Mazda CX-3 1.5 diesel to be in Malaysia end of year?

2015-Mazda-CX-3-042

Is there a possibility for a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel-engined Mazda CX-3 to come to Malaysia? Apparently there is, as suggested by a Facebook user, who posted these “tentative” specifications. He mentions rumours that Bermaz could bring in the vehicle at the end of the year.

If it’s indeed in the plans, our Mazda CX-3 diesel will be fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, just like the petrol, which isn’t even launched yet – although we’re really not far away now.

The 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine will send 104 hp at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 2,500 rpm to only the front wheels (the petrol will be 2WD only, too) via a six-speed auto.

“Tentative” Malaysian-market specs: Mazda CX-3 2.0 petrol (left) and 1.5 diesel

Fine and dandy, but we’re more interested in the kit. And it seems it won’t disappoint – looks like the diesel will be just as well-equipped as the petrol, packing six airbags, DSC, TSC, cruise control, six speakers, keyless entry and start, leather seats and a head-up display.

Also mentioned are 215/60 R16 alloys, i-stop start/stop, a rain sensor, LED headlamps, LED DRLs, fog lamps, reverse sensors, a seven-inch MZD display with Commander Control knob, Bluetooth, USB, AUX, internet radio and reverse camera.

The same user also posted tentative specs for the CX-3 2.0 SkyActiv-G petrol, suggesting that if the diesel variant does make it here, it’ll share its generous equipment bag with the petrol variant. The CX-3 petrol is apparently open for booking at an estimated RM120k-130k price range, ahead of deliveries slated for August.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Clean Diesel First la on Jun 01, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Government still give us low grade Euro 2 fuel that is causing so much environmenttal damage and health problems to Malaysians. Instead of giving us Diesel cars, pls follow chicken and egg theory. No point give us diesel cars when diesel is so dirty and filthy.

Even the BMW diesels, which BMW talk so much about, already giving problems now. 320d and 520d, so many problems now.

Since now Government give us a float system, give us clean fuel please. All our neighbours got clean fuel except us.

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
    All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment. Now increase diesel price, why wait till 2020 for cleaner Euro 5 diesel?

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 20
    • Exactly what problems are you referring to? My E90 320D is 6 years old now, out of warranty. Apart from 2 sets of tyre replacements (due to the fantastic torque of the car) I haven’t got a serious problem yet. Even the battery is still original. Please share with me what should I look out for, thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Are u sure u never change your car battery for 6 yrs?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Did you read what I wrote? I said no. My previous W210’s battery failed on the 7th year so this is not out of ordinary. So, pray tell me what sort of problems am I supposed to deal with? Thank you in advance for your kind explanations.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:48 pm

My W203’s battery lasted 6 years
          But I chicken out on the 6th year and got it changed before it gave way, could easily last 7 year as tkw claimed
          It is not out of ordinary for German car battery to last that long
          However the cost of replacement is out of ordinary for normal car battery

• fakeconti on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:07 am

Cx3 can thrash your car out. Dun play play

• kzm (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Seem longer than the article…wat are ur comment bout?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • drMpower on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:36 pm

i never see anyone gasping for air
      they just breath well, and unassisted

• Heskey on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:03 pm

African war torn country? Wow… Just Wow..

• France Abolish Diesel on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:08 pm

I used a ford Focus Diesel. Just 2 years old, I had to sell the car for RM50k. Brand new I bought RM120k.
    that is how bad the RV for diesel is.

Malaysians still got stigma for diesel. You think you are saving money on fuel but when you sell time, you will cry. After paying few years also, you will have to top up your loan by 20 to 30k. So much for savings.

Anyway, why intro diesel here when Europe now finally realized that they made a mistake the past 20 years promoting diesel? Even France now trying to abolish diesel because they have found out diesel is far far far more toxic than petrol despite being Euro 5 diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • W204 C63 AMG on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Less likely because it’s a diesel, more likely it’s a Ford. The money with its 2.3 turboturbo petrol is a bargain if you are looking for a used car.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Can smell EURO-5 launching very soon!!!! Thank god at least or should I say: Finally.
    No more excuses “delay”, Refinery still have some sh*t going on……. etc.

Btw what a present for school holiday: Petrol Price increase!!!!

• Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • Lance on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Now with all your multiple posting to condemn CX3, your are truly a junk. Whatever you say no one will buy a Honda from you.

• Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Honda Hrv or cx3,sales figure will tell,as easy as ABC.
        Go go Honda Hrv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Pondan car and no quality at all!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
  • Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Lousy design
    A car that has no standard
    Only pondan will get this no standard car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
    • Still better looking than your mom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Bozo U on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Dude… if pondan means gay in your vocabulary then you ought to look up the English dictionary to find out what gay means. It means HAPPY. So if all CX3 buyers are HAPPY buyers (and thus are GAY, or pondan to you), then true to your word, you’re correct! So get a grip of yourself or maybe better still, do yourself a favour. Go drive this pondan car and make yourself happy!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:37 pm

This car got low RV. As bad as kimchi. So many CX5 owners trade in their 2012 kimchi and I give them 70k for their cars. They cry so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Put your money in the bank and gain interest sampah Loo. Don’t buy a car or even a bicycle. Walk to work bare-footed too because your shoes also will have no resale value. What stupid moron is this fella, day and night harping on RV? Don’t you have something cleverer to talk about dickhead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • tiffany on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:40 pm

this make Honda HR-V like a very outdated car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Outdated or not,sales figure will tell.
      At last this pondan no standard car will bungkus and balik Japan!!

