Mercedes-Benz Malaysia – best ever sales in May ’15

mercedes-benz-malaysia

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has some serious momentum going. On the back of a successful first four months of 2015 (best Q1 ever, followed by 932 units in April), MBM today announced yet another record month for passenger cars, registering 1,143 units in May 2015. That’s an improvement of over 100% compared to the same month last year.

“Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is on the road to success. We’ve had an exceptional start to 2015 with sound performance in all type classes, and the figures recorded are a direct result of our dynamic market strategy,” said MBM president and CEO Roland Folger.

“As we further strengthen our leadership position in the luxury segment, our number one priority remains our customers’ satisfaction. Just as we continue to produce quality luxury passenger cars, we are focused on exceeding customer expectations,” he added.

Mercedes-Benz Q1 results 1

The strong performance was underpinned by Mercedes’ core models – the W205 C-Class, W212 E-Class and W222 S-Class saloons combined for an auspicious 888 units in May.

Of the above, main contributors were the E300 BlueTEC Hybrid that was launched in January (we drove it from KL to Bangkok on one tank of diesel – story here), the C200 (now locally assembled) and CKD hybrid tax exemption beneficiary S400L Hybrid.

The New Generation Compact Cars (NGCC) range comprising the A-Class, B-Class, CLA compact four-door coupe and GLA crossover models posted a total of 254 units. Stuttgart’s intention to reach out to the young and upwardly mobile is obvious with the NGCC family, but the stylish front-wheel drive models are some way from being as successful as Merc’s bread and butter lines, in Malaysia at least. But like those yuppies it’s targeting, the only way is up.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Ya, but why aren’t your cars have 5-year manufacturer warranty with unlimited mileage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Add-A-Comment on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:33 am

FYI. It at least has 4 years. See BMW

• Alan Harris CEO on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:27 am

Mercedes has always been better quality, handling and ride comfort than BMW. That is why sales are far far higher than BMW’s tipu figures.

You see, Sime Darby Group, each year, they alone buy about 1000 BMWs as company cars for their VP1 and above staff. So, every year, they buy about 1000 BMW cars from themselves!

You see, Sime Darby owns BMW Malaysia and Auto Bavaria. So, they buy their own BMW cars for their own fleet cars (company cars) for their own staff. So, do you think this is real BMW sales?

Sime Darby also will use fleet cars from Hertz Rental which Sime Darby wholly owns. So, Hertz Rental too will buy hundreds of BMWs. This is not real sales because parent company buys from subsidiary.

So, in truth, BMW every year lies about their figures. In reality, Mercedes surpasses BMW in sales by leaps and bounds

• Banyak Masuk Workshop (BMW) on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:43 am

Ask yourself this question. Do you ever see very old BMWs? But you see very old 1960s Mercedes still running on the road.

That itself should answer your question which last longer and which has lesser problems.

• Kerry on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Hi Dude, now BMW provide 5 years warranty (unlimited mileage) and 5 years Free service or 100k. LOL

http://paultan.org/2015/06/03/bmw-malaysia-now-offers-5-year-unlimited-mileage-manufacturer-warranty-5-year100000-km-free-service/

• cendol (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Malaysia is a successful high income nation.
    We have more people driving Mercedes than Iriz, evident from the amount of Mercedes on the road compared to Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • Lucas on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:34 pm

You should compare Myvi with Merc if that’s the case, not Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • VHL Loo on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Not even comparable especially on highway as for me, even if driving a brand new Mercedes on expressway also have to give way to those Myvi (don’t want to risk being banged from behind by those Myvi wannabe racer with their crappy brakes even with ABS brakes and bad handling whose most probably can’t afford to pay repair costs). Better be safe than being sorry later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
        • mixer on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:09 am

Yup they dun know their myvi braking system is just enough for city but not for high speed highway cruising.

• Holofanboi on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Exactly what i myself do and even remind my dad to do the same. Most of the myvi drivers on the right lane have no clue about their brakes performance at high speeds!

Man these days my english feels horrible.

• cheap talk, you are barking in all your comments about iriz comparing a brand like merc founded in 1926 with a brand like proton founded in 1983 hahah, pls grow up !

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Congrats MBM. Good products.

• Gaviny on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Guess the saying is true, if your poor it’s your own bad luck

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Good products indeed, but those swayed by MB’s 4 year warranty, now BMW has one upped, with 5 year warranty AND 5 year service. Which means, assuming you change your cars every 5 years (average age of cars before people tend to move out to a newer model), you pretty much get worry free motoring, no maintenance costs besides filling up petrol/diesel and sorting out the tyres.

Now, your move MBM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Benz Owner on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:32 am

It’s on the pressure of great MBM sales which forced BMW into offering 5 year warranty.

• the rich just not scared of GST at all.

