Proton to CKD and sell a Suzuki model under its brand

proton-alto (1)

More details on the Proton-Suzuki collaboration from Suzuki’s press release – the first step of the marriage will see the Japanese carmaker supply CKD components for a Suzuki model to Proton.

The model, a compact passenger car, will be manufactured at the Tanjung Malim plant from around August 2016 and be distributed and sold under the Proton brand. And it may not be the only one – according to Suzuki, additional models will be mutually studied as well.

The release also mentions the possible supply of Suzuki engines and transmissions to Proton in the future, while the installation of such engines and transmissions in Proton models will be studied.

The initial product is widely believed to be Proton’s first A-segment car, aiming to help it encroach into Perodua’s playground and its runaway success with the Axia. Conversely, Perodua is working on its first sedan, widely believed to have the Proton Saga in its sights.

Alto? Celerio? Your guess is as good as ours for now, but we can’t wait to see exactly how much re-engineering Proton will eventually carry out.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:14 am

Please…! Close shop already…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 60
    • George Abdul on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:49 am

I prefer this Suzuki engine over CamPro anytime!

Proton finally wakeup/realised after monopoly 30 years that CamPro engine are the worst !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:46 am

Bravo! Proton back to the right track.
        No point burn billions ringgit developing shitty model with junk engine/transmission end up no one give a damn about it.

Malaysians don’t mind it is rebadged car (look at Axia/Myvi/Alza), Malaysians only want a CHEAP and RELIABLE car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 16
        • Black Dog on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:11 am

What Proton always have the mind set of competing with Perodua only? Are they supposed to compete in the world?
          Can’t they produce niche products? A fine example (which I mentioned years ago) is a B-segment SUV. Even a re-badge SUV which Perodua doesn’t have is still better than going head-on in a war which they never can win!
          Get ready the coffin please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • Huh? Since when only p2 has A segmenter here? Get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • Tong Kosong on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:59 pm

WTF you man?
            IRIS is created to Destroy MYVI.
            But fail.

New Alto to kill Axia, sold 80K in 4 month

(after failing arrogant Global designe self Mastutrbate syiok sendiri turn proton tuah to Preve)

Later you turn bad design- Please Watch Design it Rich..Discovery Science

shame to you Milo Azlano..
            “dream big small dick”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • koorz on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:17 am

Later people also want safe car, not moving coffin p2 or Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Yes, automobile industry eventually will make the 6 airbags and VSC as common as today’s seat belt.

Ccurrently, you can get these on our Altis, Camry, Prius, Prius C, 86. You can also get it from City, Mazda2, Mazda 3 and many more.

As I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • protoncoffin on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Proton is becoming moving coffin by rebadging sushi cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
          • koorz on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:33 pm

p1 is not like UMW who stingy to give VSC and more airbags.

Same Lorrr why not saying Vios? Why? Why? Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • nosushi on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Say no to rebadging sushi moving coffins!! Only good ones please!!

• norebadge on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Say no to rebadging sushi! Proton memalukan negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Imagine one day all Toyota has 6 airbags and VSC.

Comfort – Yes
            Reliable – Yes
            Fuel Saving – Yes
            Good RV – Yes

Other car brands can close shop straight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • Close Down Proton on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:24 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about low quality Suzuki when 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with Suzuki? This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 38
          • fairytales on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:22 pm

You better go to school again. Too much imaginaries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
          • ignorant on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm

If you are ignorant, this is fairytale to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • I told u already, Malaysian too stupid n lazy, not capble to build a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • Proton Kereta Sushi on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Yeah, Proton is becoming like Perodua and there goes our money for the so called ‘R&D’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Makese on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:08 pm

In my perspective, its a good idea for P1 to collaborate with suzuki since P1 got no additional fund to do R&D for other model or segment. few years back, P1 with Mitsu, they manage to came out with Compro engine. but still compro is far more outdated compare other engine. its a good starts for young company to gain technology from others.
        now P1 with suzuki, they might want diesel engine from suzuki or learn how to make small compact car. in global market, toyota dominating this segment. so why not P1 enter market?
        the possible P1 strategy is to obtain diesel engine tech from suzuki, and put in iriz then market in euro. yes, its shameful to rebadge other car. that all i can say

• dicky on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Other brands also do rebadging, it’s shameful too right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Other brands are our national car ah? Cakap apa national car, build own car better than P2, in the end rebadge like P2 juga. Ptuih!

