Mazda recalls another 1.6 mil cars over Takata airbags

Mazda logo

More on the Takata airbag issue, yet again. Mazda has recalled another 1.6 million vehicles equipped with the parts supplier’s problematic airbag inflators, bringing its worldwide total to around 2.02 million vehicles.

The recall, issued late last week, involves around 76,000 vehicles in Japan and 540,000 vehicles in the US; it was not disclosed which markets the rest of the affected vehicles were sold.

In the US, affected models are 2003-2008 model year Mazda 6, 2004-2008 MY RX-8 and 2006-2007 MY Mazdaspeed 6. The recall will see the driver’s side airbag inflator being replaced in 503,000 vehicles. The 2004-2006 MY B-Series pick-up truck has also been recalled – the passenger airbag inflator is set to be replaced in around 35,000 vehicles.

The automaker said that some of the vehicles in this latest exercise were part of a previous recall last year. Last month, Mazda recalled nearly 112,000 vehicles vehicles in Japan – affected models included the Atenza sedan, Bongo van and two models the company builds for Nissan and Mitsubishi for the domestic market.

In May, Takata Corporation acknowledged that a defect exists in its airbags and agreed to expand its recall on defective airbag inflators to a record 34 million vehicles in the US. The fiasco hasn’t just affected Japanese carmakers like Toyota, Nissan and Honda, but the likes of BMW, Ford and Chrysler as well.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:27 am

Again you see Toyota/Honda are way ahead of BMW, Mazda and others recalling the airbags. This is our commitment to our customer.

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • So simple minded U on Jun 08, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Let’s get it straight. There are Takata airbags and there are Takata airbags. The ones that Toyota and Honda recalled were the ones that caused 6 deaths. Let’s call them Model A. The ones that now the others are recalling are part of a wider recall as a precautionary measure i.e models B, C, D and E.

Got it?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:35 am

So now all cars fitted with airbags can be called moving coffin?
    I see alot of people here branding cars without airbags or minimum 6 as moving coffins
    Why did they not make noise now that cars fitted with airbags are being unsafe ?

• DonkeyKong on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:37 am

Proton uses Bosch airbags and they get bashed till kingdom come. I wonder how is Takata remaining in business with these millions of recalls globally. What airbags does Perodua use?

• this Takata really sapu habis ini airbag business!

• When Proton going to recall?

• You have to call proton.
      Proton dont call you.

• Why P1 need tp do recall? :( ?????

• Hor Shen Hau on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Bro,Proton have do a recalled many time.The latest is they recalled Proton Iriz for ECU update and CVT update.^_^

• If non-p1, no need to recall unless being sued
        if p1, nothing wrong also must recall, lol.

• Yes, Exora got burned no need to recall. P1 can’t go wrong, must be the owner’s fault

• This person is bodoh or bangang. Hello, P1 did find out why. Its the coolant hose in Exora Bold cause the problem and they did do the recall. Din u get the memo?

• johnstpd on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:00 pm

P1 memperbodohkan rakyat and only people who trust them is either bodoh or bangang. You think only Exora got this issue meh? Saga, Gen 2 and Satria Neo all have this issue but never recalled. For Proton, no recall means no problem. What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 08, 2015 at 9:21 pm

Proton uses Bosch..

• old dog on Jun 08, 2015 at 5:28 pm

protong should recall my waja power windows and door handler..

• oldcar on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Yes, toyota also must recall my grandpa’s Corolla Ke-70 brake parts too.

• Denis Chang on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:54 pm

I owned a Mazda RX8 2006 which was brought in from Japan and does my car airbags are affected in this recall.
    Would Mazda Malaysia be responsible on my car’s air bags recall.
    Thank you
    Denis Chang