Malaysia vehicle sales data for April 2015 by brand

toyota-showroom

We’ve already reported vehicle sales data in the first post-GST month earlier today – the car industry experienced a massive 32.7% drop in April compared to March, selling just 45,187 units compared to 67,314 the month before.

You have the numerous pre-GST sales promotions to explain the numbers – essentially a lot of the buying that would normally happen in April probably got brought ahead to March, softening the demand in April.

The table below shows sales performance by brand, sorted by the top sales performer first. The best selling brand is expectedly Perodua, which moved 17,584 cars off its lots in the month. The number two in April is Honda which sold 6,562 cars, placing them ahead of arch-rival Toyota trailing behind at 6,032 units. Proton comes in at number four with 4,972 cars.

These swaps in position are quite a contrast from March numbers where Perodua topped the list followed by Proton, Honda and Toyota in that order. Proton sales decreased by over 50% in April compared to the month before, while the other players in the top four dropped between 16% to 31%.

Will Proton be able to climb back up the monthly sales charts when sales numbers hopefully normalise in the second half of the year? In terms of year to date numbers for 2015, Proton is still number two after Perodua.

Other notable losers include Mazda down by 53%, Hyundai down by 46%, Ford down by 80%, Mitsubishi down by 73%, and Kia down by 54%. These numbers combine both passenger and commercial segments.

Another interesting fact is that premium brands don’t seem to be affected by the implementation of GST. Mercedes-Benz only dropped 5%, while BMW sales actually went up by 21%. Lexus sales went up by 7% while Audi dropped 13%. The MINI brand recorded a massive 57% increase in sales.

You can click the table below to view an enlarged version.

malaysia-maa-car-sales-data-april-2015

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wonga on May 22, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 144
    • Snow rock on May 22, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Nothing to fix becoz nothing is wrong. Passenger sale is same as total becoz no commercial sales

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 9
      • Why Toyota showroom? on May 22, 2015 at 10:16 pm

I don’t know why you guys put a Toyota showroom photo as the cover photo where Toyota only manage to get 3rd highest sales in April. You guys should have put Honda’s showroom photo instead, stop promoting moving coffins on the road.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 151 Thumb down 146
        • TakNakP1 on May 22, 2015 at 11:33 pm

At least it’s ahead of Proton and Proton also produces moving coffins like Saga and cremation machines like Exora, mind you. So don’t syiok youself that Proton is safe. Malaysians smart already and avoid Proton and the sales number show

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 107
          • Sales number shows how unwanted P1 cars are in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 23
          • Exora bold facelift has more safety features than your innova, fortuner & avanza put together!
            Say NO to Toyota Moving Coffin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 116
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

People are scared to buy cars. All are conserving money. Everybody is so scared 1MDB is going to bankrupt Malaysia and make Malaysia another Greece. Everybody is so scared that our ringgit is going to become banana money.

That is why sales are plummeting. this is just the start. Next quarter it will be even lower. Car companies like BMW lie about their figures. They include a large proportion of pre registered cars. Their pre registered cars alone come to to few hundred units.

Then, there is Sime Darby Group. Each year, they alone buy about 1000 BMWs as company cars for their VP1 and above staff. So, every year, they buy about 1000 BMW cars from themselves!

You see, Sime Darby owns BMW Malaysia and Auto Bavaria. So, they buy their own BMW cars for their own fleet cars for their own staff. So, do you think this is real BMW sales?

Sime Darby also will use fleet cars from Hertz Rental which Sime Darby wholly owns. So, Hertz Rental too will buy hundreds of BMWs. This is not real sales because parent company buys from subsidiary.

So, the truth is, Malaysians are scared. Sales of cars are so bad. Nobody is touching cars anymore because of fear that 1MDB will collapse Malaysia.

GST also has made the issue worse. People now find it so hard to live by. We all thought GST just add 6%. But in truth, all barang have gone up by up to 30% in price. Groceries have all gone up by 30% in price. How to survive?

It is so hard to survive but our Government got time to buy a new RM500 million plane, refurnish it another RM28 million to make it posh to travel. This is besides the 6 planes already sitting in the hangar bay.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 343 Thumb down 38
          • BLT_Club on May 23, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Really, 1000 cars every year? Nak tunjuk bodoh tuh, berpada-pada LA. Jangan tunjuk tahap benggong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 43
          • arenah on May 31, 2015 at 8:06 am

Are you another lackey and sycophant of the opposition

• CEO Proton Lies Lies Lies on May 23, 2015 at 11:38 am

Proton cEO said sales so very good. In his words, he said for Iriz, there is such long queue that they cannot meet demand.

