BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer launched – 220i, RM280k

BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer 1

Along with the facelifted/LCI BMW 1 Series, BMW Malaysia has also announced an all-new addition to its lineup. The BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer is a seven-seater MPV – Munich’s first, in fact – based on the shorter Active Tourer.

Available in just one variant – 220i Luxury – the 2 GT is priced at RM279,800 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of BMW Malaysia’s new five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty with a five-year/100,000 km free service package.

Under the bonnet sits a B48 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo four-cylinder engine, producing 192 hp at 4,700 rpm and 280 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 4,600 rpm. Moreover, unlike the 218i Active Tourer Luxury – which was launched with a six-speed manual transmission – the 2 GT is mated exclusively to an eight-speed Steptronic automatic sending power to the front wheels.

Outside, the Luxury Line 220i GT features LED projector headlights, chrome line exterior styling (including chrome kidney grilles, front air inlets, rear apron and tailpipe finishers) and 17-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels hiding front and rear ventilated disc brakes.

BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer 2 (1)

Step inside and you’ll find powered seats (with driver’s side memory function) upholstered in perforated Dakota Black or Oyster leather, contrast stitching on the dashboard, “Fineline” stream fine-wood trim with Pearl Chrome finishers, a 6.5-inch iDrive display with navigation as well as a 205 W seven-speaker sound system.

Other bits of kit include Comfort Access (including kick-to-open Smart Opener for the powered tailgate), push-button start with automatic start-stop, auto lights and wipers, Park Assistant with front and rear sensors and reverse camera, multi-function steering wheel (not available on the 2 AT) dual-zone auto air-con with second-row air vents, auto-dimming rear-view mirrors and sliding and reclining second-row seats.

Safety equipment includes six airbags, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) with ABS and Dynamic Braking Control (DBC) as well as Isofix child seat anchors for the outer second-row seats. As for colours, you’ll be able to choose from Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Mineral Grey, Glacier Silver, Imperial Blue and Platinum Silver – the latter two are exclusive to the Luxury Line.

BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer 13

In addition, BMW Malaysia is also offering original accessories for the Gran Tourer. These include a RM1,799 Baby Seat 0+ (for use up to 15 months of age), a RM1,899 Junior Seat 1 (one to four years old) and a RM1,999 Junior Seat 2/3 (three to 12 years old). The Baby Seat 0+ and Junior Seat 1 can be fitted to a RM1,489 Isofix base (required for fitment of the Junior Seat 1).

There’s also a Travel and Comfort System behind the front seats to fit all sorts of accessories such as a RM100 universal hook, a RM275 coat hanger, a RM380 folding table and a variety of tablets (RM599 for iPad, iPad Air and Samsung Galaxy 3 and 4 holders, RM499 for the iPad Mini). Lastly, there are rear side sun blinds available at RM999 a pair.

Want to know how the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer drives? You can read our full review of BMW’s first-ever MPV here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 2 pricey on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:43 am

B200 @ 230k a pop

• Alan Harris on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Why waste money buying this brand new? As you know, in the first year alone, any BMW loses more than RM100k in RV. The 2nd year onwards, its a slow RM20k decline in depreciation.

Now, you can get a good low mileage BMW 520i 2014 F10 for RM250k. Brand new, the car is RM379k. In one year, the BMW can drop RM130k.

The worst part is, it is BMW Malaysia themselves selling at these low prices trying to clear their pre reg cars and demo cars and director usage cars. These cars are so new, they hardy clock 5000KM even.

So, if BMW Malaysia themselves are throwing such prices, you can imagine the real 2nd hand market. The prices plunge.

So be wise. Wait 1 year and buy this car for around RM150k, virtually brand new. Let the first buyer bear the bulk of depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • wow that expensive & doesn’t even look pretty. I’d rather save my money and get the Grand C4 picasso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Areyousure on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Is spacious inside la. But I still prefer the rear-wheel drive BMW …

• in case you still haven’t notice this is a FWD car… genius

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
        • Sapa genius on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:12 pm

He is saying the grand tourer is spacious inside but he prefers the rear wheel drive range of bimmers compared to this new fwd. ada faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • fariz01 on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:19 am

Baca n fahamkan komen dulu sblm nak reply… Kan dah nampak bodoh sangat kau Ni…..

