Ops Warta: Offenders ‘on leave’ upon workplace visits – 251 arrests nationwide, to continue till May 31

Cop shop

The arrest toll under Ops Warta – the nationwide crackdown on motorists with outstanding summonses – has reached 251, with another 239 having presented themselves at police stations, The Star reports.

But the uncooperative remain many, and during workplace visits, the police have discovered many of the people they are looking for on emergency or medical leave, raising suspicion that the offenders want to avoid being arrested at work.

“During our operations today (May 19), the offenders knew we were coming. Most of them were on emergency or medical leave when we visited their workplaces,” the English-language daily quoted federal traffic police chief SAC Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff as saying.

polis-saman 630

“Let me tell you one thing, you can hide from us but you can’t run forever. We have been broadcasting this for two weeks, but some have taken this time to disappear. I advise them to come forward as we will continue to find them one by one.”

According to Selangor traffic police chief Deputy Supt Azmi Mansor, some employers are even in cahoots with the guilty. So far, only 38,000, or 3%, of 1.59 million summonses have been settled. Johor currently leads in terms of arrests (50), followed by Sarawak (39), Selangor (37), Penang (36), Malacca (24) and Sabah (3), according to The Star.

You can check if you have outstanding summons through myeg.com.my, rilek.com.my, and at traffic police counters, post offices, Maybank ATMs, plus selected shopping malls and Road Transport Department (JPJ) branches.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• krishna on May 20, 2015 at 10:20 am

hope they will go into Singapore and arrest the singaporeans too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Areyousure on May 20, 2015 at 12:23 pm

I wonder the speeder includes “cow” that is driving back to Singapore, hehehe

• The race is on on May 20, 2015 at 10:31 am

“… Johor currently leads in terms of arrests (50), followed by Sarawak (39), Selangor (37), Penang (36), Malacca (24) and Sabah (3) …”

Sounds like there’s a good race going on. Any bets on which state will ‘win’ the race?

p/s: Suprised Selangor is not in first place. More cars should equate to more offenders right??

• I think it’s not just the numbers. More like the mindset of the people plays a big part in the numbers too. It’s more like which states have the most people that do not adhere to the law.

• alldisc on May 20, 2015 at 8:57 pm

More cars means traffic jam. How to speed?

• Billy on May 20, 2015 at 10:41 am

MYEG page says “This webpage is not available. ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT”. Yay! No need to pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • kumsai on May 20, 2015 at 10:43 am

Is paul tan blog now working with polis department to scare people to pay summon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Holofanboi on May 20, 2015 at 11:13 am

Scare tactics or not this is a great move as it is enforcement after all. No matter how short it lasts, this is good action from the traffic police.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Wokkk on May 20, 2015 at 12:01 pm

What do u mean scare? U break the law u break your wallet…simple..dont want any summons..use public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • kumsai on May 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm

It is sick to keep seeing same police news at car blog. What is this blog got to do with police summon. this is out of the points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • BreakingBad on May 20, 2015 at 12:03 pm

What do u mean scare people? U break the law u break your wallet…simple..dont want any summons..use public transport.

#dothecrimedothetime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • The PKFZ, Scorpene, Maika, minister corruption, police corruption, etc crime doers got do the time ah?

• Haha, u think PDRM can arrest all 1 mil ppl??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • ooops on May 20, 2015 at 11:21 am

This ops warta is just pure bs, its just traffic summonses. They should just go and catch the big time crooks aka the dirty politicians zz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Bargain Hunter on May 20, 2015 at 11:24 am

No special 50% discount offer?

• Isn’t there proper procedures for arrests? They cant bash into an office and handcuff a guy for traffic summons.. can they ? he is no criminal..

Any law makers here can shed some light.. please …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • malaysia boleh on May 20, 2015 at 11:33 am

Rapist can be freed and sentenced no guilty. 1mdb can accumulate billions of debt and no authority to take action. But poor people can be arrested and jailed just becuz of breaking traffic laws. Malaysia boleh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
  • Wish you all good luck!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 20, 2015 at 12:00 pm

now you see me,now you dont. Offender is playing hide and seek game.Malaysia each state is playing police and thieves game. Love this country.

• abula on May 20, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Why PDRM/Government wasting time and public money to chase the offenders. Why not PDRM/Government just publish the name and car registration in all news paper complete with – CAR REGISTRATION – VEHICLE NAME – TYPE OF OFFENCE – STATUS (qty of summonses)- ADDRESS etc. In 1-2 weeks time all the name can be published.

Handcuff for traffic offender? Corrupt politician no handcuff !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • #abula. I agree with you. You have raised a very valid point.

PDRM should do that.

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Why even need to bother to go arrest?

Just blacklist the vehicle or License. If driving with no license or roadtx/insurance just impound the vehicle. Don’t pay impound, don’t get your car back. Why so hard. Works for other countries…. (since our ministers keep using other countries when they talk about GST)

PDRM should be concentrating its forces to solving and preventing more serious crimes.

• SkedTard on May 20, 2015 at 5:12 pm

I agreed. Just publish it online….apa susah???

• Wahh! Now all those puffed up commenters earlier challenging PRDM to catch them went into hiding.

To bad cant see them pee in their pants or shit in their pants.

• carazy on May 20, 2015 at 12:38 pm

If I got just one outstanding saman, will I be arrested or get saman again during roadblock?

• You will be thrown into the same cell as dear leader. Just remember, dun drop the soap!

• Wow, first once in my life… The only time in my life i’m impressed with the police efficiency. Could the drug dealer notice this loop hole, and did their deed during Warta’s ‘operation hour’?

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Why the sudden scare tactics??

Need $$$$ to refill the coffers. You think PDRM so motivated ah?

Motorbike jump a red light in front of Traffic cop and they don’t even bat an eyelid….Motorcyclist poor mah, no money.

Next time I will drive my beat up old car or kapchai.

• Kamel on May 20, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Pure bs. It’s wasting public fund. Police should focus the task to catch criminals and reduce crime rates rather than going over for traffic offenders. Make use of RTD where offenders can’t renew their road tax and automatically the offender will pay the summons.

• broke on May 20, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Finally paid off all my summons, myeg server very slow and down most of the time. Took me whole day to keep on retry and lastly made it. If u saw someone eating grass on roadside pls dun laugh as that could be me….

• panjang on May 20, 2015 at 7:51 pm

To me its not fair to just suddenly (2 weeks is sudden) runs an ops to collect unpaid summon. Its a burden actually and most of us are paid on a monthly basis(provided we can afford to pay)

On the other hand,for those whom had been issue with proper notice/summon meaning they actually know they have a summon then by all means go after these people.

I got a summon on my bike for jumping red light.The incident happen more than 6 month and i know nothing as i am not the one riding and it was captured by a traffic camera.i only know abt it when renewing my road tax.if i am super poor at that moment, how?

Instead of being reactive like what the authority is doing right now,they should be proactive by doing this collection regulary instead of letting the situation spiral out of control.

Its simple for them to arrest those offenders but bear in mind if they did that at the offenders office and it cause the person to lose his/her job.Think abt his/her children,forget abt the offender.

The situation has never improved as regular enforcement is just not there.Those whom work in security will understand what i mean.

Seriously….childish thinking by the authority.

Wait, what am i thinking…..we are in Malaysia….

• super on May 20, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Oh, papa is poor, need some money to cover.

• 300km/h summon ticket! on May 20, 2015 at 10:13 pm

I remember few years ago suddently appeared in my post box a summon ticket shown that the speed was 300km/h near Ipoh highway. During that time I was driving Wira 1.5GL. How can this possible?

• …to continue till May 31??