New BMW M6 Competition Package – 600 hp, 700 Nm

P90182785-highRes

Facelifted late last year, the BMW M6 receives a more, ahem, competitive Competition Package for 2015, adding a dollop of oomph to the already awe-inspiring performance of the outgoing version (not like the regular model was ever lacking in this department in the first place).

With it, the 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 now produces a round figure of 600 hp, 40 hp higher than in standard form and 25 hp more than the previous Competition Package. Torque has also risen to 700 Nm from 1,500-6,000 rpm, up 20 Nm from before (the standard M6 also produces 680 Nm, but over a narrower spread).

P90182784-highRes

So equipped, the M6 flings itself to 100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds (Convertible 4.0 seconds), two tenths of a second faster than the old Competition Package, itself one tenth quicker than in standard form. More impressively, the new version blows past the 200 km/h barrier in a scarcely-believable 11.8 seconds, a massive 0.6 seconds faster than before. As with the standard M6, the electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed can be raised to 305 km/h through the optional M Driver’s Package.

As before, the new Competition Package also includes firmer springs, dampers and anti-roll bars, a separate control unit for the Active M Differential’s final drive for improved traction, more direct steering as well as a sportier Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) system. Outside, the optional pack is differentiated through seven-spoke 20-inch light alloy wheels and black chrome exhaust tips.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 18, 2015 at 1:45 pm

No need BMW with that price?? Proton same quality as BMW BUT ten times cheaper !!!

BMW please just closed shop, and let Proton take your brand !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrrr on May 18, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Apa lu cakap? Toyota 10x better quality than Proton but just more expensive by 2x. Come book your Camry Hybrid now.
      Limited volume this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Hahaha. LOL. =D

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 18, 2015 at 3:55 pm

No one read your comment any more, just shut up and go sell your lousy bra !!!

You does earn stupidity of the year with your comment who ever u’r.

• movingcoffin on May 18, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Toyota is still moving coffin, no matter what. Put 10 airbags still no use because of faulty airbags

• sammy on May 18, 2015 at 2:51 pm

no point having all the power but it doesn’t look good.
    I will have the i8 thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on May 18, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Low RV. Shall buy Toyota86 and get piece of mind. At least wont kwai tai in middle of the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • holy crap sweet goodness gracious motherlord..the great M6 has been upgraded into the greatestmestfestest M6

• Annoynimouse on May 18, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I don’t see the point for the extra power on what would be considered as a GT car. It’s already as quick as hell in standard form and if you want to enjoy track days, the M3 would be a better choice. Back to the old “because you can” I guess.

• Some people can’t even handle a MYVI’s power. 600hp is way too high. It’s all up to the driver :)