Proton taxi suppliers not happy with SPAD’s decision to add foreign cars to brown TEKS1M fleet – report

DSC_0136b

It was reported in May that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) may add foreign models such as the Toyota Innova to the brown Teksi 1Malaysia (TEKS1M) fleet, currently comprising around 1,000 Proton Exoras. SPAD wants 7,500 TEKS1M units on the road by the third quarter this year, and Proton apparently cannot meet the production demand, The Sun reports.

Naturally, the decision has upset Proton taxi suppliers. Some of them have expressed support for Proton cars’ capabilities and performance as public transport vehicles, despite taxi drivers’ complaints.

Posted by Proton Holdings Berhad on Tuesday, 16 June 2015

“I don’t understand why SPAD wants to add a foreign carmaker to the TEKS1M fleet. I still feel the Proton Exora is already a good car to perform as the one and only vehicle for TEKS1M. SPAD should have consulted us before reaching any decision,” Delivery Special CEO Ismail Datuk Haron told the English-language daily.

While acknowledging a “piston issue” with the Exora, as frequently highlighted by cabbies, Ismail believes these to be isolated cases. The real problem is the delay of vehicle loan approvals by Bank Simpanan Nasional to cabbies struggling to meet the eligible requirements, he told The Sun, adding that about 2,000 Exoras are waiting to be delivered from his company’s yards.

Posted by Proton Holdings Berhad on Tuesday, 16 June 2015

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• RicoT on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:57 am

Still need more tongkat ali to survive, why not accept the fact and innovate yourself instead of spending time complain. Useless excuses as always.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
    • Close Down Proton on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:32 am

So shy Proton. After rape the rakyat for 30 years, still want to rape somemore. We don’t want Proton anymore lah Datuk. Because of Proton, Malaysians have to pay RM150k for a good sedan when the true cost can be RM60k.

Because of Proton, all cars went up in price the past 30 years. How US can sell Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags for US$22k?

Yes, because of Proton, we all have suffered enough. Don’t cry like a baby Datuk, your free ride is over.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 11
      • gobacktoschool on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:11 am

Compare US with bolehland? So funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 48
        • capitalpower on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:00 pm

14 million (USA) vs 600k units (bolehland)
          Go figure the difference of revenue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
          • comparos on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:34 pm

You go to Thai still camry is expensive. 130k (2.0l). In bolehland 140k, so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Low Budget on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Thai’s Camry RM130K
            UMW’s Camry – RM140K
            Is it exactly same spec. arghh? My camparos.

• comparos on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Well if you want to ask why Thai version has more airbags, you should ask UMW.

Hint : Greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Keranamu on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:01 pm

And the Langkawi version is cheaper. Why?

Hint: Proton

• hollo on Jun 17, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Killing p1 doesn’t kill tax

• Macai detected. Booooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • kington on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:58 am

Uber offered better services and other makes definitely have better reliability and lower running costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • najib anak haram on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:03 am

najib lembu nak serang Tun la tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Something to THINK about on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:07 am

Get a life la crony company. If we want other cars, what is your problem? Maybe you are overcharging?

This is like Government of Malaysia. They rent all their Protons for RM221 million per year from a company called Sparco. Why can’t they buy or rent straight from Proton? And maintenance not much either cause Proton comes with 5 or 7 year warranty. Rm221 million is just a rip off.

This middle company also, as with any crony company, maybe overcharging.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • Its spanco on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:22 am

Bro, Sparco is automotive product maker.
      Spanco is the real culprit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • tokmoh. on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:49 am

The name edi chiplak seat brand, indication of a business with not much commercial viability.

ie had it not been govt renting from them, can the business survive through normal course of business in the market?

Songlap, songlap everywhere.

• Messgae to Haron on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:09 am

Delivery Special CEO Ismail Datuk Haron, you also forgot to pay for Albar’s trip to Europe for him and his family.

• JB_KIA on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:47 pm

weird name…Delivery Special CEO or should it be Special Delivery CEO?

• Mari Mari Mari Ikan Bakar! on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:15 am

Nobody wants Exora junk. Proton bull to people it is Lotus technology but it is like ikan bakar, can catch fire anytime.

