Proton electric car still in prototype stage – Parliament

The development of Proton’s electric car is still in its prototype stage, the Dewan Rakyat was told yesterday, according to a Bernama report.

In response to Dr Che Rosli Che Mat (PAS-Hulu Langat), who asked about the car’s progress, deputy energy, green technology and water minister Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid said the prototype is currently undergoing several intensive quality and safety tests.

“The tests also take into account the needs of customers, and the electric car can be produced at a reasonable price. The vehicle’s performance also meets international standards,” Mahdzir said.

proton-pt-adiperkasa-citra-lestari-2

“The government fully supports the national car company’s efforts to develop an electric car and so the close collaboration between government, manufacturers, utility suppliers and other stakeholders is needed to promote the usage of electric cars, thus making Malaysia an electric car production hub in ASEAN,” he added.

The aforementioned car is likely the Proton Iriz EV (electric vehicle), which has been developed in collaboration with South Korea’s LG Electronics. The car can apparently travel 240 km on one charge, beating the Nissan Leaf‘s NEDC-rated 195 km.

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Madani Sahari has previously said that the Proton EV could cost under RM100k when it launches late-2016 or early-2017. The other company that’s going to make EVs here is China’s BAIC – operations are set to begin at the Gurun, Kedah plant in July 2016. Are we really on our way to becoming an ASEAN EV hub?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• prabowi on May 29, 2015 at 11:50 am

Proton is too slow. Always playing catch up n ended up being too late by the time its out. They need some kind of master / strategic plan n probably a european based R&D centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • George Abdul on May 29, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Don’t rush them,
      Proton motive “delay delay delay” like their boss DrM… same boss same mentality always “in progress” until 2050 still in progress stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 31
      • Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok – Proton principle.

Proton Hybrid has been mentioned since 2008 till now (7 years), and nothing seen. They really test their car on Mars?

However, you all can consider your Proton as hybrid due to the features below:
        1. Fuel hunger
        2. Noisy
        3. No power
        4. Not reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 40
        • safetyno.1 on May 29, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Go and settle your airbag scandal first, can’t even make safety right now want to spread liar to other brands

Go and check those airbags better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 34
          • Tabung Haji on May 29, 2015 at 2:43 pm

“The government fully supports the national car company’s efforts to develop an electric car…”

Means asking more money from the G to support this so called electric car project. Proton wants to be the next 1MDB?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 29, 2015 at 3:36 pm

This is all bullshit to squeeze more money from our LHDN coffers. Tens of billions have been given to Proton to research this and that. Even hybrid also, Government gave billions to Proton. Nothing to be seen.

I ask this question. Hybrid also belum keluar, now want to keluar Electric kah?

It is all a sham to screw money from the rakyat. From 1985, till todate, Government has given more than 100 billion to Proton to sustain them, research and development and bogus launch models.

Please lah Proton, please don’t lie to people. Just close down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
          • P1 Scam on May 30, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Campro pun tak efiicient, now want to make EV? Confirm scam…

• Proton CEO no balls on May 29, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Any announcement about Proton always done by Ministers. Proton CEO just a puppet boneka. I thought now Proton in private hands DRB? Fully under Syed Mokhtar?

If so, how come always can korek our LHDN money? Ask Syed Mokhtar to pay and make announcements lah!

Very suspicious that Cabinet can answer questions about Proton when it is supposed to be in DRB hands now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
          • Balls on May 29, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Proton CEO balls 404 not found

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • gtoracer on May 29, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Nothing to be seen?
            That’s the car, maybe you should check your eyes

Better than Nissan Leaf, good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Jorek on May 29, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Proton CEO cannot answer directly in Parliament la bro only Minster or his deputy can answer direct in Parliament.

• kzm (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 7:00 pm

cuz pas MP ask?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Rafizi on May 29, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Proton priced under 100k is reasonable???

