SPYSHOTS: 2017 Ford GT spotted on the streets!

Ford GT 2

Five months after its unveiling at the Detroit Auto Show, our trusty spy photographers have spotted the new 2017 Ford GT, undisguised and prowling public roads – and its looks are as jaw-dropping here as they were in the press photos and on the show stand.

Even with the ill-fitting bolt-on body panels and placeholder parts, and shorn of the show car’s Liquid Blue paint, the visual drama is still intact – aggressive shark-like nose, twin bonnet nostrils, gaping holes in the bodywork (used to channel air through the body for maximum aero efficiency), muscular haunches and high-mounted centre-exit exhausts all present and correct.

Spy-Shots of Cars

Compared to the show car, the mule doesn’t have the futuristic-looking dual-tier LED headlights, slim wing mirrors or the massive diffuser, and the large circular tail lights and enormous tailpipes have been swapped for temporary units. This could either mean that these parts will be changed when the car reaches production, or have simply been removed for the purposes of testing.

Powered by a 3.5 litre EcoBoost twin-turbo V6 – claimed to produce “over 600 hp” – mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, the 2017 Ford GT is slated to enter production late next year, just in the nick of time before the 50th anniversary of the GT40‘s landmark Le Mans win passes.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• amarjie on May 18, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Too skinny…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrrr on May 19, 2015 at 9:55 am

Wanna see one on Malaysia roads? Please buy more Proton, the cronies are the only way we can demonstrate our prosperity.

Proton won’t fall before government fall.
      Government won’t fall before you and me fall.
      So still dreaming of close up Proton? Slowly dream…

• Syukri Lajin on May 19, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Someone still manage to spin it into proton hate post. Lulz. Lame la you guys.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 19, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Bro,really ah?Please,let me tell you.Government didn’t protect Proton.Proton use their own money for RnD,car production,test car in Europe and something else.And you always say Proton tak laku.Why?Because of people like you!Say Proton car low quality lah,inilah,itulah.Problem that never exist also you create.

• spongewai on May 18, 2015 at 11:29 pm

legendary Ford GT return

respect

• That first picture at the top really highlights the sex appeal of the new Ford GT.

• nathan ferdinand on May 19, 2015 at 6:19 am

Looks nice with matte paint, bt the back… Some say it looks like a pig head.

• Same Lorr on May 19, 2015 at 7:59 am

Ford? Bad RV!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 19, 2015 at 8:51 am

The rear diffuser also remove and let the exhaust pipe naked and exposed? Kinda cut cost design. I gonna say no for my garage.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 9:15 am

Brutal, like Mad Max’s ride.

Nice as it is, I still prefer the classic lines of the original, the Ford GT40, from the 60s.

• Krasher on May 19, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Latest Batmobile?