Perodua Myvi GearUp accessories – details and prices

The line of GearUp accessories for the Perodua Myvi have been unveiled in full at the ongoing 10nniversary celebrations in Setia Alam this weekend. Like those already available on the Axia, two different sets of add-ons are offered: an Elegant GearUp Bodykit for the Myvi Standard, and a Sporty GearUp Bodykit for the Myvi SE and Advance.

On the outside, each set consists of a front bumper kit, side skirtings and a rear bumper kit. There an additional front grille garnish available for the Myvi Standard too. Still no options for sportier alloy wheels or rear wings, unfortunately.

As for prices, the Elegant GearUp Bodykit for the Myvi Standard goes for RM2,485.70, while the Sporty GearUp Bodykit for the Myvi SE and Advance costs RM2,045.80.

Inside, the Myvi Standard can now be dressed up with leatherette seat covers with interweave design and special door trimmings with orange contrast stitching. The Myvi SE, meanwhile, can be had with leatherette seat covers with “red streaks” and door trims with matching red double stitching. These are priced at RM1,121.50.

Like before, the exterior and interior accessories can be had as combo packages, each with a 10% discount compared to specifying them individually. For the Myvi Standard, the package costs RM3,262.70, while the Myvi SE pack goes for RM2,867.30.

On top of all these, also available are sound insulator for the bonnet (priced at RM72.10) and doors (RM504.35), a floor and luggage compartment lighting pack (RM256.50) and a set of anti-theft door brackets (RM175.75). The showroom-floor usual accessories such as door visors (RM178.95), luggage net (RM54.05) and Iridium spark plugs (RM186.55) are on sale too.

Perodua Myvi GearUp accessories catalogue

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 5:14 pm

I’m actually quite curious as to the effect of Iridium spark plugs on cars like these… Like is there any difference in the first place?

I can understand if it is on a performance car, but a runabout..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Myvi losing sales to Iriz on May 24, 2015 at 12:21 am

Perodua is trying so hard to sell their Myvis, does the body kit add any safety feature to the car? There are more new Iriz than the new Myvi on the road cuz people rather ride in a safety car than ride in a moving coffin. Perodua sales are more than Proton’s is because of Axia’s sales, not from Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • thefact on May 25, 2015 at 8:19 am

hahahaha…dont tipu la dei. Iriz barely sold a quarter of Myvi sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on May 25, 2015 at 9:41 am

How do you know there is more Iriz sold than the MyVi or just gut feeling? Till today, Iriz is still quite a rare species on the road today.

• Passerby on May 25, 2015 at 12:00 pm

i hope u r just being sarcarstic or else u need your brain checked…

• so does this add 4751390 bhp to the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Ultra2Disk on May 23, 2015 at 5:22 pm

So basically this new 2015 Myvi was half done face lift v2 ?

• matwang on May 23, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Good, now I can order bodykit for my ‘sampan’. And, oh-uh, the bodykit is damn brilliant, it improves the ride. Ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Driver on May 23, 2015 at 5:25 pm

lol

• antiG on May 23, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Another new facelift for the killer machine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • BLUR SOTONG on May 23, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Most successful car manufacturer in the world I reckon ( giggling ) with only 4 models to sell and market yet can CONQUER the Malaysia automobile market with ease . Each model car life abt 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • BeemerFreak on May 23, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Yawnnnnn……nothing interesting…..
    If you want to give something, make it like what polestar did for Volvo recently, bump the horsepower of the standard engine up a few notches with the relevant brakes and tires to match

• Wiwiwiwiwiwiw on May 23, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Body kits, body kits, body kits,
    Spoilers, spoilers, spoilers,
    Sporty bumpers, sporty bumpers, sporty bumpers,
    Side skirtings, side skirtings, side skirtings
    Sporty instrument clusters,
    Colored floor mats
    Lagi best
    Lagi gila
    Lagi rempit

Enough of this shits!
    Mana side airbags?
    Mana head airbags?
    Mana traction control?

