GALLERY: Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Sedan CKD facelift

volkswagen-polo-sedan-ckd-facelift 1

Earlier this month, the CKD Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch facelift sneaked its way into showrooms without so much as a hint of a formal introduction. Now, it appears its sedan sibling has gone and done the same with a unit spotted on the grounds of F.A. Wagen’s Glenmarie showroom. A quick check with the staff has also revealed that cars were already being delivered to customers.

So, what exactly is new this time round? To be honest, not much. If you thought the changes on the hatch were minute, think again. Whereas the hatch receives a slightly reworked front and rear end, the CKD Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Sedan facelift appears to have carried over a significant amount of exterior details from the pre-facelift variant. The only obvious difference is the adoption of smoked (halogen) headlights.

Bad news then for individuals hoping for a more thorough update – much like the changes paraded on the Polo Sedan facelift for other markets. Our version of the facelift retains the familiar-looking 15-inch ‘Riverside’ alloy wheels, shod with 185/60 Goodyear tyres.

volkswagen-polo-sedan-ckd-facelift 13

Under the hood, mechanicals remain the same as ever with a 1.6 litre MPI naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine pumping out 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. Transmission wise, a six-speed Aisin torque converter automatic takes care of things. The century sprint is completed in a fairly docile 12.3 seconds while top whack is quoted at 183 km/h.

Inside, changes are limited to the addition of a Mk7 Golf-sourced squared-off steering wheel with phone controls – the pre-facelifted variant possessed only audio controls on the left spoke of the wheel. Everything else remains with the inclusion of the RCD 320 audio system and the same ‘Livon’ pattern on the fabric seats.

As for safety kit, the Polo Sedan facelift is equipped with four airbags, ABS with brake assist (BA), anti-pinch power windows at all four corners, three-point seat belts for rear occupants, Intelligent Crash Response System (unlocks the doors and activates the hazard lights in an accident) and Isofix mounts.

No changes in terms of pricing for the CKD Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Sedan facelift – figures remain at RM92,646, on-the-road with GST excluding insurance. A five-year/unlimited mileage warranty as well as a five-year mobility guarantee are included.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• IMHO, Better take honda city with that price tag

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • replyZack on May 28, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Why? Honda City have some recall for some purpose recently. Still dare to buy?! HAHA…
      Anyway it is personal preference. Drive City 130km/j car start not stable… Polo 160km/j still stable but scare kena saman la!!!
      I still prefer Polo Sedan

• voswagun pulo junk on May 28, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Yes,there is only a reason,I TRUST HONDA!!!!
        Voswagun??
        Hahaha no RV,unreliable,drink fuel like drink water nobody not dare to buy!!
        You see new Honda City,selling like hot cakes because everybody trust Honda!!!
        Not like volswagen junk,unreliable,Dsg problem and no rv pondan car!!

Go go Honda City trash this volswagen pondan car!!!!!

• I bought a Volkswagen Golf TSI Mk6 and i am still using it. Very solid daily car, although DSG clutch replacement is inevitable (perfect and fast gear switching means higher wear and tear rate)
          But hey.. no mechatronic issue for me, count myself lucky right? Performance is top notch and i can control it the way i want.. of course need to drive safely la!

• Apam Balik on May 26, 2015 at 2:58 pm

From the first look I thought this is Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • who knows in future, we might get that design as the “All New Proton Saga”. LOL

• to far to compare. like heaven and earth. look on both spec and you’ll get it.

• Apamreply on May 28, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Nowadays all car manufacture using same program to design the car… could run away from far! all car looks similiar. but Proton saga engine performance is still far from Polo Sedan

• JB_KIA on May 26, 2015 at 3:04 pm

is this an east Europe car?

• Razer on May 26, 2015 at 3:11 pm

i thought it was white colour proton saga at the 1st moment saw the picture.
    Lols..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Apamreply on May 28, 2015 at 3:38 pm

haha! Logo different…
      anyway performance also different.. value different..
      Both not a boring design..