I cannot believe, top ranking CEO of a GLC can lie to the people through his teeth.

Proton sales are now so bad, even with Government helping buying Proton cars for their departments also, still sales are so bad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 15
          • Exora more features but easily get burnt
            Say NO to Proton Burning Coffin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 31
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 23, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Proton does gets alot of demand WE can’t stop ordering from customers need to wait 6 months for Iriz and coming Accordana will be a great hit like selling Hot Cake !!!!!

Eat this P2 supporter go balik kampung !!! PKTROOPERS Get Out of Here !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 70
          • Tutuplah Proton on May 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Just close down Proton for good sake! Enough of this discussion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
        • Alvin on May 22, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Because total of 6032 units, 6000 are sold by fat ass sam lorrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
          • Where is Najib's Promise? on May 23, 2015 at 11:22 am

Car sales are going to get worse as people are all worried Malaysia is going to be bankrupt. But the question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 229 Thumb down 10
          • No one is saying anything about Nissan. So that means, Nissan okay kah?

• Albert on May 23, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Congrats to resurgent Honda.The “Divergent” car is Protong.OMG…Protong cant even sell 5000 units in April 2015.
          No wonder they keep coming up with 7 years extended warranty and entice others to open up 3 S service centres.
          Protong…you can give 100 years warranty…it does not make any difference at all.
          Until you fix the horrible CVT gearbox and Campro engines…you are going nowhere….trapped in the MAZE.
          You see the curse of having EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN? The dead wood become more complacent,with plenty of teh tarek sessions.
          This year due to GST,every damn consumer item is slowing from real estate,cars,computers,retail,including condoms.
          It is not going to be a slowdown for 3 months.It will scare the hell out of consumers for at least a year.
          Just go to any shopping centre in town.Every floor,every month some tenants simply vacate simply cos they cant tahan the losses.
          With the Rm42 Billion shit hole,our currency is dropping by the day…you think people want to spend like before?
          My advice…if you need to buy a car…go to MUDAH and get used cars.
          Stop buying NEW cars for 6 months…even Same Lorr cannot wait to give you 30 percent discount for each Toyota.
          By Nov/Dec ,you can have VOLUPTOUS discounts for a new car to celebrate Christmas.Make sense?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
          • dugongx on May 24, 2015 at 12:10 am

I am waiting for massive carnival discount by UMW so that I can buy a new vios TRD for less than 40k for my maid. She has been eyeing that car for a long time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
          • IrizX on May 24, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Your maid rather want Vios than Iriz? Kesian… Maid also don’t want Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
        • wa lao…what a brainless comment…shame on you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • Albert on May 24, 2015 at 3:47 am

Toyo,dont tokok.
            Wait for the next 3 months where proton sales dip further.
            Then everyone will know who is the brainless,spineless one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
        • Toyota on May 26, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Stfu Toyota haters.. U jealous coz u can’t afford to get coffins

• Padan Muka on May 22, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Padan muka Proton, sales now below P2, H and T. Still want to jaguh kampung that you can’t meet demand?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 21
        • wiwiwiwiw on May 23, 2015 at 1:11 am

Top selling National passenger car sales
          1st Perodua 74,737
          2nd Proton 32,654

Top selling Non National passenger car sales
          (Pick-up trucks, vans, commercial vehicles not included)
          1st Honda 28,707
          2nd Toyota 15,052
          3rd Nissan 14,683
          4th Mazda 3,690
          5th Mercedes 2822
          6th Hyundai 2,398
          7th Volkswagen 2,225
          8th Mitsubishi 2,040
          9th Kia 2,021
          10. BMW 1,830
          11. Suzuki 1,320
          12. Peugeot 1,300
          13. Ford 1,258
          14. Subaru 979
          15. Lexus 520
          16. Land Rover 248
          17. Porsche 241
          18. MINI 206
          19. Volvo 171
          20. Renault 111
          21. Chevrolet 92
          22. Jaguar 46

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
          • MAA and MAI Big Liars on May 23, 2015 at 11:30 am

I don’t trust MAA nor MAI figures. they have been known to be fully supportive of the government and known to lie.

They will say anything to show that Malaysia car buying is very good or on its way to recovery. Orders from above.

All I can say, if this figures show a slowdown, it would mean it is 3 times worse and MAA and MAI are hiding the real truth.

