2016 Toyota Hilux Revo revealed in leaked brochure!

toyota-hilux-revo-2016-brochure-l-1

A Thai brochure for the 2016 Toyota Hilux Revo has been leaked on the Hilux Revo Thailand Facebook page, revealing a treasure trove of details regarding available kit, as well as the all-new pick-up truck itself!

Cutting quite a stylish figure, the projector headlamps with LED DRL eyebrows and Light Control System are joined to the chrome grille, one bar of which intrudes into the headlamps. There are rear combi and fog lamps, a bee-sting antenna, 17-inch alloys, side steps and anti-pinch for the driver’s window.

Interior features include 60:40-split back seats, keyless entry and start, a 4.2-inch instrument panel multi-info display, auto air-con with rear vents, rear-seat Isofix, a 220-volt AC charger, cruise control and what looks like leather seats. The futuristic interior brings to mind the Corolla Altis‘ – how is this a truck cabin?!

toyota-hilux-revo-2016-brochure-l-5

A satin finish (or what looks like it) surrounds the side air vents and adorns the door cards, gear lever and the classy steering wheel’s bottom U-spoke. The passenger-side dashboard incorporates a storage box, and there’s a seven-inch T-Connect touch-screen with USB, AUX, Bluetooth and six speakers.

Now, the skeleton. The FIRM (Frame with Integrated Rigidity Mechanism) makes use of high-tensile strength steel, and there’s a new Dynamic Control Suspension system, plus Body Control with Torque Demand. A Drive Mode Switch allows selection of Eco and Power modes, while shift-on-the-fly allows shuffling between 2WD and 4WD. Also on are Active Traction Control and a diff-lock.

New engines – a 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family, which respectively replace the KD-family 3.0 litre 1KD-FTV and 2.5 litre 2KD-FTV. The new engines have common-rail direct-injection, variable-nozzle turbos, exhaust gas recirculation and a stop/start system, and are Euro 4-compliant for the Thai market.

toyota-hilux-revo-2016-brochure-l-6

The larger engine does 177 hp at 3,400 rpm and 450 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 2,400 rpm when mated to the new six-speed auto (with the new six-speed manual, 420 Nm between 1,400 and 2,600 rpm). The smaller engine produces 150 hp at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 2,000 rpm with the six-speed auto (with a five-speed manual, 343 Nm between 1,400 and 2,800 rpm).

The 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i petrol makes a comeback, developing 166 hp at 5,200 rpm and 245 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. This engine can be had with a five-speed manual or six-speed auto.

The safety arsenal comprises seven airbags, traction control, VSC, ABS, EBD, BA, trailer sway control, hill start assist and downhill assist. Note that all these lovely features are on the range-topping 2.8G AT variant. We don’t know yet of lesser variants, but will keep you updated – the truck launches in Thailand very soon.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• frossonice on May 20, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Apparently, Sam Loo’s favourite car now can take you to outer space.

Damn God Level.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on May 20, 2015 at 6:19 pm

You, you win the internet tonight.

Legend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • steven see on May 20, 2015 at 7:12 pm

why bother about junior uncle umw salesman who got no integrity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • lembutoyotak on May 20, 2015 at 8:28 pm

This pickup truck sure drinks fuel like lembu minum air, hahahahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • movingcoffin on May 20, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Wait, got Takata airbags inside? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • lembutoyotaksamloo on May 21, 2015 at 7:47 am

For petrol sure drink fuel like no tomorrow.. no for diesel engine.

• recallcall on May 21, 2015 at 8:27 am

When it is scheduled to be recalled?

• karam singh on May 20, 2015 at 7:19 pm

this one, a good buy if all those specs come into Malaysia ….
        well done Toyota Thailand,
        all those safety,practicality are that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • sabahan on May 20, 2015 at 8:26 pm

my hilux and my vios both don hv the yellow box..but my prado do have the yellow box with the turning follow by the steering..
          my opinion..as long as the camera can show you the rear bumper or buttock..is ok la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Ah Beng hailat on May 20, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Stupid feller so proud of his 2 junkyard car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Wow hilux is my dream car!

• Toyota will easily top seller again lah. Hilux new sales will nullified the gains by Honda from City and HRV sales.

Funny those Proton fanboys suddenly supporting Honda increasing sales to beat Toyota. Ha Ha Ha! Just because they’re same DRB group wanna beat UMW sales. Ha Ha Ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 21, 2015 at 9:46 am

Why suddenly bring Proton here again… Lousy idiot just talk Proton on Proton topic.

