PSA: Do not use your mobile phones while driving

Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 6.48.03 PM

Marion Caunter on Instagram.

Using your mobile phone while driving? Don’t. Just don’t. Doing so not only endangers yourself, but other road users as well.

Countless studies have been carried out on this subject, all with similar conclusions. Distracted driving, be it from being on the phone with someone or God forbid, texting, significantly increases the risk of getting into or causing a crash. Readers, drivers, please be aware of the dangers of distracted driving.

Most drivers think that the act of talking on the phone is not such a big distraction, but the reality is, engaging in the visual-manual tasks (such as reaching for a phone, dialling and texting) associated with the use of mobile phones is the biggest offender. Volkswagen’s Eyes on the Road video below explains this very well.

In Singapore, it is now illegal for a driver to use or hold any type of mobile device while the vehicle is on the move. Texting or making a call on a mobile phone has always been deemed an offence, but recent changes to the law makes it an offence to use or hold a mobile device while driving.

The penalties are severe too – first-time offenders will face a fine of up to SGD$1,000 (RM2,730) and/or a six-month jail term, while repeat offenders are set to be slapped with a fine of up to SGD$2,000 (RM5,460) and/or up to 12 months in jail. This applies to Malaysians driving in Singapore too, of course.

So folks, do you think that a similar rule should be implemented here in Malaysia, or should sheer common sense be enough to deter such infractions? Do drop your thoughts in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• metoo on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Did the complainer use her HP to take a picture while driving herself…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 72
    • the picture obviously was taken from the passenger seat.. so are you saying that she was driving from passenger seat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 5
      • MeToo on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:15 pm

And you know this just cause of the angle?

Try extending your hand while seated at the driver’s seat. See if your hand reach to the passenger side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
        • MeTooEmbarassed on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

hi, I am sorry for accusing the complainer for using her HP while driving even though it seems so obvious that it was taken from the left side of the car. Saying that she could have extended her arm to the left and take the picture just made me look more silly. sorry for embarrassing myself, I will go back to my hole and hide my “intelligent” opinion. Tq

-MeToo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
          • Are u sure ? on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:39 pm

The car comes with Bluetooth, why use hand if it can be hand free. Are you sure ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • kzm (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:58 pm

oni hand ok la..try one hand with phone n take picture like above? Can you? If she use sammy or iphone where got shutter button

• why_not on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:05 pm

malaysia is right handed u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Situation: BMW lady kena tahan.

“Miss, u guna handphone masa memandu.”
    “Incik, lima puluh linggit boleh ka incik?”
    “Ok, lipat letak bawah lesen.”
    “Telima kasih incik.”
    “Ok. Lain kali jangan buat lagi.”

Few seconds after that, the lady will be back on her phone..

SSDD – Same shit different day.
    SNTB – Say no to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 89
    • Anuar on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:29 pm

It seems that your daily life resolve around politics. Eat politics sleep politics shit politics. Get a life!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
      • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Ok.

SNTP – Say no to Pakatan.

Can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 41
        • elaine on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Anuar u stalked him at his house? U knew him so well knowing that he eat and sleep politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
          • Anuar on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Haha no la it’s just that this kind of people is so easy to detect nowadays. Not worth to argue further unless you’re all into politics as well. Damn there goes my time… Haha.. Peace.

• tinmilo on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:46 pm

I don’t think it will work here.
    The bigger the penalty, just mean the high “saman on the spot” you pay.
    In other words, you give more power to the corrupt, they more we suffer.
    Please don’t think of implementing new laws when it is the enforcement that needs attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Stupid really.

(Inb4 people who now are gonna say we BMW drivers are idiots).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • antaras on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

ahhh… nicely played there. Stealthily saying you own a BMW as well. hahaha…

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Not all BMW drivers are bad leh. I mean I use the hand free system whenever I start my drive coz I stream Spotify via BT while I drive so when someone calls I just answer the call by pressing the button on the steering.

• Anything on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Find any Act in the malaysia law, you can tell whole world that Malaysia have so many Rule and Act but no point if you not use it. People in Malaysia seems dont care about it or even dont know about it. They only know to prepare “duit kopi”. Many enforcement nowadays scared of sun heat, better sit under bridge and tree for speed traps. I know not all but most of them is like that, most of them like that. Why only care about speed traps while there is so many other enforcement you can do. Public servants work for public not for politics, just remember that and Malaysia can be better country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Seriously guys, it is scary to drive out there.
    Please put your phone on silent and just focus on the road.
    When watch movie at the cinema can do, but why on the road cannot?
    Your calls, whatsapp, Facebook, Instagram all can wait do later.
    If the driver does this, take away his or her phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • People who use their phone to take pictures of other people who use their phone is really the toppest kek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • Troll on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Do you really think that Marion caunter who is married to the Naza group scion needs to drive herself around?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Who care on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:04 pm

I am sure all of you here [above and below me], are always using HP during driving. Who cares about others? Who cares about road safety? Nobody.