MAA also knows about pre reg cars yet, they quietly put them into the figures which is misleading. Behaving like Samsung. What is shipped is always given as figures. Not what is really sold.

My advice to MAA and MAI, time to stop your lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
          • LOLOL on May 23, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Huh? You say cannot trust MAA & MIA yet to analyze the data above which comes from MAA. Be consistent will ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Time to Close Proton Down on May 23, 2015 at 11:36 am

The figures speak for itself. Eventhough Proton CEO said a few times that sales were ultra good and they cannot keep up with demand.

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about 7 years of warranty when the past 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with your 7 years? If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 11
          • LOLOL on May 23, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Think we need to look at the bigger picture as proton and the related industries around proton has created jobs la. Try that there are wastage and cronyism involved but there are plenty of people having jobs. So while I agree that proton in isolation seems to be sucking a lot of money but it has given some back; it’s just that it hasn’t given back enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 37
          • Datlogic on May 27, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Yeah, creates a few thousand jobs while the entire nation bears the financial burden of exorbitant car prices. I am appaled by you math.

• stealth on May 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Well said Albert! Thanks to Tun M we are all hundred of thousand poorer Paying for our expensibe car

• Heng Lee on May 23, 2015 at 2:54 pm

‘You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.’

In the 20s, you can get a Ford T for RM2,870. Now a Ford Mondeo is RM200,000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • kzm (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 11:05 pm

You should do this every month or two paul..quite interesting

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawie on May 23, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Yes it’s fun to see Proton keep on losing sales.

Even the fanboys also keep on losing ideas how to defend Proton anymore.

LMAO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
    • Bye Proton.
      Bye Mazda.
      Bye Kimchi.
      Bye American Ford Chevrolet.
      Bye Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
      • Masih tak laku on May 23, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Proton total sales:
        Jan-April 2014 = 42,826 units
        Jan-April 2015 = 32,654 units

Perodua total sales:
        Jan-April 2014 = 61,662 units
        Jan-April 2015 = 74,737 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 23, 2015 at 1:25 pm

You don’t make false statement Proton still the best selling car in Malaysia !!!

Proton the best car manufacturer with “top class CEO DrM” and stop buying stupid P2 !!!

Support Proton only kampung Rakyat stop buying lousy P2 cars !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 23, 2015 at 6:31 pm

We need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy Sonata and Elantra new.

i10, Starex, Santa Fe & Tucson no demand anymore. So I stopped taking trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
        • Say the truth la. You stop taking trade ins because no one buy toyota anymore. So nothing to trade in. Ahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Dei muya mangkuk dun forget
        bye bye toyota as well!!!
        good job toyota n i expect further sales decline in years to come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • dugongx on May 23, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Toyota is expected to dig its own grave soon. Padan muka even almost losing out to nissan now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • mr_em on May 22, 2015 at 8:51 pm

So many weird brand name from China I hv never heard of…. But where’s Citroen? Surely they ve sold sthg this year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • True that. I was looking for Citroën/DS sales too…

They can’t be selling nothing in one month?

• intermilan on May 23, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Citroen distributor is not member of MAA. As such they don’t report their sales data to MAA.

That is why in this table, which the data come from MAA, we wouldn’t see Citroen sales data.

I believe, the distributor should just share Citroen and DS sales data publicly. No need to shy lah.

• sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 9:01 pm

If you notice, for once BMW actually is behind Mercedes. That’s surprising.

One must also remember, while BMW can technically mark the car as sold to MAA, don’t forget, their Certified Pre Owned is pretty much full of cars that are 0 mile but with a plate on it.

Though, it would be expected that luxury marques are not significantly affected by GST, not that much. Its the mainstream brands… Look at Ford. 80%! Well they did deserve it, shitty aftersales, crappy specs (on the Fiesta 1.5), and with strong competition (read Mazda/Honda)….

Don’t be surprised if they don’t buck up, we would see another Ford Malaysia pack up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Heng Lee on May 22, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Strong competition?

“Mazda down by 53%”

• sudonano (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 10:14 am

(Stronger in comparison to Ford).

If you see, the Focus is outclassed by the Mazda3. The Fiesta 1.5 is outdone by the Mazda2 1.5.

Mondeo and Mazda are close, but the pricing of the Mondeo is not in it’s favour. Kuga and CX5? no need to say.

The Fords are good cars, it’s just the poor aftersales, and in the case of the Fiesta and Focus, poor gearboxes let the brand down.