You sure win idiotic of the year !!!

• sudonano (Member) on May 20, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Hot damn! 6 speed auto!

Toyota has moved on from the dinosaur 4AT yo! Dynamic Ride Control does look interesting – does it mean it has some form of adaptive dampers?

On the other hand, I personally don’t like the exterior. The interior does feel miles ahead of the current one, but the exterior looks overly blinged.

I’d still give them an A for effort though. Could give the Ranger a run for the money, and even the Navara. Nissan now needs to bring the Navara in fast, though I don’t have much hope for the UMW jokers to bother to put anything more than 2 airbags and ABS in terms of safety in our local units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 20, 2015 at 6:13 pm

This model has a nice sarcastic smile that will tell kimchi owners intrinsically that they are beyond hailat.

Will get this to replace my 2 10 year old units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
  • Kancil Hybrid on May 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Really nice la. With 450Nm, Sam Loo can smoke almost everyone on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 20, 2015 at 7:47 pm

This car sends kimchi owners smoking in the but and wallet when I tell them their 1 year old Sonata or Elantra is worth RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • turtlehailat on May 20, 2015 at 8:32 pm

If collides with myvi this junk will turn turtle or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • paulnut on May 20, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Your son saga has the best RV.

• khamaruddin on May 20, 2015 at 10:26 pm

you act like a senior salesman. but your thinking level still in primary school. what to relate a 4wd pick up truck with a sedan?common la uncle… jual kete biar professional. jgn cakap emosi mcm sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Flyguy70 on May 20, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Recently, UMW just quietly removed their ‘TOYOTA TRIBE’ forum discussion for consumers in their official Toyota website so that poor build quality posted by Toyota buyers, esp Vios poor quality problems can’t be seen in this Forum.

UMW is still don’t understand how to do biz on its automobile industry. Just give standard 6 or 7 airbags in their G-spec, either on Camry, Altis or Vios and get better quality spare-parts from its suppliers on Toyota cars, people will ‘FLOOD-IN’ again to buy Toyota cars, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • toretto on May 20, 2015 at 6:45 pm

adoi…ingatkan pic ranger td…haha..

• Curious on May 20, 2015 at 6:49 pm

wonder when will it be launched in malaysia

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on May 21, 2015 at 8:00 am

With this hlux,my commission enough for me to buy one Lexux a month. Now i got 3 Lexus at home. You need to work hard. Dont drink tea everyday.

• sabah diesel truck on May 20, 2015 at 6:50 pm

plan to booking ford wildtrack..but now this hilux seems more interesting than wildtrack..both with diff lock..but this with dynamic suspension bla bla bla..VSC somemore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • hilat on May 20, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Dun shout hailat if it comes with 2 airbags only

• borneo 4x4 on May 21, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Better buy hilux revo la sabah diesel. look at our terrible roads especially logging roads…you see mostly toyota cos it’s the only one still around as proof nothing can beat it in term of durability and reliability..

• kingcharles on May 20, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Finally,the ‘KING OF THE ROAD’ has come back !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Nathan Ferdinand on May 20, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Sam Loo, you’re win. Congrats. I’m starting to save money to book this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • kingcharles on May 20, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Finally,the ‘KING of the Road’ has come back!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • kington on May 20, 2015 at 7:23 pm

I doubt we will get 7 airbags knowing UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Wiwiwiwiw on May 20, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Looks more passenger’s vehicle than a commercial vehicle. Nice one Toyota, hope this will be the new benchmark of all pick up trucks. The winners will be the consumers, as we will get a better engineered pick up truck that is safe, comfortable, and frugal. I am happy for you Sam Loo. For the record, I love Toyotas but I dislike UMW on how they manage the brand here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Patrick on May 20, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Don’t trust Toyota. My wife bought a Vios late last year and I bought a Hilux two months later. Both complete with optional reverse camera, GPS etc for the same price.. The problem I had was the vios reverse camera is different from the Hilux. The vios reverse camera screen at the dashboard doesn’t show a yellow box or marking on the computer screen when you are engage on reverse. The Hilux was ok. I confronted their service center and is already five months but still no response. I can only say, I have being short change by Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • policeman on May 20, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Does it have 5 start crash rating?
    It’s still using the old shell which only had 3 star rating.

Sam Poo lease explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • money3x on May 20, 2015 at 8:38 pm

You have money or not? If not don’t waste SA time. Got many other people can buy

• Hahaha on May 20, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Hope the VSC wont be ditched when it enters malaysia. Oh! And the airbags too ~.~

• wiwiwiwiw on May 20, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Instead UMW wants to make more money from their customers by removing the safety bits like traction control and airbags. They prefer to give their customers those stupid earo ugly bodykits.