Look at the posts [above and below], as usual Malaysian just continue to blame others instead of ME/MYSELF. ME/MYSELF is doing nothing wrong. It is the police and the government which caused me to do an offense. So blame them. Not Me.

“a rapist said: it is the way the girl dressed which caused me to rape her. So it is the girl’s fault. Not me. I am innocent”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:14 pm

I don’t use my handsets when I am on the driving seat, do you?
      People like you sets a bad example with such mindsets.
      Rather than to make this place a better place, you are worse than a person with a tidak apa attitude and do as well as promote an offense.
      You should be ashamed of yourself and should be discarded from the society.
      Look at yourself first, before blaming yourself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • sandiwara1 on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Living in Malaysia very easy one
    Crash that time blame the car not enough airbags la, don’t have vsc la, vsc malfunction la, car electronic auto accelerate la
    So really there’s no need for driver to be responsible for anything
    Its all the cars fault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • No!
      Crash time first blame BN Gov!
      Then blame PDRM!
      Then blame UMNO!
      Then blame *insert majority r*c*!
      Then blame God!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Andrew Ang on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:39 pm

I don’t think Malaysians as a whole take this seriously. Almost 80% of drivers I see every day uses their mobile while driving. Friends and relatives do it, everyone does it. If you tell them to stop, they will look at you like an ass. The only way is for a responsible government (I can dream right?) to put in place a tough law to stop all this.

• Really?? How about a responsible parent, brother, wife, and best of all a responsible you to tell yourself to be safe not just for your own sakes only but for those around you. Seriously, do you need the government, any government for that matter, to tell you this basic safety rule?

• PR macais need instructions from their dear leader. Otherwise the dunno how to do simple things, like basic safety.

• PT, thanks for your PSA. IF you are so concerned about safety, you should not promoting Toyota WOW event. It is a fact that they are moving coffin. It kills to be in one of the Toyota cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • antaras on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:53 pm

and I assume you have hard facts to back up your statement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Just compare City to Vios, Altis and Camry to Accord/Teana/Optima, Rush and Fortunner to Sorento/Sportage, etc. What do the UMWs lack of? Safety! Now is this a hard fact enough to swallow?

• antaras on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:44 pm

If that is your so-called hard facts, then I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • UMW Mampus on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Toyota macai detected! Brother.. no need to see any hard facts, just look at the thumb ups on your comment and his comment. LOL.

I’m sure majority PT readers all know UMWT cars are moving coffin.

• Pls guys. I’m begging u all to stop using HP while driving. Its so dangerous. I myself almost got hit around 3 times. They are not realising when the car is off the line and cross next line.

• You can always tell when an irresponsible driver is using a mobile phone when driving …
    1. Going excessively slow, and
    2. Swaying all over the place.

• JasonSky on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Isn’t the 528i equipped with Bluetooth?!

Drive expensive car but dunno how to use.

Double fail.

• it will work in this country if our traffic team is bersih cekap amanah.

• Joe Whiner on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Writer asked about your thoughts on higher penalties when caught using handphone while driving. As predicted some jerks start commenting about duit kopi and other bs. Maybe they have a lot of practice in breaking the law and attempting to bribe their way out.

• start a fight on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:12 pm

well for starters… and thank god.. that is not malaysian driver..

so can we start petition to not allow foreign national from driving on our road?

• iiAMGPackage on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:23 pm

If you ever travelled to the Middle East, they’re even worst than us, Malaysians.

• Adait on Jun 03, 2015 at 8:23 pm

What is even more surprising us that the BMW 528 has the Bluetooth facility which enables the driver to answer calls without touching the phone.

• The problem is people with low IQ’s using their phones while driving. They cannot multi task.

• Normal Guy on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Whenever laws like these are proposed, i cringe. Those who travel on federal highway will know what it means to have laws but almost zero enforcement. What does the red signs along the highway that bans heavy vehicles from entering during rush hour mean? Nothing! Trucks carrying sand go in and out and screw up traffic for everyone.

That, I guess is it, really.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:21 pm

stupid…

• Naza crony on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Probably got the BMW from Naza, and the Bluetooth didn’t work, so the lady was probably just complaining to the CEO of Naza.

• sammy on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:43 am

If I don’t use my phone, how I use waze?
    The law allows me to touch the Monitor on a S-Class but doesn’t allow me to touch my phone??

Accident happens guys… don’t blame the phone. Just have more airbags and VSC and buy car with 5 star NCAP.
    In the era of internet, People will rather ditch their car then stop using the phone. Is a fact of life. So the onus is on car maker to make the car safer, knowing fully well that the vehicle has to comply with handphone using drivers.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:52 am

Hafriz follows Marion Caunter. Hehe. Have not heard that name being mentioned in ages.

• every day i go to work by bike..surely can see many drivers using handphone while driving. the scary part is, not only cars, treler driver also lah..

• I even saw ppl playing with tablets while driving.

Remember old days when mobile phones were not invented yet, we all have no problem driving without a phone.

I prefer to off my phone when I drive.

• ala.. marion caunter.. so poyo.. attention seeking fcknut…