Use of child car seats to be enforced by 2017 – report

Nissan-Elgrand-Review-68

The government is set to propose an amendment to the Road Transport Act 1987 to regulate the use of child seats in cars, which is expected to be enforced by 2017, The Sun reports.

Transport ministry senior officials held a meeting two days ago to discuss making mandatory the use of child seats in cars, while the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has been asked to conduct a feasibility study before the move is implemented, according to the English-language daily.

“Statistics have shown that children, aged one to four (43.8%), and five to nine (30.2%), were involved in accidents. So it is important to install a child restraining system to prevent injuries in this age group,” a senior government official told The Sun, adding that studies show the use of child seats can reduce infant deaths by about 70%, those of children aged one to four by 54% and injuries of children aged four to seven by 59%.

But it’s not as easy as simply buying one and using it – there are many child seat types and configurations, and you need to find the right one for your kids, or it could be fatal. The report says MIROS, in its recent safety tests, found a particular toddler seat model seriously flawed and unsafe.

warning-makeshift-child-seat

The seat, a portable ‘pocket’-type with harness, is claimed by the manufacturer to be suitable for children up to 18 kg. A dummy representing an 18-month old toddler was strapped in, the seat placed in the rear quarters and the car collision-tested at 40 km/h.

The Sun reports that despite the low speed, the harness ripped apart from the seat and the dummy was flung towards the front of the vehicle. “Tests have shown that the harness-styled or portable car seat disintegrated upon impact. Its material durability was dreadful as it did not withstand the crash,” said MIROS director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon.

Checks by The Sun revealed these ‘pocket’ child seats to be widely available online, at hypermarkets and at baby shops for as low as RM30. However, Wong said that overall, the quality of child seats currently sold in the market is good.

Volvo V40 Child rear seat crash test

“Parents only need to look at the important requirements. If your car is equipped with Isofix and top tether, please find child car seats with the same specifications to mate with the safety features inside the car,” he told the English-language daily.

“Look for the orange R44 label – (that shows the child seat) is in compliance with the United Nations’ standard ECE regulations,” MIROS PC3 lab crash specialist Yahaya Ahmad told The Sun, adding that his team carried out checks early this year at supermarkets, baby shops and other places selling child seats.

“We found that 80% of the child and toddler car seats sold in the market are already in compliance with UN ECE R44 specifications,” he said, adding that he observed that Malaysian retail prices of UN-compliant child seats have decreased significantly over the years.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• concerned parents on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:10 am

agree…provided the price of cars and child’s seats drops by 50%…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:12 pm

I’m more concerned about your mentality where you put your children’s safety based on car and child seat’s discounts
      Got 50% discount on car and child seat only then you’ll agree to ensure your own children’s safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • concerned parents on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:00 pm

My kids don’t need child seat anymore…I just see it from a broader picture…too many low to middle income parents with more than three small kids…whh req bigger cars and more child seats…at least with much cheaper price of cars and child seats…they won’t hv any excuses anymore…then u can talk about mentality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Gargantia on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

More easy for him… If he/she have any kids don’t wait for 50% discount.

Simple just take public transports !!!

• the first thing comes into my mind those cars with 2 or 4 airbags only with no curtain airbags for the back seats , will the child seat protect the child with no side airbags ? .. Pleas value our life and kids life like how they do in europe and US and force the carmakers to sell us cars with at least 6 airbags …

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:08 pm

In Malaysia, ppl rather spend the money for the rims and bodykit.

Saw so many Iswara/Wira/Waja with no child seats, but kids standing in the cars or hugged by mum at passenger seat. Surprisingly the cars have modded rims, tint, spoiler, skirting, modded exhaust pipe, HID everything.

Style is more important than everything??

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:42 pm

People already complaining they cant buy a proper child seat
            What makes you think people will buy a car when manufacturer charged them for 6 airbags to be installed?
            Or you are thinking manufacturers will give free airbags?

• Ben Nazrin on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Wow…so that would be the value for children’s safety. Apparently their life is measured at 50 per cent discount.

