UMW Toyota Motor offers five reasons to buy a Vios

Vios-May-2015-Promo

Those in the market for a Toyota Vios and B-segment fence-sitters, this might be of interest to you. From now till the end of May, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) is dangling five carrots to make Vios ownership easier. You can only pick one.

The first option is a low interest rate of just 0.88% on loans taken from selected banks. The second option is free insurance coverage for a year, free road tax for a year, plus free maintenance for five years. The third option offers low monthly instalments starting from just RM628 through the Toyota Capital 2-Tier Plan.

For those who want a more straightforward deal, the fourth option offers cash rebates of up to RM6,000, while the fifth option is a “good” trade-in value for your existing car. UMWT will assist in setting an appointment for the car to be evaluated at Topmark, which will then throw in a free gift with every evaluation. The Vios has been updated for 2015, with keyless entry and push start now standard across the range.

Vios aside, UMWT also has promotions for the Hilux, Altis, Avanza and Alphard. Toyota showrooms across the country will be throwing satay parties on May 16-17 and May 23-24. Test any model this month and you could be among 100 winners of the iPad mini, drawn every two weeks.

There’s also a Buy and Win contest where winners stand a chance to be one of 20 winners to walk away with a pair of tickets to the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. 200 Apple iPhone 6+ phones will also be given away every two weeks. Buy and Win goes on till the end of June, but all else ends on May 31.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• George Abdul on May 15, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 247
    • karam singh on May 15, 2015 at 1:42 pm

WOW, im amazed Vios got the award compared to Honda CITY
      CITY – more power,less FC , better safety, more practical,
      yet sales far better than VIOS.

Polo TSi,Fiesta deserve more than this Vios junk,

Typical Toyota- promoting RV , why not promoting better safety / better FC ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 137
    • wiwiwiw on May 15, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Five reasons not to buy a Toyota Vios
      1) old technology; dinosaur 1.5 engine with 4 speed automatic. Not fun to drive too.
      2) inside not as pretty as the Mazda 2 or spacious as the Honda City inside.
      3) poor safety. Only two airbags and abs. No electronic stability traction control is a big let down.
      4) only three year warranty, most people give five years with unlimited mileage
      5) kept thinking of sam loo that gives the owner a poor image

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 11
      • bob_b78 on May 15, 2015 at 2:52 pm

No. 6 – You should drive this car during a heavy rain. Its like putting a metal pail over your head with someone constantly hitting the pail with a stick. The roof soundproofing is very terrible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on May 15, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Both of yoy must be the hailat and Low class kimchis drivers. You guys need to work harder to own a vios . Drive it before you talk like sour grape here.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 89 Thumb down 180
          • bob_b78 on May 15, 2015 at 4:48 pm

For the price of vios, buying a kimchi will be money well spent. Even you have to admit price to price, kimchi equipment and safety features far more than toyota. If toyota is confident with their product, y do you need to do promotion? Go figure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
          • wiwiwiwiw on May 15, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 235
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 23, 2015 at 2:40 pm

I totally agree. Please buy a new Sonata or Elantra.

I need sorhai tai lan ngongs like you to prime the used kimchi market

• Toyota = sam loo = retard
        conclusion toyota owners is a retard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 47
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 15, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Please don’t buy Vios

Buy Elantra instead.

I need you sorhais to prime the used car market 12 months down the line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 20, 2015 at 9:28 am

Sure, I believe you. You sold off your Camry and bought a 1985 E-Class.

• Bruise on May 16, 2015 at 10:19 am

Bcos of sam loo or sam lorr, I kick Toyota far far away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Ex Toyota fan on May 18, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Because of Sam Loo, I sold off my Camry. Its famous now that only kiasu ppl drives toyota. And with the competition offering so much more spec while asking for much less money, buying a toyota make ppl look upon you like a retard and lazy bump that didn’t do survey and test drive other cars. Its like you pay Iphone 6 money to buy a iphone 4.
          Many chicks refuse to go out with me when i was driving camry as it is assosiated with stingy and kiasu owner scared to lose on RV. They are afriad maybe I won’t buy them drinks or only buy them cheap dinner at hawker stall. Camry also portrays the image of someone willing to sacrifice safety and life of his family for the sake of saving a few thousands when trading in after 5 years.
          And you know what? I lost a huge chunk of money as the resale value I got was very poor. Mine was traded in for only 88k while my neighbor sold his sonata for 81k. Both same year make.

Now I bought a new E class and I am a very happy man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • I also would like to give u 5 reasons not to buy this vios crap:
      1. Overpriced
      2. Underspec
      3. Outdated
      4. Crappy salesman
      5. You r not a retard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 22
    • VHL Lorr on May 15, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Even RM6k rebate also still bloody overpriced, not worth to consider unless they give RM50k – 60k discount since it’s build quality nowadays same with junk cars with maximum cost cutting and profit margin (latest issue, new 2015 Vios, few days old car already got lower arm problems and rattling sounds which typically happens more in old cars besides engine mounting – quality even lose to Berukdua’s original ‘chapalang’ engine mounting for 3-cylinder engine, undercarriage scratching when passing over higher humps with 4 – 5 passengers, worse than Proton Wira, roof insulation, same with Perodua Viva, fuel consumption, now even worse than Camprong engine which known to be not really fuel efficient due to lack of low rpm torque).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on May 15, 2015 at 1:03 pm

UMW Toyota to rebuild your reputation.

