Kia Surprise Deals – RM15,888 off a Picanto 1.2 M/T!

11393327_10153370532059798_8935460089422198437_o

Naza Kia, the official distributor for Kia in Malaysia, is offering attractive discounts on selected models in June in the run-up to the Hari Raya festivities – the promotion runs from now until June 30, 2015.

The biggest discount goes to the cheapest car in Kia’s range, the Picanto 1.2 M/T – it gets a whopping RM15,888 discount over the RM54,888 sticker price (on-the-road inclusive of GST and insurance), which means that it’s yours for just RM39,000 (a 2013 model, according to a dealer we enquired). In comparison, the automatic variant has its price cut by just RM6,000, sitting at RM53,888.

11402651_10153370586164798_8997163388164105018_o

Yes, we know, it’s a manual, but if you don’t mind rowing through your own gears – which isn’t exactly a hardship with such a light clutch – that’s a downright steal. Let’s not forget, this highly-specced car has six airbags and stability control, and it now costs less than a two-airbag, no-ESP Perodua Axia!

Other deals include those for the Cerato range – the base 1.6 KX now has a RM5,680 saving over list price (down to RM83,999), while the top-spec 2.0 sees a RM7,680 discount that puts the price down to RM110,000. The mid-range 1.6 SX gets the biggest discount among the trio – RM8,480 off its RM99,480 retail makes it RM91,000.

Kia Picanto 1.2 A/T and M/T

Kia Cerato 2.0

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Pretty,
    Resale value of second hand Kia Picanto 1.2MT has just dropped by RM15888 today.
    Pity those who buy that car earlier on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 12
    • cincau on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Lelong bukan budaya kita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
      • Gargantia on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Seriously even it does drop RM15k it still cost RM 39k.

Is far to expensive to a common Rakyat, Axia top spec or B-segment mid-spec Iriz still better choice over this…

Cronies company just can closed shop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 39
        • karam singh on Jun 19, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Wow,Imported car price less with good specs compared to our own P2 and P1..
          only 39k for car with 6airbags&ESP.
          thats worth for money,safety all the way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
          • Camry RM150k - No VSC 2 Airbag on Jun 20, 2015 at 11:58 am

How can a small car give 6 airbags, VSC and loads of other features, CBU and all that and our beloved Camry kosong?

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
        • Hadi75 on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:41 pm

It’s cheaper than axia la…with better spec and safety features…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
        • Nazgul on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:35 am

Any improvement on Kia after sales service now? This is really worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:37 pm

More sour faces i will see in the showroom.

As long as it is kimchi, it has not RV. Somemore with RM16k discount?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 42
        • Camry RM150k - No VSC 2 Airbag on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Only sour fce is yours. We all know your lies. Toyota has got the worst RV in town now because everybody knows Toyota cars got ZERO safety features.

2013 Toyota Altis 1.8 accident free now being sold for RM65k. Advertised for RM68k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 21, 2015 at 12:28 pm

I know you try to trade your junk 2014 sonata to me at RM 12k and i rejected. You are just too hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:23 am

I prefer driving Korean car with better safety than Moving Coffin. full stop .

• karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:29 am

Toyota not giving much discount with more bodykits (instead of safety) for their cars to control the price/RV.
            But peoples always win, peoples chose safety.
            less demand means less RV.
            UMW Toyota going down and down.

cc- greedy Sam Loo hailat with moving coffin

• of coz la bro..because what u saw in mudah is E spec less spec…no VSC

• camtakpro on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:38 am

That is because the useless top spec Altis was fighting with the Civic FD2 2.0… and the low spec couldn’t even pull people from Forte 2.0 price… a 10.5 gen engine refresh did nothing anyway.

Now the rough Civic FB2 and pricier Cerato will give way back to Altis.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:42 pm

u don wan cheap car? how to achieve 30% price decrease if pipu like u dont wan RV drop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • cendol (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 7:08 pm

What is the reason MT drop more than AT??
        Because many MT stock backlog and want to clear stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Only otak udan glike you believe this is Government’s effort to keep to their 30% promise of car price reduction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Correction.

They are now just around RM10k for a 12 month old model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Camry RM150k - No VSC 2 Airbag on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:19 pm

We know about your lies bro. 2014 Camry 2.5 done only 22k km and accident free now RM98k, down from RM180k. In 11 months, car can drop so much.

