Ops Warta – 3,453 offenders arrested, 17,940 surrender

Cop shop

Since the launch of Ops Warta on May 19, a total of 3,453 traffic offenders with unsettled warrants have been arrested, theSun understands. Federal traffic police chief, SAC Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff, told the English-language daily that the culprits were arrested at their workplace and at roadblocks.

Additionally, Fuad has commented that a total of 17,940 individuals with arrest warrants have voluntarily turned themselves in to the police since the beginning of said operation. Of the 3,543 aforementioned arrests made, the state of Selangor recorded the highest figure with 854 individuals nabbed.

Fuad also disclosed that 2,906 offenders are due to be charged soon while the remaining have since posted bail. The operation is slated to continue during the fasting month. “This is to remind motorists that they cannot escape from the police though they can hide from us,” concluded Fuad.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• yalah2 on Jun 18, 2015 at 9:07 am

how good if the figures are meant for snatch thieves, thugs & others….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Open Letter to Fuad on Jun 18, 2015 at 9:12 am

Fuad got time to arrest offenders. But snatch thieves and robbers, rapist are now full swing doing crime in KL. That, the trafik polis cannot help.

they are too lazy. Motorbike smash windscreen to steal handbag, Trafik polis too lazy to see Cameras and track down the offenders. In overseas, police even go to buildings owned privately to ask their CCTV recordings.

Our polis so lazy to investigate any trafik crime being done. Then you have idiots like kzm who will come here and say Trafik polis is only for Trafik and other criminal offence is handled by PDRM polis officers.

Actually polis is polis. Half the time, Trafik polis see crime done, they don’t bother because they too have kzm attitude, “that is not my job scope”

Trafik polis swear to uphold the law but it seems trafik polis love to waste time arresting people. Why don’t you catch the hundreds of motorbikes who beat trafic lights whilst 3 or 4 polis offices man the 4 way junction?

Why so offences Polis love to let go but got time to go to house to house to arrest people?

Motorbikes beating lights cause severe crashes amongst few cars so motor beating lights cannot be looked as a small offence.

Come on Polis Trafik, do you job. Go above your scope. Every once in a while ronda in neighbourhoods. No harm done. After manning the traffic lights, on the way back to balai, just pass a few houses and ronda 5 to 10 minutes. Go above your duty. DOn’t be lazy and sit in the warong for hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Your thinking is akin to a company having an Accounts & Finance Dept and an Audit Dept. Whenever end of month closing the A&F Dept is swamped and cannot cope, the Audit Dept will be roped in to do the finance work.
      Why not? After all, the auditors are trained accountants too right?
      Who cares about job scope, conflict of interest, professionalism? Just throw them out the window cuz THIS IS MALAYSIIAAAA!

• IGP mom on Jun 18, 2015 at 11:08 am

I’m very sorry so much so that I need to issue an apology to the Malaysia rakyat. I’m so sorry that my son pick on the weak, and decided to strut his muscles by arresting the traffic offenders rather than taking the task to tackle all other criminals. People making police reports daily, with unsolved cases piling up to 10 years and still no action. Big cases cannot solved, small cases don’t even care. So many petty thieves who stole phones, these are easily traceable but they choose to ignore. Small issues, you try making report, the police ask you to go back home. In the end, its all about money. They are looking for money to feed their master, who is running the country to ground.

• Kim A.I on Jun 18, 2015 at 11:25 am

My dear fellow righteous Malaysians, this is your glorious dear leader speaking. I am taking my precious time out from solving our small “frens-dunwanna-fren-anymore” fight to address you, so you must listen to what I say.

I thank you for your resistance to pay your hard earned money to the corrupted, evil, inhumane Gov, and I implore you to continue your stubborn donkey-like resistance to pay your fines. As you know, those who uphold the laws are the cronies and evil Gov agents.

It is our right, as tax-paying rakyats, to adhere to only laws that we deemed right in our opinion and, as tax-paying rakyats, we should be the king on the road, not the police. They should be the one to bow down to us, as our taxes are paying their salaries. The corrupted BN Gov have unilaterally decided that speeding pass cameras and not following the traffic lights are a crime. I say we must rise up and do as we please. After all, we are paying the taxes.

To hell with the road laws, even if we are in the wrong. It is passed by the evil, inhumane BN Gov. We must continue to speed, breakthrough red lights, kill pajeros, kill pedestrians! What are the few hundred un-replaceable lives lost due to road accidents, as compared to the billions songlap by Gov! Resist your human instincts & logic to follow the laws! Kita Lawan!

Once we have toppled the Gov, rest assured, we will magically turn these evil, inhumane, cruel road regulations that the rest of the world follows into humane and kind laws that will bring the full wrath of the New Gov on the offenders if you continue to resist paying fines and continue to break the laws. Then, it would be an act of despicable crime against our law-abiding, kind, humane, understanding New Gov.

So I ask you, fellow righteous Malaysians, to continue to break the traffic laws until we take over, or over-take, whichever we dun care, as long as we in Putrajaya.

As your glorious leader, I thank you for your 53% support and will continue to fight to the end for me and my family, my partners and cronies well-being. All in the name of the greater good for your future. Be at ease for I am the sheep-herder and you are my sheep. I knows best.

Kita Lawan.
    Kita Lawan!
    KITA LAWAN!

• Mc Kangkung on Jun 18, 2015 at 7:14 pm

17 thousands offenders surrendered?

What are the cops for?, Are they even doing the job catching offenders?? These offenders are potentially dangerous to other road users…..

Are you expecting more surrender cases from behind your working desk ka, Mr Polis??