SPAD cares for us. They don’t want the car to burst into flames and make us ikan bakar which is what Exora is famous for.

Pity the owner of the Exora burst into flames. Proton come out with public press release to say it is not Proton’s fault but the owner’s fault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
  • Close Down Proton on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:24 am

There is no such thing as foreign la. All cars are CKD here. So, jobs created for Malaysians. So, all CKD cars are really local Malaysian cars in actual fact.

What is so special about Proton? Already Proton such over hundred billion ringgit since 1985 inception from of LHDN money.

Maly betul Proton. Suck our money but give low quality product. Global sales ARE ZERO. You want to know why? Quality is so low. Give the contract to supply parts to all the cronies, this what happens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
  • Gargantia on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:28 am

CEO Ismail Datuk Haron
    Just butt hurt that his “Cronies business will be high impacted”.

Open market the real way to achieve 2020. Rakyat hope “cronies system” like him will be destroy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Bomoh on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:30 am

Still “Proton” attitude…
    Solve your problem first before asking ppl to buy your product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • monkies on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:40 am

Show support to local car bez idiot supplier getting money frm that.
    Totally criticise n against when money not coming from dat
    Pigs n champanzies really

• sammy on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:41 am

There is such a thing as “Proton Taxi Suppliers”?
    hell… we need middle man for everything…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:02 pm

If no middle men how can UMNO function properly?
      If no one in UMNO can have ‘middle men license’ then Ah Jib position as UMNO’s president(also P.M.)will be extremely shaky.

• asrul jazlan on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:53 am

This is not about “tongkat menongkat”, should be study the reliable is also include maintenance. Taxi driver is not reach people, I have experience before help my uncle during the Limo used Renault, Perdana v6 and Waja. Yes you can say Renault is good, but this is taxi the distance per day is very high compare normal car. Sometime I help my uncle to drive his car to ensure his Limo can bring as much as possible passanger per day. What happen to the Renault? my uncle Renault maintenance is very very high compare his other friends using Waja Campro. Not all workshop can do Renault and the charges is very expensive. I not sure about Exora, but local or real CKD car is reliable because spare part cheap and everything can be done almost all workshop. My suggestion SPAD can decide to use other brand but make sure major part is supply by local vendor and produce here. The advantage is to support local automotive industry expand and long term support reliability on the car itself.

My uncle now stop to drive Limo and driver for other company.

• Low Budget on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Your comment make sense, Toyota and Hyundai will be good candidates as Taxis these cars have been used as Taxis in many parts of the world.

• camtakpro on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:58 am

Lotus handling and ANCAP 5 star are useless if car cannot move. Proton knew this, so ask Suzuki to help.

Lucky Suzuki sales so lousy got eaten alive by tin kosong Axia, so is a win-win to rebadge Suzuki.

• What suzuki car is competitor to Axia? Suzuki RG ar? LOL

And yeah, everyday got long queue of broken down p1, causing massive traffic jam (in your dream!)

Kakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • teksi buruk on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:58 am

Meh!! Pay such a high fare just to ride in a Proton. Even worst that I had, an old iswara with its A/C not working and has smelly feet ‘aroma’ inside. It was in KL Sentral btw. Not in a kampung or even out of KL.

Not to compare, but European taxi are all nice and expensive cars. Luxury. I even saw a Tesla taxi in Amsterdam. Reluctant to try to have a ride but didn’t managed to due to lack of times. That’s worth to pay to ride in.

• “While acknowledging a “piston issue” with the Exora, as frequently highlighted by cabbies, Ismail believes these to be isolated cases. The real problem is the delay of vehicle loan approvals by Bank Simpanan Nasional to cabbies struggling to meet the eligible requirements, he told The Sun, adding that about 2,000 Exoras are waiting to be delivered from his company’s yards.”

Car got quality problem but blames the bank. Champion! LOL

• What piston issue, never heard of it

• tokmoh. on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:55 am

Isolated case aleuto dia.

• youaredreaming on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Yes many Exora got piston problem, everyday got Exora towed by sam’s friends tow truck. Can beat number of myvis moving on road.