• Lololol on May 23, 2015 at 10:57 am

I tested both cars and I prefer the Mondeo. Refined, Great Handling and the Power is addictive for a D Segment. Only worrying thing was after sales service.

Mazda 6 had similar, but lacking the power. But what it lacked in power it made up in aftersales service.

• Wow, prior to March, Nissan’s PV sales was higher than Toyota. Toyota had fallen to no.3 (foreign car maker). Well done consumers out there. You guys had done a great job to teach UMW the power of consumers. UMW, please continue with your 10 years engines and 4AT and crappy safety equipment. You may be overtaken by Mazda very soon!! Serve you right UWM Toyota!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 7
      • wiwiwiwiw on May 23, 2015 at 2:06 am

Sorry forgot to include Audi

Top selling National passenger car sales
        1st Perodua 74,737
        2nd Proton 32,654

Top selling Non National passenger car sales
        (Pick-up trucks, vans, commercial vehicles not included)
        1st Honda 28,707
        2nd Toyota 15,052
        3rd Nissan 14,683
        4th Mazda 3,690
        5th Mercedes 2,822
        6th Hyundai 2,398
        7th Volkswagen 2,225
        8th Mitsubishi 2,040
        9th Kia 2,021
        10. BMW 1,830
        11. Suzuki 1,320
        12. Peugeot 1,300
        13. Ford 1,258
        14. Subaru 979
        15. Lexus 520
        16. Audi 442
        17. Land Rover 248
        18. Porsche 241
        19. MINI 206
        20. Volvo 171
        21. Renault 111
        22. Chevrolet 92
        23. Jaguar 46

Top selling Commercial vehicles (Pick-up trucks, lorries, vans)
        1st Toyota 7,221 (Hilux, Fortuner, Hiace)
        2nd Ford 3,726 (Ranger, Transit)
        3rd Isuzu 3,669 (D-Max)
        4th Mitsubishi 1,880 (Triton, Pajero Sport)
        5th Nissan 1,546 (Navara, Urvan, NV200)
        6th Mazda 387 (BT-50)
        7th Chevrolet 286 (Colorado)
        8th Hyundai 178 (Starex)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • BMW – Up(green)
          Lexus – Up(green)
          Mercedes – Down(red)
          Audi – Down(red)
          Porsche – Down(red)

No wonder so many bad comments on BMW and Lexus post. Must be written by a sales down(red) salesman.

• junkycars on May 23, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Both are junks at first place, why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 23, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Correct my kawan Proton same quality like BMW and Volvo…..

Stop buying stupid BMW !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • projunk on May 23, 2015 at 2:15 pm

The only junk is Proton. First Africa people reject, now Malaysia people reject

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • Heng Lee on May 23, 2015 at 3:04 pm

You want to compare a Porsche with a Lexus? Why not compare it with an Axia? Much more Axia are sold, so Axia is much better than Porsche?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Ya can not compare because;
            Lexus >>>> Porsche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • sham82 on May 24, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Looking forward to seeing another jap brand overtake toyota in sales!

• W204 C63 AMG on May 22, 2015 at 9:05 pm

The numbers for audi is shocking, only 442 units sold for this year. The majority of them are reconds?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • intermilan on May 22, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Thumb up ! Really like the table, particularly the breakdown of total sales into PV and CV data. 1 clear things we could is that toyota sales were heavily supported by CV. Their PV sales is really weak.

If possible, compare again YoY sales data as well.

And please this a mandatory article every month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • intermilan on May 29, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Based on April sales data, these are brands that relied heavily on CV to prop up their total sales (% of CV sales from Total Sales)
      1. Chevy 71%
      2. Ford 57%
      3. Mitsu 38%
      4. Toyota 30%

As a comparison, sales of CV make up just 9.5% of total sales in April.

In terms of numbers, Toyota is the leading CV brand with 1,832 unit sold. In distant 2nd place, Isuzu with 762 units sold.
      Toyota have 43% of CV sales in April.

• leo galante on May 22, 2015 at 9:23 pm

During my time (in my 20s) the best selling cars was austins, bmc mini, vauxhalls, vw, triumphs, worselley, fords etc. Those days we get to drive continental cars at a lower price after proton was founded, all other cars prices skyrocketed. And now best selling cars becomes perodua , Honda , proton etc lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • paanjang16 on May 22, 2015 at 9:24 pm

No wonder UMW Toyota is so aggressive in promoting their products, they got overtaken by Honda!