Great…just great.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Im not concerned if your child need a child seat or not, Im more concerned about your mentality
          So if people cannot afford a proper child seat, businesses have to shoulder 50% of the cost so that children can travel safer?
          Since its such a noble idea, why not you then pledge 50% of your household monthly income to enable other childrens to be safe?
          What you are nurturing is close to a thief’s mentality, I cannot afford it therefore some one else must bear that cost
          Their children their responsibility, excuses remains excuses, there’s plenty credit card companies offering 0% interest free for 12-14 months. That can be an option.

Since when responsibilities are tied to monetary benefits?
          So next time its ok for your children to dump you out on the streets when youre old because the goverment did not give a 50% tax rebate, groceries store did not give them a 50% discount on food and daily items, hospitals did not give them a 50% discount on medical bills?

• hahaha on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:29 pm

I always knew there will be one ret**d that will post somwething like this. Just didn’t expect it to be the first… concerned parents is a sad excuse for being a parent.

• A good development for our children’s safety. But trust me, there will be tidak-apa people commenting here with so many excuses why cannot do this, cannot do that, tak ada duit, tak ada tak apa, takdir, etc etc. Good luck to them.

• concern citizen on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:19 am

This is so true but how many parents out there actually implement this ? I have seen my friends say no problem.. my wife will hold the baby tight.. I am thinking can you smell danger or accident coming the next corner or km ? I have seen adults not wearing seat belts saying it is inconvenience to them.. therefore the mindset of each adults or parents must change

• nckeat on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:21 am

If you can buy a car, you should be able to afford a child seat. But in Malaysia, the public will give various reasons to ask authority to delay this.

• sayang anak on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:06 am

Malaysian can afford buying a car, and the rest of the budget will go to some pointless custom sticker, sport rims, audio system upgrade and bla bla bla..

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Not only that I see these parents holding expensive handbags, smartphones and indulge themselves in expansive dining just to be in the same group as their more affluent friends when they know they cannot support that kind of lifestyle with all the debts mounting up in their credit cards.

Seriously, is personal face value so important that you rather risk your child’s safety? I’m disgusted by these group of pariah parents.

• an even driving expensive audi’s, beemer, merc but holding their toodler at the front passenger seat and kids jumping around at back seat obviously without restrain?? expensive cars can afford but carseats?

• Painter on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:25 am

Already high time lah. Make taxis and car rentals have children seat on standby.

If you go to developed countries, you must specify the option. The police will summon you if you don’t put your child in proper seat.

• Let hope that is a proper enforcement or else it’s a documentation.

Let spread the news via social media.

• RAYMONDCAR on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:29 am

WHAT?! NEED STUDY ? I THINK IT IS ALREADY BEEN PROVE!!!
    DONT WASTE TIME…2017 ? PLEASE ENFORCE PEOPLE TO DO BACK SEAT BELT AS WELL… WHAT MIROS DOING? DOING RESEACH THAT ALREADY BEEN PROVE?

• BigBalls on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:32 am

this should have been done many years ago

i can foresee this will be a failure due to

1. tidak apa attitude of the parents
    2. tidak apa attitude of the police / jpj / law enforcers
    3. low income group couldnt afford it

• when people thrown out of the vehicle when accident…is that mean they did not wear seat belt? We saw many case like this when accident in Malaysia.

• Why 2017 and not now? Do you need to debate it in Parliament?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:01 am

How many parents can stand having their baby cry all the way the journey while baby is being strapped in baby seat? Those who have not gone through parenthood can talk like experts & cite safety but I bet if you put a loud crying child next to their driving, they will be the first to get impatient. On the contrary, if the authorities are truly concern of safety, they should ban child or babies being carried on bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Parent on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:36 pm

110% agreed with Middle Age Driver. A child seat can only be used if the child is willing to sit in there. I used to have a proper child car seat and is always in my car. However, to get my daughter to sit there for even 5 mins is almost a mission impossible. She was not only crying all the way but could also remove the straps herself and got out from the seat.

• Both of my kids whine when I put them into their car seats. As long as they’re fed before we head out, then I know they’re fussing cuz of not wanting to sit in the car. I always bring toys n snacks to distract them. After a few minutes of whining, they will be fine alreany. I’d rather listen to my baby crying than being out of a carseat n involved in a an.unfortunate accidaccident.

