pro_cee’d GT is available in ‘Straya, so we have a chance!

• jambanjapscars on May 14, 2015 at 8:47 pm

No need turbo coz same lorrrr said it”s outdated. People should buy latest hybrid synergy drive while the airbags dum have any guarantee will function good.

Vtec turbo also outdated and yes you go wrong with Japs cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Areyousure on May 14, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Try to look from the side. You will notice “small” is the door between the wheelbase.

Design is really failed.
      Still a 2-doors’ Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • CRZ is not cheap…starting at 180k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • thepolygonal on May 15, 2015 at 10:14 am

I guess this price range should be reserved for the Kia Pr_cee’d, not the Cerato Kuop. The mindset is, it’s still a Cerato…

• At last somebody talk sense in this forum instead of pointless bashing.

• karam singh on May 14, 2015 at 7:31 pm

thats powerful …. most 200bhp car scores less than 7secs 0-100kmh, need better drivetrain for efficiency
    how it handles?
    2doors car yet have rear ac vent.. nice one,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Kimchi Sam Loo on May 14, 2015 at 7:33 pm

You buy what you want! Do not affect by the Sushi Sam Loo, they are scared because Toyota has low sales. So they keep bad mouth about our cars. Our Kia is really good, it gives you the passion of driving. And this is most of the PT readers want right. So spent some time to go to our showrooms to look at this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • shawal on May 14, 2015 at 7:33 pm

thats K5 money….
    and K5 looks wayy better too, inside and out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Holofanboi on May 14, 2015 at 8:11 pm

@Danny,

How long was your seat time in the Koup? The article was written wonderfully but lacks that satisfying factor to fill my ‘stomach’. Not a complete and as satisfying ‘meal’ compared to your Megane RS daily driver article!

Nonetheless, still good!

Some questions, if you dont mind –

Does the Koup exhibit the same reluctance to drop a gear when you randomly slam the throttle like the K5 and K3? (my cousin owns a 2.0 cerato)

How harsh was vibrations due to the ridiculously thin 40 profile tires?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 11:01 pm

The unit you see here is the first and only Koup in the country as of now, and it’s unregistered, which is why I didn’t get to try it over an extended period.

Slight lag noticed during kickdown, but the ride wasn’t harsh.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 14, 2015 at 8:29 pm

In Bolehland, this car is a really Celaka.

Might as well rename it to reflect its true consequences

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
    • Bob_B78 on May 14, 2015 at 10:05 pm

How is it celaka? By offering more equipment and performance at a lower price? Toyota is more worthy with this name ‘celaka’ by offering cut throat price for least safety features. No concern for user safety is the most celaka thing IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 14, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Duh ….

Cerato -> Celaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on May 14, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Nice. but overpriced. will proton rebadge it into next proton putra?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 14, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Buy 12 months later

Should be less than RM20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • Sell-to-me on May 16, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Give me your contact.
        I’ll buy as many unit you have in a year time.
        Hey, I’ll even buy $30k/unit since you so poor now with no sales. Let you profit $10k each :)

• Design not nice at all! what a shame! I believe if proton, people will bashh it kaw kaw!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • kairul abdul on May 14, 2015 at 11:44 pm

What your problem bringing Proton here? Always complaint others comment now you fans doing the same thing… Same arrogant like him.

Can P1 fans just comment only on P1 article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • whycannot on May 15, 2015 at 11:36 am

p1 being bashed right left up down in every article including in BMW Merc luxury car articles, so now you said cannot comment? Why cannot?

• Bomoh on May 15, 2015 at 10:51 am

At least better than suprema pizza…

• roxas on May 14, 2015 at 11:09 pm

perfect deal if its 20-30k less..

• George Abdul on May 15, 2015 at 8:04 am

Malaysia Dealers and AP included taxes are around that price… seen AP and Govt taxes need to profit more Rakyat need to suffer expensive car.

Keep complaints has no use because Cronies under the same boss will not back down !!!

• dy246 on May 14, 2015 at 11:10 pm

200hp in a C-segment car with a torsion beam rear axle?
    Volkswagen swaps out a torsion beam rear axle for a multi-link one in it’s Beetle and Golf models with more than 120hp.
    I suppose this is a car one buys purely for the style and specification sheet.

• Alifzz on May 14, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Then how do you find about Jetta 1.4 TSI that using torsion beam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • dy246 on May 15, 2015 at 8:19 am

That’s only in the US market. Malaysia gets the multi link setup.