Seeing Proton suffer a huge hit in sales shows that they really need to push out the Saga 3 or whatever replacement for Persona, Saga and Satria as those models are getting outdated among the sea of new models by their competitors. Either that it shows that GST has affected the demographic that will buy Proton the most.

Ironically for the luxury brands, GST or not, they will buy their favorite marque anyway. The most surprising is VW is still going strong even though with the DSG problem and all.

As for Ford, I agree, Sime Darby totally deserve it with their lousy spare parts inventory and long waiting for the parts to arrive. Recently an ex-colleague of mine written about a post about his Fiesta on FB, wondering if that car is still his since he has to wait 2 months to repair damage to his car due to an accident and now has to wait ANOTHER 2 months because after they started work to repair the damage they found out there is another problem which require parts to be ordered and shipped.

From now on it looks like it will be a buyer’s market. Expect more promotions from all the manufacturers. Hopefully this will prompt some of them to better equipped their cars with better safety equipment. One of the reason Honda beat Toyota is the fact their cars have better safety equipment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 52
    • sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Don’t be surprised with VW sales. Just like BMW, they are going through the preregistered playbook.

Plus with their 0% interest on the Polo 1.6, it makes sense if you really want a Polo. Not like the new one is going to get any more kit since current spy shots show that ESP is still not available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • BSimon on May 23, 2015 at 12:02 am

These are new car registration. It does not include figures for pre registration as they are categorised as used in MMA.

• Heng Lee on May 22, 2015 at 10:30 pm

“even though with the DSG problem”

Touareg or Polo 1.6 don’t have DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • SDAC is really disgusting for abusing their customers with long waiting time for spare parts. How can anybody be deprived of the use of their cars for 2-4 months? Have they no pity for their customers? SDAC is always refused to stock up on spare parts for Ford cars. The hardship caused to their customers is of no concern to them. Anybody buying a car from SDAC must curse the day they made a terrible mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Lololol on May 23, 2015 at 9:12 am

Not SDAC as a whole. Its the management team of Ford Malaysia. Porshe, BMW, Hyundai all under SDAC doesnt have the same level of crappiness as Ford. Its like SDAC not bothered to build Ford in Malaysia. It seems that they are running the dealership to wait out the contract or just to have name or just to fulfill minimum contractual obligations. Dont really see much changes in their after sales service for the last 3 years.

• Proton can rush for whatever dung model with 10 airbags and super vsc plus AMRAAM powered by allspark but the sales will go one direction which is down.

• Proton… haha….now Honda plague with airbag recall is ahead of you, toyota with dinosaur engine and 4speed transmission is ahead of you. Apa nak buat. Rakyat smart oledi konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • LarvaChan on May 25, 2015 at 4:43 pm

the reason vw is still going strong is because not all the vw have DSG issue, only those lemon unit owner complaint here complaint there..
      im a vw owner too.. why i never complaint? simple.. my vw car brings me problem free

• urzu3 on May 22, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Great Wall Motors didn’t make into the list? or i missed it?

saw few brand new M4 and wingle on road..

• Wiwiwiwîwiwiw on May 22, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Based on this findings I would like to conclude that:
    1) The GST has affected the lower income group, particularly the rural areas. Therefore it is affected Proton massively.
    2) The GST does not have an effect to the higher income group as they will continue to buy German luxury cars.
    3) Malaysians are more educated and well informed as well as prefers new car that is equipped with fuel saving technology, higher safety and creature comfort equipments and after sales service as well as warranty.
    4) Perodua Axia is the perfect product for a time like these. I am not surprised if it has taken over the Myvi as the best selling passenger car in Mlaysia.
    5) Honda is also a big winner, with great after sales warranty support, latest fresh modern equipped frugal safe products.
    6) Toyota has lost its competitiveness on its passenger car sales and relying on its commercial cars although Isuzu’s only commercial vehicle the D-Max sales figures is quite impressive and could give Toyota something to worry about until its Hilux makes its debut here.
    7) Carmakers can improve on such areas like
    – Follow class leading Honda by giving a five year warranty with unlimited mileage
    – High standard equipmens for safety and interior comforts like Mazdas
    – Good fuel saving technology
    – Good drivetrain reliability and build quality
    – Good after sales service

As for now, Honda particularly the HRV and Perodua, particularly the Axia is in a league of its own in this post GST period. Congratulations.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • giovannie on May 23, 2015 at 1:50 am

Honda after sales service is not quite satisfying..

I feel like their service dropping becoming like Proton Service Quality..