• eims perfume on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:15 am

hit your head to a rock and just get over it.. proton will not close shop at least for now when they are going better and better nowadays

anyway, back to the topic, alauto or celerio are both good in term of fuel efficiency, will beat axia anytime and thats the biggest malaysian a-segment car consumers concern.

just hoping proton will improve the poor suzuki design of the small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • sushioverpriced on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:21 am

Don’t close shop, we don’t want killer airbags in sushi cars! Sushi please close shop..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
    • Albert on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:37 am

Remember,Mitsubishi gave Bolehland a 1970 Orion engine when everyone got excited about the first Proton Saga?
      You think Suzuki will let us rebadge with their latest engine? SHAMBOLIC and desperado Protong is willing to bite the bullet this time.They know their GAME CHANGERS…preve,Suprima,Iriz are all HISTORY.
      With nothing exciting to sell,they will close shop by 2016.They probably get a 1990 defunct Suzuki engine.Anyway,we give the Japanese a decent attempt in this disastrous marriage .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
      • But Inspira has MIVEC engine same in Lancer, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Anak Malaysia on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Tolong jangan sesuka hati tukar nama Malaysia jadi Bolehland. Kau ni rakyat Malaysia ke rakyat Bolehland? Bangga lah sikit jadi rakyat Malaysia.

• IGP mom on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Disebabkan ada ‘sikit’ bangga, Bolehland lah namanya. Kalau tak bangga langsung, dah namakan Takbolehland.

Ingat, apabila Negara bankrupt macam Greece, jangan lupa bangga dengan Najib dan geng dia.

• frossonice on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:28 pm

What problem will it solve then? The gomen will still impose excise tax no matter what. You should pray that the gomen have a little sense left in their small brain and bring the the excise tax so that all car become cheaper.

• wiwiwiw on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Proton wasn’t created by one man with a vision and a passion for speed, beauty and power. It was created because at the time Malaysia was emerging from its Third World status and the government didn’t want its people to buy high-value imports such as cars. So it did what all emerging nations do: set up a factory on home turf that made cheap little runabouts and then put huge taxes on imported cars. The choice for Spanish consumers was simple: buy a Proton Saga (rebadged Mitsubishi Lancer of 1980) for $20,000 or a Honda Civic for $40,000 in 1990. Today an equivalent Proton Preve costs you $60,000 and a Honda Civic costs $120,000. This may seem sound economic thinking but the fact is that when you are making a car for people who are trading up from a mule, and there’s no competition and the bean counters are all civil servants, it’s not going to be very good. And now they’re back at rebadging. 30 years of economic disparity and Proton Perodua cannot survive in the open market with its special protection from the government. So what is proton? A national carmaker? I don’t think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • wiwiwiw on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Malaysians not Spanish, QWERTY auto correct.

• errors on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:11 pm

p1 will still make its own cars. Rebadging is normal practise.

• crony on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:59 pm

We still do our work. Songlap is normal practice

• Hugo Andore on Jun 25, 2015 at 8:23 am

“Rebadging is a normal practise”

Ahhhhhh..just shut the HELL up

• wakaka on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:03 pm

In the end, Proton was not created for the rakyat. Proton was created to menyusahkan rakyat. Instead of making cars affordable, what we got are expensive cars to protect Proton. Isn’t that Ironic? Dear Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Put it this way. If 1MDB goes bankrupt, the money lost would be less than the money Malaysian have subsidized Proton all these years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • prozuki on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:22 pm

noway.. before they close the shop, produce some proton with hayabusa engine or something.. then do whatever you wish!