What is Proton smoking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • chipcheap on May 29, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Vios no VSC 80k
            Iriz with VDC is < 50k
            so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • kzm (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 7:03 pm

maybe it is impossible to price it below RM zero or 0k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Albert on May 29, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Same Lorr,there won’t be a Proton electric car.Why?
          This year,Proton will only sell 60-70,000 cars.Next year,they can’t even hit 50,000 units. Do you think the Arab would want to do some more national service?
          He will direct DRB to ditch this ailing company,and concentrate on other gomen mega projects(MRT etc..).
          Protong is destined for the GRAVEYARD with the tombstone engraved ” THE DEMISE OF THE SYIOK SENDIRI CAR MANUFACTURER 2017″

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • ape la BODOH !!! sgt comment dlm ni …ckp guna otak orang gile pun ada akal sblm comment …sarkastik people !!!

• Dr M is actually super fast but proton that is not capable of coping.. Proton is soooooo slow.

• sawwie on May 29, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Better try sell it at Bangladesh first. If its sells good there, it will sells good elsewhere globally too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Time to Close Proton Down on May 29, 2015 at 3:39 pm

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about fake electric car when Proton rogol all of us all these years.

Don’t waste hundreds of millions on electric car. Even Nissan Leaf is not selling well, whatmore Proton!

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
        • safetyno.1 on May 29, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Toyota with 20 airbags also no use if it kills not saves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • swanbag on May 29, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Proton 30 airbags also no use if it don’t work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • safetyno.1 on May 29, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Proof?
            Toyota being sued already. Confirm got proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • George Abdul on May 29, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Copy paste from previous numerous postings..tell us something new laa..like parrot only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Fed Up on May 30, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Thank you for pointing out that because of proton, 30 million malaysian suffering. since thailand don’t have their own national car, please show the proof to us that they have few thousands spared in their trousers.

• OMG…Petrol car also cant make properly, now electric car some more ahhh….scare get shock ….LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…Iriz want to become global car, but end up local sales also lost to Axia a lot. …Now EV somemore…develop and use ur own kah…wasting $…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • omgsostupid on May 29, 2015 at 8:36 pm

OMG You compare rubbish a segmenter axia with much more safer b segmenter iriz?

Where do you put your brain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Truth hurts on May 29, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Sales Is sale, you can’t argue that. Truth hurt for you proton blind followers ay? Haha

• bengong on May 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Why don’t u compare your beloved axia to lambo aventador, for sure win like hell one… Haiyaa… Then what? Axis better than lambo? Compare apple to apple LA..

• OMG…I know now P1 provide better safety features compared P2…but the sales still weak. WHY?

• CyberPatrol on May 29, 2015 at 12:17 pm

ASIAN EV hub by Proton, it not impossible if you have financial backing, marketing and aggressive management. I can understand BAIC EV setup an assembly plant in Kedah, a head start to capture ASIAN EV and you can say the quote “Eagles has landed” on our shores.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Hubble on May 29, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Malaysia as Asian EV Hub no, Proton’s protection hub yes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Bra and Panties Promoter on May 29, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Hello there Proton, my name is Sam Loo. I am better known in this forum as either Same Lorrrr or Sam Loo (ori1).

My Toyota sales are oficially ZERO. Whatever UMW sells is actually to Government departments. We salesman now got no money. Can I come and work for you guys?

Selling bra and panties at night quite hard to survive alone. Now UMW got to revise their sales target to lower. But even that, all taken up by contracts to Government departments, mostly Fortuner and Hilux.

Please help me Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Do you dare to be in one? They can’t even make a proper car but dreaming of making an electric car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • sawwie on May 29, 2015 at 12:44 pm

With 20 years warranty, maybe can try lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • taknakToyota on May 29, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Who cares, even old timer Toyota kills people instead of building “proper” cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • TakNakP1 on May 29, 2015 at 2:47 pm

In Malaysia, Proton kills more people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
          • driller on May 29, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • Jeffrey Ng on May 30, 2015 at 8:34 pm

If you do have an iota of knowledge, you will know that it is the attitude of drivers that cause fatal accidents.

Has there ever been any case of a Proton disintegrating by itself and caused an accident?

If you are not capable of deep diving into critical thinkings, you should probably keep your “thoughts” to yourself.

