Expect one million Perodua Myvis on the road by 2017

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 01

Yes, that’s right. There will be one million Perodua Myvis on the road by the end of 2017, if the carmaker’s targets are reached. Perodua has shifted 850,000 units of the Myvi as of end-April 2015, and is counting on momentum of demand and promotions to get past the major milestone.

If you haven’t already noticed (where have you been, friend?), the Myvi has been Malaysia’s most popular car for the best part of a decade. Nine consecutive years to be exact, and the five-door hatchback’s success has propelled Perodua to the top spot of Malaysia’s car sales chart for nine consecutive years, which is no coincidence. That’s a position Perodua will not be relinquishing anytime soon.

The Perodua Myvi, a reworked Daihatsu Sirion, was launched here in 2005. Interestingly, the Myvi (My Vehicle, Malaysian Vehicle) was supposed to be a “niche” model in a sedan dominated market, and the great response that cut across demographics caught Perodua by surprise.

The second-generation D54T Myvi took over the baton in mid-2011, while the facelifted second-gen made its debut in January this year. Over the last decade, we’ve seen 10 Myvi variant launches – the current car comes in four variants – 1.3 Standard G, 1.3 Premium X, 1.5 SE and 1.5 Advance, priced from RM40,862 to RM57,969.

The Myvi has been Malaysia’s best selling car for nine years running; second-gen made its debut in 2011

“The Myvi, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, has been well accepted. On average, the Myvi’s bookings so far this year is about 8,000 units a month,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh told reporters in Langkawi.

“Barring any unforeseen circumstances, we are cautiously optimistic that with the activities and promotions we have lined up until 2017, the target of one million Myvi cars is achievable,” he humbly said.

As announced last month, P2 is celebrating the Myvi’s 10th birthday with a two-day event called Myvi Nation, The Biggest Myvi Gathering. To be held this weekend (May 23-24) at Setia City Oval Lawn in Setia Alam, the celebration is open to all owners and/or drivers of the Myvi. 4,000 have registered.

myvination

Bring your car to the full-day event and you’ll receive a certificate and an exclusive gift pack worth over RM400, for an entry fee of RM50. Participants will also be in the running to win a special 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi. Activities include movie screenings, hot air balloon rides, a concert (Bunkface, Alleycats and more), food trucks and fireworks display.

Can’t make it to Setia Alam? P2 will be holding a Myvi 10th Anniversary Appreciation Day at all its 182 sales and 183 service outlets nationwide. Two contests will run – the “Wall of Fame” photography contest is offering 10 GoPro Hero 4 cameras and Perodua vouchers, while another will dangle a 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi at those who register a new Perodua or service their Perodua with a minimum spend of RM180.

It’s not perfect, but the Myvi has struck a chord with the Malaysian car buying public by offering decent performance and generous space at an affordable price. In the Malaysian context, the Myvi is the people’s car. Happy 10th birthday, mate!

2015 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X

2015 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• superboy on May 21, 2015 at 11:06 am

Myvi been evolve over form exaggerate, appearance not attach performance.

• It became the best selling car because people are indirectly forced or dont have any other choice. THANK YOU NAP! Shame on you perodua being so proud of your own lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Who would still buy this over an Iriz?! on May 21, 2015 at 11:54 am

I seriously wonder who would still buy a Myvi over an Iriz these days.. Iriz’s safety is top notch and ride & handling is so much better than Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
        • P1 Protection on May 21, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Without protection, who will buy an Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
          • taxpayer on May 21, 2015 at 5:23 pm

If no protection doesn’t mean no tax, why bother to think?

• Same L0rrrr on May 21, 2015 at 6:31 pm

It is the best sellers simply:
            1. It is cheap (than foreign car)
            2. It is reliable (than Proton)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:22 pm

wake up la Malaysians. No other company in the world sell their model this long. Even Russian screwed up Lada also got model change.

Myvi buyers have no shame. People sell you outdated old car with no VSC also, you go and buy

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Good car sell for long time a lot of people buy.

Junk car roll out model every year (Preve then Suprima S then Iriz) also no one bother.