• Of all the RnD funding, you go and rebrand other cars.. Wat the…..
    Nothing good bout bolehland lately (except for winning in sea games)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Salambangi on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:51 am

Dear Congenital Proton Bashers (CPB)

Not buying Proton is your choice to make but hating Proton for nothing is not nice.I sense that Proton is made scapegoat or there’s a deep sense of hatred in you for some personal issues . You can say anything negative about the car but please don’t be racist. Please appreciate the country you live in and its not Bolehland but Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 33
      • 1Malaysia on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:11 pm

What does criticising Proton got to do with race? Constructive criticism is good for Proton. If you can’t take criticism, please stop making cars

• vossc on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:23 am

What fund? It’s been promised but p1 don’t get it!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:26 pm

as pipu says p1 cannot make power windows n engine working…better just re-badge rite?

• Never-ever learn…..
    Please learn from your mistake …not to repeat it again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • azhar on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:40 am

back to rebadge biz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • akinablue-san on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:25 am

Please la..u know what mazda do here in japan? They collabrate or i can say rebadge suzuki keisha and sell it under mazda logo. Rebadge small car and develope key models e.g axela, atenza, cx3,5,8 etc. I think it is a wise business model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:09 pm

toyota is taking the M2 and rebadge it as a Scion for US market.

• akuma on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Proton is selling Proton as Lotus in China. This is not rebadge, this is tipu orang!

• kcng (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:45 am

Suzuki realize Proton is the only manufacture that emphasize on handling, technology, safety and quality built car, that’s why they willing to JV with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
  • Jason Lim on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:49 am

After so many year of initiative and money poured in,they again back to rebadge
    Hopeless..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • watta??!!!…aww…proton badged suzuki swift? omg

even maruti din bother rebadging

• Jason Lim on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:53 am

Why don’t rebadge BMW cars so that proton truly has BMW quality while buy at cheap price. You have much more money kan?

• Beng P1boy on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:50 am

Bmw are junk worst then Proton anytime…

Ĺousy P2 macai and BMW owner that never grow up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Jason Lim on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:54 am

Good idea as long as they keep it cheap and cheerful

• cendol (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:57 am

Suzuki themselves are irrelevant in Malaysian car scene.
    Want rebadge at least go back to Mitsubishi or Honda.
    We learn from the best, not the worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Low Budget on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:03 am

Proton and Perodua swapping roles, Proton to go for Axia replacement and Perodua to go for Saga replacement. How nice!

• tinmilo on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:42 am

Ya, is abit like KFC started selling burgers… and Macdonalds started selling fry chicken…
      A sign of a clueless marketing and product manager, because when big boss ask why the sales is flat, they will always give excuses of other competitor have this and that.

• applegreen on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:07 am

put proton logo on new suzuki maruti please, 1 litre turbo!

• kampungEGGpower! on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:13 am

suzuki ceo very smart this time…for suzuki that’s the only way to survive here.

• sammy on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:34 am

Osamu Suzuki san, is a legendary CEO / Chairman and well respected in the industry. Suzuki is still making record profit last year despite a market full of big brands. He is someone that knows how to play to his strength and avoid direct confrontation with the big boys.
      If at all this partnership being fruitful, I hope is the transfer of his knowledge to some of our CEOs….

• jaguhproton on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Osamu is smarter than our stupid Proton CEO that always sendiri cakap sendiri syiok

• bring us the suzuki dzire swift sedan.

• I guess the talked about Proton SUV in the end will be a rebadged Vitara, not derived from the Lianhua T5.

• sammy on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:26 am

If they really planning on the A segment, then let it be the Alto “Kei” car!
    And someday, please give us the 3 door Proton Vitara….at RM50k off course.

• finally can on par with bmw

• aXiah on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:27 am

Alto?.. no… too small.. cant compete with Axia.. Celerion??.. Yes!!

• sepul on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:36 am

Nice move?

• I thought proton is gonna utilize its brands new Iriz’s platform to development new model? why they have to produce suzuki small car…

• Kancil turbo and Myvi YRV owners will piss in their pants if Proton rebadge JDM Alto Turbo RS.

• Abdul rashid abdul rahim on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:21 am

Please talk on matters that you have knowledge albeit shallow, otherwise your comments will be biased,hurtful and ignored. Proton feeds 28million Malaysians the past 30 years…please think……

• Abdul's best fren on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:01 pm

You forgot ‘bullshit’. Proton feeds 28 million malaysians bullshit the past 30 years…please spellcheck…

• Abu Bakar on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:29 pm

What did Proton feed you? Weed? Jagung from ‘Jaguh Kampung’?