• for that kind of money, it sure has one ugly dashboard

• Yet another Korean junk. A lemon. Sold my 10 years old Kia Spectra for RM3500. Cheaper than a 30 years old Corolla KE30. I was a victim (alive) of Kimchi internet marketer, whose keep posting thread about how good a Kimchi was back then. My advice, go for Sushi instead. For Quality, Reliability, Parts availability and RV, PROVEN. Korean are good in cosmetic only i think. Layman saying, they want to do one time business only, then wash hand. Lu rugi RV lu punya hal. Lu takda spare part (mahal) lu punya hal. Lu KIA breakdown lu punya hal. Lu mau 100% good lu pergi beli RollsRoyce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • sushi will not recall anything in malaysia on May 15, 2015 at 8:16 am

Sushi sucks!
      When takada scandal reveal.
      They never recall malaysia AIRBAGS until a woman killed by honda city takada airbag happen!
      Dont buy sushi anymore!
      They kill ppl!

UMW, Honda malaysia, Shame on you!
      Take our money, ignore our safety!
      Go back to school and study your CSR before you sell your car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Bomoh on May 15, 2015 at 10:54 am

Hey bro, your 10 years old kimchi junk is much different with today kimchi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • i believe to resolve the floaty tail.. Just slam in ultra racing anti sway bar.. Cheap solution.. It will be very happy to attack many corners..

• Head Hunter on May 15, 2015 at 5:02 am

That dashboard makes me feel like I’m driving a taxi. So uninspiring and it doesn’t make you feel like you’re in a sports coupe at all!

• Same Lorrr on May 15, 2015 at 8:29 am

Please! Enough is enough with Khimci!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Kimchi Shit on May 15, 2015 at 9:29 am

Yes enough for this kimchi shit.
      150k rather buy Honda Accord,bigger car and more reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • cendol (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 9:34 am

Koup is poor man’s sports car.
    Rich man buy TT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 9:36 am

Toyota should bring back Celica or Supra.
    Honda should bring back NSX.

• that front grille looks tiny compare to the sedan…looks nicer if its bigger

• how about Proton Putra Turbo

• Zoom Zoom on May 15, 2015 at 10:03 am

If really want a 2 doors hatch with sporty look, I will go for cars like CR-Z, TT, SLK, scirocco that really looks like sports car. A 2 doors coupe that looks like the sedan version and is 40-50k more expensive then better get the sedan 4 doors sedan.

• Therealmaserati on May 15, 2015 at 10:07 am

Already told u all a million times. Korean cars steering sucks to the max!

And the setting is a gimmick because it does close to nothing .

And the chassis is so poor u drive around corners, u feel like u r on a boat.

Worst car ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • sammy on May 15, 2015 at 10:26 am

The more aggressively styled Veloster didn’t exactly survive the sales chart, I doubt this one would do better.
    And the pricing, maybe less then RM130k would make it more attractive.

• thedarkside on May 15, 2015 at 11:16 am

its not too expensive…powerful engine…2 doors..for everyday drive on highway i think its perfect. not like i have time to enjoy driving at genting or ulu yam to test its handling.

• thedarkside on May 15, 2015 at 11:16 am

its not too expensive…powerful engine…2 doors..for everyday drive on highway i think its perfect. not like i have time to enjoy driving at genting or ulu yam to test its handling.

• I’m prefer kia pro_ceed gt

• Haha.This post reminds me of my 50+ y/o lady neighbour whom bought a red Koup, W** 4.She always smiling while driving the car,and she is well known throughout our area to be a very,very “kecoh” lady.Very cerewet.Before that she drove the old TT.The 190 I think.With the rounded edges.Always slam the door and cursing.Hence personally,selection of cars are very subjective.The recent KIA is quite ok.I do prefer my 2014 Picanto than my 2012 CooperS,and it is not because changing the CooperS’s original battery will cost you almost 1k.It’s a known risk of owning a non-grey imported Contis btw.But I believe KIA has somehow found part of the right formula of developing a customer-centred car,at a good price.(However if the Cerato Koup is priced at RM150k,that is a bit too much.)If you talk about RV of a Korean car,it’s better you don’t talk about a Korean car.And don’t keep on repeating about RV of a Korean car.I used to have a car that is from the company that produces the safest car in the world,and THAT is as bad as bad RV can get.A 300k car,in 2 years becomes 45k.

• Moving Forward on May 15, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Kia pro ceed could be somehow related to Kia version of Hyundai i30. Not sure about handling and steering feel of pro ceed, first gen i30 (FD) steers and handles relatively well. I’ve limited driver seat hands on, the models I have driven and handle better than i30 would be preve turbo and Corolla Altis (E140). Civic (FD) is only on par with i30. Even the old Nissan Altima (u13) and Nissan Latio hatch feel clumsy compared to i30. Not all Koreans handle badly, and they serve the owner reliably as long as you stick to your maintenance schedule. The few issues I could think of is part durability, which ages faster than Japs and refinement. Back to Koup, 150K asking is too much for a Korean. They should keep the price low to buy time and close the gaps. No one will complain the asking price when it’s on par or surpass Japs on the aforementioned shortcomings.