Go go Honda Hrv thrash this cx3!!
      I bought Honda City V also don’t want that pondan low quality mazda 22222222

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:44 pm

I just want to say one thing:Mazda Cx3是一辆没有水准的车!!!!
    垃圾!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
    • tiffany on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:00 pm

at least better than a Honda HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • you are rubbish on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Apparently you’re the one who is rubbish. This is an English site, wanna show off your rubbish Mandarin, go elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Again all no standard go and buy this no standard car lah!!
        and it’s my choice which language i want to use since i’m Chinese!!

Go go Honda thrash this pondan Cx3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
        • Lance on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:56 pm

You are a sick man. Keep asking ppl not to buy this car and buy a Honda, are you buying them car? If not don’t be a moron and little this site with all your sick notes. I hope I know which outlet your are working so I can avoid it when I want to buy a Honda.

• OMG…knnccb…sohai…

• Booked on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Mazda please please include the 18″rims and not the 16″. Definitely changes the whole outlook of the car!

• Akari on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Hoping the specs would be the same as the Akari grade like in Australia!!

• Fahmi on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:54 pm

I think diesel variants will be the better buy, if it comes here.. The 2.0 petrol one are not bad, but are too close to the CX-5, its bigger brother, especially the GL lower end variant..

• Euro5 diesel jahanam on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Good car but surely punished by insane car tax excise duty. Mazda of course more than happy charging expensive price, who wouldn’t.

Stupid MITI keep on bluffing car buyers. And thanks to that Volvo of Tanjung Malim also.

• Boot Capacity is really small at 264L vs CX-5 561L.
    Is as small as Axia boot 260L.. not suitable for family use..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • WaJib on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:11 pm

It look a bit cacat when it comes with 16″. All the promo picture shown here all comes with 18″ rims. If not believe, just google low spec CX-3 picture at overseas. Sorry Bermaz, if that the case you lose one order to Honda HR-V. Im not sure others..

• U can really tell its school holiday by reading comments on this site.come dislike my comments kids!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:43 pm

The internet radio feature caught my eye and the rest of the spec looks pretty much spot on save for the kinda small 16 inch wheels but hey most Mazda vehicles are pretty firm on the suspension side so I guess they wanted to even it out with a smaller tyre?

As for its direct competitor – the HRV…nope Honda doesn’t have to worry so much since this is not really targeting families. Trust me when I say the interior will kill anyone that is around 6 feet tall.

• Cx3 Junk on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Why Honda M’sia have to worry so much??
      Anytime this shit car still lose to Honda Hrv!!

Go go Honda Hrv!!
      I support Honda by getting 2015 City V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • I wan AWD on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:08 pm

why HR-V and CX-3 don’t have AWD at malaysia, other country all have AWD

• tiffany on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:29 pm

RM115k to RM125k for 2.0 Mazda CX-3..

and i do hope CX-3 1.5 diesel with only 104hp is only RM105k..

but still.. Overpriced B Segment car..

• Firstly i have to say that im a bit impressed with the outlooks of this car although im not a huge fan of MAZDA. No offense to honda fans as HRV is rather lame looking compared to this rugged looking one.
    Secondly (CX3forumer) you’ve got some issues man. You need to get yourself together before you start commenting about the cars here.If you would to compare spec of both vehicles please comment something with sense that blasting out everything which makes no sense from what you are commenting. Better check your vocab first before you use the word “PONDAN”. Either you maintain your professionalism in this forum or back away and hit your head against the wall.

• I booked one because it looks very handsome with 18 inch rims but IF with only 16 inch better not to bring CX3 to Malaysia….

• n-oed on Jun 02, 2015 at 8:21 am

Yeap. Totally. They did it with the bigger brother too right? Come on lah, 16 and 18 so much differences in this baby looks lah. 16 makes this car looks so not appealing/cheap looking. Don’t worry for us about fuel consumption with bigger wheels lah, let us bear lah. Better yet, let us choose which one we want. Plus, when they’re telling this car is fuel efficient, this car is wearing that 18 inch also what. I don’t think “very-highly-specced” comes with 16 only – in many countries this baby comes with 18 lah for top spec.

Also, if that striking blue color is not coming here, forget it. I’m out.

• Subaru xv
    106 000

• DPCraft on Jun 01, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Both HR-V and CX-3 are great cars

• CX3 best compact SUV on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:39 am

Wud like to suggest to bermaz pls introduce 2 highly specced CX3, one highly specced with 16 inch rim another highly specced (call it as Akari or touring whatsever) with 18 inchers rim..pls give more option, thanks bermaz…

• 270nm torque! more pulling power than a cx5 2.0 & 2.5 petrol…very suitable for an SUV

• Cant wait to see the muscular CX3 with 18 inchers rims on the Malaysian road…summore 270NM torque! Got Class…

• Could somebody here help me with your knowledge. I am considering getting a small reliable suv. Kindly compare 2L CX3, 2L Subaru XV, 2L Mitsubishi ASX and 1.8L Honda HRV. RV is not very important to me as keep cars more than 10 years ( I don’t have many 10 years to drive). Probably low rv is an advantage to me as it gives me the option of buying a used model. Certainly I like European /continental cars, but I have to opt for Japanese for reliability / peace of mind. I am very tempted to get a subaru xv, but weight/power ratio, maintenance for permanent 4×4 and poor management attitude are my concern. Thanks in advance for your opinion.