Altis even better. 2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Brand new Altis now RM139k. Accident free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:27 am

Toyota not giving much discount with more bodykits (instead of safety) for their cars to control the price/RV.
          But peoples always win, peoples chose safety.
          less demand means less RV.
          UMW Toyota going down and down.

• camtakpro on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:40 am

Take my money and show me the car.

2014 Camry 2.5 for 98K. I give you 100k, 2k for your bonus.

• dugongx on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Yeah yeah…and vios trd must be worth around RM200 for a 12 week old model.

• dugongx on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:28 pm

That is the price to pay when you want to be the first to get your hands on the latest model. Even viva auto was dropped from 39k to 28k towards the end to clear way for axia. Tho naza need to rethink their marketing strategy. They cannot price cars with premium margin like perutdua.

• Colin Wong on Jun 20, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Sorry, no drop. It is 2013 stock. Read the fine print! Obviously the MT version is not as popular. Looks like somebody’s head is going to roll :-)

• azrai on Jun 19, 2015 at 3:59 pm

KIA salesmen should put their flyers on AXIA’s windshield at P2 showroom. While the early buyer gonna cry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • this kia picanto only 4 star Asean Ncap crash test.
      and Perodua Axia also 4star Asean Ncap crash test.

Kia Picanto is just a milo tin with super fragile body without all the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • huehuehue on Jun 21, 2015 at 9:18 am

do keep in mind that our milo tin picanto in malaysia has 6 airbags to help protect the passengers in the tin milo and even has esp to help prevent the accident from even taking place.. that’s whats worth of a tin milo

• tiffany on Jun 21, 2015 at 10:05 am

worth?? airbags is better than a good body?

Most of the time u dont crash into others, the others crashed u.

soft body gonna make u die.

a kia picanto without features achieved 0 start Asean Ncap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjSy1IjdkPM

• JB_KIA on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:01 pm

WOW! Current owners all kena kencing hujan kuat2!!! Cammane nk bli keta korang kali???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:44 pm

then how want to reduce 30% if u say kena kencing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Cannot reduce if your people still say kita mesti bercukur for everything.

Yes bercukur for 1MDB 42 billion debt!

• samelordupe on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Get this one, p2 toyoda RV crap moving coffin can go hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Yes, please buy this one as Sam has found a secondary market for 12 month old units.

Expect to get RM8k 12 mths later for this cabbage

• hahah on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:03 pm

tak lakulah tu … hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:08 pm

This offer will further kill Toyota the Moving Coffin. Pity Toyota, Kia has just given a bad blow to Toyota evethough Toyota does not have A segment or B segment. Most Vios buyers will rather get a car with more airbags than their moving coffin Vios

Toyota sales has been ZERO the pas few months because the publc now know what a fraud UMW is and how we Malaysians have been cheated with low safety equipment compared with similar Toyota models globally. For example, most Toyota overseas come with 10 airbags and VSC, reverse camera, tyre pressure monitoring system and over 20 safety features as STANDARD and free. Our Toyota, no VSC and kotak kosong. Yet, it is sold for 3x the global price.

Double whammy by UMW. 3x the global price and 20 safety features less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 45
    • karam singh on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:38 am

plus… they only offer 3year/100k km warranty,
      is Toyota that reliable, why dont put 5year or more?
      UMW Toyota really that greedy, less safety with less warranty. Always wanna make large profit.
      Cant wait to see Toyota’s RV going down really2 fast.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:08 pm

It is a real deal for Picanto M/T. Better buy than Axia SE/Advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Are these 2014 stock, if yes, then it is just depreciation, not discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:18 pm

I believe yes actually.

I’ve been aware on mudah, ads for 2014 Picanto M/T going for RM42k, but now it’s RM 39k, dayum racun weiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • One year old New Kia Picanto already drop RM15k..

no need to think about second hand value already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • UMW Salesman Very sad on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:11 pm

All the salesman now sit in the UMW showrooms and always go to toilet to masturbate as their pastime besides playing whatsapp.

Poor Toyota, becoming like Fiat in Malaysia, completely dead. Now, if you use a Toyota, people actually laugh at you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:11 pm

See, just imagine how hailat the existing Picanto owners get now.