See the difference?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 21, 2015 at 3:22 pm

This would mean there would be 1 million low lifes on the road. Myvi cars are actually rempits who have upgraded their lives. They have no choice but to buy a Myvi because they have got an awek accidently pregnant and to show the inlaws he has given up his rempit behavior, he buys a Myvi showing that he is a potential family man.

But the truth is, the dude is hardcore rempit. Deep inside, the rempit racing is inside him. So, he uses his Myvi now to race whilst his bike is parked in the porch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • Who’s buying iriz btw?

• Triple shot on May 21, 2015 at 12:37 pm

How many years for Iriz to hit 1 million units sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • P1 will close shop first before Iriz hit sales target

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Iriz will stop on production before it even hit 0.5 mil. Wanna bet with me?

• Iris at 500K mark? Are you ok? What are you smoking? If they reach 100K, the whole country can declare holiday.

• eric_ocy (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Trust me, there will never be one million of Myvi on the road ever. Try to ask any of the tow truck guys how many Myvi has been totalled.

• They are still planning to sell myvi in 2017???
    Unbelievable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Proton has been selling Saga since 1985.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • facepalm.jpg

• your facepalm image tak jadila … go ask your supervisor la … all your colleague pun sama … cannot post facepalm image.

• This is iamgination image, you can imagine any facepalm image including your own face

• Oh ya … Proton have strong imagination fantasizing being equivalent to BMW and Volvo, Iriz taking over Myvi sales….and other wet dreams.

• Triple shot on May 21, 2015 at 12:40 pm

“In the Malaysian context, the Myvi is the people’s car.”

Proton said: :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • SkedTard on May 21, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Will still sell Mawi in year 7102.

• STILL SELLING on May 21, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Honda still selling civic since 1972
      Toyota still selling corolla since 1966
      BMW still selling 3-series since 1975
      …….

• wiwiwiw on May 21, 2015 at 11:12 am

I applaud Perodua for having a great after sales ownership experience.

But 10 years of dinosaur technology?
    Same old rev unhappy 1.3 engine
    Same slow four speed auto
    Same poor safety, two airbags no VSC

This sushi is getting basi already, too long in the market. Hope the all new replacement model is in the works to address the issues I raised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on May 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Perodua,I have already sold my MYVI donkey years ago.It is a good car,anyway.
      But cant you come out with a sedan…..Protong is scared to death cos they are trying to copy your model.
      Your sedan,if you have one…will send Protong to its early demise.Now your sales is 200k units,Protong will barely hit 100k units this 2015.
      They are getting the jitters..but you dont slow down…you up the competition,,,Protong will have to surrender fast as resurgent Honda is also very aggressive.
      Whack Protong left,right,centre.

• Something that Proton has been drooling all this while. And yeah … keep on harping on your 10 airbags and vsc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • yawnn on May 21, 2015 at 11:21 am

Boring car

• areos on May 21, 2015 at 11:35 am

GOOD CAR …BUT IT’S STILL FAR TO THE COMFORT OF FIESTA OR EVEN PROTON CARS…AND SAFETY BELOW PAR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • OMG.. enough of it already. Too much unsafe cars like this = more deaths on the road. The people need to stop buying this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • There are more Proton 1-star saga on the road than all their 5-stars model. Myvi already 3 stars to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • P1 moving forward, Toyota moving coffin, P2 moving keranda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • P1 moving away from Africa, moving forward to Bangladesh. In Malaysia, P1 moving to graveyard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 21, 2015 at 2:57 pm

@John

Proton don’t use lousy toyo motive…

Proton bangga negara.

Lousy shit uneducated John… don’t comment on our proton using others logo… puihhh.

• Trying to use reverse psycho to troll against P1 but fail to reply properly to my comment. Epic fail!

But dun worry. Ur favourite Toyota or P2 comes with free with coffin when u skid into a hole

• palgo47 on May 21, 2015 at 11:39 am

adding more crap on the road

• Though the second generation is a decent car…i’m still shocked the older one sold as well as it did..i know im gonna get a lot of flak for this but my that was and UGLY car…seeing it on the road everyday over the year probably numbed the feeling but man was it UGLY…

• VHL Lorr on May 21, 2015 at 12:42 pm

1 million target can be achieveable, just bring back Myvi 1.0E basic spec (previous grade was 1.0SR) at roughly RM35k selling price or below (at least it looks more low profile rather than garang/aggressive look for 1.5 SE/Advance version). Plus, for RM50k and above Myvi, it’s better off with Iriz 1.6 manual.

