Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Sedan, Hatch CKD facelift previewed at Volkswagen Sales Carnival in Setia City

vw-raya-promo 3

As part of its Hari Raya campaign, Volkswagen Malaysia is offering RM0 downpayment and zero interest for seven years on models such as the Jetta 1.4 TSI, Golf 1.4 TSI, Passat, Tiguan 1.4 and Polo 1.6 Sedan and Hatch CKD facelift – the last two previewed at the ongoing Volkswagen Sales Carnival at the Setia City Mall.

Raya is the most celebrated festive occasion by Muslims and Malaysians of other faiths alike. It’s when people travel home to spend time with family and friends. Our aim with this campaign is to make the brand more accessible to Malaysians who desire the performance offered by our cars,” said Armin Keller, MD of Volkswagen Group Malaysia.

Aside from the aforementioned RM0 downpayment and zero interest offers, customers who sign on the dotted line during the Volkswagen Sales Carnival, happening from 12 June to 14 June, will receive a RM500 petrol voucher to make the deal all the more sweeter. The Hari Raya campaign, on the other hand, is ongoing till 31 July.

Now, on to the refreshed Polo models. Changes are limited on both cars, to say the least, with the Sedan variant taking the minimalist approach a little too far – more on which in a bit. Beginning with the Polo 1.6 Hatch CKD facelift, it sports a new front fascia with a reworked bumper, replete with a Passat-esque chrome strip and fog lamps.

Other external changes include smoked headlamps and revised taillamp graphics. The rear bumper has been restyled slightly and now features reflector strips on the lower portion. The 15-inch “Riverside” alloy wheels have been retained, shod this time with Goodyear tyres.

Inside, updates include the adoption of a Mk7 Golf-derived squared-off steering wheel with phone controls. The centre console now gets a jazzier metal finish while the fabric seats are trimmed with a new pattern. Everything else remains unchanged, including mechanicals and safety features.

Moving on to the Polo 1.6 Sedan CKD facelift, said model receives smoked headlights – and that’s it. As mentioned, changes on the Sedan variant are even more minute as to that of the Hatch model. Inside, the only difference is the inclusion of a Mk7 Golf-esque steering wheel. The fabric seats retain the same “Livon” pattern as that of the pre-facelifted Polo 1.6 Sedan.

The Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch CKD facelift is priced the same as before at RM90,646, on-the-road (OTR) excluding insurance. The Sedan variant retains the same price tag, as well. It retails at RM92,646, OTR sans insurance. It should be noted that both models are already being to delivered to customers.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Sedan CKD facelift

GALLERY: Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch CKD facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:49 am

Reputation of VW down the drain already.

Even if not DSG, by public assumption, all VW GB fails as frequent as a service interval

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…sound good with zero interest & zero dp…but when look at the lousy gearbox and after sales service…NONONO…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • jakelin on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:45 pm

since it had been resolved, i think people believe and trust the product plus with zero interest & zero dp, people gonna love the promotion and want to own it

• kelangit on Jun 15, 2015 at 2:43 pm

don’t think so. i saw too much vw cars nowadays on the road. with new plat number means people still loved to drive vw cars.

• robin wan pasir on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:51 pm

u said u know everythin about vw. why dont u highlight which vw sc u went? i went to vw sc sg besi and i didnt see overloaded vw cars there. i just leave my polo there for a day to service and not need to wait for years.

• sean loo on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:50 pm

I’m driving my VW for 2+ years and still enjoying. Despite many negative stories, my VW has not failed me (almost 35K now). I’m glad to say that SC had showed a lot of improvements. They serviced my car in very detail even I just send back to rectify my panel sound. For refinement, pleasure and drivability on the VW are way better than Toyota and Honda. Also, high maintenance cost of the Audi/ BMW/ Merz are not my thing I rather pay to own another car.

• Areyousure on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:08 pm

DSG bashing show again? Salesman on the move :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Bangsar Protest on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:14 pm

You dare buy a car from a company where buyers had to picket with banners and posters in Bangsar for proper service to be given.

Just basic service also, people had to carry banners and posters for VGM to hear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • No need to bash. Everybody also know about VW and their lousy service plus bogus DSG Gearbox.

