B8 Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion revealed – 32.4 km/l

Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion

The B8-generation Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion has been revealed for the UK market. Models designated with the BlueMotion tag represent the most fuel-efficient non-hybrid Volkswagen vehicles. As expected then, the same story is repeated here on the new Passat, which is available in either a sedan or wagon body style.

Based on the regular ‘S’ variant, the Passat BlueMotion is distinguished by its 17-inch ‘Soho’ alloy wheels, wrapped in low-rolling resistance tyres. Aside from that, external differences include reworked front and rear bumpers, chrome front grille highlights, BlueMotion badging and 15 mm drop in ride height – the latter courtesy of a sports suspension setup.

Under the bonnet lies the most significant change, of course. The Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion features a reengineered turbocharged 1.8 litre four-cylinder TDI diesel engine that pumps out 118 hp and 250 Nm of torque courtesy of a selective catalytic reduction (CRS) system. As a result, CO2 emissions now stand at 95 g/km with fuel consumption rated at 32.4 km/l, on both the wagon and sedan variants.

volkswagen-passat-gte-plug-in-hybrid-1

Volkswagen Passat GTE plug-in hybrid.

Paired exclusively to a six-speed manual gearbox, the Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion completes the century sprint in 10.8 seconds and tops out at 209 km/h – the wagon variant stops the clock in 11 seconds dead while top speed is rated at 207 km/h.

Inside, the Passat BlueMotion comes with a 6.5-inch Composition Media infotainment system and start-stop as standard. Other tech/safety bits include Pre-Collision Braking System, driver alert and battery regeneration. The sedan variant is priced at £23,200 (RM135,833) for sedan while the wagon is slightly costlier at £24,750 (RM144,908). Order books are now open in the UK with deliveries set for August 2015.

GALLERY: B8-generation Volkswagen Passat previewed in Malaysia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Areyousure on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Where are all the party members today?

• Peminat on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:44 pm

kalau la bukan sebab gear problem…dah lama jadi milik ku…

• niki minah on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:36 pm

belum kluar dh tau gear problem. peh power lu brader

• fukisan on Jun 18, 2015 at 3:27 pm

abis tu beli aje la.. dsg issue kan dh solved. lagipn, ak pemilik vw jugak! kete ak sgt memuaskan! haha

• DSG DSG DSG on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:50 pm

VW, you can’t claim 32.4km/l when 20 of those km came from being on a tow truck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Hoi…cannot read meh? This car is 6 speed Manual. NO DSG in this car. Should be good buy if price is RM100K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Hey bro, this car can help you to save a lot of petrol as you need to walk instead…

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The money you spent on this car is much more than the fuel you saved.

• Not same Lorr on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:35 am

And you spent more time commenting than you do your work lor.. own 1 vw first then talk.

• shawal on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Handsome car…
    VW shud bring it in full spec with a 8-speed auto box sourced from ZF ….no DSG please…

• Jasjos on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:51 pm

I wonder how many ppl here who complains about DSG actually owned a VW before, or is it just coffee shop hear say. Yea, there are teething problems with their DQ250 gear box, but that doesn’t mean every single product coming out of the VW production line is problematic. I also wonder if there are any proof that says its the heat in our tropical weather that is killing the DQ 250. It’s not like summer in Europe is cooler than our weather.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Acrix on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:34 am

My family has 2 VW currently. A 2013 Scirocco 1.4 TSI and 2014 Gold 1.4 TSI. My Scirocco has mechatronic problem at 30,000km and 60,000 km and both times required to place at service center for 2 months before repairs are done. Best of all the second time the DSG failed it was during my wedding day.
      My brother Golf had same mechatronic issue after using the car for only 10 months then have to leave car inside service center for 6 weeks also.
      So i will say yes the DSG is faulty and i am not the only owner who faced DSG related problems. No matter how good the car drives it is not worth the hassle.

• Abubakar on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:41 pm

I am an ex golf gti owner. Ex because the gearbox gave way before I can even sell it at a reasonable price. Seriously, if you drive sensibly, change the dsg fluid before the recommended oil change it should extend the lifespan of it. But who will drive sensibly especially with myvi and vios tailgating everyday? Another relative of mine, Passat owner, visits the workshop more than her going to the dentist for monthly checkup. no curtesy car. Always “wait for hq to come and verify”. I’ve also asked few owners in the service centre but they have no problem with the gearbox. So maybe I’m just unlucky.

• DSG gear box still got problem ka?

• sleepy on Jun 18, 2015 at 3:24 pm

no more for so long dy.. i never heard ppl complaining over the dsg issue recently

• Heng Lee on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:56 am

‘Paired exclusively to a six-speed manual gearbox’

You didn’t read the article, did you? Or possibly you don’t undestand the term MANUAL?

• Not same Lorr on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:38 am

aiya… people when see VW article, he faster comment badly.. when Toyota and Honda.. wah comment good. trust me, he is actually destroying german and japanese car brand lor.

Proves that he dont read this article before he comment.

• yukadeer yusoof on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:08 pm

which workshop did u go? because when i at vw sc sg.besi, one of vw owner there said he received vw sharan as courtesy car. yeah, i’m one of them who have no problem with the gearbox.