Suzuki to help Proton develop A-segment car, 2016?

proton-alto (1)

The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and Licence Agreement signing event between Proton, Suzuki and DRB-Hicom has just ended, and the gist of it is this: Proton will be developing a small compact car with the help of Suzuki, up to 1.0 litre in engine displacement and in a segment where Proton is currently not present.

These are as good clues as any that Proton is seriously considering going into the A-segment (for the first time), which is of course Perodua territory. Conversely, Perodua is now developing a sedan (out 2017 or 2018), widely rumoured to go up against the Proton Saga. So brace yourselves for an all-round, all-out battle!

Some Suzuki models not sold in Malaysia wearing Proton badges – courtesy of Theophilus Chin

What will be the extent of the collaboration? Will it be a Proton platform and a Suzuki engine (chairman Tun Dr Mahathir made passing mention of 660 cc, 850 cc and 1.0 litre engine sizes), or a full rebadge of an existing Suzuki model that’s not sold in Malaysia?

“Both are possibilities,” the former PM said, adding that the Tanjung Malim plant will be utilised in this collaboration, and that we could see the finished product as early as 2016. So will the Iriz‘s baby sister be based on the Alto, Celerio or any other micro Suzy?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Just rebadge Suzuki Ciaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Beng P1boy on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:32 pm

P2 macai will eat dust after this news !!!

Proton A-segment will be next global car like Iriz !!! Shit Myvi and Axia…

Proton top sales of Malaysia DrM comfirm global brand and not global car !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 41
      • Rebadge King on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:27 am

Rebadge here, rebadge there. From Honda to Mitsu to Suzuki, there are no cars P1 will not rebadge, P1 is becoming like P2. At least P2 only rebadge 1 brand of car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • ustpd on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:25 am

P2 is only assembler. P1 got home grown cars. Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:49 am

Home grown so what? Big difference between home-grown super/luxury car and home-grown junk!

Malaysians don’t care it is home grown car or not. They only care it is CHEAP and RELIABLE. That’s why you see Perodua so successful now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Close Down Proton on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:21 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about low quality Suzuki when 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with Suzuki? This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
          • supporterstpd on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Why home grown becomes assembler?
            No business ah?
            Kakaka…

• frossonice on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:49 am

That is because Perodua is owned by that brand which in turn owned by the God Car brand.

And people call it local car.

• They are fighting the wrong competitor, not sure why they want to choose the easy one? Why are they fighting among our own national car? Shouldn’t we fight against other international brand? P1 not up to the standard to fight against international brand?

• Haha, easy, they simply cannot fight with other, so choose the easy one la.

• Rangers on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:03 am

this is hilarious…lol!

• Jimmy on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Take their V-Cross or Grand Vitara. Iriz is good enough, it’s about the price (RM30k for basic bare spec).

• komarad on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:09 pm

we’ll see…

• munkay on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Can’t wait to see Perodua totally destroy MahaTon Motors!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
  • Ali Mumcu on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:14 pm

A-segment a must.

• forrest the tree on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Help them to bungkus better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
  • Never use any of suzuki car. Is the engine reliable? How’s the maintenance of Suzuki’s engine? FC? anyone knows.. tq

• Nenek Kau on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:01 pm

In japan, small car is lead by suzuki. They have many interesting models which are only available in japan. You dont hv to worry about reliability and FC because they are king in this segment. In fact,IMHO, Proton should jv earlier with suzuki instead of mitsubishi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Ali mumcu on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Im driving an 2011 suzuki alto (auto). So far i have these problems.
      1)passenger door handle broken (changed rm62)
      2)driver door handle almost broken(expecting any time soon) (my guess is design of the handle is not good)
      3)One of two Rear bonet suspension no good. (Need to replace)
      4)Interior light bulb doesnt work(seems like wiring problem. (There is only one bulb, its dark at night)

I have no big troubles with this car which was made in india.
      fuel consumption is acceptable (1L=10to13km with aircon)
      im content with alto 1L engine.

• Rangers on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:06 am

sounds like a CKD problem…broken door handler probably same supplier of Waja..