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:22 am

What if I tell you, you don’t need to be very rich to own a Mercz. Diff ppl have diff priority in life. Some prioritize kids and family (spend 90% of income here), some prioritize investment (stock or properties) to get richer, some prioritize travel and some enjoy a simple and burden-less life. It is really what you want. Realize your priority in live, work and plan your income towards go for it.
      FYI, I am 32, married, no kids, live in a decent house. I am not rich at all…NOT AT ALL…but I am driving an A250. I love cars and always wanted to know how it is to drive a car that has >200HP since I was a kid. So I prioritized what I want in my life and work towards that.
      Some may say, I am wearing a hat that is bigger than my head. Not really….I planned my income towards it. I can still enjoy a decent life and travel overseas yearly (Singapore also consider overseas right? hahaha….). If you take 90% loan and use 90% of your income to repay the loan, then it is your choice. I will not say you are wrong, it is your priority. But you can always plan it ahead like…take a 70% to 60% loan (yeah…it take some serious planning to have the 30% to 40% down payment), repay with 20% to 30% of your income. Yah, not worth it to dump so much cash for a car down-payment as it depreciate. Hey, I save repaying higher interest and it is my priority in life.
      Some may say I set the wrong priority. You should have family planning. You should have kids first…else who take care of you when you are old…If I plan to have kids, I will plan and works towards it (again). Well, who knows by then my thinking changed? My priority is family…Maybe I will just sell my A250, buy a decent family MPV (Alza?) and live a happy family life. Yeah…I lost money when selling it and maybe I need to fork out some money to settle the loan…well, I have chosen that and I will work towards it, Ohh…By the way, what if I tell you (again), having a kid doesn’t guarantee you will be taken care by your kids when you are old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Holofanboi on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Still not tired of seeing men in suits standing next to a Mercedes.

For some reason, it conjures images of stock indexes fluctuating and industrial machines amongst molten furnaces…

I think i’ve gone crazy ._.

• this is why BMW need to give 5 years warranty with full maintenance.

2014, BMW was ahead of Benz sales volume.
    in April, BMW sales dropped to only half of the Mercedes Benz.

We all know Benz AClass is too attractive.

• sammy on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:25 am

Their so call sales are made much earlier…
    Is about how many they can deliver to the waiting list who had given a booking fee.
    With the CKD C class just coming off the production line, off course the sales for May is higher as they now can fulfill more orders.

• Bruce on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Whether the sales is made much earlier or later, it is still sales to MBM right. The important message here is their car is selling well.

• kenot on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:58 am

sorry MBM. I can’t constribute the number because i’m just ordinary person.hehe

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:22 am

What if I tell you, you don’t need to be very rich to own a Mercz. Diff ppl have diff priority in life. Some prioritize kids and family (spend 90% of income here), some prioritize investment (stock or properties) to get richer, some prioritize travel and some enjoy a simple and burden-less life. It is really what you want. Realize your priority in live, work and plan your income towards go for it.

FYI, I am 32, married, no kids, live in a decent house. I am not rich at all…NOT AT ALL…but I am driving an A250. I love cars and always wanted to know how it is to drive a car that has >200HP since I was a kid. So I prioritized what I want in my life and work towards that.

Some may say, I am wearing a hat that is bigger than my head. Not really….I planned my income towards it. I can still enjoy a decent life and travel overseas yearly (Singapore also consider overseas right? hahaha….). If you take 90% loan and use 90% of your income to repay the loan, then it is your choice. I will not say you are wrong, it is your priority. But you can always plan it ahead like…take a 70% to 60% loan (yeah…it take some serious planning to have the 30% to 40% down payment), repay with 20% to 30% of your income. Yah, not worth it to dump so much cash for a car down-payment as it depreciate. Hey, I save repaying higher interest and it is my priority in life.

Some may say I set the wrong priority. You should have family planning. You should have kids first…else who take care of you when you are old…If I plan to have kids, I will plan and works towards it (again). Well, who knows by then my thinking changed? My priority is family…Maybe I will just sell my A250, buy a decent family MPV (Alza?) and live a happy family life. Yeah…I lost money when selling it and maybe I need to fork out some money to settle the loan…well, I have chosen that and I will work towards it, Ohh…By the way, what if I tell you (again), having a kid doesn’t guarantee you will be taken care by your kids when you are old.

• Johan on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:46 am

bodoh. Real kampong attitude. Just want to show off to the Bandar people and when you go back to kampong, just want to show off to your kampong mates. Get a life dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • mercrap on Jun 04, 2015 at 11:03 am

Merc got crap handling, BMW is much better

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 04, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Johan…Sorry that I have to disappoint you. I got no kampong to balik and no Kampong mates to show-off, unless you consider yourself as one of my mate that I am showing off to you now :D

I was born and raised in Bandar Kuala Lumpur and I am living my happy life here in the Bandar.

Ohh…by the way, did I tell you that no one know I own an A250 beside real close friends who I always hangout with and relatives, as I always forgot to show it off in my social life – aka Facebook, Instagram, etc.

• Henry on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:39 am

Many of the cars are pre-orders and pre-registered units with hefty discounts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6