Perodua Axia chalks up 119k bookings, 75k delivered

Perodua_Axia_Advance_ 001

Looks like the Perodua Axia is set to continue its strong form as the marque has just announced that its latest model has raked up a total of 119,000 bookings since its launch in September 2014. The nation’s second car manufacturer has also delivered a total of 75,300 units of the Axia at the end of May.

The achievement is all the more significant when one takes into account that the order books for the hatch was first opened in August last year. Earlier this year, Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, told members of the media that the marque was facing a bit of struggle trying to keep up with demand – talk about first world problems.

From the looks of it, Perodua might not have a problem in achieving its 2015 sales target of 208,000 units, a notion further augmented by the launch of the facelifted Myvi. Additionally, potential owners of the Axia might be enticed with the introduction of its accessories range, dubbed GearUp.

GALLERY: Perodua Axia Standard G

GALLERY: Perodua Axia Advance

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Since its launch sept 2015?
    Future??
    Typo mistake, Gregory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Perodua Moving Coffin on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Dumb people choose moving coffin Axia cause they don’t value their life. Smart people will choose Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 78
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Malaysians only want CHEAP and RELIABLE car. Enough said.

You drive recklessly on the road like mat rempit tailgating the lorry, 5 stars ACEANCAP Iriz also a moving coffin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 9
        • Nazgul on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Perodua employee will enjoy good annual bonus this year if they achieve sales target. Now they’re doing great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Low Class Car on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:50 am

This car is really a low class car. It is for the Mat Rempit who has just upgraded his life. The Mat Rempit now has to get married because he accidently got his prize awek pregnant. Yes, this is the prize awek that they put as prize whoever wins the remput race at 3am in the morning on the Kesas.

So now, to show his in laws that he is repentant and on the family way, he buys an Axia. But deep inside, his rempit ways are still there. That is why Myvi and Axia owners always tailgate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
          • Go to P2 factory in Rawang, see the people there. Then go to P1 factory in Shah Alam, see the people there. It won’t take a scientist to see that P1 factory workers are mostly mat rempit.
            Proton, built by mat rempit for mat rempit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • You buy mat rempit or car?

• dugongx on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Most iriz i see on the road drive normally. Its the myvis that are driving like rempits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Low Class Car on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:11 am

Perodua, please don’t give us anther Moving Coffin. Our lives so cheap is it? If Picanto can have VSC and 6 airbags, why you cannot give this as standard?

That is why this Axia and even Myvi cannot be sold in Europe. Safety fail.

Please stop cheating Malaysians Perodua. Give us anothe rMoving Coffin. Ooops I forgot, your biggest shareholder is UMW, now wonder you give us another moving coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Low Class Car on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Perodua, are you like Proton? Selling us for 30 years cars with no VSC and 2 airbags (hopefully it works)?

• myvimi on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Iriz got VDC lor, myvi even VSC dun have

• Proton scare already on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:27 pm

After Perodua achieves sales target, now Proton has to collaborate with Suzuki coz scare no sales later. Smart people buy real Suzuki, not ‘Prozuki’. Dumb people buy problematic Proton coz they like to be in Proton’s workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Gregory Sze (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:09 am

Whoops! My bad. Living out my time-travelling fantasies a bit too much there. Thanks for the spot!

• Same Lorrr on Jun 18, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Buy Perodua & Toyota better.. good RV

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:13 pm

That is probably why i10 and Picanto sales are single digit now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • cynical on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:23 pm

..its launch in September 2015. You mean 2014?

• james on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:24 pm

“Looks like the Perodua Axia is set to continue its strong form as the marque has just announced that its latest model has raked up a total of 119,000 bookings since its launch in September 2015. The nation’s second car manufacturer has also delivered a total of 75,300 units of the Axia at the end of May.”

typo error discovered “launch in September 2015”

• kcng (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:26 pm

With Proton JV with Suzuki, Perodua days is numbered!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • Don’t syok sendiri la.
      How many Suzuki sold last year? This JV won’t improve Proton sales. It will just drag down Suzuki.

• Superman on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:48 am

Suzuki is another dying brand in Japan. Even VW kicked them out after a year in their group. Proton going even more low with this plan. why bother compete with P2 and others when you have no chance. Proton need to be sold to a proper company to be re invented. DRB already sucked all they need from P1 and now bringing another one of the warga companies to force p1 of saving their sales. Honda project is up in smoke already due to many tech and behind the scene matters. if they go like this P1 will be dead by end of 2015.

• protoncoffin on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Proton is now moving coffin for rebadging sushi cars

• myvicoffin on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Bashing cars that are not yet out is plain stupid

• Bashing other cars that are not out yet is stupid. Bashing Proton’s car whether out or not will not go wrong.

