VIDEO: Hyundai’s Grandeur is what Gotham deserves?

Hyundai has released a new spot for its Grandeur (or Azera, depending on where you are) sedan and it’s a weird one, to put it mildly. Fret not, for it is nowhere as grotesque as Audi’s attempt at showing off its RS3 Sportback, though it has to be said that this one tops the charts when it comes to random occurrences.

The ad begins with what appears to be the scene of an impending apocalypse or terrorist attack, with buildings burning to the ground and civilians running for their lives – except one individual who seems completely unfazed. The shot then zeroes in on a blonde woman sprinting to escape a collapsing building.

As said woman screams for help, the wall of the building comes collapsing down from the impact of Batman, Superman and The Flash crashing through the structure to save her – except that they don’t. Through a smokescreen, the superheroes disappear.

Upgraded Grandeur diesel_angled view

In fact, viewers are completely transported to a new location as the aforementioned superheroes vanish, replaced by three units of the fifth-generation Hyundai Grandeur driving through the desert, the regular petrol model flanked by the Grandeur Hybrid and diesel variant.

We assume that said formation symbolic as the regular Grandeur replaces Batman while The Flash is represented as the Grandeur Hybrid – Batman is the only one of the trio without actual superpowers while The Flash bears the signature of a thunderbolt. Thunderbolt, electric, hybrid. Geddit? No, Hyundai, we don’t.

GALLERY: Hyundai Grandeur facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Jimmy on Jun 05, 2015 at 5:41 pm

best commercial ever. I choose spiderman

• choha on Jun 05, 2015 at 7:56 pm

one of the greatest looking car around

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 05, 2015 at 10:18 pm

12 months on, RM30k max for trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • samenob_ on Jun 06, 2015 at 4:35 am

I won’t trade in my hyundai for your bras and panties, thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Pororo on Jun 06, 2015 at 11:41 am

They should bring this Grandeur instead of expensive and maybe tak laku Genesis…

• YourFaithfully on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:44 am

This Grandeur has always been my daily commute whenever I am in Seoul. It’s specs,looks,feel,handling and everything else is just good!

Agree that they should have just bring this in instead of the Genesis. I would buy one if it’s here.