Myvi gathering enters the Malaysian Book of Records

myvi-10th-anniversary-winner

It was a sea of Myvis in Setia Alam over the weekend, where the Myvi Nation, The Biggest Myvi Gathering happened. The event, to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Malaysia’s most popular car, saw a total of 2,613 Perodua owners make their way into the Malaysian Book of Records for the biggest car gathering in Malaysian history.

The event, which dangled a 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi for one lucky participant, saw Syed Mohamad Izzuddin Syed Ahmad Termizi from Perak drive away with the limited edition model, of which only 11 units will be produced. The other 10 units will be put up for sale to the public.

myvi-gathering-setia-alam

The Myvi gathering drew approximately 5,000 Myvi owners, drivers and their families. Participants were given a gift pack worth over RM400, and took part in games, contests, hot air balloon rides, an outdoor movie show and a fireworks display, among other things. Besides the 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi reveal, P2 also launched the GearUp accessories range for the Myvi at the event.

Launched in 2005, the Myvi has been a great success for the Rawang-based carmaker. It has shifted 850,000 units of the hatchback as of end-April 2015, and is targeting to get past the major milestone of one million units by the end of 2017. Perodua says that two in every 10 cars that are on Malaysian roads is a Myvi, a statistic our eyes won’t disagree with.

The 10th Anniversary Commemorative Edition Myvi

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sawwie on May 25, 2015 at 11:39 am

How long Proton gonna sell 850,000 units of Iriz? By year 2025?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

True Iriz will make it bigger like “Record of Geniuses Book Record”.

DrM never fail Rakyat we sell cheap to Rakyat because we care for Rakyat.

DrM best of CEO and help Rakyat own cheap car like Iriz.

Stupid Myvi go balik kampung and taman padi With kampung people.
      Iriz for high standard people like cities Rakyat :) We help Rakyat improve not like Myvi kampung people car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

True Iriz will make it bigger like “Record of Geniuses Book Record”.

DrM never fail Rakyat we sell cheap to Rakyat because we care for Rakyat.

DrM best of CEO and help Rakyat own cheap car like Iriz.

Stupid Myvi go balik kampung and taman padi With kampung people.
      Iriz for high standard people like cities Rakyat :) We help Rakyat improve not like Myvi kampung people car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • mawwie on May 25, 2015 at 12:31 pm

it took myvi 10 years to reach 850k cars. if iriz can reach that no in 2025 (e.g. 10 years from now), then its great news for proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • trollmaster3000 on May 26, 2015 at 4:25 am

by 2025 proton’s ceo and their top management will all be banglas..

• Nissan on May 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Iriz will EOL much faster than u can expect so that day will not come

• Passerby on May 25, 2015 at 12:32 pm

no. by 3025

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • albag on May 25, 2015 at 6:54 pm

before reaching 850k in 2025, proton closes down

• Annoynimouse on May 26, 2015 at 8:32 am

Who cares! It still doesn’t hide the fact that the Iriz is by far the better car.

• tinmilo on May 25, 2015 at 11:42 am

I don’t understand the fuss… just what is so proud about being a Myvi Owner, or a nation that produces rebadged car?
    I have a Myvi, not because I want it, but because of the limited choice within my budget. Each time I drive it, it reminds me of the word “milo tin”.
    The engine sound is so trashy and bounces within the empty shell of the car.
    I think 10 years is enough of playing rebadge. I hope the 20th anniversary celebration will be a different class leading product, not just another rebadge “milo tin”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on May 25, 2015 at 1:35 pm

True! We are all victims of badly conceived National Car project by the Apa Nama.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on May 25, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Then ask yourself why not you buy the Proton at the first place?

You can get a Saga/Persona for that money, it is HOME BREED.

If you didn’t support home breed product on your action, you have no position to critize rebadged car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
        • sammy on May 25, 2015 at 7:23 pm

The nation supported Proton in the late 80s-early 90s… with all the rebadged mitsubishi.
          Look at what they have become now?

