AES set to be deployed at 262 locations, to focus on curbing traffic violations at traffic light intersections

AES_Camera

Following the success of Automated Enforcement System (AES) traffic light cameras in reducing the rate of red light running (RLR) violations by motorcyclists and motorists, the Transport Ministry is reportedly set to significantly expand the system’s coverage with an emphasis on signalised intersections, according to a report by The Sun.

The next phase of AES deployment will see cameras being installed at traffic light intersections in stages at 262 locations nationwide by year end. Selangor will lead the list with 38 sites, followed by 32 locations in Johor, 26 in Kedah and 22 in Perak, the report adds.

Other locations are Terengganu (20), Negri Sembilan and Penang (18 each), Kelantan (16) and 72 locations in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Pahang, Melaka, Perlis, Labuan, Sabah and Sarawak.

The publication said sources revealed that instead of placing the AES at 831 locations as originally planned after the pilot stage of 14 locations was implemented, the priority at present was to curb RLR incidents.

PJ Traffic Jam

“The focus has now shifted to the safety measure at traffic light intersections, since records have showed that collisions and fatalities have been on the rise due to bikers and drivers beating the red light,” the source told the publication.

The source also revealed that discussions on the redirection of AES have been underway for a while between relevant government agencies as well as the new system provider for AES, Irat Properties.

The joint venture entity between Boustead Holdings and the Armed Forces Fund Board (LTAT) is set to take over operations of the system by September, but the source added that the pending court cases involving the previously appointed operators will need to be resolved by the government before the new phase can begin.

Based on the latest studies carried out by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), initial deployment at four locations in the Kuala Lumpur and Perak have succeeded in reducing red light running violations by 2.2% in the first six months since the installation of the cameras, with an overall 1.23% reduction after one year. The non-compliance rate stood at 4.29% before the implementation of AES.

camera-trap-speed

Researchers from MIROS observed a total of 493,782 vehicles in March and September 2013 over two days (weekdays and weekends) and during peak and off-peak traffic. Four AES-equipped traffic light intersections were studied, at Jalan Klang Lama and Jalan Ipoh in Kuala Lumpur and at Jalan Ipoh-Kuala Kangsar and Jalan Pasir Putih in Ipoh.

Motorcyclists featured the highest violation rate of 6.04% before installation (3.71% for cars, 3.69% for other vehicle types), dropping to 4.3% (cars 1.54%, other vehicle types 2.05%) after six months and 3.63% (cars 0.46%, other vehicle types 0.37%) after a year.

In KL, 3,613 violations were observed before the installation of AES cameras, and that figure was reduced to 2,003 or 1.76% after six months and 1,054 or 0.99% after one year. Ipoh’s figures were 3,257 before AES, 1,775 or 3.07% after six months and 937 or 1.67% after one year.

Statistics from MIROS revealed that in 2013, there were 205 crashes at traffic light intersections and pedestrian crossings in Malaysia, resulting in 76 deaths and 129 injuries. In 2011, road collisions at traffic light intersections in Malaysia resulted in 207 deaths and 706 injuries.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Now this is a much better aes placement. Actually promotes safety rather than line someone’s pockets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • shaty on May 26, 2015 at 10:34 am

It would be pointless if it didn’t catch those arrogant and inpatient motorcyclists!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 11:07 am

of coz it cant catch the offender it is a camera after-all but they can catch the motorist car/motocycle number plate n give summon…

• hahaha on May 26, 2015 at 3:38 pm

If safety is main the agenda, I hope that the cameras placed in plain view with signs warning of cameras ahead.

May sound silly but it can remind people not to rush the lights thus reducing accidents. There will be idiots who will still try to beat the lights, and thats where the revenue will come in.

• Edmont on May 26, 2015 at 10:22 am

do put them all at the traffic light intersections.. teach these jokers a lesson.. it’s getting out of hand nowadays..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on May 26, 2015 at 10:28 am

to pizza delivery boy, please dont beat the red light. Your life is worth much more than a pizza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 26, 2015 at 10:33 am

Good news nonetheless

But what about those motorcycles with
    – fake numberplates?
    – hard to read numberplates?