• SkullJuJu on May 29, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Have you ever been in a Proton(Preve onwards) lately?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Bomoh on May 29, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Even some minor issue on my Proton cannot solve and now they developing EV car…I dare not consider this brand again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • That’s far better than recalling killing machines ONLY after being sued

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Aero (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Proton should call it … the Proton Electron. Yeeaahhhh. lol I mean, how COOL is that ?

Proton Electra or Proton Elektra sounds quite sexy too !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Hypokrit on May 29, 2015 at 3:52 pm

You still won’t buy it. Sembang saja kencang macam professor kangkung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • haha…sure is…but make sure it can be sell..sexy name is not enough..haha

• Still prototype ! Still sucking rakyat money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • adoila on May 29, 2015 at 2:10 pm

what proton need right now is to produce or source a fuel efficient engine. current engine is too thirsty. EV market in msia is small, and the charging station is almost none. unless the economics justifies, most people wont even consider EV as an alternative to normal petrol car. in the end proton spend so much money for r&d and it doesn’t sell well, afraid will close shop for good.
    nvm, proton will never close shop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • camryjamban on May 29, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Camry 2.0l – 7.0km/l
      Exora 1.6T (2.0lequivalent) – 8.5km/l

Which is more fuel thirsty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • protonjamban on May 29, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Bodohnya comparison. Compare turbo with no turbo and say it’s equivalent. Really shows the stupidity of Proton supporters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
        • camryjamban on May 29, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Bodohnya, even CFE is more torquey than jambancamry, it’s still more frugal

Really shows the stupidity of Toyotaik supporters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • globalcar on May 29, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Hahaha, after showing your stupidity, now you butthurt. CFE is known to drink more fuel than COMPARABLE engines. Here’s the proof:

BMW 1.6T – 18km/l
            Exora 1.6T – 8.5km/l

Still want to syiok sendiri it’s more frugal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Jeffrey Ng on May 30, 2015 at 8:45 pm

May I know which BMW are you referring to and what are its parameters?

1. Weight
            2. Frontal surface area
            3. Coefficient of drag
            4. Transmission paired to
            5. Model used in

• camryjamban on May 29, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Prolly a diesel, get your comparison right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • globalcar on May 29, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Don’t believe me? See and convert yourself:

http://www.bmw.co.za/products/automobiles/1/5-door/drivingdyn_4cylpetrol.asp

• Campro inefficient on May 30, 2015 at 10:54 am

I really doubt Camry 2.0L only achieves 7km/L figure. If you have please provide some proof as the official figures for the Camry 2.0L is 7.3L/100km which is about 13.7km/L under the NEDC cycle.

Since you think globalcar reply is of the wrong comparison just have a look at CarBase and see the official figures for BMW 316i. It is 17km/L Now that is DOUBLE of what mileage Exora can churn out and you still want to compare and say the Campro 1.6 Turbo is frugal.

Proton supporters always have all kinds of excuses when comparisons are given. For example when i quote a City 1.5L mileage is 12.5km/L KL driving and 20km/L highway driving which fares much better than Campro 1.6L turbo in terms of fuel economy first thing being commented will be Campro will smoke City easily with high 205nm torque.

Then when give comparison with other turbo engines of equivalent or smaller capacity like VW 1.4L TSI where all other turbo engines will have higher HP, Torque and more fuel efficient the usual comment is, Campro is a soft turbo so can’t compare.

So you can compare Campro turbo against NA engines and it is justified while when comparing against other turbo engines it is not allowed??? How else will Proton improve if you keep defending an inferior engine. The fact is Campro has very poor fuel efficiency and its power figures lose out to other turbo engines.

Once Proton is able to produce a better engine and switch their Punch CVT then it will probably be a car many would want to get as its safety is above par.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Oh My on May 31, 2015 at 11:17 am

Apples and oranges bro…

• cendol (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 2:13 pm

I believe Proton EV can go into production IF government(rakyat) gives us another RM300million to expedite research and development purposes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • drMpower on May 29, 2015 at 2:26 pm

why Proton still debated in Parliment? It no longer under government care. and why Mahadzir Khalid answering the question, although he is the minister related to green technology?

this news is old news. started from Fraser Nash company or something yet after nearly 5 years nothing.