• P1, no worries, still hv a long list of car brands to cycle on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Mitsubishi done, and over. German does not like tun’s offer, next.. honda, nothing coming out yet, next! Suzuki…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Malik on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Damn please don’t rebadge my Kizashi
    Once driven then you will only know

• kington on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:26 pm

What’s wrong with your Kizashi?

• Kamal2gv on Jun 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Currently i own 3 suzys.. no big problem for 10 years old car so far. Kizashi maybe the next…

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Usually I’d say better late than never but in P1’s case…better not since this is P2’s category since its inception and now P1 wants to rain on P2’s party? Why can’t P1 just concentrate on markets in which P2 has no grip on or does P1 want a share of the A-segment market? Maybe it saw the success of the Axia and now wants a share of the pie?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:05 pm

to me might as well Proton JV with Perodua to make A segment car. Proton has Savvy platform suitable as A segment (Iris is B Segment) while Perodua is known to have good touches in designing a car’s front and rear end.

• Janwy on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:41 pm

How long actually does an MoU last? Why Proton keep on signing MoU here and there? Not long ago, MoU with Honda, and now with Suzuki. I cannot imagine what is secret future plan of Proton. Will Proton come out with a car like part Honda, part Suzuki, part Lotus, part local…?

• farghmee on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:52 pm

maybe the SUVs..?

• farghmee on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:31 am

if it is really A-seg, then proton should go for Japs offerings, rather than India suzuki-maruti offerings.

lupin is cute dowh.

• Goverment should not protect Proton anymore.
    Let Proton rebadge Suzuki, at the same time reduce all car tax.

we have been paying unsubsidized petrol(expensive petrol) plus high taxed car, yet added with GST in our life.

and our money has been going down.
    keep printing money PM Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Hor Shen Hau on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Government protecting Proton.Bro,government stop protecting Proton since it under DRB-HICOM.You see now,the government is starting to critics Proton. And the high tax for for foreign cars also is now have on local brand car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • George Abdul on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:29 pm

So wrong go search Spanco sdn bhd(cronies company) that sucking contact for 25 years !!!

• Statistician on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:38 am

Mind sharing the percentage of tax for foreign cars vs local cars if you claim they are the same high tax?

• Goverment now are not protecting Proton, in fact they are striking it. So, if you hate goverment then buy proton.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • BNaik on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Our system are good and going to be better in 2020 Dollar $1 = RM 1.

Don’t ask and complain just support, uneducated Rakyat can go back to Penang !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • JB_KIA on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:01 pm

I won’t mind paying 50k for a Proton Swift Sport…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • driver on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:45 am

dont forget tuned by R3, Swift Sport R3.
      better ride n handling with extra power.

• JB_KIA on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:56 am

no need, I can tune better but first thing I will do is to rebadge….

• mason_ on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Should come out with a more interesting model with affordable price and fuel save…keep it up,tun…

• As expected, last time myvi segment popular, proton produced iriz to steal a bit of market share from myvi obviously. Now axia sales astronomically high, proton want to produce a segment pulak.

• frossonice on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:55 am

Interesting point here. See what happen when Proton came out with Iriz. Perodua quickly came out with meh updates on their MyVi which I think failed to garner more sales compared to Iriz.

People turn to Axia because it is the cheapest car in around.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:59 am

See this is the interesting typical Malaysian mental (especially with government) here: You doing well? I want to get a cut.

Thus you see
      1. Exora to steal Alza market share.
      2. Iriz to steal Myvi market share.

But end of the day, the Protons are not selling.

Might as well Proton buy over Perodua and simply change Myvi emblem to Proton Myvi.

• cowboy on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Soon there is nothing left to buy. Every car is a proton or perodua. We are given crap at a high cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • KontiKinte on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:18 pm

“Iriz’s baby sister” … Dude I’m sold!

