AES successful in slashing accident rates by 36.8%

AES_Camera

The implementation of the Automated Enforcement System (AES) has managed to successfully reduce accidents rate as well as increase the levels of compliance by motorists, Transport Minister, Datuk Sri Liow Tiong Lai, told Bernama in a report by The Sun.

Based on a study conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros), Liow has been quoted as saying that the deployment of 14 AES systems at various locations for eight months have recorded a total of 12 cases of traffic fatalities – compared to a total of 19 reported cases in the same period, pre-AES.

“This means that AES managed to reduce seven accident fatalities or 36.84% for only eight months,” said Liow during a Dewan Rakyat sitting recently in a written reply to Dr Azman Ismail, who had asked about the ministry to confirm the total number of fines collected since the implementation as well as its effectiveness.

camera-trap-speed

At the end of April 2015, a total of RM76,647,750 has been collected from 264,750 AES summonses issued. Based on additional findings by Miros, Liow has also added that the implementation of AES has managed to improve compliance rate amongst motorists in terms of adhering to the speed limit and stoplights.

At six separate locations, the deployment of AES has successfully improved the rate of compliance of speed limits on working days to 91% – a significant jump from the previous figure of 63% during pre-AES days. With AES installed at four different traffic light junctions, the rate of non-compliance has fallen from 4.3% to 2.2%.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• joyah on May 29, 2015 at 9:29 am

erm.. can i see the complete report of the AES impact on road accident in Malaysia..

it’s not about how fast your drive your car but its about how your manners and behavior while driving that kill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • azhar on May 29, 2015 at 10:37 am

if you drive fast over speed limit, thats one bad behaviour that needs to be curb..AES wont solve the problems 100% but at least it will reduce it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Corruption to the MAX on May 29, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Don’t talk about accidents. Talk about the 2 Contractor companies who got RM500 million each free as compensation. These 2 companies are UMNO crony companies. The rakyat lost a lot of tax payers money to these 2 companies.

Building the cameras also, these 2 companies said each camera is RM1 million. They ketuk our LHDN money to the max. Hello, this not Hubble Telescope lah. Even a complex DSLR camera only cost RM2000 now. How can a jamban camera cost RM1 million each?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • drive fast and exceed the speed limit its illegal and consider offense, you have bad manners and bad behaviour in the road thats another offense .

• Therealmaserati on May 29, 2015 at 9:31 am

Utter rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • sawwie on May 29, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Until govt can disclose how much compensation paid to the cancelled contractors, then you can call it as a success.

• Burong on May 29, 2015 at 9:35 am

Bravo. Kindly continue to use AES to protect the road user while making money. Kill two bids with one stone.

Install in all corners in Malaysia for safety, including Sabah & Sarawak. Make it standard over whole Malaysia.

I am thinking, install them on borders of Thai, maybe can reduce the human trafficking issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • George Abdul on May 29, 2015 at 10:11 am

Ministers Liow,
    Someone should tell him GST successful “LOOT” Rakyat hard earn money from our own daily life expenses.

• C. P. MOHAN on May 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

AES has reduced road accidents: factual. I don’t so, without proof or correlation it is not factual to me just another “shiok sendiri” statement or is it justification elsewhere.

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 10:30 am

I absolutely support installing AES but I wish gov increased road speed…110 km/h is so 1990’s already, with lots of modern car on the road nowadays… lets make it 210 km/h

• iamme on May 30, 2015 at 1:17 pm

So that we can see more Myvi (or others) racers killing more people? No way, mentality and driving skills have to be improved first.

• azhar on May 29, 2015 at 10:34 am

good!..we need more AES..teach those stupid drivers how to behave on the road

• Silent Reader on May 29, 2015 at 10:48 am

How come. People only slow down their cars when approaching AES. After passing AES, they just speed off again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • salman on May 29, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Itu pasal kena kaji lokasi yg terbaik utk letakkan AES ni. Contoh sebelum selekoh bahaya. Laluan berbukit yg tidak jelas keadaan dihadapan.m…dsb

• drMpower on May 29, 2015 at 11:21 am

and i thought the days of Government know best were over?

this is an effort to create a reason for something to be done. instead of doing something because that something is carefully thought and needed, some people invent A REASON for something to be done.

chances are, if you have to create some reasons to justify some actions, then you must have done something wrong.

• bull shit

• apanama on May 29, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Such a simplistic mindset this minister liow..impose aes, accident rate supposedly reduced and voila, you find the magic wand! Tsskkk…and we were asking why Malaysia is the butt of nasty jokes nowadays.

• Sharon on May 29, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Please install a lot in Kuching.

• Sharon on May 30, 2015 at 5:18 pm

People who click dislike because they are those who drive recklessly and those who like to break the rules!

• nabill (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 1:20 pm

i dont know about the reduction in accidents , bt its good to have more , at every traffic light if possible , specially to catch bikers,who dont give a hoot about traffic rules….n expect other car drivers to show them courtesy…
    and once they are at it , please DONOT OFFER DISCOUNTS OR WHAT NOT FOR OFFENCES , Anyone who cant settle for 6mnths , they can arrest you….

• We must bantah adding more cameras kau-kau! Those put up already are burning a hole in the regular rakyats pocket! Just becoz we luz to speed and run red lights! How wrong is that compared to 1mdb, private jet, cows, condos!

Even if accident happen, at most we onli kill people. How bad can that be! Theres plenty of human beings in this planet compared to the billions the Gov songlap! PDRM should go catch them, not us potential killers!

Thank goodness our friendly PR politician has our backs as long as its against the Gov. Dun be afraid of police. Tear the saman and throw it back at them!
    Kita Lawan!

• panjang on May 31, 2015 at 10:12 pm

I will applaud honestly if they manage to clamp down on the nonsense driving/riding we face everyday on normal road.
    Que cutting,hogging,reckless driving,no seatbelt.