• Jonn Dol on May 26, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Almost like a zero effort..I thought with the arrival of the exciting new Mazda 2 in the local market, VW Malaysia would respond with the ‘real’ facelifted version introduced in other countries. What a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • CarLike on May 26, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I rather take this solid car than those Japanese B-Segment Milo Can fragile cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
    • Solid ? on May 26, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Solid? This is not a Polo Tsi, it is far from it. It’s just an overpriced, outdated, water-downed Polo namesake make for VW wannabes in Asia. Sell this in Europe, those Europeans will simply shun it off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • Asian on May 27, 2015 at 4:40 pm

the price depend to the tax. it’s imported and from europe. different with local cars or japanese cars. maybe u’re european but u’ll never drive Polo i guess.

• sudonano (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Tough sell though, at least with ESP it would have been a really interesting option to the Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • sick&tired on May 26, 2015 at 3:41 pm

i fell asleep just looking at the pictures!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • grizzy on May 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

fascia and colour
    reminisce of the starwars stormtroopers.. :))

• Balls on May 26, 2015 at 3:44 pm

No effort because no sales. At that price, who wanna buy? This is below Vios in terms of sales. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Toyol on May 27, 2015 at 4:37 pm

im gonna buy it. in handling and speed comparison, it’s worth for polo than vios.

• seancorr (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 4:08 pm

I wouldn’t call this a facelift..its more like a 2015 update!

• Balls on May 26, 2015 at 4:33 pm

update? you are much too kind…. more like getting rid of spare parts from Mk7 which also cannot sell; and defect bumpers calling it reworked. Lol.

• Apamreply on May 28, 2015 at 3:40 pm

facelift change light, change rim.. this is malaysia la! all car the same

• abc123 on May 26, 2015 at 4:20 pm

this is not a facelift, just model year change…

this was launched in India last week…
    http://indianautosblog.com/2015/05/2015-vw-vento-facelift-more-fuel-efficient-179355

• Therealmaserati on May 26, 2015 at 4:21 pm

This is the first time I am saying this about a VW, its a shit car!

I mean, the obvious choice would be the Honda City at roughly the same price.

This Polo drives nothing like the Tsi model. Its a boring piece of crap for those VW wannabes who cant afford a Proper VW Golf GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • real mulia on May 27, 2015 at 4:42 pm

polo and golf were in different range, that’s why the price were not the same. the choice depends to people, who loved it gonna buy it.

• Corrected on May 26, 2015 at 4:30 pm

looks like a piece of shiet from vw seriously !

• No change la on May 26, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Facepalm at this superficial facelift.

• The seats are horrendous… what are the designers smoking? Please pass it on

• yayaya… those who chose city, vios, mazda 2 etc. congratulation that you are smart consumers *clap clap clap*
    saga lookalike… so what? piece of shit… so what? boring car… so what? different people will have different point of views, there is no need to step on others to make yourself greater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • This car make that manual suprima looks not so bad after all…

• niamah on May 26, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Better get a City or a Vios and put the balance in your pocket. At least with a Jap car you are assured of reliability. With a VW it means camping at their SC using your annual leave or whatever time you can steal from your employer when your annual leave finish. You also need to have a spare car or learn how to take the bus when your Polo breaks down and takes months to fix. The good thing about a VW is it makes you learn how to live without a car for months.

• pukilu on May 27, 2015 at 9:56 am

Obviously you know nothing about vw problem and probably dont own 1.. i’ll take polo instead of japanese cars.. and that obviously you had not test driven the polo at high speed. take the city for high speed drive and you feel you are on magic carpet ride.

• voswagun pulo junk on May 28, 2015 at 11:02 pm

So what???
        Everybody trust Honda City than this volswagen Pondan.Sales figure shows!!!

Go go Honda City thrash this Volswagen Pondan!!!

• wajib on May 26, 2015 at 11:24 pm

VGM treat us like a third world mentality n junk dump site. Russia just launched their polo sedan facelift with new DRL headlight n passat like front bumper. While here they just changed the headlight frm previous polo tsi model they called it a new facelift. Dun make ppl here like a clown ok..VGM

• abramovich on May 27, 2015 at 4:45 pm

others countries other spec and variation. cannot compared like that. russia is four season country while malaysia only hot and rain. that’s the different for headlight and facelift. russia got snow, malaysia not.