Honda CRV’s engine got some minor issue.. new facelift also same. Honda technician told me… it’s has been like that.
      nothing we can do..

Both Honda and Proton under DRB Hicom.. haih.
      i regretted my choice.

Pay so much for a car but a lousy service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • amirul on May 22, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Proton fan boys are silent cos these numbers don’t lie.
    Offering longer warranty period &
    banking on safety alone does not sell.
    The final drive sucks and they can’t
    do anything cos of the limited and
    over reliant on the crappy CPS.
    task task !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
  • Tigerman on May 22, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Why only sales by manufacturer. Why still cannot publishe sales by models. Paultan u should petisyen to MyCC to ask them why publishing individual car model monthly sales is deemed ” anti competition” its really mind boggling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Please dont simply conclude yet on May 22, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Pls compare feb 05 against feb 04 figure also to get the ACTUAL SCENARIO. There was possibility that ppl were rush to buy car well before april as rumour said car price would increase. So please total up feb + mar+apr 2015 figure and then compared with feb+mar+apr 2014 figures and see what gets.

• Kia and Hyundai total sales also less than Merc for Apr15. Wow…

UMW Toyota, ur mediocre sale record is well deserved if you continue to offer cars with lesser safety equipment as compared to ur competitors.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 12:53 am

porsche sold more than volvo…amazing

• giovannie on May 23, 2015 at 1:47 am

even Mazda can do better than Volkswagen..

• eMKay on May 23, 2015 at 3:48 am

It would be good if paultan can share with us the sale data for used and recon car.

• So, Infiniti did not make a single sales that month?!?!?!?!

• samkl on May 23, 2015 at 7:50 am

Start our day with love/smile…

• justin on May 23, 2015 at 7:59 am

Very good table. Have been asking for something like this for a long time. Next time please include breakdown by model/segment and also drop/rise percentage taking into account monthly and yearly trends. Something like this http://www.caradvice.com.au/352631/car-sales-april-2015-winners-and-losers/ and this http://www.caradvice.com.au/352675/new-car-sales-figures-april-2015/ would be much appreciated

• justin on May 23, 2015 at 8:00 am

where is Jeep?

• gary lee on May 23, 2015 at 9:09 am

I have a new iriz…
    Very great car…smooth handling
    Also good quality…
    Dont judge what u have read on internet,
    but go and test drive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • Peter on May 23, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Hi.
      Drive for 2 yrs and looking fwd to your sincere reply. In post Gen2 generation, Proton car’s did improve, but only very little. You won get to see gross issue like water entering headlights, pwr stearing issue but reluability issue start to surface after 1 to 2 yrs depends on your luck.

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on May 23, 2015 at 9:11 am

Honda in the top sales,reason?accord,city and Crv.hrv too new and supply havent delivery achieved. Why Toyota drop?1NZE engine disapoint buyer for vios in 2014.Camry same mistake as vios,only recent engine is new.Altis CVT lagging gearbox shame the Corolla family.lastly, Innova,rush,and advanza fail in all aspect. UMW, all Ur team still sleep and yet wake up?

• dodgeviper88 on May 23, 2015 at 9:19 am

to be fair there was massive discount given for most if not all proton models thus maybe contributing to the high volume of sales for March. However as someone mentioned earlier it would be a more accurate comparison if the previous year sales figure is included as well.

• autosense on May 23, 2015 at 9:29 am

I am surprise YTD Toyota car sales is about half of Honda. What is UMW doing? This reads like a conspiracy theory – losing sales yet making it worst by removing VSC and safety features and pricing it high to sabotage sales. May be this is “UMW’s new marketing strategy”. Ha ha.

• dugongx on May 23, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Toyota is expected to dig its own grave soon. Padan muka even almost losing out to nissan now. Sales is only 400 more than nissan YTD passenger cars.