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:46 pm

At least someone in Proton is thinking!
    What took them so long to figured this out?
    Myvi is ten years old, they’re ten years late!
    This is a good news nonetheless from Proton.
    Guess Proton can only survive as a assembler with a sushi car maker.
    Please assemble the latest version of the Alto and Wagon R model from Japan.
    Price it close and cheaper than UMW Perodua.
    Make your cars safer than UMW Perodua.
    More importantly, please improve your after sales support.
    Guess they are focusing only in Malaysia and not South East Asia since Suzuki is already aggressive in Indonesia gunning Daihatsu.
    Lets hope there is more information about this.

• P2 pasni….tlg rebadge estima pulak…

• P2 new segmen plz…. rebadge estima pulak…

• I thought the famous long q iriz is selling like hot cakes??
    Cannot sell ah suddenly?? Need others to help to rebadge is it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Is there really good margins in A segment cars? Unless u r great in ur cost cutting n being prudent with costs(which proton clearly not) i dont see it as a success…
    P2 can do it bcos itz their thing, n lets face it they kno crap abt wat they do since all their offerings are based on some previous gen toyota /daihatsu models.. But atleast they can learn frm the japanese way of doing biz n building care that are on budget AND reliable…

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Yes it can be done, very possible.
      Look at the Axia, it is all about achieving the economies of scale with standardization. That will lower down the cost. This is actually really good news for the consumers as soon we will have a choice and will end the monopoly of UMW Perodua. As we can see Honda vs. UMW Toyota, the consumers will choose a better value product. It can be said if Proton rebadge the Suzuki Alto, sushi versus sushi… The best sushi wins. As for now proton need to work very hard on its customer after sales service quality if they want to win back their customers and beat UMW Perodua.

• Ramli on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:52 pm

P1 is
    like a prostitute sleeping with everyone and producing bastards.
    Look at their offsprings.
    Inspira Accordana Renault Citroën
    all failures !!
    Just offer an equty stake to these major
    manufacturers as P1 can offer nothing
    in return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Veneno on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:01 pm

please don’t rebadge, please don’t rebadge..

• Jgnlah negative Sgt..aku guna Suzuki Swift tahun 2008..service tak ikut Service Centre pun..rosak tahun 2014 start.dgn absorber..Gear box n drive shaft baru ganti bulan 4 2015 haritue..rosak kecik2 normal..mentol terbakar..lain2 so far OK..km200000++

• Zaid… aku pun guna suzuki swift 2005 first edition. Gearbox pun cam nak lingkup dah… how much hah..tukar GB tuh..? sory ya… hijack jap..

• Kishamali on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Iriz betul2x Onz !!
    Game changer !!
    Global car !!
    Smart guys get it !!
    Drive it to believe it !!
    All down the septic tank.
    Back to re badging after all these years.
    What a blow to Malaysian’s for supporting P1.
    And the billions down the drain
    for useless R&D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Who said only got P1 & P2 car to buy? Still got GWM what….they have existing A segment car not in Msia market yet.

• That’s a big deal by Proton. Sharing platform is common these day. But rebadge another car is …… dunno to say what ….

• huehuehue on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:09 pm

one way to beat perodua is by using ESP as stanďard and not put some ahbeng looking bodykits

• My 2005 Vios still very good… not much problem… no power window issue… no aquarium issue…

Maybe Proton should consider signing up with Toyota to produce this Vios… although 2 generation back, but very reliable, low cost to maintain, still good looking… more solid (bukan tin kosong)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Bring it on. . on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Wht happened to their own engine? Let me guess. ..FAILURE, not to mention since Juara (the present box become zero) untillllll today Iriz (also failure)..i lost count of how many models keep failing. .till DRB campur tangan bla bla bla..
    And now Suzuki,next chapter. ..well… i can’t comment until the day comes. .

• driver on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:48 am

proton doesnt have small capacity engine to start with.. Petronas E01 series is for 1.8L and above.
      Campro 1.3L and 1.6L.
      then here comes Suzuki for < 1L segment.

• Sam Looser on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Its time for Pariahdua’s demise. Been shortchanging rakyat for far too long in the A- segment.

• firdaus on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:26 pm

OMG….Suzuki?
    Why does Proton always want to beat P2?
    Just because 1.0 Axia selling like hot cakes,
    P1 also want to grab a share.They will end up
    getting their fingers burnt.

