Car stolen at Puspakom – watch out for carjackers

puspakom-mobile-unit

We have just gotten wind of a terrible car theft case involving a sports car here in Malaysia. What’s more alarming is that it happened at a Puspakom inspection centre, with the carjacker in question posing as a person interested to purchase the vehicle.

Prior to an ownership transfer, it’s necessary for all private vehicles in Malaysia to undergo a mandatory inspection at a Puspakom centre to obtain a B5 report required by the JPJ. It’s precisely at the end of the B5 inspection that this carjacking incident took place.

Apparently, the car was left with its key on the dashboard while the report was being processed. That gave an opportunity for the supposed “buyer” to jump into the vehicle and drive off.

https://www.facebook.com/karlsongoh/posts/10152768088167133

Dear readers, it seems that car thieves are getting more daring recently. This is just one of their many modi operandi that we have to be mindful of.

So the next time you’re planning to sell your car, perhaps it’s best to use Puspakom’s Premier Mobile Inspection (PMI) door-to-door service instead, and have the mandatory inspection carried out at your preferred location (for an extra RM100 on top of the standard charges). However, it needs to be said that PMI cannot issue a B7 report that’s required for buyers to process a bank loan application.

If that’s the case, or if the PMI is not available in your area (check the service coverage here) it’s recommendable to carry out the Puspakom inspection by yourself without the buyer present, and to always be aware of your car’s wellbeing throughout the process. Better to be safe than sorry, right?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• you mean modus operandi right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Grammar N. on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:39 pm

you’re kidding, right? “one of their MANY modi operandi (plural)”

• modi operanti is the plural of modus operandi. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with this sentence as the writer meant to highlight the “many” methods used by thiefs.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:05 pm

One thing good about buying kimchi over sushi is if you left it unlocked/doors wide opened at puspakom or on the road, no one will bother stealing also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • Marieta on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Yes..that’s why all my family bought one (apart from proton)…never felt safer before when leaving the cars outside the gates…this is not sarcastic comment btw..

• rider on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:27 pm

But Toyota doesn`t have RV!!!

• Bodoh Lorrr on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Times are bad bcoz of GST. No money to buy car no problem. Just steal. policeman are sleeping anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Gargantia on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Oh good another Govt department that too busy to “care” for its own customers car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Since when PUSPAKOM become Govt Department nie? U Carry CGPA 3.85 also ka?..

For Info, PUSPAKOM wholly owned by DRB-Hicom..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • Gargantia on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Hahaha Proton also own by DRB-Hicom, but don’t know why the ministers come out to speak for them?

You must come out from jungle… nevermind
        You must be eating to much LSD-25 from early age till now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Rooney on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:34 pm

when you got wind of something like this, it is better to pass wind

• Roobird on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:48 pm

I am going to install a chemical bomb in my car, and set it off if it is stolen, that will make the thieves die a horrible death!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Or better still, Puspakom should pack up their joke of an inspection and allow us to do it at designated service centres and authorised dealers.

Puspakom should at least be keeping an eye out, right? What are they doing?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Puspakom should come up with a system like issuing a permit or something before anyone could drive out any vehicle out of it compound.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:56 pm

So now this brings up another can of worms.

If a car gets stolen (or damaged etc etc) within Puspakom grounds before the car and keys are handed back to the owner, who is responsible?

Does your insurance cover it? I will draw parallels with the car jockey thing a while back.

• InsuranceNot Cover on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:42 am

When you willingfully handed over your keys to the third parties and car got damaged/stolen. YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN!! Insurance will NOT cover. Same case when you handed over your key to the parking jockey/service centre/lend it to someone. So be smart when you make police report, especially you are quite sure the other party will not able to compensate you ;-)

• D.I.Y on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:01 pm

call PMI instead? wtheck their service is like shit, stinky attitude! need one week advanced booking, call to the center make booking take 2-3hours, you know why? thats no people picking up the damn phone.. and inspection a car take about 1hour? just one car need so much process? come on…

• sammy on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:02 pm

so good the theif..
    Get the goods puspakom approved before smuggle to thailand.

• RicoT on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Insider’s job. Pakat with the Puspakom people already.

• Kenny on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:07 pm

It is a very prominent car. How is the thief going to sell it? Strip for spare parts also no value. Smuggle out is not so easy. Nowadays they X-ray containers.

• Kelvin on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:36 pm

The monopoly of PUSPAKOM is making it into an inefficient, expensive and complacent institute.

• George Abdul on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:46 pm

That what we called Malaysia aka Bolehland (cronies country but yet never admit) keep on everyday bullshit.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:49 am

EVERYTHING is monopoly in Malaysia in the name of protect the majority

• Carlover on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Oh I wonder why those thieves are getting more daring? *look at PDRM efficiency…

• owner negligent,leave keys in unattended car chances insurance will reject the claim

• John Tee on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:32 pm

All the gomen agencies more concern about what you wear into their office lah….

• Kenny Ng on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:00 pm

That’s my friend’s GTR got stolen today at Puspakom Wangsa Maju

• hooooooooo on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:54 pm

You all forget they busy check DRESSCODE ….

• cendol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:09 am

One minister will say, ” next time don’t buy GTR,” – problem solved.

• jason phang on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:08 pm

The theft could have occurred only if the process at PUPAKOM was done through an agent.An individual taking his car there has to wait his turn and that can take almost a day.If you are the owner, you would wait at the “waiting room”and will have to check with the counter to see whether the process is complete. The keys are with you and not the buyer. When you take custody of the car,all the rubber seals that line the windows are pulled out by those doing the inspection and returned to you in that condition.You would then take your car to the corner and try to attach the seals back on to the windows. they probably did that to see whether there has been any cutting and joining of body parts. I was really cheesed off with returning the car in this unsatisfactory condition although you have paid them for the inspection service.The police do check to see every vehicle is properly identified and they give you a number to be presented to the counter taking in cars for processing. I do not see at any stage where someone could steal a car from the owner himself if he had taken the car there himself.Hence, the story is not very clear. Having been there, I can vouch that it is quite proper. Blame should fall on the owner for giving it to an agent to deal with the processing.

• I had the same fear when sending my car for inspection previously, I felt that security at JPJ inspection area should be tightened, perhaps owner or agent should be called in around inspection area when the car is in, and he/she can drive the car to another spot at the end of inspection, rather than left the car with key unattended for a good amount of time which expose to theft. Most of the JPJ centres had their waiting area hidden or far away from inspection area.

Ive seen enforcement officers at the receiving end, but there was not any at the end of inspection line.

• Veneno on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:31 pm

lazy ass moron.. they should take a good care for the customer’s car.. they want our vehicle to be safe on the road but they do not keep our vehicle safe when we send our vehicle to them.. bloody moron..