Polo got no DSG but I will stay away from VGM and VW. VGM always say everything is not covered by warranty. Tipu betul

• stacy on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:00 pm

yeah. no need to bash coz im used polo 2014 as my ride and so far i dont have dsg issue. people who bashed about dsg, i don’t think they owned vw car. and vgm also gave statement which all dsg issue had been resolved

• iownone on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:52 pm

i am very sure i had aircon problems and coolant leak in 2012, dsg problem 2014 and cylinder 3 loss compression just last month. Not mentioning battery only last 1.2 mth and speed sensor also kaput. And dont ask about service quality..if u are still not sure go ahead and dump rm200k of your money and dont say u havent been warned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • VW_rocks on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:10 pm

I interested to know. What SC does to solve the DSG and compression issue? Your mileage?

• axsatr on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I love the Polo Hatch, but it makes too little sense. At the same price, you’d get a Jazz with a better engine, gearbox, space, tech and safety.

However, that being said, I just love the looks of the Polo more. It’s more mature and sophisticated compared to the more edgy styling of the Jazz. Also, the Polo would undoubtedly have the better handling, perceived quality and NVH between the two.

So I guess it all boils down to your own priorities in the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:28 pm

I actually really like the Polo for the mature looks, plus the part that it looks like a baby Golf helps.

But the sad part is that, pretty much every other B segment hatch has ESP as standard, for the price point, both Polo sedan and hatch should come with this, and the Polo should get back the combined side airbag at least.

Such a pity on an otherwise alright hatch.

• Corrected on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:53 pm

i agreed with you, I’m actually a sales man of VW.

• No ESP is like driving a Moving Coffin. Hmmm, Toyota and VW got so many things in common.

• brazbuz on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:25 pm

True, with esp it will be position better in the market since many reluctant to buy vw with tsi + dsg combo

• mariana on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:34 pm

since dsg issues had been resolved, i think vw position still better in the market if we look at quantity of vw cars otr right now

• sepul on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:26 pm

I second that, for this would be an easy choice over the City if not for the lack of safety features. And only 4 speakers for a German car?

• VW_rocks on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Handling of the Polo is superb. I’m very surprised by how well the sedan version taking corners. But why stingy like Vios? Don’t give ESP.

• axsatr on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Then we are definitely on the same thought streams. If the Polo maintains it’s 90k price but with 2 additional side airbags + ESP, it’s a definite buy for me. I don’t care much for push-to-start and touchscreen radio systems, too gimmicky for me.

• jinggo on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:24 pm

i wonder la, why always setia city?

• good mall

• 2014 Passat Owner on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Though this is Polo issue, let me tell you my experience as a VW owner. I am a Passat Owner. I bought my car in March 2014. It is a 2014 model. From March 2014 until today my car has broken down 4 times. All 4 times were DSG related.

Before I bought my car, I asked the salesman and even the manager to assure me that all DSG matters are resolved. The swear upon whatever false Gods t that DSG was a thing of the past and only affected 2011 and earlier models.

So, already 4 times my DSG has broken down. Each time, SC took 2 months to fix it up. In total, I have not seen my car for 8 whole months. And it has only been 11 months I have owned this damn thing.

I have full of regrets. Suffered so much. I tremble in fear when my DSG becomes spoilt after the 2 year warranty is over. I know fleet cars in my office use VW and that their warranty is discretionery after the 2 years.

I am trying to sell off my Passat before the 2 years warranty is over but no used car dealer wants to take it in. The best I have got is RM$80k. But how to sell at that price when I have bought RM$170k? Rugi lah aku!

I advice all buyers, stay away far away from the dry clutch. The sales people will swear to you (as they did to me) and assure you the world, but when it breaksdown, they don’t care for you. They will swear to you that the DSG is resolved.

VGM has stinking service. If you know your DSG are ALL faulty, keep the boxes in store. Why hold a customers car for 2 months? What if i did not have a spare car?

VGM should give all of us owners 10 years warranty. You have sold us a lemon, own up to it. And you are still selling people lemons, be honest about the DSG problems they are going to face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Owner Experience like you is very important to all netizens.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:23 pm

This is how the internet reviews usually work. People who have problems make a lot of noise online and then other netizens take note.

People like me on the other hand, who have no problems with the product (my 2013 Passat has been fantastic! Zero problems, enjoying the drive!), usually don’t spend the time to write about their positive experiences because they don’t have time… too busy enjoying the car (product), don’t want to waste time writing about it.

Human nature plus the internet and that’s what you get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • spongewai on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:41 pm

I saw a CKD Polo facelift otr

why relaunched??!