• TooSilly! on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:54 am

New Exora taxi is modified to have a slightly popped hood to allow better heat dissipation. This is from my own observation and understanding from my recent trip in an Exora taxi.

• The cars you provided are not good that’s why taxi driver complaining, further more, Proton cannot meet the production demand, now still want to blame SPAD?

• cobra on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Customer has a choice of what to buy. Doesn’t make sense to complain. If want more sales, be more hard working. Don’t be lazy and cry like a baby. Please grow up!

• Government should stop protecting Proton already.

We should make our country as Assembly Hub.
    reduce all car price and taxes.

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:31 pm

This crony fights against that crony. Rakyat lose.

• smokey on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:54 pm

This Ismail CEO only afraid that his 2000 exoras in his yard cannot sell rather than the benefit of people

some more want to brush aside the “piston” problem raised by the taxi drivers…obviously he wants to downplay any negative news that will affect his sales

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:23 pm

The piston issue affects proton cars which run on NGV. The gas burns hot & melt the aluminium piston. Toyota use stainless steel piston, can tahan the NGV heat. Exora turbo also not spared from piston issue as i hear.

• ben yap on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:47 pm

taxi drivers scared customers want to sit in an innova more than a exora is it?

• Innova ride is luxurious like Rolls Royce Ghost because it has ladder frame chassis and TRD tuned torsion beam suspension.

• DPCraft on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:23 pm

It will be more comfortable if the taxi are foreign cars.

• Almost all the cab drivers who have used the EXORA has complained of the ENGINE problems they face. 100% of them, not as mentioned above, “Isolated cases”. You, PROTON should consider using a bigger engine for your oversized EXORA. The least should be a 2.0. Consider using a foreign engine for the Exora and sales will boom. The problem with Proton, now are your Engines. You have nice designs, I admit and body quality has improved tremendously. BUT your engines, no flexibility of parts like your Japanese counterparts

• biggy on Jun 17, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Use CFE

• camtakpro on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:40 pm

lol CFE. Even Landcruiser ancient 2.4L carburator petrol engine is more efficient and powerful than Camtakpro CFE.

Add in NGV, CFE = Confirmed Faster Explode

• biggy on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:34 am

Stupid comparison, 1.6 vs 2.4l
          Btw, landcruiser has bad handling, rabge rover is much much better

• PakingExora on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:26 pm

As a consumer, i only prefer foreign… Bolehland cars no quality n no safety… Even my dog dont want sit in proton cars

• Teksi Kangkung on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:30 pm

kronies not happy with another kronies….

hahahahah, padan muka….

• panjang on Jun 17, 2015 at 7:27 pm

I dont mind what make the taxi driver prefer.Just the other day a group of taxi driver complaint about high maintenance of their old Proton taxi which most of them comprise of Iswara and Wira.

I dont see where the word ‘expensive’ comes when talking about those model maintenance. No offence to taxi drivers but if they cannot afford to maintain a basic car like wira/iswara what can they expect when using other make?

Routine lube job is cheap but other wear and tear can be bit more expensive. Not to mention they need to serve the loan…well most of them are not eligible for the loan due to reason which we all know.

There is a taxi driver in my area driving a local make.i wonder how he manage to maintain his taxi and at the same time own,restore,maintain a mercedes w123 and…he is the sole bread owner in the family?

• Taxi Union on Jun 17, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Proton is expensive to maintain, even Merc cheaper to maintain

• merccheapo on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:39 am

Yes I agree, they should buy 300K merc, maintenance is very cheap, only MYR20 per 20,000km!

• NoobMalaysians on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Malaysian are paking noob when come to know abt price of maintenance for local and foreign. I used 2 kancils, myvi, waja, civic n merz. I serviced the cars in authorised dealers and still my merz n cicic periodic maintenance is cheaper than bolehland cars. And everytime bring bolehland cars to service, something will be spoilt n need to spend extra money! Please demolish bolehland cars, and only sell foreign cars!

• freddie on Jun 18, 2015 at 10:39 am

I spat to SPAD

• Islandjoe on Jun 20, 2015 at 4:32 am

Crap car for crap taxi service. Proton is a perfect match made and a crap institution like SPAD that lets busses and heavy vehicles speed and be overloaded and kill people each year. Support UBER!