VIDEO: Volvo wants you home safely this Raya season

Here’s something for the upcoming festive season! Volvo Malaysia has released a safety spot detailing the many features to be found on its V40 hatch – which may sound slightly monotonous at first but it’s only when you watch the video that one starts to realise that Volvo Malaysia has a wicked sense of humour.

For starters, the video is narrated by a chicken and has overly-positive background music. Note that the entire video is shot in Bahasa Malaysia which, if we’re being honest about it, works so much better than if the spot was in English instead. Said video begins with the main character, Stofa, embarking on his balik kampung journey with a durian.

As he begins the drive, a wig (complete with a pair of sunglasses) materialises on the dashboard, warning him to stash his durian into the storage space behind the trademark floating centre console. Following that, the same wig appears and lectures him about slotting the Volvo V40 into ‘Performance’ mode, as demonstrated by the Active TFT instrument cluster.

Volvo V40

Frightened by the mysterious apparition, Stofa reluctantly selects ‘Eco’ mode and takes off. The entire video serves to highlight the multiple safety aspects of the V40, including Cross Traffic Alert, City Safety autonomous braking and Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) – all activated by Stofa during the journey.

Said video is part of Volvo Malaysia’s Nasihat Volvo campaign whereby participants are encouraged to take part by submitting a piece of advise they have heard from their mothers onto the comments section of the video on the official Facebook, Instagram and Twitter page of Volvo Malaysia with the hashtag, #nasihatvolvo – five winners will be selected to bring home a Volvo for eight days to use during balik kampung journeys.

GALLERY: Volvo V40 Sports Edition

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• The most beautiful Volvo I have seen. My next car.

• same agency that handle bsn kucing happy i presume

• Where is filming location? The country road beside lake looks nice, anyone know where is it?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:54 pm

this is the problem with local shows with local language.
    They are still going P.Ramlee style by lowering the IQ of people and make a fool of themselves by inducing cheap laugh and lame jokes.
    When can we ever see some really quality production from local producers like the late Yasmin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
  • I love this video so much….it brings Volvo as a brand to reach new demographics in an effective way.

• DPCraft on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:42 pm

I think the 2015 S60 more beautiful :)

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 9:52 pm

The V40 is a really nice car, really good for what it is. Too bad Volvo never sold enough to make a big impact here….