• As a parent, it is difficult but possible. Think which one is important, do you rather neglect the safety compared to listen to their cries? My daughter is 4 now. Since she born, i had already put her on the seat although she will cry and we keep comfort her until she stop crying. Now at 4, she even ask for the seat when she get into car and ask us to buckle her up

• BLT_Club on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:53 pm

So it’s a inconvenience to you then? Here’s a wake up call, being a parent is a choice and a responsibility. If you are NOT MATURE enough to understand that the safety of your child is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY, DO NOT BREED. If you lose your child in an accident, I’m sure you’ll remember the crying as sweet music than as as irritant. So please, do the right thing. A life is in YOUR hands. Don’t waste it.

• safetymom on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:36 pm

so if ur child crying when u try to sumbat ubat that would save his/her life, u just stop giving him/her ubat is it? u let ur kids decide whats best for them ke? this is about safety, let them cry, cry their lungs out. my son was like that, after a few MONTHS he knew that he didnt have any choices, so he redha kena strap dlm car seat. i care not about him crying kuat mcm nak terlucut jantung, as long as he is safe and sound. lgpon menangis is good especially for baby sbb bolehkan kuatkan paru2. so next time ur child menangis mcm kena rasuk, just remember, its good for the lungs.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Oh please.

Spare me the sob story.

My 2 kids have been riding in child seats since day one. Cry? they fall asleep in them.

Train them from young and they will treat it as second nature.

Lets see how far your excuses go when your kids get flung out of the car in an accident.

• responsible on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:33 pm

if the kids are not used to it, then
      there are only 2 choices
      – the kid/s cry; or
      – we cry (if something bad had happen)

you choose.

I don’t mind this being enforce or not, but the awareness is much more important than the law enforcement. We Malaysian need to grow up, not everything need to be forced by law, most of parents are not school kids right!

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:07 am

Enforcement or endorsement?
    AFAIK we’ve got plenty of laws but lacking enforcement
    The initial hoo haa about rear seat belts enforcement now has became endorsement only
    This will go the same way as with all our existing laws
    I think the best enforcement to date was the lady who was forced to wear sarong
    Yeah short skirt in office is a safety issue

• sammy on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:40 am

The idea is good, but you could trust JPJ to screw it up again. I mean, they can’t even handle small things like number plates and tinting… Now you expect them to know what is “JPJ-Approved” car seats? They themselves have no clue.
    It will be interesting to see children upto what age is required in a child seat.

• Fadzlan Failul on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:57 am

Hi Paul Tan team,

Can you guys write an article on how to choose a child car seat (Malaysian guide)?
    Layman like me tend to get confused which one to buy and ended up buying the wrong one. Appreciate if guys can help out. Thanks.

• danielgks on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Easy to say if you got 1 kid. How if you got 5 kids ?
    Sedan tak boleh masuk. MPV at least, then the wife sit where ?
    Just to comply with child car seat we need to buy a MPV, we cannot afford how ?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:58 pm

So if you have 5 kids, education and medicals has become very expensive now a days
      Does that mean that 5 of them don’t need to go for medical check up if they are sick and don’t need to go school if its too expensive?
      Don’t have so many kids if you cant afford it, there’s something call family planning

• hardbuttrue on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:16 pm

if cannot afford then don’t give birth to so many kids… now cannot afford mpv, later cannot afford their university course fee… there is a cheap substitute to that – condoms, RM6, sold in every 7-11

• PR macais will says:

“Why need to implement more rules?”
    “PDRM gonna songlap and saman more lah, when tangkap?”
    “Whos gonna provide the seats?”
    “Why only imported seats, local dun have ka?”
    “You mean only 1 kompeni willing to go into this business, why no others. Songlap ka, kroni ka?”
    “No enforcement dun need to follow, even if it kills my child”
    “Famili on motor even worse, even if I got pajero why I need to follow?”
    “Gov should giv me free seats.”
    “Wait u means the free seats Gov giving, only got one source for the seats? How can!?!? Must be kroni, songlap!”
    “If you follow rules and laws, means you are BN lap dogs! We PR must Lawan!”
    etc etc etc