6 airbags + ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
    • karam singh on May 16, 2015 at 5:04 am

also,
      no more 4 speeder & dinosaur engine
      also add some practicality instead of rubbish TRD bodykit

take Honda City as example, more power but less fuel
      or fiesta ecoboost , less displacement with more power n efficiency

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • I also dun want

• chicken dinner on May 15, 2015 at 1:05 pm

if all 5 are not ‘OR’ and ‘AND’

you will have a winner winner chicken dinner.

else just a rip off from UMW. TQ & GOODBYE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • No one would buy your Vios without vsc. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • bob_b78 on May 15, 2015 at 2:54 pm

People will still buy because these ppl thinks reliability and so called rv is more important than safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Then they shall die of their foolishness. Natural selection at its best.

• I would rather buy an Iriz than this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 9
  • Reduan Zen on May 15, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Sam Lorrr, you’re up!
    Praise over this Vios !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Kuinosan on May 15, 2015 at 1:19 pm

There you have it! TOYOTA finally runing a promo for its previously best selling model. Reality is, customers realize now how long they have been shortchanged by TOYOTA and have decided to opt for other brands offering better value and better designed cars. But is this action too late to salvage your reputation TOYOTA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Win and die fast?

• Blitz on May 15, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Car without VSC is a moving coffin. Better get honda city with 6 airbags and vsc. People now days arent stupid to buy cars which is not equip with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • And then there are more reasons NOT to buy a Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • And then there are even more reasons NOT to buy a Vios

• oldtech on May 15, 2015 at 1:56 pm

This crap old tech ugly backside Milo Tin safety zero overprice over rated city car cannot sell anymore. UMW giving hugh freebies and discount…The God car trend has changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • medic on May 15, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Sounds very desperate… looks like employing proton’s sales strategy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • wiwiwiw on May 15, 2015 at 1:58 pm

How about matching with Honda City’s
    Six airbags, Electronic stability with traction control and a Five year warranty with unlimited mileage first then we talk about your promotions. With their sheer arrogance, it is obvious they’re losing sales and feeling the pain. Nissan can be said the same too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • LOLOL on May 15, 2015 at 1:58 pm

And I give 1 ultimate reason not to buy one.

4AT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Matchy on May 15, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Lol… choose one only. Better give us all!

• takNakP1 on May 15, 2015 at 2:32 pm

well, for what ever technology in the brand, is going to attracts some buyer from other brand which is good.

hopefully other brand will react to this promo.

is time for Malaysian to learn to be a smart purchaser for our over blown car price.

• sudonano (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 2:38 pm

LOL

Scam of the week.

Topmark is a bloody joke. Took my Camry to them, they claim to offer competitive values. I ended up getting a valuation of 70k from them, when pretty much every outside store was offering me over 80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • cendol (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 3:14 pm

What car you planning to change into?

• sudonano (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 4:51 pm

I was planning to sell off the car and just take the money and walk away. No longer needed it.

Ended up selling it outside to a private dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • cendol (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Normally if somebody just sells a car to dealer without getting a new car, the selling price of that car will drop.
          standard practise

• david on May 15, 2015 at 3:15 pm

No6 free coffin

• Dr Ray on May 15, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Very sad that Malaysians still getting fooled by Toyota…
    …Vios and Myvi 1.5SE drives the same… NO ESP or VDC..
    …Never buy car without a 5 Star safety rating…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • sammy on May 15, 2015 at 3:42 pm

how could it be 5 reasons when you could only choose 1?
    How about I give you 1 reason not to buy… their airbag could possibly kill you.

• sammy on May 15, 2015 at 3:44 pm

And just how they this car manage to win “Malaysian Car of the Year”? I don’t remember voting for it…
    The world chose the C Class and we have this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • wilson on May 15, 2015 at 4:03 pm

hoho, so many negative comments

• ben yap on May 15, 2015 at 4:18 pm

signs of desperation and poor sales from the vios there.

Now u know why ur car cannot sell eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • roxas on May 15, 2015 at 4:23 pm

yuck yuck yuck, this vios cant even match the prev gen city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • TheDuh on May 15, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Piece of shit. Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Madza 2 skyactiv new technology and style,is worth considering to buy, as compare to VIOS . Honda too is nice. Toyota Vios, old engine still 4-speed automatic n suppose under-power. For B- Segment , New Madza 2, is really nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • normal_user on May 15, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Malaysian Car of the Year? or is it Malaysian Moving Coffin of the Year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo Sucks on May 18, 2015 at 8:54 pm

This frost and sullivan is a corrupted shit. Offering best car award for the worse junk money can buy. ITs a moving coffin for goodness sake.