• MPV master on Jan 29, 2017 at 10:04 pm

This vehicle is not spacious. Not!

• 7 Seater Man on Feb 06, 2017 at 2:51 am

Spacious? Sit in one, get a fully comfortable space for yourself in the middle row, throw in 2 grown 5 foot 7, 60kg men in the back and drive non stop for 1.5hours then ask them how it feels and if they would love to take that trip back again right immediately.

• seat7love on Feb 06, 2017 at 2:55 am

Spacious? As compared to activ tourer? Because this car is not spacious. Not to me and I am only 5feet7 weighing 60kg. The last row will be a pain to be in if I have to max it and sit in for 1.5hours ride for a trip if the mid passenger row adjust its position to feel “most” comfortable go give ample leg room to itself. Also, you will have some form of neck ache, especially if you’re taller than me, which most men, are. If your driver, miss seeing a bump and failed to slow down, that bump will have an impact for you, right above your head. You will hit the roof of the car.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:47 am

It is expensive, no doubt, but I really wonder, would this sway your Estima buyer though? Somehow in white without M sport it looks half acceptable at the back, the front still looks like a fish but that’s not to say the Estima will win a beauty pageant either.

It does have adequate power though, and with the 8 speed auto it should also be really economical. Plus 5 year service and warranty, it’s pretty much a fill up petrol and change tyres car.

They really need to SKD this though, then they could probably drop it by at least 20k.

• The estima / previa only got a 4 star rating in the old Euro NCAP rating. Whereas this has a full star in the more stringent EuroNCAP rating. Plus the estima is no way near nice to drive as the newer MPVs like the 2 series active tourer, VW Sharan, Ford Smax & Citroen GC4P.

• Deepspace7 on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Tengok aje laaaaaa….. unless you want to be a slave to money then and only then can you buy this car…..

• wiwiwiw on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:06 pm

This is everything that has gone wrong with BMW. For the money I would rather get the larger proper seven seater Volkswagen Sharan. The Citroen C4 Grand Picasso is a conpetitor thatbis clever, cheaper and definitely a better buy.

• jinggo on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:30 pm

haramjadah…mengarut punya harga ni..

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:45 pm

I know it is not the fault of BMW but are these cars worth that much. Expensive don’t mean better especially when majority of its price is not related to reliability and technology.

• hahaha on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:08 pm

That ordinary gear shift lever doesn’t make it feel premium at 280k. Even the cheapest 3 series sedan aka 316i has the electronic shift lever. zzz

• sick&tired on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:21 pm

small idrive on a rm280k car!? why la they cannot put the 8.8 inch idrive with touchpad!?

• shawal on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:50 pm

I’m sure it’ll depreciate faster than an aircraft landing..
    then only it’ll be a viable choice…

• cendol (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:32 pm

It is just a glorified Alza

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Go drive an Alza crash and burn it first, then talk…!

• tishaban on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Strange to see the old gear shifter from the E90 on a current BMW.

I guess for people wanting a 7-seater MPV this BMW at RM280k is only slightly more than a Honda Odyssey RM240k and on par with the VW Sharan at RM280k. The UMW sold Toyota Previa is probably outclassed here with pretty crummy specs and safety features.

I can’t tell but from the pictures the middle row looks somewhat cramped with not much legroom though.

• Allroadquattro on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:01 pm

instead of this i’d buy new espace or any crossover.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Now this is expensive, was thinking around the RM250-260k mark over the 5 seater.

• Nenek Kau on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Let me say this loudly…”This is not a proper 7 seater car. It is 5+2 car!!! Meaning the 3rd row is cramp and not suitable for adult”. So dont price it as it is a 7seater car, got it BMW?!

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:12 am

Out is ugly…inside is fulgy…especially the gauge…come one BMW…