Proton is good in safety and suspension now.
    The only problem is the outdated Campro.
    Better for P1 to get a 1.3 and above engine from a
    Japanese make(no european please) and concentrate
    on this segment only.And they need a good design guy to head the design dept.(both inside and outside).

If only I was the CEO of Proton!

• Because axia is crap moving coffin

• Because P2 is tapping into their market. LOL!!!
      As for design. I cannot agree with you. I used to hang around with P1 designers in house and out sourced. I’ve seen some of their designs and it’s very nice and up to date. But when you ask why these designs are not in the market? Because all lies in the decision makers hand. (the top management). It’s their taste that’s killing the designs.

• Rangers on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:16 am

as much as I hate protong, i think you are right at their achilles, the campro.

Protong can
      1) source others engine and develop own platform based on that. Many others do that also. So these probably position a certain segment (SUV, Sedan, sports car, MPV, whatever). The people can learn from here is a lot. Of course the material sourcing from Cronies is separate matters to make economy of sense since MAS also 30% higher, Protong probably 300% higher…and then
      2) develop own green or smaller capacity of car for future…

I serious hope protong will success, but with current management and attitude, its hard…only removing the protection will make competition and improve, history already shown..

Or else, just like MAS, many layoff will come, and either country bankrupt for funding all these NON-PRODUCTIVE business. (Car, Cow, Shrimp, everything failed)

• Henry on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:06 pm

It won’t work. This will just prolong the agony of the perennial money losing company.

• Suzuki is of course the king of small cars is why the language of announcement is the most boastful from Proton. Rebadged the Suzuki Alto should do very well against Perodua but Perodua is one step ahead with program for Sedan which is a better and more profitable segment. You can’t beat your competitor by going down market, especially if you are already stretched for resources and baggagge from your legacy business. This is survival and if they fail on something major, they will have stretched themselves too thin and will have to be screaming for bail out..

• I don’t get this backward step, again, by PROTON.
    When you launched the Waja, then the awful Gen2, horrible Savvy, Personal, Prèvé, Suprima and the Iriz, you shouted your climb from a badge engineering brand to a full top to bottom carmaker (including the stuffy CamPro).
    And here we are again looking like we took the Delorean to travel back to 1985 ironically when HICOM and subsequently PROTON was set up.
    There just isn’t any planning, is there? The Prèvé is due for a facelift and yet none seem to be forthcoming. Which is a repeat of the Perdana blunder.
    PROTON also needs to come up with a solution to the service is a huge consideration when considering a purchase. When you have a huge brand quality distrust and a large gap in service vis-a-vis customer expectations then you’re actually on the slippery slope at both sides of the mountain; you can’t climb up and when you do, you’ll slide down so fast no airbags can save you.

• Suzuki is of course the king of small cars but you can’t beat your competition by going down market. Suzuki has been king of small cars for a few decades in Japan and has never translated that into competing with the bigger boys.

Furthermore, Perodua is one step ahead with its Sedan plans already moving. This just gives them greenlight to move faster which is bad news for Proton. Its another classic example of politicians who don’t really know industry and competition that is best left to private sector..

• Suzuki did tried with bigger boys. They did it with sx4 sedan and then Shizaki but both failed terribly.

• abarthh on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:44 am

Can I say that Suzuki is “sekufu”/same level with Proton? Hence will make the JV works. While T & H brand is too big for Proton, choosing Suzuki as partner I think is the good plan. Plus the point Suzuki can offer engine/car for A segment, that’s a bonus!
    Competition wise, Proton shouldn’t think to directly compete with P2 only, but should think about other OEMs as well.

• Rangers on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:46 am

AHAHAHAHHHAA, enough of all those R&D stupid shxt.

Protong is a failure after all these years, but a rebadge company.

Why dont just close it down and re-sale suzuki for as Protong dealership.

And these people has no shame.

• What? you need Suzuki to HELP you to develop a small tiny car? You can even built a small car by yourself? Ada hati nak buat big cars.