• takNakP1 on May 23, 2015 at 9:39 am

best news to read in 2015. hope this creates more fierce competition that benefits the consumer & consumer need to learn to be smart purchaser.

supply & demand determine the sales price. in bolehland anything can happen. if the distributors have exhausted all thier means (i can only see giving more discount) to increase sales, they should then pressured the boleh G to reduce some tax. sorry to say, I hope May sales is worst. GST easily put a 10-20% dent in many ppl pocket.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 23, 2015 at 9:54 am

As long as it’s not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Somehow the author of this article missed the correlation between falling car sales and increase ridership for public transport (as reported by SPAD http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/spad-40-public-transport-modal-share/). Good example would be the unaffected sales of luxury vehicles. These people dun care two hoots about using MRTs.
    If only I can get new motorcycle sales figures, it might show same trend as above.
    This is a silver lining as more people are considering the wants instead of need to own a vehicle. The Gov should continue to push for more connectivity and de-incentives owning cars.
    In the long run, travelling would be cheaper, more efficient, and greener for environment. Win, win, win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Cantona on May 23, 2015 at 10:12 am

To the loyal Toyota supporter Alldisc. Here is the proof needed to show that Toyota sales has dropped drastically. So whether you win by an inch or by a mile a win is still a win as quoted by Alldisc. Looks like Toyota might just lose by a mile this year even inclusive of commercial vehicle sales. Without the commercial vehicle sales even Nissan passenger vehicle sales is on par with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Lololol on May 23, 2015 at 11:02 am

#Same Lorr #Sam Loo #STFU already #No where to be seen #LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Sam Loo's Boss on May 24, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Sam Loo disappeared cuz he’s having pow wow meetings with Pakatan reps to get them to change their fleet cars to the all-new Camrys.

Of course, to give best price, we have to omit all the safety features from the “other” brand leader’s D segment.

• paulnut on May 25, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Please.he is only a junior uncle salesman who got no integrity. you can see him standing 8hrs at showroon everyday

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 23, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Looks like you are pretty blind and short sighted, being a typical sorhai tai lan ngong kimchi owner.

I worry about the low sales of Sonata and Elantra, coz that will create a short supply of used units 12 months on after these sorhais are denied job promotions, ditched by GF/spouse, looked down by colleagues, park far far away at family gatherings and given the wierd look by relatives

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 723 Thumb down 315
      • Balls on May 23, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 347 Thumb down 510
        • Sam Loo Sucks on May 24, 2015 at 12:00 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 121
      • buthut on May 23, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Butthurt sure loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Cantona on May 24, 2015 at 8:31 am

How you know I park far far away at family gatherings????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo (or11) on May 25, 2015 at 1:44 pm

After dealing with thousands of kimchi owners, every single one that has ever owned one felt that they are so inferior driving one.

If you don’t park far far away at family gatherings, its either you drive your spouse’s vehicle there or you have skin the thickness of an elephant

• Sylinder on May 23, 2015 at 10:39 am

when i read, “the car industry experienced a massive 32.7% drop in April compared to March”..i smile..smile a lot..

• Holofanboi on May 23, 2015 at 10:50 am

Great info! Quite surprised that Mercedes is doing so well.

Now volkswagen is surprising… Thats still quite alot of people buying them?….

• I think next month’s figure for Mercedes will increase because of the new CKD C-Class sales.

• Winners on May 23, 2015 at 11:52 am

To be fair, PROTON should be at #3 because TOYOTA had included commercial vehicles sales as well, whilst PROTON doesn’t make commercial vehicles.

• kadajawie on May 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Proton screwed themselves for not able to supply Exora Taxi which is free monopoly to them until SPAD decided Nissan and Toyota can fill the void.

Sudah kasi free sales pun tak syukur.

Now padan muka low sales. No wonder suddenly give 7years warranty. Tak laku. Hahahaha!

• murah on May 23, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Many pre-reg MINI units

• Keropok Lekor KL on May 23, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Hopefully, with the sales figure drop, Proton will be forced to sell their car dirt cheap…

Then, I will buy a proton for my Indo maid….hahahah

• Pasar malam on May 23, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Soon Proton give 10 years warranty and buy one free one offer.

That’s what Proton really worth: half price lelong car.

• handtuch on May 23, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Thumbs up PT.i am pretty sure there were sales data entries on ur blog quite a time a go.really an eye opening for those who said this and that brand sold very well without see the data.good!

• Karma is real on May 23, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Good to know that Proton suffer low sales again.

Serve them right. Justice to rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Wait till oil price 100 usd a barrel.

• Gaining profit from GST but losing money on lower percentage of AP. Putting smart in the ass.

• dugongx on May 23, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Guys should keep this sales droppin every month. The G gain more income from GST but lose back plenty on Excise duty,import duty. In the end no gain for them. Padan muka for screwing up the rakyat.

When the mega sales carnival start at end of the year. I will buy brand new vios for 40k.