Even if selling to their relatives, a 1 year old Picanto will fetch a max of RM10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
    • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:27 pm

That is why UMW showrooms are EMPTY. Toyota cars now piling up in the yards because so hard to sell.

Used car salesman tell me everybody know about Sam Loo and about the lack VSC and lack of airbags.

• steven see on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:40 pm

True…lucky your bought proton saga for your son.

• tokmoh. on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Dayuuuuuuuum, RM 39,000 OTR incl GST and insurance!!!

Aku kena racun bunga chibai hnnngggghhhhh

Test drove the Picanto manual before, loved it a lot. Safety top notch, interior well put, well specced, promising good fc, super light clutch, there’s no excuse cannot drive manual because of jam!

Save the manuals!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
  • Sam LOOser and Same Lor’s worst nightmare brand. Promo or no promo also sure get bashed. KEna condemn to the ends of the earth. At least the cute piccanto is better than the shitty myvi in terms of safety and equipment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Maybe we can start accepting 12 month old Picantos.

The starting price will be around RM8k max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Hardly 18 months old Altis now half the price. Used car dealer beg me so much to take it for RM60 even for a 2013 Altis 1.8

Malu betul

• dugongx on Jun 20, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Economy is bad after gst, our ringgit is falling. Nobody wants to buy a guzzler like Camry and altis. That is why the RV is dropping like bird shit. Ppl prefer smaller cars that sip petrol like axia and picanto.

• Matchy on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:22 pm

I guess they are trying to clear the old stocks for manual due to low demand…

• Dr Mamak on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:25 pm

I still won’t buy from AP King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:52 pm

most car sold in boleh is non-AP anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Local cars also AP lah dungu. There is limited AP for both local and foreign. If most AP go for PEKEMA, less will be given to companies like Honda, Nissan etc.

AP is AP. Only in yor head got 2 different APs. That is what gomen try to fool you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • bunder on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:54 am

Proof?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2015 at 5:34 am

lol…AP is oni for imported item..most sold car sold in boleh is CKD aka locally made..if u still dont know or otak kosong total AP is about 10% of TIV of previous years..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Now I am freaking out. Already my sales are kosong, now this news will kill me. Aiyoo, I so sad, I go home and goncang also, air tak boleh keluar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • please dont buy picanto. My sis bought this car last year and the quality is horrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • wiwiwiwiw on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Wow damn..
    RM 39,000 Brand new
    6 Airbags + VSC + ABS
    Solid build quality
    5 Year Warranty
    CBU From Korea
    I would really go for this Kimchi than Sushi or Ketupat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
    • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:30 pm

CBU car from Korea 100x better than the local CKD junk by Toyota. And Toyota so scared give 3 yr warranty

• camtakpro on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:45 am

This Kimchi is in store room for 2yrs+ and almost reach expiry date. So cheap sale because cannot return the food back to manufacturer.

• tokmoh. on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Paultan should promote manual driving too. It is also part of safety.

As a manual driver, I find it near impossible to focus on driving and texting/whatever you do with smartphone. You can only choose one, so it is safer to force you to focus on driving.

One of biggest complaint about manual is hard to drive in traffic jam, which is irrelevant in modern manual like this Picanto. The clutch is so light, it’s near as no different than driving auto in jam.

In the USA, there’s many failed attempt by thieves to hijack cars when they see the car is manual. So manual gearbox is the best anti-theft system, and at the rate more people are forgetting to drive manual here, it seem more valid here too. So buy manual, safer for you to keep away the thieves.

Sam Loo may say manual no RV, but when you already save RM 14,888 in the first place, why bother?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
    • Fully agreed. I think more manual drivers can help curb accidents as manual actually requires more focus and better precision on speed changes than auto.

The younger generation nowadays are all going for auto which is a shame and it’s reflected the amount of carmakers that opt to push auto and gimp MT as much as possible.

Heck one of my family members who recently started driving uses her left foot to brake and her right foot to accelerate. SMH

• Well said mate ..

The Art Of Driving is still in Manual !

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Sorry what.

Kia, did you guys accidentally add an extra 8 at the back?!