• Sgt Scoop on May 21, 2015 at 12:45 pm

I guess we can look forward to the 20th anniversary in 2025.

• Good job P2 on May 21, 2015 at 1:13 pm

seriously P2 cars are really great car, my kelisa already 11 years old but still very solid. The central-lock never failed and the power window still working perfectly. Till date I’m still enjoying to drive kelisa to and from office. The petrol usage is increased a little bit but still can achieve 12km/l. It is no surprise MyVi can hit 1million sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Borung on May 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm

I’m not surprise if Perodua Sedan also can hit 1 million sales.

• neonceejay on May 21, 2015 at 2:42 pm

well…this make me feel that…what!? wira also sold 900k+ only weyh! ni Myvi 1 million? LOL

• roxas on May 21, 2015 at 4:22 pm

i dislike myvi since before the accident. many retarded drivers.. and the hilux too

• Wow, that means that (ignoring the ones wrecked and no longer in use) roughly one in 30 Malaysians drives a Myvi.

Getting tired of seeing this car everywhere… Feel a bit hipster now because almost all my friends drive Myvis.

• Johnny on May 21, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Haiz,same comments.About what?Iriz cant beat Myvi sles record.Can I ask you guys something,are you guys crazy?Perodua have sell Myvi since 2005.Proton just launch the Iriz,tak sampai 1 tahun pun.You guys think Perodua sell 800,000 Myvi is just one day?They don’t.Please lah!If you want to critics Proton,fine mor proper things to say.

• paanjang16 on May 21, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Coming from a family which bought a brand new Myvi back in 2007, there wasn’t much competition that can challenge the Myvi back then. It was a no brainer really for my parents to choose the Myvi. At that time:-
    1) Proton was still selling the old Iswara. Even with the Merdeka discount and selling if for cheap, it was too cheap and outdated. I recall the interior was horrible and being based on the old Saga, safety-wise was a no go
    2) The other alternatives were the Satria, Savvy and Gen2. My parents were not in favor of any of them unfortunately. One was utterly rubbish, one was too small, one was too boy racer and sporty for my younger bro who just got his lesen. Plus the interiors was horrible.
    3) No Koreans as my parent at that time was driving a 1st gen Kia Sportage. Sam Loo can better explain this one.
    4) Sushis were expensive
    5) Kembara was deemed to be too unstable for our liking

Which brings us to the Myvi. It was simply the best bang for the buck at that time. Not exactly cheap, but it was roomy inside, well made and reliable.

There were some issues however such as the power windows failing, power window switch having issues, air-con compressor recently kong, ride not as nice as a proper sedan. One thing I find surprising was the lack of a door ajar indicator on the dash. So I may never know if the door was open or not. Not sure if they rectified in the newer models.

Now that the Myvi is in its 10th year, I really wish P2 will better equipped the Myvi with more safety features like VSC and 6 airbags MINIMUM.

Believe it or not, the Japan version of the Myvi has tons of safety equipment such as VSC and 6 airbags. Just go to the link below and see:
    http://toyota.jp/passo/safety/active/
    http://toyota.jp/passo/safety/passive/
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/boon/detail.htm#section_02

The Japan version of the Axia has VSC and 4 airbags! I wonder why P2 does not want to include these safety items is beyond me. Are Malaysian lives no less important than Japanese lifes?
    http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/active/
    http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/passive/
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/mira_e-s/index.htm

I suggest you have a look at the Toyota Japan website to compare what is offered by UMW versus what is offered by Toyota Japan. You will be shocked to see how well equipped some models like the RUSH, Myvi, Axia, Corolla when in Japan compared to here. Vios unfortunately is not featured on the Toyota Japan website.

• Of coz can sold 1 millions units la…buy ady…fly faster…den crash faster…total lost…den buy again…of coz can 1 million units la….

• Kiing on Nov 01, 2015 at 8:48 pm

I have one question. What is might be the problem for Myvi 2015 if the power window, aircond & the signal light all not functioning? Any fuse burn?