Toyota and Ford to collaborate on connected infotainment platform, SmartDeviceLink to form basis

SYNC 3

While the rest of the automotive circle is adopting either Apple’s CarPlay or Google’s Android Auto telematics platform into its products, Toyota and Ford are stubbornly refusing to do so. Such is the extent of the rebellion that both companies have agreed to collaborate on a new system based on Ford’s SmartDevicelink (SDL) platform – an open-sourced version of Ford’s AppLink.

The SDL platform is handled by Livio, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Ford. As mentioned earlier, being an open-sourced variant of AppLink, SDL facilitates various smartphone applications for employment in in-car infotainment systems. Said platform also offers app developers to practicality of having to design an app only once and then have it employed seamlessly into multiple infotainment systems.

apple-carplay-mercedes-benz-c-class

In fact, said tie-up was reportedly mooted as far back as August 2011 when both companies agreed to develop the next-gen infotainment system. “Developing robust, flexible, safe and user-friendly connected services is a priority for us, and one that we believe is shared by Ford, Livio and other contributors to SDL technology,” said Shigeki Terashi, senior managing officer, Toyota Motor Corporation.

Other strengths of the SDL platform include a wide level of customisation on its layout, allowing different brands to impart a trace of its identity on the system. Furthermore, SDL features a broad spectrum of platform compatibility and a clearer prompt for permission to obtain personal information and vehicle data. Finally, a plethora of apps are available as opposed to a handful on CarPlay and Android Auto.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Ford cannot agree with Toyota in Malaysia. ford gives many airbags in Mondeo but Camry is a Moving Coffin, no VSC, 2 airbags.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:56 pm

You can choose Camry the hybrid with 7 airbags and VSC. Don’t talkok like we force you to buy 2 airbags and no VSC.

So desperate of airbags and VSC? Go buy Iriz lar. You get what you pay.

• answerme on Jun 05, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Why so overpriced? Dun tell me protection or p1, as honda can give more in City and picanto also more airbags than your coffin camry

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 07, 2015 at 2:06 am

Get a Honda, you don’t get reliability like us, Picanto give you worse (without RV also).

Go get City/Picanto!! like I am forcing you to buy Toyota. You get what you pay.

• DPCraft on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Toyota collaborated with Mazda, now want to collaborate with Ford.

• Bad news for Microsoft. Sync3 is now based on QNX, Chromium, QT5 and gstreamer.

• disappointed on Jun 05, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Really disappointed with the aftersales service of SDAC :( Pity those service advisor and mechanics working in ford. Can’t cope with the increase in customers