Fiat Aegea – a B-segment sedan for the EMEA region

Fiat-Aegea-0004

This is the new Fiat Aegea (officially Ægea), a B-segment sedan designed for EMEA markets such as Eastern and Central Europe, the Middle East and Africa. Unlike the rest of Europe which have a fondness for hatchbacks, countries like Turkey like affordable sedans which is why there are products like the Aegea, which will go against competitors like the Peugeot 301, Citroen C-Elysee, Skoda Rapid and Renault Scala.

The Fiat Aegea rides on a wheelbase of 2,640 mm which is longer than usual for a B-segment sedan. It measures 4,500 mm long, 1,780 mm wide and 1,480 mm tall, and has a boot space of 510 litres. Fiat specifically mentions in their press release that the Aegea was designed to be a three-box sedan thus doesn’t suffer from the ‘hatch with a boot tacked on’ syndrome that some B-segment sedans suffer from.

Fiat-Aegea-0003

The interior looks decent enough – we see lots of parts sharing with cars like the Jeep Renegade in there like the steering wheel and the air-con controls. The Aegea can be specced with a five-inch Uconnect TM touch screen infotainment system with the option for a reverse camera as well as TomTom satellite navigation.

Under the hood is a choice of two turbodiesel engines and two petrol engines, paired to either manual or auto transmissions. No specific details yet, but engine outputs have been mentioned to range between 95 to 120 hp. Fiat says a diesel Aegea should be able to achieve under 4.0 litres per 100 km.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aero (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Wow ! Surprisingly good-looking and luxurious for a Fiat ! I wonder who designed this, the Italians themselves or Turkey’s Tofaş ? I’m guessing that Fiat did the R&D and Tofaş are in charge of manufacturing. Also, I love the name, it clearly pays tribute to the Aegean Sea.

Naza should bring this here and CKD / assemble it, the VW Polo Sedan has virtually no competition in its class (Euro B-segment sedan). Malaysians will buy it for sure, Fiat has a long history in Malaysia, they used to assemble cars here as early as the 60s and 70s in the Kelang Pembena Kereta-Kereta plant.

Knowing Fiat, this will be very mechanically reliable, but some trim may break off after a few years… but that’s ‘Italian character’ lah haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 31
    • Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on May 22, 2015 at 8:23 am

If the price is RM80k-70k should be ok.

As long as it’s not jaguh global problematic car.

• 4G63T DSM on May 22, 2015 at 9:42 am

Good looking car this.

Doors look like they are lifted from a BMW E46.

The last thing I would be worried about are trim falling off.

I had a complete and unexpected brake failure on my 128. Not to mention all sorts of weird electric issues, even on such a simple car.

But then again, italian cars do have soul, even on something as basic as the 128… it sounded alive, drives with an undeniable spunk despite the small underpowered 1.1 engine and handles superbly…..

• Aero (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 11:44 pm

I’m sorry to hear about your experience with your Fiat 128, the brake failure sounds quite scary, hope it was not on the highway or something… o.O I’ve read that much of the newer Fiats like the Panda and Punto are actually very well built and reliable. They’ve come a long way since the 60s. And yes, that’s definitely true, soul and character, both the bright and dark sides of it no less. haha

• VolunteerFiatSalesman on May 22, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Wow, it’s seem that u are so desire to be the 1st Fiat salesman in Malaysia. So hard sell~~~ Keep up the good work. U can achieve it someday.

• Agree on May 22, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Yes, Polo Sedan so far is on the tip top in Euro B-segment.

• Jonn Dol on May 21, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Agreed. Somebody should bring back the Fiat brand to Malaysia starting with this nice model. Naza should be the prime candidate!

• easytoc on May 22, 2015 at 8:13 am

Hahaha…. u want another brand poorly managed by Naza?
      better FCA come in officially then letting it to run n rot by a dealer… Naza will price it like its an European Premium car…hahaha

• shawal on May 21, 2015 at 10:47 pm

It looks dignified…
    Fuel economy is decent

• kadajawi (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

wow. That is a handsome car actually… especially the exterior… and set to go against the Vios, which is… not exactly pretty. And meant to be an affordable car, too, for emerging markets.

• Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on May 22, 2015 at 8:22 am

As long as it’s not a problematic jaguh global car.

• Abarth on May 22, 2015 at 2:11 am

Looks too good to be a B-segment..one of the best looking B-segment alongside Mazda 2. I know it impossible for us to get it here. Looking forward to the 3rd gen Saga that said to be launch this year. Hope it is as beuty as this.

• It is a repackaged version of the Dodge Dart sold in America.

• Fiatboy on May 22, 2015 at 8:05 am

The fiat Dodge Dart is the fiat viaggio. This aegea is smaller

• The is a face-lifted Dodge Dart from the American market.

• lemon on May 22, 2015 at 8:21 am

I said the same things when VW came in Malaysia and I bought one of its products..

• Kenneth Fook on May 22, 2015 at 9:01 am

Is it just me or the central console looks like a PSP Vita.

• wow, is rare for car this size to look good. thumbs up!

• “doesn’t suffer from the ‘hatch with a boot tacked on’ syndrome that some B-segment sedans suffer from” hahaha i like this statement..the current syndrome..