• abg misai on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:27 pm

I think there is a typo there. How come it is launch in September 2015 but got a lot of bookings :D

• Game changer on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Next is Perodua Sedan to enjoy similar big bookings and 1 million sales like Myvi.

Anyone with half-empty car factory better sell it to Perodua to meet the big demand!

#1JutaPeroduaSedanCar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Proton really needs to produce some advertisements to feature its strong safety features as Perodua is always lack of. Malaysian should be educated on how important of it~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Joe Jambu on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:38 pm

A lot of Malaysians are dumb (47% of the popular vote last GE) and only see the price, whether its buying price or the resale value ..no regard for safety…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • VHL Loo on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm

For Perodua Axia, the variant that can go for it is either RM24k basic E manual or at most RM33k G auto. More than RM40k Axia (SE and Advance), it’s always better off with Iriz 1.3 manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • No choice …

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:17 pm

UMW Perodua thinks Malaysians life is cheap, gave their customers only two airbags, no vehicle stability control, no five star safety test and a stupid plastic body kits. Hope this will change when the CKD Suzuki Alto and Ertiga MPV is here.

• lifeless on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:22 pm

anybody know how many fatal crash involve axia’s?

• nabill (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Seriously, that says alot about the msian consumers rather than the car itself… I thought we r in 2015 ody…. We hv to damage our eyes seeing this ting everywhere now… Maybe p1 should jus make a car, crappy, shitty spec, give that deluded japanese origin n sell it.. I bet its gonna be successful…

• to rebadge or not to rebadge on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Funny to think that many seems to say that proton rebadged sushi car but perodua did not. At least proton has its own engine and produa has always been a mak andam.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:34 pm

When I get out from my house n walk to my car I see an Axia parking next to me. When I drive to a petrol station I see an Axia refueling next to me. When I’m stuck in a jam there’s an Axia in front and behind of me and now one of my friend wants to buy an Axia. I’m pretty sure if someone were to kiss my car’s ass on the road it will be an Axia.

Yep the Axia is Das Auto for every Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Rangers on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:41 pm

RIP Iriz….you hardly seen on the road, i see more Ferarri more than Iriz nowadays..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Congratulations to Perodua on their achievements with the Axia. I am looking forward to more news on their export plans.

• Other than cheap,it is just cheapo.
    inside out.
    everything.the look,the dashboard,the door panel,even the aircon knob,feeling cheap even mention it.
    but it sells.
    so not necessary good products sell.
    iriz is lightyears better but its sale speak.
    proton please learn. Malaysian prefers cheapo product.
    you know it as your saga sold the most.

• 119k booking, those ppls really sohai and stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • Sohai & stupid on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:14 am

I just booked a Axia 2 weeks ago and I’m getting my car next week. This cheapo shitbox is my first car. I’ve been risking my life for the past 8 years riding on two wheelers shit metal. I pay the car with my own money every single cent of it. I take no money from my parents. Thanks to P2’s coffinshitbox, I might die with my head still attached to my body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • myvisalesdrop on Jun 17, 2015 at 7:39 am

axia 119000 (assume all sold)
    total sales 208000 (assume target achieved)

difference 89000 for myvi, alza and viva.

obviously P2 has killed their own other models. what’s the sale figure for myvi out of 89000? the average sales for the other three is just about 29,6667 units.

comparing myvi with iriz which one got better sales? mmmmm

• How come you are so stupid? part of the 119K were sold last year and shouldn’t be included to this year’s sales target.

You should have the answer between myvi and iriz.

• frossonice on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:25 am

This.

People keep forgetting that Perodua conveniently left out MyVi sales figure for quite some time now. What is the current MyVi sales figure since it is the real competitor to Iriz?

• Super on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:12 pm

hello brother, baca la article tu betul2. The 119k bookinfs refered to Axia. I repeat Axia. Out of 119k bookings, they managed to deliver 75k units.

This year P2 aim to have total sales of 205k. Let say, Axia manage to get 100k units, so Myvi n Alza will have 100k units sold as well.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:36 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Buck Rogers on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:31 am

Small, fast and more dangerous than MYVI.

• Buck Rogers on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:35 am

Small, fast and more dangerous than MYVI!!!

• freddie on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

I shivers everytime I heard the name Axia, it sounded like Axle and Perodua cars are known to have it’s axle pops out on the road :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I would rather seen driving the Axia rather than been caught red handed in a Kia or Hyundai

• SUZUKI HEAD ON WITH DAIHATSU on Jun 21, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Definitely P1 will survive selling any japanese car.

• Bob is Bobby on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:42 pm

all i read was “119k more cars on the road to cause further traffic congestion”