• ulkamikup on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:23 am

Why dont proton rebadge mini 4×4 (suzuki jimny) which will attract young 4×4 lover to buy. Jimny is fun and easy to drive. look at the old jimny 2nd value now. Rm25k steady price for SJ41 since last 10 years.

• Wow! look @ Dr.M & cronies smile … they can continue sucking rakyat’s blood with AP continue

• freedos on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Ya ya it’s suppose to be all free right?
      Free car, free house etc

• Wow! look @ Dr.M & cronies smile … they can continue sucking rakyat’s blood with AP

• abahko on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:42 pm

still the same taik after all…

• PeroduaBoleh on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:01 pm

brand itself already very bad…as long the name still “PROTON”…no one will trust with that brand.even u rebadged bmw…no one will buy…please change the name first…PROGOAL or what suit with proton role now….hurmm..kutuk2 perodua rebadge..end up..u cannot stand alone ma-the-far-ke

• alto vs viva ,,swift vs myvi

• Amirulahmad on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:19 pm

The Proton branding has gone to the dogs.
    Instead of buildings BMW standard cars
    they have decided to stoop so low to build low budget cars.
    Sack the entire P1 management for having a shallow mind.
    What happened to the global game changer
    business plan ?
    Such pathetic management should be shown the door this very moment.
    Signing JV’s is like toilet paper.
    Hope the Jap’s are not as blind as to just sign off their trade secret to a prostitute.

• meleisyaih boulek on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Congratz Proton getting another MoU/collaboration/agreement/JV/partnership or whatever crap in the last 5 years…
    Lets list it down: –
    1) Mitsubishi
    2) Agency Inovasi Malaysia
    3) Renault-Nissan
    4) Youngman Lotus
    5) Cusco (claim by their fans)
    6) Tata (suggested by Muhyiddin)
    7) Detroit Electric
    8) Hindustan Motors
    9) Perodua
    10) Honda
    11) PT Adiperkasa Citra Lestari
    12) Bangladesh Government
    13) Suzuki

• I suggest proton rebadge Honda accord for their top range model, mitsu lancer for their mid range, and Suzuki for their entry level. no need to waste money develop iris or preve which is a bunch of nonsense.

• u forgot to mention about that islamic themed car JV with Iran.
      i wonder what happen to it…

• kturbo on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Plz bring Alto RS…sure can beat axia…

http://www.carscoops.com/2015/03/suzuki-sports-up-its-alto-kei-car-with.html

• Steve Kok on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Will car price drop if Proton kahwin with Suzuki?

Stop buying Proton.
    Once the buying stopped.
    Proton will have to close shop .

• Suzuki engine with proton strength body frame and lotus handling…fuel efficient, safety,driving pleasure…Marvellous !!!

• Whynot on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:22 am

Sounds like Proton engineering is a wannabe here. What so call NEP and Proton as a protective manufacturer secured are purely a wannabe. After loosing deals with WV and no great improvement from MITSU. All those show off prototypes that is not getting of the shelves or rather it is being shelved. I can see no bright future of PROTON is its R&D draws failures and failure and show shame in the eyes of all Malaysians! Perodua is leading by example not to follow Proton ways and too much politicking in a bias managed company without authoritative from good and sounded engineering designers kills off Proton long time ago only limping on GOVT support and more monies support to this day!

• Protong is raping everyone with this…

• kingkongkang on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:40 am

pity for proton haters here..wasting time giving negative and bad comment for proton but peoples buying cars not refer to thier comment.
    just sleep comfortly and be a malaysian.

• Kici Cujuki on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:04 pm

How bout SMA staff and dealers?? Our future.. Shame on you Proton!!

• Chujuki on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:45 am

Suzuki Malaysia will close all dealer and service center when this happens.

All suzuki will then hv to go to Proton Service Ctr.

• KH Chan on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:54 pm

So now Proton is going to rebadge Suzuki ! By the way, what happen to the technology arrangement signed with Honda when they announced the rebadging of the Accord to Perdana ? Before that, it looked like a reunion with Mitsubishi…..it shows that they have no idea how to fix the problem ! Or have they found the problems yet?