Step right up folks. This is officially the cheapest car on the road with 6 airbags and ESP. And refined body control. Why would you buy the tin from Perodua with the infinite special edition when you can have this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • tinmilo on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:49 pm

RM39k for a picanto….eat this Axia!! 6airbag with VSC!!
    Axia owner who didn’t get your delivery yet, lucky you.
    Those we had, too bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • camtakpro on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:48 am

Axia fresh from factory. This kimchi in store room for 2yrs almost expired.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 19, 2015 at 4:49 pm

thats an amazing price…..

Quite surprised. Basically the cheapest new car with 6 airbags and VSC…if the spec isn’t decontented.

• At that price its Picanto, Myvi, or Iriz. Hmmm?

• Albert on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:15 pm

If Naza can give away Rm15888 in discounts for the Picanto manual,it shows a few things.
    A.They are selling at a loss
    B.A newer version is on the way,just clear stocks
    C.They are giving away their margin, a hefty rm 15888
    D.The bladdy car is not moving at all
    E.They made a big mistake by bringing a manual version ,which nobody wants.
    These bastard sons of the dead tycoon simply cannot think straight,alto they are given so much preferential perlindungan and big APs.Even a Form Five dropout can do better than being caught in such a scenario.SHAMBOLIC MEMALUKAN….and LAZY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 32
    • tinmilo on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Without over analysing it, just look at the simple fact..
      RM39k for a car with DRL, VSC, ABS, 6 Airbags, traction control, Bluetooth, 5 year warranty…
      And put this into the perspective of the competition…
      You still need A to Z reasoning?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Kentway on Jun 20, 2015 at 9:52 am

Sorry, but it is still a manual car. Such a small car is more suited for ladies but most of them don’t even know how to drive manual cars!

• Albert on Jun 21, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Kentway,you are right.
          Tinmilo only tokok,I am sure he wont even go near the dead tycoon’s overprotected sons’ unwanted 2014 manual version.He secretly may be driving sushi cars.
          Tun says some ‘people’ are LAZY.They just tumpang EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN without thinking thro and working smart.
          Without preferential ‘privileges”,they wont be so rich,but still so MEMALUKAN,Lazy and shambolic are the words to describe them.

• superdriver on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Bro the car looks really modern and sporty with tons of stuff for a 1.2 litre. This price just made it really extremely attractive.KIA is a really serious global brand now.If find some one driving one now, you can really tell the dude or dudette is having really fun time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • The large rebate is only for MT which pretty much sums it up. The general public don’t want MT cars.

They want comfort and convenience, they want to be able to use their left hand to check their phones and scratch their noses. They want their left leg free apart from using the brakes. XD

The overwhelmingly large majority of sales from A to C segment comes from AT type cars.

The AT Picanto is still RM52k-54k.

• Anti-Pati on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:29 pm

I would say that this is 2014 stock hence the “discount” so to speak. Heck, that 6,000 discount for A/T looks as if it is permanent – I bought mine this time last year and got the same promo too.

The Picanto is a very good car for its class, refined, safety top notch, and driving dynamics is good to. I drove it all the way to Penang at 140-150 without breaking a sweat (I know, I know, I shouldn’t speed). If you’re a rational buyer this car is the one to go at this price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • jimmy on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Just check with SA those stock are 2014 stocks & some are showroom car. Anyone csn verify?

• Rangers on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:16 pm

What sell at lost?

http://www.kia.co.uk/new-cars/range/compact-cars/new-picanto.aspx

We have been abused by the AP holders for so long that they sell at normal price and we cherish…pity us..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Just found a dumping ground for Picantos and i10.

Set a new benchmark for these shopping trollies trade in prices :-

<12 month old:-
    Picanto=RM10k
    i10=RM11k

12-18 months old:-
    Picanto=RM5k
    i10=RM6.5k

Strongly encourage all to buy kimchis nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Still trying to lie to people in PT here? For years we know your modus operandi. Now backfired on you and not just you but whole UMW salesman suffering because of your dirty tricks the past 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • sam proton saga on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Your forgot…your son 1 8 mths old saga – RM 12k.
      Good choice, now we know why you bought saga.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 7:17 pm

This goes to show ACTUALLY car prices can be very cheap in Malaysia if not because of the ridiculous tax.
    Do you all realise we are being DOUBLE TAXED on cars??
    Excise duty is one, then GST on top of Excise duty. Duty on duty should be illegal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 7:22 am

actually triple tax..import/export tax, excise tax n gst/sst…petty much most country is same..some even have more eg thailand they have import/export tax, excise tax, interior tax n vat(aka gst)

• Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Why compare with Thailand? Thailand eat shit we also eat shit is it?