Sekian Terima Kasih

• I have 3 children so because of this rule, I have to change a car from proton 1984 (bought at RM4k) car to big expensive MPV? Front seat I have a bucket seat for my child who is seating in front. but the back, there isn’t any space to put so much bucket seats. Expenses on child seat MIGHT be affordable to many families but not to all. Doesnt mean families can afford to change a car because of bucket seat.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:05 pm

You have 3 children and you owe each one of them a responsibility to be safe while traveling in a car period.
      No one else owes them that responsibility more than you do.
      If you cannot afford to change a car, then bring 1 or 2 of your children out at any one time

• policeman on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Kalu MPV mahal, lain kali pakai getah.
      Dah tau miskin, masih tak nak pakai getah. Pastu anak miskin jadi perompak, hisap dadah, rogol, pastu kena tembak polis. Berbaloi tak?

• MYparents on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:22 pm

2017?? I think 2027 only starts the enforcement.
    Why not start now???

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Just get a proper child seat la it doesn’t have to be those expensive ISOFIX ones too and I’ve seen decent ones in the couple of hundred ringgit range. There’s also a big used market for child products on FB and the likes of them so you can get it at an even cheaper price.

If you parents can spend on ciggys, weekly lattes with your friends at a hipster cafe, nice handbags, expensive smartphones and what not, I think getting one of these is no issue right? Just scale down on your ‘wants’ and sort your ‘needs’ first!

Also for parents who are complaining that they have many kids and no money to buy these – you’re at fault for not doing proper family planning. If you cannot even afford an extra child seat or a safe vehicle to transport them in then I wish your kids good luck travelling in an unsafe manner no thanks to you irresponsible parents.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Right.

a pack a day habit is 400/mth. You can buy a decent car seat for that money. Still complaining?

Handphone cost magnitudes more….if you can afford a mid range handphone, you can afford a child seat.

• I am glad that many people are understand the important of child seat. Keep influencing your family, your friends, your neighbors to do so. Important note: start from day 1! You are saving life….

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:18 pm

When my kids were small, I had 2 child seats at the back. Because they occupied the entire back seat, my wife sat in front. As i was driving, both of them suddenly started climbing out & standing dangerously on the seats. It turns out the elder knew how to unbuckle the belts & help the younger one out. At that time, the elder kid was only 3yrs old. So unless i use a padlock on the belts, there was no way i could keep the elder one in child seat. As time went on, the younger one also learned to unbuckle. While we adults are concern of their safety, some kids just don’t care a damn about it at that age.All they want is to sit next to their mummy. The 2 imported child seats ended up in the boot most of the time & soon in store room. I suppose one can argue that I’m a lousy parent, but we fail to understand that a child have its own mind. Not every child will listen. That’s why some grow up to be criminals, lazy bumps & need for speed. I just wonder about critics here, do you drive at 60-80kmh all the time? Because that’s about the fastest speed occupants can survive should there be an impact irregardless of max highway speed limit.

• BLT_Club on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:03 am

Congratulations, you raised two kids and never had an accident. Bravo. What makes you think everyone else is as lucky? Just because nothing bad happened to you, can you guarantee the same for everyone? Putting the issue of cost above safety is irresponsible and immature. Child seats and seat belts have been proven to save lives. It didn’t happen to you. Good. Doesn’t mean it won’t happen to anyone else.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:11 am

Its not about my kids but overzealous adults on perceive safety that’s the issue. By all means use child seat because you want the child to be safe, not because its MANDATORY. Secondly, there are kids that are smarter than you think. So it will take some time to deal with kid’s misbehavior. Some will comply faster & easier than others. But to get a FINE is another matter. What I do support is a speed limiter for cars set at 80kmh. Because all NCAP safety ratings are tested at speed of only 60+kmh. If all drive at this speed, there is very low possibility of anyone being flung out of cars. Being a grown up is to think of the actions for yourself NOT because of a MANDATORY directive. Imposing a directive will not make anyone GROW up but brew a recalcitrant behavior.

• should not enforce. should teach or educate ppl the safety of the seat.

cos’ when came to enforce that lead to many “kangtou aka $$ pit” to some 1 or some party. nope?

• Ezther on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Hi, would you know if the old proton iswara sedan has child car seat anchors?