Lotus Ethos city car rendered, based on Proton Iriz

18340660121_5ccbd4324f_b

I’m sure quite a few of you will remember when Lotus pulled the covers off its CityCar concept – essentially a three-door Proton EMAS with unique exterior styling – at the 2010 Paris Motor Show. Back then, now-ousted CEO Dany Bahar told the press that a production version – tipped to be called the Lotus Ethos – was due to be introduced in October 2013.

Well, October 2013 has come and gone, and in the ensuing period, Proton’s version has morphed into today’s Iriz. How would a Lotus city car based on the national B-segment hatch look like, I hear you ask? Luckily, rendering expert Theophilus Chin was wondering the exact same thing, and envisioned what such a car would look like had the project lived to see the light of day.

18339214325_a9ee90cea6_b

To turn the Iriz into a Lotus, Theo gave it slimmer headlights, a more aggressive front fascia (complete with a carbon fibre lower grille!), a black roof, larger tailgate spoiler, slim horizontal (rather than vertical on the Iriz) tail lights, larger directional alloy wheels, and an aggressive rear diffuser with centre-exit exhaust (eagle-eyed readers will recognise the latter two from the Iriz R3 renders).

It’s surprising how close the styling of the Iriz mirrors the CityCar concept, sometimes even closer than with the EMAS. The undulating beltline (and the character line below it) matches almost perfectly, and even the “side blades” along the doors (coloured black here) are very similar to the ones on the Lotus. So, what do you think about this “Lotus-fied” Iriz?

Proton Iriz

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Punchh on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Better buy Myvi. Fuel efficient, no jerking gearbox and seldom stay at service centre back and forth countless times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 113
    • This make our Iriz looks very outdated.

Good Job Theophilus Chin!

I love the modern smoothen body.. Proton Iriz sharp angle here and there is quite old school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
      • Ethos on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:02 pm

A FWD Lotus with Proton’s crappy engine? No thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 39
        • Since when Lotus has p1 engine? Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • China ‘Lotus’ not using P1 engine kah? Update your fact pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • That’s not real lotus. That’s why you yourself put ‘ ‘ between the word.comment backfired lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Proton Iriz has had an impact on Toyota sales. Because this car got VSC, nobody now buys the VIOS. I feel UMW Management, by not putting VSC on their VIOS, has bukake on all the salesman faces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Come on, you think the European are so stupid and easily fooled? You think Iriz engine and gearbox can fit in Lotus Ethos due to Euro requirement?? Don’t be naive!!!

Wanna sell more Iriz? Package it with Lotus emblem as “Cheapest Lotus” in Malaysia is much easier and profitable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
          • Proton Penipu on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Not real Lotus? You mean Proton sells fake Lotus in China? Proton is penipu!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 120 Thumb down 161
          • chinaprotect on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:50 am

That’s.youngman company you know china also has protection, not only in here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • viospower on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:32 am

Exterior design Vios TRD Sportivo 1000x better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • MyviXtremist on Jun 13, 2015 at 2:52 am

Yeah better buy Myvi and kill a family…
      steering feels less responsive, less safety, body not that rigid,
      just facelift bodykit update only, 4speed auto? lame..
      No ESP? moving coffin, score bad on crash test.
      Iriz the engine & gearbox maybe not that good, but other things are that good, try compare the steering feel, the sound system,the braking, I feel more confident driving Iriz. Its just people perception against Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 45
      • hahaha on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:26 am

Aiyo… just dont drive like hantu you’ll be okay…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • What perception? Now taxi drivers are viicing out their dissatisfaction using proton. Nak tipu siapa lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 110
        • bossy on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:54 pm

If want more space Mazda fan suggests go for lorry or van, lolol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:49 pm

If the current one loses the front grill chrome, adds a proper fun engine with da current 5speed manual… I can see it being really popular…
    Im wondering why proton doesnt ditch those NA engines and just make or enhance the current 1.6 cfe and one smaller 1.1/1.2cc turbo to be put in their higher trim iriz, flx…
    All this while i wanna test drive iriz 1.6 manual bt all showroom units are the cvt… Even local publications cant get their hands on one…

• Hor Shen Hau on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Wow nice.Good job!

• Samad Jain on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Lotus??