• Jimmy on May 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Toyota Thailand, good move.

Toyota Malaysia please improve.

• DPCraft on May 20, 2015 at 9:54 pm

The interior is very impressive

• Thats more like it. Let the game begin.

• spongewai on May 20, 2015 at 10:01 pm

what UMW Toyota I can guarantee won’t bring LED headlight, 7-airbag, VSC and 2.8 liter top range variants

that is UMW business strategy

• Leafable on May 20, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Farmer John Dream.

• shawal on May 20, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Umw, dont screw up the fortuner!

• nabill (Member) on May 20, 2015 at 10:51 pm

There a very strong magnetic field at our malaysia borders, it seems to attract all the extra specs when a new car flies in, it somehow has a very big pull specially to extra airbags and VSC… Thats why when a new car arrives here, its almost bare with specs! If u go to our borders with Thailand, u gonna see alot of airbags and VSC littered around!

Looks ok, these pickups are no lookers, its abt being macho, n this has a silly face, bt finally an upgraded engine and 6speed auto… Plus the reliability its known for, its gonna be a good seller, n u can bet its gonna cost more, bcos umw (fill the blank)…

• New version killing pupils car, better dun buy.

• Bruise on May 20, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Interior too plastic, lousy look. Ranger better than this fuel hunger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • eric_ocy (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 12:28 am

I don’t think we will have the exact same spec here, remember when Toyota Vios was launch in Thailand? Not to mention everything, just talk about the air-cond, when Thailand Vios comes with Auto/Digital air-cond, we get manual. To be frank, current Vios air-cond was damn hot especially when daytime! The SA said that if you park your precious Vios under a shelter before you ride the cabon will be colder much faster. How many Vios owner have a garage or shelter in their home? Most of the Vios owner are staying in apartment and most of the Vios owner will park their Vois at outdoor while working. Who the hell on earth would buy a car when the air-cond was only freezing at night time?

• The competitors will have a tough time challenging the Hilux. Just like the Ford F-150, the Hilux remains the pickup to beat.
    They have done well adding the necessary standard features like 6sp Auto and touch button 4WD to keep up with others.
    I’ll be seeing a lot of these pickups in Malaysian street soon.

• Looks promising indeed, but wait until actual unit arrive in Malaysian market and see if we get all the great features as per Thai variant. And most importantly if it’s priced competitively. Well done Toyota for listening to customer complaints…

• WS Wal on May 21, 2015 at 7:40 am

If the new version hilux still using the old type suspension system, I think there is still the same, too jumping and discomfort. If the suspension in fortuner or hilux can improved to a comfortable level, I believed that there were be no competitor can beat you definitely.

• albag on May 21, 2015 at 8:45 am

i love the aggressive look.. that’s how a truck should look like… triton and dmax are too faggots compared to hilux… saupei la

• entah on May 21, 2015 at 9:05 am

for me..ford rang still win overall except the rvalue..
    extrior ugly,interior nice but the touch screen look akward

• applegreen on May 21, 2015 at 10:27 am

Wow this new Hilux moves to the outer space! i think this hilux can be star in new star wars movie, jedi will love it

• as usual on May 21, 2015 at 10:50 am

As usual in bolehlahland will get 16′ rim, 2airbags, no vsc, no pushstart,no touch screen (optional) with higher price compare with Thailand.And launching also will be late cause need to clear stock the ugly TRD edition.

• hazamiey on May 21, 2015 at 10:55 am

I want that 2.7 petrol version as my company truck. I hate diesel as it sounds and smells like lorry. Want to consider Jimny before this but it is so small even though a really capable off-roader.

• The teaser look nicer than the real car! Hahahaha!

• Rulered on May 21, 2015 at 11:34 am

Bila UMW mau launch alphard sini, Indon sama Thai sudah lama launch.

• MeToo on May 21, 2015 at 11:39 am

If SEVEN airbags come to malaysia… it will be a deal breaker for me….

Otherwise… Its still the Navara for me thanks.

• What is the tow rating? Can it match all other utes, 3000kg? 3500kg?

• Usha-Usha on May 21, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Front look like Ssangyong Stavic…

• John Bogel on Jun 01, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Is this Toyota Hilux Revo gonna available in Malaysia sooner or later?

• talhah on Aug 31, 2015 at 9:40 am

I want to buy this but no money!!! I will enter contest that offer this as grand price..