SPIED: Nissan NP300 Navara caught in Malaysia again!

NAVARA-SPY-1

The Nissan NP300 Navara has been caught in Malaysia once again, following its initial unofficial debut back in February 2015. With sightings (hopefully) increasing in frequency, one can only hope that the local debut of the 12th-generation Nissan pick-up is nigh.

While we only have two shots of new Mother Trucker, a closer look reveals a 4WD badge plastered on the side of the cargo bed while zooming in on the front door reveals a ‘2.5 DDTi VGS Turbo’ tag. That should be enough to hint at what lies under the bonnet – a 2.5 litre YD25 turbodiesel engine.

Two states of tune are available, a base map pumps out 161 hp at 3,600 rpm and 403 Nm at 2,000 rpm of torque while the cranking up the engine churns out 188 hp and 450 Nm of twist, achieved at the rev point. The turbocharger is electrically-actuated. Two transmission choices are offered along with said mill – a six-speed manual or a seven-speed automatic gearbox.

NAVARA-SPY-2

The Navara’s 4WD system is switchable on-the-fly while non-all-paw models will send power to the rear wheels. Aside from that, Malaysian-spec models are also expected to receive the new five-link live axle rear suspension (a first in the segment) – leaf springs are still included but word is that it will only be confined to Thai-spec vehicles due to regulations there.

Another segment-first will be the inclusion of rear air-con vents, which should help it stand out further from the competition. We’ve already driven the NP300 Navara in Thailand, read all about it here. For more information, check out the global debut coverage.

UPDATE: The Nissan NP300 Navara is now on display in Malaysia – details and gallery here.

GALLERY: Nissan NP300 Navara driven in Thailand

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Aaron on Jun 05, 2015 at 10:06 am

THIS IS ONE BEAUTIFUL TRUCK! Way to go, Nissan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 05, 2015 at 11:55 am

Nice one! Although ppl will prefer the Hilux more, but as I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • safetyno.1 on Jun 05, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Got Takata airbags inside?

• Not Same Lorrr on Jun 07, 2015 at 2:01 pm

No, people will go for this nissan more. hilux very boring. you are just darn wrong.. sushi car wont go wrong but after the wrekage of my car, i have to think twice now when choosing sushi cars. soft and tender.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 05, 2015 at 10:55 am

Lawanya..

• ETCM’s latest Teana and Sylphy not exactly having good sales beacuase, while priced reasonably with good safety specs, they are not kitted well enough in other areas.

The new X-Trail, however, seems very popular despite having only 2 airbags and no rear LED taillights or sunroof. Even the front DRLs is an outdated individual bulb design.

The new Navara, if it wishes to be a success, needs to be both kitted and priced right, then I will buy one. Especially if the top spec goes under RM100k.

• Otak Udang on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Cars are doing well. Only young immature kids ask for DRL which serve no purpose at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Wayne on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:38 pm

lol.. DRL serve no purpose? go study more before u leave this comment..

• Lame As Lamer on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:40 pm

LOL DRL serve no purpose??!??! go study more before u leave comment here.. seems like u r immature too.. xD

• hadi75 on Jun 05, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Top spec won’t go below rm100k since the present LE model if not mistaken already above rm100k…mine SE spec already rm95k

• nabill (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 11:12 am

welcome back , the daddy of them all!

• sabahan on Jun 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

hmmm…… nissan is getting better with their looks, since the latest x-trail.

• Gavin Y on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:36 pm

very handsome truck, and the rear suspension got top marks from aussie reviwes

• joejambol on Jun 05, 2015 at 2:53 pm

a handsome truck i wud say..if only wife allow me to buy pickup truck. i end up buying x trail though

• Rokuth on Jun 05, 2015 at 5:05 pm

“Malaysian-spec models are also expected to receive the new five-link live axle rear suspension (a first in the segment)”

I think you are forgetting about the Ssangyong Actyon Sport pick-up. It too has a five link rear coil spring suspension, and has been selling in Malaysia since 2007.

Then, there’s the Land Rover Defender pick-up…

I guess that just means that the Navara is the first “popular” pick-up to have the five link coil spring rear suspension…

• mr1031 on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:30 pm

f that blinding light!!

• NICE! One of the toughest, reliable and best-looking truck. The interior gives a luxurious feeling and with car-like new feature like rear aircond vent, this is no doubt a good choice.

• CJason on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:45 am

They see me rolling… They hatin’
    New Navara for the win!!! Cant wait for it..
    Wonder if this orange gold is available :)

• Rumput Sambau on Jun 08, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Good looking truck *thumbs up*

• MC Jin on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:25 am

I smell strong competition in this segment. Nissan FTW

• lau yah on Aug 09, 2015 at 12:14 am

Current navara already lead in term of top speed…event frontier can reach 180km/h easily…with 7 speed auto let see this new ‘brother’ performance..