Toyota and Mazda sign deal to deepen partnership

toyota mazda logo

Toyota and Mazda have officially announced that they have entered an agreement to build a mutually beneficial long-term partnership. Earlier in the week, it was reported that both automakers were in discussions to deepen their existing technological partnership and that an agreement on this was due soon.

In a press statement, the companies said that a joint committee will now be set up to evaluate how best to utilise each company’s respective strengths. The committee will explore broad and meaningful collaboration topics across a range of fields, including that of environmental and advanced safety technologies.

The automakers added that the latest agreement will go beyond the traditional framework of cooperation and aim at creating a whole new set of values for cars through wide-ranging medium- to long-term collaboration.

2016_Toyota_Fuel_Cell_Vehicle_016

While no technical details and working scope of the agreement were fleshed out in the statement, it has been suggested that Toyota will provide fuel-cell and hybrid tech to Mazda, while Mazda will share its economical SkyActiv petrol and diesel engine technologies in return.

Toyota president Akio Toyoda said he was delighted that both companies can share the same vision and work together to make cars better.

“As evidenced by its SkyActiv technologies and Kodo—Soul of Motion design language, Mazda has proven that it always thinks of what is coming next for vehicles and technology, while still managing to stay true to its basic car making roots. In this way, Mazda very much practices what Toyota holds dear: making ever-better cars,” he said in the statement.

Mazda-SkyActiv 001

Meanwhile, Mazda president and CEO Masamichi Kogai said he had tremendous respect for Toyota’s dedication in its pursuit of ever-better cars through ongoing innovation.

“Toyota is a company that has shown steadfast resolve in acting responsibly on global environmental issues and the future of manufacturing as a whole. Furthermore, Mazda identifies with the way Toyota cherishes its roots and all of the communities it is involved in. I hope that by working together to make cars better, we can raise the value of cars in the eyes of consumers while also enhancing the manufacturing capabilities of our home, Hiroshima, and all the communities we are involved in as well,” he stated.

Previous collaboration between Toyota and Mazda has included the licensing of Toyota’s hybrid technologies to Mazda and the production of compact cars for Toyota at Mazda’s plant in Mexico.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kapchai on May 14, 2015 at 11:53 am

The Japs are very cooperative. Toyota & Mazda, Toyota & Subaru (AE86), Nissan & Mitsubishi (new Lancer) etc. arigato

• Areyousure on May 14, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Toyota and BMW used to sign researching deal also (10 years ago). But why I don’t see improvement on Toyota’s engine one?

• Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 2:30 pm

What is improvement you mentioned? Turbocharge? V6 V8? These are all outdated stories.

Have you tried our Hybrid Synergy Drive? Plug In hybrid? fuel cell Mirai? If you didn’t try because it is not available here and it is too expensive for you, don’t pretend Toyota engine has no improvement. Even the Axia engine is better than Viva/Kelisa/Kancil.

The latest Toyota engine improvement: Camry Hybrid. When are you getting one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Hehehe on May 14, 2015 at 3:25 pm

But but Vios still using old NZ engine with 4-speed auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Similar as you ask why Saga Viva put the lousiest engine… VIOS is the CHEAPEST Toyota.

Not happy with vios specs? You can consider Altis even Camry hybrid. Now you start to blame us because you can’t afford one. Why suddenly we become your papa?

By the way, Vios engine is old but reliable and fuel efficient. People rather choose this than the Iriz vvti.

Your brain also million years old design, still it is smarter than your quad core processor in your phone.

• rubbishvios on May 15, 2015 at 11:41 am

So now Same Lorrrr admitted Viva=Vios, lol

• Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 1:24 pm

As I had said so many times:

YOU WON’T GO WRONG WITH SUSHI CARS!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • I would go die with sushi cars!

• Same L0rrrr on May 14, 2015 at 2:43 pm

You don’t like sushi cars, no need to die. We open for opinion and believe in liberty on buying cars.

Many used to speak like you on sushi cars, end up they come back buying our cars after they learn the lessons from other brands. Good luck.

• diemovingcoffin on May 14, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Die because of airbag faulties, noone wants for sure

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 14, 2015 at 11:54 am

Soon, you’ll found Toyota Yaris SkyActiv and Mazda2 FCV.

• Zoom Zoom on May 14, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Next will be Toyota Camry Skyactive hybrid, vios skyactive ? lol Sam Loo sure happy. Honda will go for their new turbo engines like the Germans etc

• japssyoksendiri on May 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Dun care if sam lorrr will happy or not, partnership here and there also is no use if they can’t even get the airbags to be working properly.

• Hehehe on May 14, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Dont forget the Toyota infamous sudden unintended acceleration.

• Kenneth Fook on May 14, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Mazda is being silly on this round. Why partner with someone lower than you. Toyota is for the masses. Not innovation by Toyota is least innovative. 1-NZFE for instance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Jonn Dol on May 14, 2015 at 12:48 pm

The costs of developing new tech/car kept on rising, that’s why inter-company partnership is increasingly inevitable.

• antiP1 on May 14, 2015 at 1:23 pm

if proton do this all ppl bash harshly…

• Lance on May 14, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Don’t worry it won’t happen..because no one will partner Proton.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 14, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Really?How about Honda?Honda is the one who want to join venture with Proton,not Proton want.Please bro,think before you say.^_^

• DPCraft on May 15, 2015 at 8:01 am

Honda is already good enough on it’s own, no need to join other automakers.

• KpgBoy on May 14, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Anyone looking to establish collaboration with kampung boy’s Proton on exchanging their Compro CPS technologies? Inviting BMW, Ferrari and Porsche.

• taknakToyota on May 14, 2015 at 8:36 pm

No need to troll. This is about moving coffin toyota not jaguh-kampung-but-much-safer p1

• rigid on May 14, 2015 at 2:31 pm

If you cant beat them, join them!!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 14, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Hyundai is also selling to Protons superceeded models of their cabbages.

Just that P1 does not want to reveal.

Partnership with Mitsu, Saga, Wira and Waja still OK.

Now all these Suprima etc are kimchis, they don’t sell much at all

• DPCraft on May 14, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Hope Mazda won’t take out VSC and AIRBAGS like toyota lol

• APsucks on May 15, 2015 at 11:57 am

Now lets see, Toyota jumps to bed with Subaru and Mazda, Mazda used to flirt with Ford, Nissan sleeps with Renault and has an affair with Mitsubishi, now this leave Honda as the only true thorough bred Japanese marque whose lineage was and is not adulterated by other makes…..

p/s: Recent Proton rebadges of Accord, Isuzu rebadged of Accord and Honda rebadged of Isuzu Trooper in US in the 90s’ don’t count….