Hyundai patents speed bump detection technology

hyundai-speed-bump-detection

Hyundai has filed a patent with the US Patent and Trademark Office for a speed bump detection system, comprising GPS, camera and multiple sensors that identify and measure an oncoming speed bump’s height, width and curvature. If the vehicle is going too fast, a warning message is sent to the driver to slow down.

According to the patent, the system specifies 30 km/h or less for bumps on standard roads measuring 3.6 metres long and 100 mm high, the same speed for bumps on local roads measuring two metres long and 75 mm high, and 10 km/h or less for bumps on housing area roads measuring one metre long and 75 mm high. It can even recognise ‘fake’ bumps (like a picture of a speed bump painted on the road) and ignore them.

You may deem this pretty unnecessary, but given the number of bumps of inconsistent height, width and shape popping up on so many blind bends in Malaysia with ‘Bump Ahead’ signs often hidden behind trees (or covered with ‘Tukar Tiub Tayar‘ stickers), I’d find this a boon, really. And think about what it could do for autonomous self-driving cars in the future!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• hahaha on Jun 19, 2015 at 10:46 am

Should test in Malaysia… We got lots of samples for sizes and numbers especially in residential areas…

• iqbal1987 on Jun 19, 2015 at 10:50 am

too late lah hyundai.. detect and give warning only some more. mercedes magic body control can adjust the suspension to compensate the speed bump already. huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • mercold on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:59 am

Merc is for old people, old people dun need this tech because they already drive slow.

• nobrand on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:34 pm

So you think all malaysians are so rich to buy mercedes

• In Malaysia, the system will keep showing warnings and eventually the system will rosak because mess up.

• Low Budget on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:58 pm

If our cars don’t hit speed bumps and pot holes every day then we are not Malaysians.
      If our cars don’t get damaged (under carriage, Exhaust pipe, Oil Sumps, bearing, drive shaft) by speed bumps and pot holes once in a while then we are not Malaysians.

• coolie83 on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:06 am

and also it could be great if they or R&D team could develop such “hole” detector on the street/ road (especially in Malaysia) as sometime we tend to overlooked it when we’re speeding

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:48 am

Mercedes will laugh at this. Detect only? Our air suspension can just ride over the bump like it did not exist.

• mercboring on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Santa Fe is much more spacious than crampy A class. Hyundai will laugh this

• boooo on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Only stupid merc drivers will go fast over the bumps. Your tyres are not high enough to go over higher bumps. Truck is wayyyyy better

• das auto on Jun 20, 2015 at 8:43 am

But your Airmatic suspension costs 60k to replace when damaged after only 3-4 years of usage on malaysian pothole roads.

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:57 am

Should have pothole detections as well, since there is a camera already it’s just a software programming away

• Lance on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:12 pm

No need to patent la. No one will do this unnecessary item anyway.

• tinmilo on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Do we really need all this pointless tech?
    After all we did go to driving school didn’t we?
    Might as well make the cars to run on rails…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jun 19, 2015 at 1:00 pm

It can be pretty useful, especially when they resurfaced the roads and ‘forget’ to re-paint the speed bumps with yellow lines.

• thepolygonal on Jun 19, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Good… we also need potholes detection.

• DPCraft on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:09 pm

If you have this technology in your car can drive at about 10km/h on Malaysia residential areas -_-

• ollie on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

run out of ideas for whats next?

• hyundai, is that kia sportage?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Kimchis need this as their cars will break apart easily otherwise.

It is not a feature, but a workaround for the flimsy suspension and weak body of a rotten cabbage

• Sam Liar on Jun 20, 2015 at 8:47 am

But you are lying. My elantra is already 13 yrs and still going strong on the road. My neighbours vios already broke apart due to speeding across too much bumps and potholes.

• In fact, It should invest more at the suspension rather than all those unnecessary detective.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Hyundai can come and test the system within the area of Majlis Perbandaran Sepang. There are thousands of speedbumps here, both official and unofficial with varying heights.

• xoxox on Jun 22, 2015 at 11:02 am

wont work in malaysia….malaysia speed bump are build with non-standard measurement…got fat thin short tall…haha