• surprisingly ppl still buying trouble full vw (9th)…

• Albert on May 24, 2015 at 4:07 am

Dear all.Merc has a slight drop , less than 5 percent.BMW has an increase of 21 % !!!!
    It shows the rich dont care a damn about GST.IT is not even an ant bite to the rich bastards.
    Maybe the majority buyers of these upmarket cars are benefiting from the 42 Billion shithole.
    At the other extreme end,our poor Proton fanboys ‘sook sar”,slashing all big items purchase cos their jobs are vulnerable to job cuts now.

This year,if monthly sales dip below 3000 units for Protong,you can expect plenty of heads to roll,including the bigmouth Ah Beng.

Last whole year 2014,there was never a month where monthly sales dip below 5000 units for Proton.
    This April,Proton is on the verge of being kicked out of Champions league qualification.

• Proton should learn from Perodua. They are more successful after all. Just find a nice small Japanese car to rebadge and watch the money come in. Easy.

• pontiac on May 24, 2015 at 10:10 am

sales not properly compare. Try compare same month last year figure.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 24, 2015 at 10:41 am

Good news for K5 owners.

Was in Bangladesh earlier this week and found a market for used Sonata (not Elantra)

However, the import taxes are super high. As such, I will start taking in Sonata. Target price for 2014 Unit (less than 12 months old) is RM25k.

Looks like i really have to but the new Hilux to show the 2 groups of sorhai tai lan ngongs now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Toyota Salesman Crying on May 24, 2015 at 10:46 am

Bro Sam has been busy travelling to Sri Lanka and Bangladesh recently to score new deals for used kimchis.

Challenge for him is the low sales volume of Sonata and Elantra now.

So he will most likely trade K5 now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on May 25, 2015 at 8:41 am

Don’t lie, my brother sam coxk loo is only junior uncle sales man, he has been sitting at empty showroom for last 6 weeks. He is now doing part time selling vegetables at selayang pasar.he can’t even.afford to pay hos son saga installment now.

• Didn’t realize there’re so many china brands now.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 25, 2015 at 11:27 am

With the China brands, Hyundai and KIA will have direct competetion

• sammy on May 25, 2015 at 9:05 am

Toyota is really in bad shape man.. Looking at the YTD figure, if you take away their commercial vehicle sales, they are really far lagging behind Honda!

And I alittle bit surprise Lexus actually sold more then Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Why no Infiniti in the list?

• Pierre on May 26, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Normal because now proton as oood as bmw so the low numbers of bmw will rise and proton lower to match that fact., how ome youall don’t know?

• Malaysians are mudah lupa. This is just a knee-jerk reflex. People tend to be more cautious with the GST . The sales will pick up by end of the year.

• Why there still some idiot buying ssangyong?

• proton sales on May 29, 2015 at 8:19 am

Not only proton safety match with volvo, soon proton sales also match with volvo too

• nicky on Jun 01, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Anyone could comment on new peugeot 308 thp(2014 European car of the year)

• curious_man. on Jun 02, 2015 at 5:45 pm

wonder why proton never had single recall like toyota in their 30 yrs bisnes, as if they are superior than others(we all know from comments made by owner,but swept under carpet by protons people).Hey,Subaru was spotted everywhere in M’sia,Subaru know SUV is a hit among M’sian.! Sadly,SAAB is not m’sian favourite, I love the classy scandinavian looks though.

• Jimmy on Jun 07, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Guys,please don’t spread bad news about Proton.First,Proton selling.Since when Proton sales down?Ya,I admit Proton sales goes down last month,but this month?Increased right?Isn’t there a difference?I just want to say this,Proton sales is getting better everyday.Second,recall.Mr.curious_man?Did you just come out from?Proton did a recalled.The latest one is they are calling the Exora Bold and Prime for some engine part issue.Please,don’t make bad stories about Proton,eventhough its not exist.(I’m sure Proton basher will come and tell their‘fairy tale‘ story)

• therealmaserati on Jun 07, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Bloody morons. Toyota is doing great. With the new Camry Hybrid , they will be back! Seen quite anumber of hybrid Camrys on the road. Awesome car for the money!

And to the clowns who said Koreans are catching up with the Japs, yea they will always be catching up cuz the Japs will always be 20 years ahead of the Koreans.

Look at the sales figure n u can see. And also dont give me bullshit excuses like poor service centre an all.

Even Mercs , BMWs and VW which are priced way higher than those junk Kias and hyundais are higher up in the list than those Korean crap.

So its a definitive conclusion that Korean cars are real crap and are on par with China cars .

Dont even bother comparing with Japs cause Koreans are out of their league.