Funny enuf, many protons seen on the road prefer to stick “Mitsubishi” sticker than “Lotus” sticker…

Enuf said…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • You must be blind, many stickers are Lotus Ride and Handling rather than Mitsu crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Bizzzz on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

One of Theo’s best effort. Theo, you can turn urself into someting like Wald should you got at team with money, expert tuner and 3D printing expert. Or do you?

• A nice playground to test if the Iriz has a chance to sell in european markets.

Suggestions:

-The rims are too small. As a Lotus will carry a premium pricetag, 17″ would be better.
    -Put a powerful diesel inside, sourced from an european company, for instance 2.0l / 180PS or 150PS from Peugeot PSA. Advantages: This engine is build in large numbers and is already used by Peugeot, Citroen and Ford. Spareparts are easily available and no problems with EURO6.
    -Start at the next 24h race on the Nurburgring. If the Thais can start with a Vios, why not Proton/Lotus with an Iriz?

• Yellow Peril on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:31 pm

The backlights are better looking. The current ones make the back look like a squashed insect. Hurts my iris to see it…

• transformer on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:14 am

Lotus Elise, Exige & Evora mainly uses Toyota engines with lotus tune. Wonder whose engine will be used in Ethos?

Btw, Toyota india has 1.5L Etios sedan, 1.2L Etios Liva & Etios Cross. http://www.toyotabharat.com/

• vtiler on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:20 am

Lotus Range Extender engine?
      1.2l 3 cylinder. 0-100km/h : 9 sec, 240Nm torque
      Full EV : 50km
      Full range : 500km

• Probably using Vios engine. Hahaha…

• dinotyota on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Nobody cares Vios engine, fuel guzzler even Saga more frugal

• But Lotus rather use Toyota engine than Proton engine woh. Why? Proton engine not good enough?

• toyotasucky on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Toyota will also uses BMW engine, Toyota engine is not good enough?
            http://paultan.org/2013/12/17/toyota-verso-revealed/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • supporterstpd on Jun 14, 2015 at 1:44 am

Proton supporters mmg bodoh. That is COLLABORATION with BMW where Toyota redesigned the engine. BMW developed the engine while Toyota make it more reliable. For Proton’s case, Lotus simply use Toyota’s engine instead of Proton’s engine because everyone including Lotus engineers know Proton’s engine is crap

http://paultan.org/2011/11/29/toyota-and-bmw-discussing-broad-partnership-on-environmental-vehicles-primarily-for-europe/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • toyotacrap on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:55 am

Campro is from lotus and lotus is proton’s. What the fuss?

Why toyota dun make it itself? Why not its child company? Too many tiga suku engineers? Lol

• protonrubbish on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Lol. Why talk about campro when even Lotus don’t use its engine? People explain already and Proton supporters keep asking the same question about why Toyota don’t make itself. The answer is Toyota did REDESIGNED the engine. Proton ada apa? Nak harap Azlan and his tiga suku engineers to design for Lotus? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Heng Lee on Jun 14, 2015 at 3:10 pm

“BMW developed the engine while Toyota make it more reliable”

Completely nonsense. The engines are entirely made in a BMW factory, Toyota didn’t buy a production license.
            Do you think that BMW will produce two types of engines?

And how shall Toyota make it “more reliable”, as Toyota has absolutely no clue on how to build powerful turbo diesel engines?

• Are you sure? on Jun 14, 2015 at 5:55 pm

“Campro is from lotus and lotus is proton’s.”

Are you sure campro is from Lotus? Lol

• iriz is best model from proton yet, better than myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • on paper specs.. it seems better.

if only efficiency, reliability, durability, maintenance cost can be clearly stated on paper.

we can compare it more transparently.

• Proton4Life on Jun 13, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Proton has the best engine out there.

• Mr Kangkung on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:44 pm

gaya ada, takde performance…..

• Makese on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:09 pm

am i the only one who notice the rare look like batman?
    lol..

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:51 am

Proton Iriz is a junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • sammy on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:07 am

Adui… someone wants to copy Proton?
    So the Proton car has badge that says “Tuned by Lotus”, and Lotus will have badge that says “Designed by Proton”??!
    The sun rising from the west now? What has the world become?

• 1.3 Iris with the offered tire size looks weird when its on the move – it’s too small to me.

• for us, this theo Lotus/Iriz & the current Iriz, both r very stylish, up to date exterior design.