Please deploy more enforcements on the streets
    – undercover police people, so that law breakers can be caught red handed
    – put them in motorcycles rather putting police people in than cars, they will go ronda, free aircond and share youtube videos with other police people
    – police people should focus on their job rather than looking at smartphones
    – also catch those people who use smartphones when driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2015 at 10:36 am

While I agree thats better use of AES cameras, the Core issue hasn’t been settle yet.

Besides, you don’t need AES to nab light jumpers. Your own police office close an eye to motorcyclist running lights right in front of them.

“Statistics from MIROS revealed that in 2013, there were 205 crashes at traffic light intersections and pedestrian crossings in Malaysia, resulting in 76 deaths and 129 injuries. In 2011, road collisions at traffic light intersections in Malaysia resulted in 207 deaths and 706 injuries.”

I wonder what is the percentate of the above are motorcyclist. I myself have on numerous occasions nearly run over motorcyclist that did not stop on red. They can thank thier lucky stars I have good brakes on my car.

• people at the traffic light junction will refuse to give way to the ambulance because of the AES .

• Dun worry! Speed as much as possible.
    Dun care 2 hoots about traffic lights.
    Its our rakyats right to break the laws we dun like.
    After all, we pay taxes. We are the king.
    If PDRM comes for you, rest assured that your friendly neighbourhood PR politician will come and help you.
    Dun be scared! Kita Lawan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
    • one of the Otak hang from 47%

• Tell that to the British Parliament. The Conservatives only “just” got 37% to form Gov.
        Must be due to gerrymandering, crony, songlap, Banglas, blackout, Rohingyas, Lotus, etc, etc

• Sentero on May 26, 2015 at 11:07 am

Not only red light but those accident prone area or the North-South Highway at the southern part. I rather support a fixed AES rather than those traffic police hidding behind bush or sitting under flyover to nab speedsters.

• Ah jibby on May 26, 2015 at 11:56 am

U r wrong sir
      AES and hidden police speed trap all jalan.
      AES to 1MDB, Police need poket money for IPhone 7 too, iPhone 6 give to their kids

• Sentero on May 26, 2015 at 11:07 pm

At least we will stop paying summon bcoz we know there is a AES Camera ahead rather than we open our postbox to know that we just caught speeding. Or worse the police shows u over speedtrap u know nothing off. AES although I support for its use rather than those profit from it… is one of the way to settle those duit kopi issues.

• Good money on May 26, 2015 at 11:48 am

hmm… previously paid 1 billion as the project was failed, now how much they going to charge for each camera again?

seriously, this money where from? why don’t use it to paid off debts first..

• bashh on May 26, 2015 at 12:05 pm

When can we see cameras on the emergency lanes? Video camera is OK too. Just keep recording especially on peak hours, and process the still photos of offenders during off peak hours. Easy money for BR1M!

• GreenWave on May 26, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Why they always bother about AES while not producing better road & better public transport.

Peoples easily angry & breach the speed limit just because of traffic jam & no other solution. Public transport???

• GreenWave on May 26, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Why ‘they’ are busying creating more AES while not giving better road & better public transport as the alternative?

What wrong with our government?

• 262 Location Nationwide????
    For Klang Valley area still not enough

• gaviny on May 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

please program to also snap those yellow box offenders

• BigBalls on May 26, 2015 at 1:40 pm

I still see many motorcyclists beating the lights on AES equipped junction, its highly probably that these motorcycles have hard to read number plates or fake number plates, thats why they dont give a hoot

u can even see them running the lights right in the eyes of the traffic police, and the police just smile to them..

-BigBalls-

• alldisc on May 26, 2015 at 4:03 pm

bikers 6%? cars 3%?

that means 30,000 bikers hit red light and 15,000 car drivers did that too.

that 15 thousand drivers are sure as dangerous as hell too. get rid them all.

• Captain Obvious on May 26, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Great, but first, please make sure the duration of the red light is not 300 seconds long while the green light is only 10 seconds long. Do you sometimes find that when the traffic lights malfunction, there isn’t any traffic jams? And for the love of god, sync the traffic lights which are in close proximity to one another. One red, one green apa macam macha, macam nak jalan macha?

• Ah long on May 26, 2015 at 11:13 pm

I will tell my boys not to put stickers over the camera OK…

• paparadzi (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Traffic light AES is better than speeding AES on 90 km/h 3 lane highway.

• Johnny on May 27, 2015 at 10:20 pm

how to give suggestion where to place more AES traffic cameras?