Gov’t mulling introduction of multiple rail operators in the country – KTM says it welcomes rail competition

Tiga SCS

The Government is reportedly planning to have multiple rail operators running on the country’s interstate railways, saying that the country’s rail capabilities will significantly increase once the double-track railway line from Johor Bahru to Padang Besar is finally linked up with the completion of the 200 km stretch between Gemas and JB.

Such a move, if it happens, would break the monopoly currently enjoyed by Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM), but the main rail operator in the Peninsular says it is ready for the challenge, The Star reports.

Its chairman Datuk Nawawi Ahmad said that there would likely be more rail users if the double-track line in the Peninsular is opened up to more players, but said that KTM welcomes the competition and is confident of riding out any challenges posed by having extra players.

ktm-komuter (2)

“When (only) Malaysia Airlines was around, not many people took airplanes. But when AirAsia came, many people (started to fly), and both companies were able to move forward. So the model that they use can also be used for trains,” he told reporters.

Earlier, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi had said that while the government was mulling over opening up the field for the interstate route, it had not yet made the decision on whether there should be multiple operators.

He added that double-tracked routes currently only see a 30% commuter usage rate and hoped that this percentage would increase in the future.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gargantia on May 27, 2015 at 11:16 am

“When (only) Malaysia Airlines was around, not many people took airplanes. But when AirAsia came, many people (started to fly)”

So true, example P1 then P2 now better Proton finally start to improving after 30 years monopoly.

Hope more healthy competitors will join not only “BN cronies” Monopoly the industries (arrogant mannerisms).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Makan Nasi Lemak dan Tidor on May 27, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Better to do this because the KTM guys are so lazy. Malas dan suka tidur. They are so mundane and don’t like to work. Just want Government to help and always wanting the tongkat.

KTM workers just sleep the whole day, makan kuih lapis dan minum the Tarik 7 kali satu hari with karipap.

All they talk about is which awek to kongkek and how to get additional wives. Lazy to the core! That is why our railways are in shambles!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
      • Mary Minah on May 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

What have you done to stop all these? Only talk but no action. You are also like them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Cockcroach Everywhere? on May 27, 2015 at 2:33 pm

I sit 2nd class. My journey from KL to Butterworth tkes about 7 hours. In that 7 hours, I see about 5 or 6 cockroach crawling by the side of the window inside the train.

You go to Europe. You can never see cockroach in any train. Malu betul. Disgrace

• Migrated Owner Review on May 27, 2015 at 3:00 pm

This is some big bull crap for some UMNO guy to make money.

Why don’t you give competition to Unifi also? 10 years, prices are still the same.

In the UK, in 10 years, High Speed Broadband became one tenth (1/10th) the price in 10 years.

In Malaysia, Unifi, after 10 years, still same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • The tracks and stations? on May 27, 2015 at 11:24 am

Is the current train tracks and train stations across the country under the ownership of KTMB or the federal gov.?

It will be hard for a new company to build and maintain tracks and stations unless there is a massive capital injection or heavy subsidizing.

• Andas on May 27, 2015 at 12:19 pm

KTMB are under federal gov la.. that’s why it called GOC (GOV. OWNED COMPANY) i/o GLC..

• Datuk Nawawi Ahmad - Berak Ada Jamban on May 27, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Helloe Datuk, how to compete? The jamban in the carriage got berak everywhere. Even the walls also got fingerprints with marks of berak on it.

You sit in the aircon coach but when want to go toilet, you suffer. Kencing smell everywhere

Teach your users to use tissue first. Go home and wash. Don’t go and wet and flood the toilet with water.

Kampung people naik plane also, go toilet, want to wash their buntot and genitals with water nd flood the toilet. Even fish or guppy aso can swim on the floor.

Cannot compete lah Datuk if your basic also so dirty and incompetent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Bau Kencing!!! on May 27, 2015 at 2:47 pm

You sit near the door, if you toilet, you will be having urine smell your whole journey.

The toilet smells like secondary school boys toilet.

Clean your toilets first before having more rail!

• Mary Minah on May 27, 2015 at 4:35 pm

What can you do about it? Only talk. Go and take some action la. Organise something la. It is us .

• Tracks and stations are under gov. KTMB is a mere operator.

• Flashers On Board on May 27, 2015 at 2:51 pm

I am a lady. Many times I have seen men sitting beside me with their “bird” out of their trousers and the person pretending to sleep.

Can KTM protect us women from this please

• hondaman on May 27, 2015 at 3:24 pm

take picture and make a report…or demand KTMB install CCTV at individual seat

• Mary Minah on May 27, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Aiya! That also don’t know what to do.