• A.R.M Yusof on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:39 pm

love the looks of polo..but too expensive for normally aspirated 1.6L hatch. should be around 70-80k. for 90k better get honda city. spacious and stylish too.

• tomatoman on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:38 pm

for me the different of the price is because of tax. and it’s normal if japan’s car price more cheap compared to conti’s car

• tishaban on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:50 pm

I actually decided to look. The materials inside aren’t as good as I thought they’d be, lots of hard plastic compared to the Polo CBU and even compared to the likes of the Jazz and Mazda 2. Long term, I have a friend and an aunt who have the Polo for the past few years, the plastic is starting to peel already which is again very disappointing for a German car.

But as many people already mentioned, I can’t imagine why VW would let the Polo be sold here with only 2 or 4 airbags and no stability control. Sorry VW if I were buying a B-segment car the Jazz V-spec will get my vote.

• Driving a vw is a superb experience. Far better than any local, kimchi or sushi car. Owning one however is a huge headache. The specs offered especially without ESP, is an insult to consumer, the price and the brand. The after sales service is terrible. Super slow with couldnt care less attitude n excuses. The warranty, even though its 5 years, they will find ways to have ur warranty unclaimable. The parts is always in singapore and cost u a bomb (changing a sensor the size of ur finger nail is almost rm500). Pity, damage has been done. A mere marketing carrot wont do the trick anymore.

• lotushandling on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:25 pm

If handling so good why passat kena tarpaued at corner by cfe engined cars?

• lotushandling on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:25 pm

If handling so good why passat kena tarpaued at corner by cfe engined cars?

• carCaarcAArrr on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Yay VW has the highest customer satisfaction ratings in Malaysia. It will never breakdown, not even once, I swear over my sausage and beer ! Even if it did break down, the service centres have got your back, they are staffed with the best talent in the whole of Malaysia, some say Asia. Gimme your money losers !

• Budak on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:14 am

Greg,

other info is that the hatch got new color addition, carbon steel grey which used to be available on golf gti only.

Bought polo face lifted last month.
    1. The cabin size is slightly smaller than the myvi for the rear seat but the boot is bigger than myvi.
    2. Safety wise is so much lesser than full spec iriz and full spec jazz.
    3. The space wise is smaller than iriz and jazz.
    4. The engine and 6 speed auto box is much better than iriz and jazz IMO.
    5. High speed driving much nicer than jazz and vios. it’s personal. I would say iriz high speed wise is better than jazz and vios too.
    6. Main reason i bought this is because of the zero downpayment and zero interest.

I am satisfied especially with the pleasure of driving it. My wife especially likes the looks of it as well

To be honest i would have got the iriz but my wife depends too much on hearsay especially (my relative proton mechanic said iriz got this blablablabla) and i don’t want to have a fight plus i really like driving the car after the test drive. Hehe

My verdict ?
    If they don’t have zero downpayment and zero interest i would not even think of getting it. Iriz will be my choice.

Maintenance wise i am well aware of those issue. But i think without the dsg i only have to worry about vgm after sale service. Which, i can live with.

Afteral, i have been a proton supporter all these years and i still enjoy the after sale service of my wira (yes my wira still service at proton ac) despite all the bad reputations proton sc have received.

• iniesta on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:52 am

The passat 2013 owner comments are just a copy and paste sorry without any substance, it look a like a lie or a fabrication of story, the months referred by him till todate is mismatch , march 2014 till todate is 15 month and not 11 month , as a living man with brain , with you drive you car if you know that the dsg gerabox problem is so seriuos that u need to park at service centre for 2 months for 4 times is 8 month period. Those believe in him will be nuts. I bet he didnt even know what is dsg ?

• Interested on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Are you a VW salesman?
      Got better deal than the current ongoing deals?

• azhel on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:19 pm

if it the fake, give me ur testimoni about ur experience with vw too. which model u drive, where sc u sent for service? i want know it too.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Wow total crap, this FL is all cosmetics save for the ICE system which is upgraded.

• Das Autar on Jun 14, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Buying any VW car is equivalent of throwing your money into the sea. I’m very dissatisfied “every time” after visiting their service center (SC). Yes, I said every time, not a single time with a good experience. Every time after the trip to their SC, it feels like the car are better throw into the sea to fill the land. It’s a CRAPPY car and TERRIBLE service!

• tobi wan kenobi on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:02 pm

normally what u service ur car at sc bro? which sc u sent your car? what model u drive? me usually do some service at vw sc sg besi. so far it’s nice there and i’m suggested u to go there