Zotye T700 – China’s Porsche Macan doppelgänger

Zotye T700 1

No, you’re not seeing things – this is not a Porsche Macan, but an almost identical copy from China called the Zotye T700. As seen in these leaked pictures from Chinese website autohome.com.cn, it apes the design of Stuttgart’s baby SUV almost to a tee.

It’s all here – large front air intakes, low positioning of the fog lights, rotund surfacing, almond-shaped window line, sloping roofline, VW-esque door handles and wing mirrors mounted on stalks mimic similar items on the Macan. Even the “side blades” along the doors have been carried over, albeit in silver as opposed to black.

Left: Zotye T700, right: the real McCoy

The tail light graphics also bring to mind the Macan, but its kinked outline, as well as the tailgate-mounted number plate recess (as opposed to the bumper-mounted one on the Macan), actually appears to more closely reference the facelifted Cayenne. The only cues not taken from the Zuffenhausen design handbook are the L-shaped headlights, bonnet vents and BMW M6 Gran Coupe-style two-tone alloy wheels.

According to Car News China, the Zotye T700 will be powered by either a 177 hp 2.0 litre turbo engine (the Porsche makes 237 hp from a mill with a similar configuration) or a 3.0 litre turbo V6, developed in-house by Zotye. It is expected to arrive in showrooms next year with prices starting at around 170,000 yuan (RM102,500) – that’s far cheaper than a Macan, which starts at 558,000 yuan (RM336,400) in China, or RM420,000 in Malaysia.

The real Porsche Macan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rover (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:54 pm

To be honest, I like it more than the Macan… Though the front reminds me more of a Peugeot than the Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Engineering on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Wow China has it’s own developed engine that is 177hp 2.0 litre and 3.0 litre v6 developed in house. Malaysia…… been developing Campro 1.6 turbo… not bad Bravo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • jinggo on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:00 pm

haramjadah keje meniru je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • ahmad maslan on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:55 am

meniru takpe janji ade effort. jangan macam proton tu. haha haram jadah

• procam on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Zotye has in house developed 177hp 2.0 litre engine and 3.0 litre v6 while proton has 1.6 turbo… Bravo not bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Jimmy on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

The shape, shape only, is cantiq.

Kembara China.

Most people in Malaysia will choose a HRV at similar price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Then please copy lamborghini,ferrari,porche and sell it with dirt cheap price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Well comment, i think the same you imaging too.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:25 pm

WTF man!! Luckily, they didn’t copy the engine. And doubt they can match the handling & performance of the real deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Honestly, the design is nice n clean. Cant afford a macan, then just get the zotye…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • drMpower on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:35 pm

that is the price to pay when entering china market.
    but i guess with the volume China have, no one willing to break line and start barking.

too bad they cant bring it outside (can they?) otherwise many would take a chance, change the emblem and taraaaaa!

• as long as it is not proton should be okay i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Look better than Macan!!! Chun!!!

• karipap masin on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:06 pm

looks like porsche…but definitely cannot perform like a porsche.

So, this car caters for syoik sendiri buyers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • You don’t say? you expect porsche performance with that price tag?

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:08 pm

There is a reason why Uncle Ho got his MBA in Copying from China… And you know… China did introduce the Kopier technology, based loosely off the Kompressor technology but completely different task lolololol.

• rider on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:30 pm

copycats. As usual fake things from china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Zotye T700 VS Landwind X7?

• Really on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:27 pm

After the Evoque, now it’s the Macan turn. You got to hand it to the Chinese carmakers for not giving a f**k to what the world thinks. On the side note, i actually feel the T700 looks better than the original Macan.

• We always condemn chinese products but they are way ahead of us in all areas of science and technology with established industries that are recognised universally. Both P1 & P2 are also basically copycats but we talk about china products only.

we have to be realistic. No matter how horribly unscrupulous certain china businesses are, China is still a world superpower while we at bolehland are a 3rd world country being driven into the dark ages by our beloved leadership.

give credit where credit is due. Don’t just condemn China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • carcycle on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:42 pm

p1 copycat? Lol which one? If inspira yeah it’s legitimate copy / rebadging.

• hahaha looks r better than Macan!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Lol I like the fact that you named the Macan pic folder ‘The real Porsche Macan’

• Garbage…bet those who are complementing this car won’t buy it either! So unethical..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:49 pm

I want to buy this car for 100K. Please bring it in.

• Laksaman Cheng Ho on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:10 am

wow so expensive…why not in 40k wan..

• anopos on Dec 03, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Blue from indigo plant is deeper than its origin. We should believe that these young guys will do better than we these old-timers.