Ops Warta – 2,012 offenders issued arrest warrants

Cop shop

As Ops Warta enters its second week of operations, The Star has reported that a total of 2,012 traffic offenders have now been issued arrest warrants after failing to settle their respective summonses. “The operation has entered phase two and we not only mount roadblocks but also visit their office or work place,” said the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar.

Since the launch of said operation on May 19, a total of 1.59 million arrest warrants have been issued. However, only 50,000 traffic summonses have been settled so far. “If they are still stubborn, we will continue with Ops Warta,” he added. Most recently, a total of 9,836 individuals have elected to turn themselves in after receiving their respective warrants.

Individuals are encouraged to check on their outstanding summonses (should there be any) via online portals such as myeg.com.my and rilek.com.my. Physical locations include traffic police counters, Road Transport Department (JPJ) offices, post offices, Maybank ATMs and selected shopping malls.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• cendol (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 10:00 am

50000k summons settled out of 1.59 arrest warrants??
    It is 3% out of all summons.
    GOod luck PDRM in catching all of them.
    I am waiting for you in my office

• Its becoz of people like you that we have suicidal maniacs trying to kill pajeros at every opportunity on the roads.

Never mind the saman, PDRM should just throw u into Tanjung Rambutan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • cendol (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 12:43 pm

I am sorry.
        I don’t even know what offense I did on my summons.
        ‘Parking di petak dilarang”. I looked left and right , I do not see any forbidden box.
        So you tell me where is my offence?
        Even the police officer can’t tell me where am I wrong

• kamsui on May 28, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Boring, same old story at car blog.

• That might mean either you stopped at side of hydrant (whether you can see or not is irrelevant) or you stopped in the void at traffic light intersection, could be other possibilities.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 28, 2015 at 10:28 am

My buddy get arrested under this ops. And he say when go to court, judges allow all summon can discount until RM20/compound, syok, man. I start think to settle my summon when they arrest me to station. Somemore when charge to courts, all summon can settle with RM20/coumpund, how good

• cendol (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Do like what the 1448000 people are doing.
      Wait for discount.
      Only those 50000 kiasu people go and pay up. Do not be afraid of the police

• Yes. Dun worry about police! Speed as much as possible.
        Dun care 2 hoots about traffic lights.
        Its our rakyats right to break the laws we dun like.
        After all, we pay taxes. We are the king.
        If PDRM comes for you, rest assured that your friendly neighbourhood PR politician will come and help you.
        Dun be scared! Kita Lawan!

• Peter on May 28, 2015 at 4:31 pm

The judge knew all your fine will end up in 1MDB … so WTF, pay 20 each enough la!

• Low Budget on May 28, 2015 at 10:37 am

Yeah, I have checked with the myeg website and discovered that the car I have traded in last September has 4 speeding tickets in Jan-15 at Alor Star (my home is K.L.), don’t think I am going to pay for that 4 ‘offences’ not committed by me at all.
    Pity the next owner who bought my car if he/she is stopped by the PDRM and harassed by the side of the road.

• bluesyworms on May 28, 2015 at 2:47 pm

I am sorry to tell you the police will be looking for you instead as the previous car oqner qhen the offences occured. I bought my car awcond hand and there was 10 saman. Two was by me and the other eight by previous owner. The police cross check with JPJ to see who owns the car at the time of the offence. And the police told me to pay just the 2 saman under me. The other eight they gonna cari the previous owner. So good luck to you!

• Pakatan Rakyat on May 28, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Tengok comment atas. Ini macam punya orang ada, buat salah lagi show off, ini macam punya kerajaan tak heranlah.