• Fly High on May 29, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Good news!

Its great that Proton wants to join the electric car manufacturer group.. It will be nicer if they combine combustion engine with the assistance electric motor like Prius, BMW i8 and others (with acceptable speed for family usage, not for the racer thingy). Really hope they can achieve it

• thepolygonal on May 29, 2015 at 2:49 pm

The Iriz is a good looking car. It’s good that they have chosen this car to be converted to an EV. I wouldn’t mine if they start selling this but they need to get it right first. Being in prototype stage while Nissan Leaf and Mitsu iMiEV is already selling is a bit sad. Not much on the road due to the $$$. That’s why I like the “the electric car can be produced at a reasonable price” comment in the article.

Lets hope it’s really reasonable like below RM60k.

• Hypokrit on May 29, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Then let Nissan Leaf and Mitsu iMiEV also selling at RM60K price. Tengok lah mana satu lu berani beli.

• notosushi on May 29, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Of course tak berani beli any sushi, got killer airbags inside!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Leaf & iMiEV was given tax relief previously yet they are not selling it at RM60k. Probably part of the reason the tax relief was taken away.

• kenot on May 29, 2015 at 4:41 pm

guys..which one is complicated technology? normal engine that we have today or electric technology in vehicle?

• cendol (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Tesla already giving out EV patents for free.
    Practically you can just download it from internet.
    What more do you want to research?
    To get more grant?

• Ice Kacang on May 29, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Proton staffs want to buy more cendol during R&D(Rest&Dining)

• e-Tech on May 29, 2015 at 5:38 pm

There’s no such things as full free tech. Sooner or later you will have to pay.

• kzm (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 7:08 pm

no need to test first? patent is just a drawing, diagram or word that describe something not hardware. hardware need test n test is part of R&D..

• J Lee on May 29, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Nissan Leaf and Chevy Bolt not commercial success. What makes Proton think they can do better? i see 2 issues with this plan. 1. Does EV have a bright future? 2. If we want to be a hub Proton and the associated protectionism can’t be involved. Looks like more money going down the drain.

• Steve Kok on May 29, 2015 at 7:29 pm

From what i see the trend, Euro 5 diesel engine is much more better than EV

• mana pergi kereta hybrid proton?, :(, come on proton finish one project at a time plz…sigh

• Oh My on May 31, 2015 at 11:10 am

Gosh, god forbid for anybody running multiple projects simultaneously.

• symusty on May 30, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I doubt the current Iriz would be the one sold as an EV, its just being used a base platform for testing right now. They would probably just implement the technology in the next Iriz.

And unless they plan to make this exclusive to foreign markets, where they MIGHT find success, I don’t see this being successful in Malaysia in the near future.

• Absolute Rider on May 30, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Slow development progress….

• Strategic marketing in Proton is dead. Whatever the competitor wants to know, just get the MP to ask in Parliament and all except the most intimate details has to be declared.
    And we thought DRB Hicom has taken Proton into private hands….

• Whynot on Jun 01, 2015 at 12:13 am

Too expensive even at 80k! It should be around 60k at the most! Bad cost management as it seem. The new hybrid extended eev like volts from Chevrolet is a thing we are looking for now and the future. Learn from them!

• Jaguar XJ L on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Will the price tag of this so call EV car cheaper than petrol version? if no there are no point to buy in Electrical cars. wasted of this R&D and investment cost. People who buy Proton is only concern Cheap n Cheap Price not their what changgih technology or function features, of course if u want you need to pay more.LOL
    Go green means encourage everyone or society is enable to help save our environment as large together, not to show off your industry technology with other automobile manufacturer by they way you are not competitive as all compare to other in sense of technology development, do not said Hybrid or EV electrical lah..even your own Engine also cannot build up by your own factories , how shame I too be say Proton is Malaysia Car, build my Malaysian..LOL