• aboden on May 15, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Umw getting desperate due to low sales of that overpriced , under spec , fantasy RV , piece of badge

• panjang on May 15, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Nothing new really.
    They are just reminding us what others are offering also.just that others dont make a fuss about it.

And…..its an ‘OR’ not ‘AND’.
    some makes are offering the ‘AND’ option.

• Pondan on May 15, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Proton is very proud. Finally UMW is copying their pasar malam jualan hebat ide.

• ~toretto~ on May 15, 2015 at 7:38 pm

fuyyoooo…funny…

• Hor Shen Hau on May 15, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Haha,funny sia.Keep it up Toyota.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 15, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Please don’t buy a new Vios.

Get an Elantra instead.

I need sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy new kimchis to prime the used car market 12 months down the line

Blardy UMW break my rice bowl like that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • fretjanik on May 15, 2015 at 11:17 pm

common guys, its not that bad. its still one of the best b-segment you can buy. reliability, quality & good value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 18, 2015 at 9:16 am

The best decision that sorhai tai lan ngongs can make right now is to buy the elantra new

I will garantee show you the Hilux 12 month later

• tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 11:45 pm

The almighty Godcar… slain.

Keep the pressure on, Malaysians. UMW’s punishment must be more severe. About time consumers stop getting taken for a ride.

City perhaps, has earned its right as Godslayer! Hail the Godslayer!

• Choose Proton Preve better
    1.) 6 airbags,with ESC,TC,Brake Assist with EBD,ABS,Impact Sensing door unlock,100km/h suddenly stop indicator warning
    2.) 1.6 Turbo Charge Engine 205Nm make feel about 10% more then 2.0 vehicle.
    3.) Follow Me Home Lights,Auto rain sensing wipers,Auto headlights,cruise Control,Dash GPS Navigator.
    4.) 7 Speed CVT with Paddle Shifters,Touch screen Audio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • CyberPatrol on May 16, 2015 at 7:49 am

Toyota and UMW, I guess it not difficult to add one more safety features as most ppl demanded and put yourself on par on safety features benchmark. But you turn deaf ears on them, anyway best wish on your sales promotion campaign. FYI, I’m your first generation of VIOS consumers just months after release in the market but sold it after 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • ToyotaNotGood on May 16, 2015 at 11:00 am

Toyota should added VSC and more airbag to their VIOS and Altis G, E.Most people turn away from Toyota because they are been stubborn and profiteering. Toyota should be charged for profiteering and neglecting the safety of buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Mc Kangkung on May 16, 2015 at 9:54 am

Toyota must be desperate now. The sales dropped like a boat anchor.

My fren working at toyota sales team is preparing to jump ship….

Kesian……

• Hybrids on May 16, 2015 at 10:06 am

I think Vios will come out with new engine after this clearance sales

• I’ll give 500 reasons dun buy Vios

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 16, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Please do not buy the Vios

Buy a new Elantra instead.

I need sorhai tai lan ngongs like you to prime the used kimchi market 12 months later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • I just wonder if i got amazed by their offer and decided to buy one , why should i pay 80k for 2 airbags car, without vsc, trac, ba, sst ? i rather pay 36k and get saga and it will be the same moving coffin, saga also comes with 2 airbags and none of the safety feature just like vios but half of vios price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • VHL Lorr on May 20, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Or perhaps, Persona SV if don’t mind an obsolete model (even current Vios comes with same 1.5 engine that used in year 2003), only RM45k (2 airbags and ABS that is same with Vios) but it comes with 4 disc brakes even for SV variant while for Vios, only G spec and TRD Sportivo comes with 4 disc brakes.

• drillero on May 17, 2015 at 12:03 am

Theoretically, the UMW Toyota sales is run by the same team that inflated Proton car prices decades ago at EON. Then, they jumped ship to inflate Toyota new & 2nd car prices at the cost of Malaysian. Now, do not let them move again to inflate another new kids on the blocks. The same arrogance sales pattern starts to appear at another brands lately. Beware fellow Malaysian, use our consumer power wisely.

• Whenever I see biadap driving or arrogant driver, 90% is vios. Vios is just a cheap car, s hol.

• engineblock on May 18, 2015 at 12:25 pm

give me free than only i want..that beyond wildest dream..lol

• abdullah on May 19, 2015 at 9:45 am

Honda City and Mazda 2 is far better than Vios.

• motohead on May 19, 2015 at 11:05 am

Who in the right mind would buy RM70-90k car with 4 speed automatic? Only dugong lovers.

• Flyguy70 on May 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Recently, UMW just quietly removed their ‘TOYOTA TRIBE’ forum discussion for consumers in their official Toyota website so that poor build quality posted by Toyota buyers, esp Vios poor quality problems can’t be seen in this Forum.

UMW is still don’t understand how to do biz on its automobile industry. Just give standard 6 or 7 airbags in their G-spec, either on Camry, Altis or Vios and get better quality spare-parts from its suppliers on Toyota cars, people will ‘FLOOD-IN’ again to buy Toyota cars, right?

• erismy kajang on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:55 am

Alarm is vey sensitive. It get barking even in heavy rain. The roof is very thin, very noisy while driving in rain.