• anonymous on May 26, 2015 at 11:27 pm

shit car wif shit price really, those who get this car really dumb until duno wat to say, MPI and 6 speed auto?? 0-100 in 12.3 secs?? even a myvi 1.3 cn smoke kao dis car, really nth special in dis car, at least the old polo TSI is fast n fuel efficient, but dis?? overpriced piece of junk, 92k?? go rob the bank better la, i rather pay 92k for a trd vios than dis piece of shit

• abramovich on May 27, 2015 at 4:49 pm

for 92k, i’d rather go to vw. golf maybe. trd vios was the true overpriced. just put some skirt and spoiler but the handling of it totally failed. already drive friend’s mine.

• Desiree Lim on May 27, 2015 at 12:47 am

Despite all your shite comments, VW and BMW were the top sales growth car companies in March and April. Looks like none of you are the actual car buyers. There is a much larger group of actual car buyers out there and they are not those who are commenting here who are just keyboard warriors.

• Balls on May 27, 2015 at 6:33 am

Wrong la. Sales growth in total number yes. But for better comparison, % growth is a better comparison. And when you look at those numbers, top selling should be Yutong with 175% increase sales volume and Bei Ben with 300% increase in sales volume. Good job Yutong and Ben Bei! Ahahahahaha….

Not forgetting that VW uses shit tactics like pre reg to mask their sales, same with BMW. Also VW throwing prices and giving 0% deals to people who either havent heard of the shit service or are willing to take the gamble.

• Balls Cut on May 28, 2015 at 12:08 am

Pre-reg is not counted in MAA sales figures. Only new cars, so balls, your theory is wrong about VW car sales including pre-reg.

If a car is growing from 1 unit to 10 units, that’s a 1000% growth rate, so you cannot say China cars are growing the fastest. That’s a joke, man!

• Apamreply on May 28, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Well. It only can show VW marketing strategy is doing right? People prefer…

• Nazrul on May 27, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Rebadge this as a new Saga? I’m not complaining. But, for God sake, the gearbox.

• Stupid on May 28, 2015 at 12:37 am

Shame on u, please read before comment.
      R u polo sedan using DSG?? how come gearbox problem???

Shame on you :p

• Apamreply on May 28, 2015 at 3:48 pm

really stupid.. dun play with rumous la! Polo sedan no DSG gearbox problem. Even other have, solved already

• why veedub on May 27, 2015 at 4:52 pm

http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/volkswagen-still-bugged-consumer-complaints

even in Singapore, nuff said.

• CyberPatrol on May 29, 2015 at 2:11 am

VW just a shot less on safety features adding the ESP system that would be turning point but not sure how much that inflated into.

• koala on Jun 27, 2015 at 4:07 pm

So many commented this polo sedan is a shit car, boring car and etc. But for me i feel Vios and City lagi boring. People who drive japanese car and look down on VW cars are ridiculous. What makes you think Japanese cars better than VW? Go test drive before you comment this is a shit car. After test Vios, City & Polo, you will know what is the real shit.

• Time Square on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:36 am

People who choose polo sedan is totally looking for something different. quality, confidence, comfort and smart but simple. J & K cars with full specs doesn’t mean its functioning well..especially when it’s ckd.

• So what car you all driving? Kancil? Is a shame u all useless thrash come over here comment without any in depth reviewing of this car. Guess u all still living on the coconut tree

• Elvis ong on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:08 pm

I personality test drive city, jazz and polo 1.6 mpi.
    City and jazz handling just a little better than myvi 1.5 se. Cornering dont need to say. Think properly you spend rm86 to buy jazz full spec but felt like driving myvi 1.5? Low spec rm76k. But many thing pull out with myvi feel dashboard.
    If myvi with polo handling. I wound not change car.

Polo good handling and cornering. Rm73k on the road where to find? Aisin japan gear box plus germany technology.
    Finally i choose polo. Althought service is expensive than honda. But it us what we call car. Of course dont compare with car more than 100k. I am not salesman. Lol comment after my test drive.