Still dinosaur engine and 4AT?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • Aero (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Yes, why can’t Perodua make a Safety Pack option for the Myvi as well ?

The Toyota Passo in Japan has a manufacturer’s option for dual side and dual full-length curtain airbags. (6 airbags total). It also gets VSC and TRC as standard. Here is the evidence (http://toyota.jp/passo/safety/passive/)

Perodua cannot give an excuse like “The Myvi was not engineered with 6 airbags, ESC and TC in mind.” … that would be a huge lie.

If the Myvi’s Japanese sister has such safety options, why can’t we have those options too ? Are Malaysian lives really that cheap ? At least Proton respects their customers and I would not hesitate to buy an Iriz over a Myvi for the safety features ALONE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • wiwiwiwiw on May 24, 2015 at 12:32 am

Saw the Passos and Boons in Japan, they’re more basic with three cylinders compared to our Myvis but their standard safety kits are impressive.

Perodua is a car assembling company that cares about profits by putting unnecessary stuffs like chrome gearlever or door, bodykits, tinting, touchscreen panels, stickers, basically anything that they can make more profits UMW style.

With high volume production, they can afford to incorporate such flexible assembly line with customization.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 9:31 pm

I ESPECIALLY agree on your final paragraph. Most of the car plants in Malaysia are CKD assembly plants, they cannot change specifications whenever they like because local vendors need time to adapt to the new parts for each model, unlike CBU cars from the giant overseas factories, where the parts list can be mixed and matched like an IKEA product. However, Perodua’s factory is large enough to afford more dynamism and variety, but they are holding back because they know it will not be cost-efficient to sell a Myvi ‘Minor Change’ or Myvi ‘Safety Pack’ with extra safety kit. They are guilty, they know it and they choose to ignore it…. because they can. In the end, the rakyat will rugi the most.

• paanjang16 on May 24, 2015 at 1:28 am

Not only Myvi, but the Axia in Japan also got VSC and 4 airbags. Below are the evidence.
        http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/active/
        http://toyota.jp/pixisepoch/safety/passive/
        http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/mira_e-s/index.htm

I don’t mind if the Myvi is using a dinosaur engine or a dinosaur gearbox since although it is old but it is proven to be reliable and easy to maintain. I don’t mind if it comes ‘kosong’ without touchscreen, auto closing mirrors, keyless, HID, projector, DRL, leather seat or Optitron dash as those items you can add in later on from accessory shops.

But for stuff like airbags and VSC which cannot be bought of the shelf, P2 really ought to make these items standard for all their cars. There is simply no excuse to not include this items as the Japanese versions can be fitted with these features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Aero (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Good find man, I never knew the Japanese version of the Axia could have up to 4 airbags and ESC, this makes Perodua EVEN MORE guilty because the Axia is a 2014 car and yet, the basic models don’t even get ABS !

I agree, Perodua can take away all those creature comforts and add an extra airbag or two and ESC. The owner can add their own touchscreen and leather seats later if they want, but airbags and ESC are a different story, as you’ve mentioned. I just don’t understand, Perodua can easily add these safety features for their Axia, Myvi and Alza and then create a new marketing ad like ‘Perodua Sayang-Menyayang’ or something which emphasises how Perodua cares about their customers’ safety. They could draw in even more buyers who previously avoided Peroduas because of their poor safety. And the extra airbags and ESC doesn’t cost all that much either, not in the 2010s. Perodua really has no excuse, they are clearly only interested in profiting off the NAP’s preferential treatment towards so-called ‘national car companies’ like Perodua, Inokom and Naza who are not national car companies at all (because they cannot design their own cars).