• azhar on May 27, 2015 at 11:27 am

GOOD!..should have done it long time ago..with more competition, hopefully better service for the rakyat

• Oh please, they should have done this so long ago. KTM sucks so bad when it comes to service. Punctuality is a big let down, trains are always MIA when you need it most.

Catch one during peak hours to go back to Sentral from Mid Valley and you’ll curse like hell.

• hondaman on May 27, 2015 at 11:37 am

KTMB will face the same fate as MAS when there is competition….. tutup kedai & bukak gerai

• Doesnt matter, as long as they are up for the challenge. Not like some half ass politicians that cry huha the Gov is inhumane but turn tail when ask to support.

• Energy Analyst on May 27, 2015 at 11:55 am

Don’t hold your breadth, only just mulling. Translate: think about (a fact, proposal, or request) deeply and at length, ponder, consider, think over/about, reflect on, contemplate, turn over in one’s mind, chew over, cogitate on, give some thought to….”I’ll have to mull it over before making a final decision”

• Heng Lee on May 27, 2015 at 11:58 am

It should be possible to buy tickets already at KLIA.

I guess many people (especially foreigners) would like to use KLIA Ekspres to KL Sentral and then another train (be it from KTM or another company) to Butterworth or Bukit Mertajam.

And how about if I could check in my luggage at KLIA and pick it up at Butterworth or Bukit Mertajam?

• rally_fan (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 12:28 pm

what is he talking about?? “When (only) Malaysia Airlines was around, not many people took airplanes. But when AirAsia came, many people (started to fly), and both companies were able to move forward. So the model that they use can also be used for trains,” he told reporters.” More people flew after AirAsia came about is because they were generally much cheaper across the board and flew to more regional locations… and MAS did not move forward.. it went backwards. Could very well happen to KTM also…

• Nope. Multiple operators create confusion and inefficiency. Just look at the ineffective LRT system long time ago, 3 operators: STAR, PUTRA and Monorail. Need 2-3 tickets just to get from point A to B. Let’s not talk about KTM Komuter..

Countries with unified railway system give much better service to customers, Japan, Germany, France. Shitty one? United Kingdom, that is one bad example to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Heng Lee on May 27, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Germany has many rail operators:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_German_railway_companies

But they have a unified ticketing system, you only have to buy one ticket to use all companies on the way to your destination.

• George Abdul on May 27, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Please don’t compare highly develop country to BN cronies GOC.

Malaysia are 20-30 years behind because mismanagement by umno leadership.

• axsatr on May 27, 2015 at 2:30 pm

But KTM, you seem to be forgetting something.

When AirAsia is introduced, yes MAS grew, but the general consensus agrees that AirAsia is more affordable and it’s currently preferred over MAS

Same theory can be applied to P1. Currently the sales for P2 is way more than P1, yet P2 only has several models to offer over the broader range of models P1 offers.

The conclusion? If and when a new competitor is introduced to rival KTM, that shall be the day we bid goodbye to KTM.

Sidenote; I’m surprised that KTM still haven’t made any efforts to replace their shattered windows on the new coaches. Such an eyesore.

• Windows to be changes on May 27, 2015 at 10:59 pm

ahaha soon enough the whole coaches windows will be shattered then they can change all by the same time

• axsatr on May 27, 2015 at 2:34 pm

You seem to be forgetting that there exists a magical device called the TouchN’Go that is accepted with KTM, Star, Putra and the Monorel.

It’s fine to have multiple operators, just make sure that they don’t implement their own smart payment system and maintain the usage of TnG.

• berombon on May 27, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Are you sure? I tot T&G not accepted anymore? They have a card that can be used for the different operators if I am not mistaken…Anyway, been ages since I took the monorel..

• axsatr on May 27, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Yup, all RAPID services, including the buses, monorail and LRTs support TnG

• waters on May 27, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Good! Finally these people are waking up.

Good on KTM. Rise to the challenge. Ultimately it will be better for KTM and better for us consumers.

• Without competition, KTM wont grow. However, if the competitive company is making tonnes of monies, I am sure BN crooks will offer to buy up or stop issuing license. This is what happened to many big profit companies which previously owned by Chinese businessman. We will not goina let this happen anymore. Enough is Enough.

• mivec101 on May 27, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Uk already has multiple train operators and the competition is so great that sometimes the promotions that they are giving are insanely cheap!! At the ennd, the customers are the ones who will benefit!!!!

• stephen on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:36 pm

it is a good move for this but i do hope they start looking into new plans for a bigger network. I remember due to the tin mining work….Malaysia used to have more rail road….like the one to teluk intan or even the first rail road from taiping to port weld. of course these town might be too small for any new system but it is definitely needed for gov to setup a plan for rail network expansion for long term……