• paulnut on May 25, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Now Sam Loo admitted he bought his son proton saga sept last year. You can see it park outside his cheras flat every nite

• Nissan on May 26, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Limited choice yet u picked it mean u had concluded that it’s the best choice for a financial vs quality balance

• Andrew Windebank on May 25, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Well, Either the JPJ figures are incorrect or Perodua are being a tad optimistic…

A quick internet search reveals that the JPJ figure as quoted by Motor Trader (http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/21-25-million-vehicles-on-malaysian-roads/) for cars on the road for 2009 is 8,506,080 of a total vehicle parc of 21.25 million vehicles for that year.

So, assuming that every Myvi made in the last 10 years had never been written off in an accident or otherwise destroyed, and assuming the vehicle parc had remained static for 6 years, it is only 1 in 10….

Unless, of course, not only every Myvi ever made has survived, but the private vehicle parc has halved in the last 6 years…

Surprised you guys didn’t work that one out…

Cheers for now,

Andy.

• wiwiwiwiw on May 25, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Make that the largest car owners gathering without Electronic Stability Program Traction Control.
    Congratulations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • New gangster Myvi owner on May 25, 2015 at 12:15 pm

This Malay guy will become a new gangster and reckless driver on the Malaysian roads. Because he thought his blood colour Myvi has more hp than regular Myvis. So he will drives his new Myvi like a Lykan Hypersport. Perak people please be careful with this people especially those driving Sushi SUVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • Boboiboy on May 25, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Honestly IMO, this Myvi edition is hideous tho.. And the rims colour…

• Low Budget on May 25, 2015 at 1:40 pm

The red rims has angry look. Its good enough for those at MyVi club to use it to race down DUKE or KESAS at 2am in the morning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on May 25, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Proton has surpassed the million mark with the wira…Too bad gen 2 was not named wira, if not collectively it would be more wiras on d road…

Gen2 was coded ‘wrm’, wira replacement model if im not mistaken

Neway…proton will make a comeback…

After tun m secures his 1.7 billion cash injection / or loan

• I would rather see Proton collapsed and gradual reduction of car price. So that we can eventually enjoy lower car price and more technologically advanced vehicles on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Henry on May 25, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Even if Proton close shop tomorrow car prices won’t come down. Gomen pokai and need money badly.

• blahblah on May 26, 2015 at 9:13 am

Car price won’t come down even if Proton and Perodua collapse. Heck, the price may even go up further by the Malaysian dealers, since got low price competition, and got not enough volume to reduce the price.

• BigBalls on May 25, 2015 at 1:30 pm

I know this may seem generalization but somehow the scumbags on the road are always myvis…

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo Jr on May 25, 2015 at 2:29 pm

What a stupid event for low class people. Everywhere you go already feel like myvi gathering. At car parks, traffic jam. Left right centre also low class toyota wannabe myvi.

Please upgrade yourself and get a real car…a Vios….a real Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Vios is bullshit! Better get Honda City. better than vios in all around aspects.

• david on May 25, 2015 at 4:08 pm

really kacau my weekend going to setia alam. jammed up the roads right after the toll. driving slowly and grouping together prohibiting other from branching out from the main road. gangster looking ‘myvi extreme’ members as jaga…
    really upset!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Gomostaz on May 25, 2015 at 5:33 pm

This is an Army man. Prepare for the Myvi invasion. Myvis will strike all the cars and RULE THE ROADS.

• 1Malaysia on May 25, 2015 at 7:28 pm

A gathering of low income owners or BR1M people ….. if this is your family car, gotta work harder and buy a better car. And for the loser boy racers of Myvi …. get a life

• Samad Jain on May 26, 2015 at 9:24 am

record this and that…..biggest ketupat lah, biggest dodol lah, biggest satay lah….

OMG…

All syoik sendiri with “records” while the country goes down economically by the day…..

• das auto on May 26, 2015 at 10:55 pm

How about the biggest scam in the country? Or Biggest theft in the country?

• karipap basah on May 27, 2015 at 12:14 am

das auto,

how about biggest scam in the country yet nobody is responsible for it….

or

the largest sum of money disappeared and no one is at fault.