• Annoynimouse on May 25, 2015 at 8:48 am

The hard truth is that not many people who buy Peroduas care about the extra safety features in the first place.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Hmm, I wouldn’t quite generalise on that scale, but I’m inclined to agree. Some Perodua buyers simply have no other choice, aside from buying a larger, safer used car, but that has its own limitations and problems too. Even if the Axia and Myvi came with more safety equipment, some Malaysians will still buy them because they’re one of the cheapest out there. Until Proton makes a 5-star safety rated rival to the Axia, and keeps making and improving the 5-star Iriz, and until the majority of Malaysians learn about the importance of car and road safety, Perodua will have no immediate incentive to offer more safety features in their cars.

• pearjai on May 23, 2015 at 7:42 pm

daihatsu use this engine since 1999…
    perodua use this engine since 2005…come on la perodua…2nz 0r ‘topaz’ engine series please with cvt…

• Gold Avanza on May 23, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Our taste and expectations for a car is very telling of our mentality. This de facto middle class car encapsulates our values: reckless, miserly and superficial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Anak Malaysia on May 23, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Memang terbukti hampir kebanyakkan dari kita di Malaysia masih berfikiran kolot berkenaan kereta sebagai kenderaan. Mesti nak ada bumper sport, kepak, skirt, speed, turbo dan sbgnya, padahal kat negara maju, kereta lebih dilihat dari segi praktikal dan menjimatkan untuk bergerak dari point A to B, itu sahaja. kebanyakkan org pilih utk beli kereta base kepada : simple car for simple life, x nak pening kepala. itu menjawab kenapa setengah model kereta laku dan sesetengahnya x ada org nak beli. IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Nation on May 23, 2015 at 11:19 pm

tak juga. fun of drive juga aspek yg penting bagi kereta2 ngr maju. tapi pd masa yg sama dia org juga pentingkan emission gas kenderaan pd tahap yg rendah(higher Euro emission std). Jadi bahan api yg bersih digunakan bersama dgn kenderaan2 yg high efficiency. teknologi hybrid and EV turut diutamakan.

• dugongx on May 23, 2015 at 11:40 pm

That is what you call a car enthusiast vs your regular pasar auntie. Of course all those aesthetics are subjective.

• seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Can someone tell me how effective are those front parking sensors on the Myvi Standard with the bodykit seeing that the sensors are now pointing sideways instead of front?

• The front sensors are for decorative purpose on standard Myvi.

• kucintamalaysia on May 24, 2015 at 12:11 am

Still a piece of shit.

• isn’t it funny to sell anti-theft bracket? it should be a standard build in for myvi and not suppose to sell. are you telling people your myvi is easy get stolen?

• BuRaIaN on May 24, 2015 at 12:36 am

After come out with bodykit, no need to facelift at all, can sell another 10 years.

• lailai on May 24, 2015 at 7:50 am

P2 should not have promoted people to race at road. i believe sporty bodykit increase intention to race at road.

some more, if this is sport car, its ok, but ALL P2 cars are for the masses including auntie, uncle, grandpa, etc…

in Japan these cars are targeting female drivers. come to Malaysia re-branded as “sport” car……………..

• CyberPatrol on May 24, 2015 at 9:17 am

I’ expected news of next generation of Myvi announcement but instead more cosmetic changes. Anyway P2, need to a boost of next generation Myvi otherwise another down hills sales on it ways.

• face-lift again? on May 24, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Myvi will sell for another 10 years with a face-lift every 2 years, this remind me of Proton Wira.
    You cant blame Perodua. Malaysian love face-lift alot, who cares about safety and new technology? Just give me more vivid color plastic bodykits so I can look more awesome.

• ricHard on May 24, 2015 at 6:35 pm

The seat cover’s design is ugly… For me at least.

• SCRAP MYVI on May 24, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Just scrap this model to make room for more axias. Axia is the killer of myvi.

• carazy on May 25, 2015 at 10:15 am

Malaysia driver still in 3rd world mentality, they have a choice of full 6 airbags and 5 star car, but still this junk sells over that safest cars. And no wander our road flooded with fool drivers.

• Jackie on May 27, 2015 at 10:31 am

i think myvii missing the sharkfin antenna ..