Thailand semua tempat jual Khinzir. Jadi, Malaysia pun semua tempat boleh jual Khinzir ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • compareus on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:51 am

True. Let’s compare it with USA shall we?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2015 at 2:35 pm

again please refer to comment that i reply to..this is not comparing but sharing info since thai is boleh neighbour n it is not practical to list all the country anyways

• abuden on Jun 21, 2015 at 7:06 am

And still Thailand end up selling cheaper cars than us. This shows how much bolehland is eating in between

• kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2015 at 6:22 pm

not all car..oni limited to thai local made model…try compare CBU car sold in boleh n thai

• The taxes rate that concern us. Look, how much their base and selling price compared to us in Malaysia. Don’t you think by lowering down the taxes rate(especially excide duty) over years should actually give a good pressure to local brand to make an international vehicle?

• maybe even quadruple tax because of the bank loan interest.

• dugongx on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:26 pm

They are selling at a loss. The picanto is selling at the UK with starting prices from 8000 pounds ( RM 47600). Current conversion rate is 5.95.

This is a real steal. Its a solid car. Pls dun compare with tin keranda kosong like axia, myvi and dugong vios.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Very good deal. It should wack P2 badly as the specs & safety much better than P2 cars.

• Nenek Kau on Jun 19, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Last month i drove a brand new or corolla/altis for a week and on the next day, i drove a 2014 cerato. To be honest, i didnt expect at all that altis is really an all rounder shitty car compared to that humble cerato!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • sick&tired on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:45 pm

very good deal indeed!

• This is not something new
    RM39K was on offer since April…

http://www.mudah.my/Kia+Picanto+M+-35139525.htm?last=1

• Kentway on Jun 20, 2015 at 9:49 am

Somebody made a boo-boo at Naza Kia to bring in manual Picantos. Now they found it cannot sell so have to offer deep discounts. In Malaysia you can only sell a manual car if it is a performance car or very cheap. There is no market here for a pricey family oriented manual car. How did Naza make such a stupid miscalculation?

• Jobless salesman on Jun 20, 2015 at 10:03 am

The fact that they can sell at such low prices and still make a pofit showed how overpriced e original prices were, in case u didnt notice, almost none of the foreign makes listed car prices go nears the most expensive p1p2 models in the same range…r u telou g me none of these world classcar makesrs cannot produce a car a cheaper cost vs local bramds. Thanks to protect policy again….prices in us mu h ciper and they income much higher..and dunt try to lecture about our much ciper gas coz we aleady subsidy pay in advance when we buy overpriced cars…look at the fat pofit no wonder second hand luxury cars they kip bringing in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • binggan on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:04 pm

The original Naza boss would never make such a silly mistake as bringing in pricey manual cars where there is no market but his sons are not so practical. Protected from the grind of daily life they hardly know how it is like to drive a manual car in Malaysia. The inconvenience can be offset by selling cheaply and I mean absolute price cheap, not value for money cheap. The market for this car is the same as M/T Axia and Myvi and the obsolete Viva/Kancil – the lower stratum of car buyers who just want as low price as possible. Don’t even talk to them about how many airbags and VSC.

• picanto sushi on Jun 20, 2015 at 3:12 pm

bought a manual picanto early this year. it’s a 2014 make with a discount of rm 128888. it’s a fun car to drive.u can’t get this much of a safety feature with this price. who cares about rv coz our lives is priceless

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Expect to get around RM8k when you trade it in within 12 months.

After that, best to try the scrap yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • the rebate still cannot challenge the one offered by jeep in previous few post :P

• Outsider on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:07 am

Such precious promo only appears in Malaysia. Good price though.

• Henry on Jun 21, 2015 at 12:36 pm

The implementation of GST and the continued weakening of the Ringgit really put a lot of businesses in dire straits. Right now car buyers are having it real good.

• Ong Chee Boon on Jun 21, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Just bought one last week. Yep, it is a black Kia Picanto 1.2 MT. Here is what i think after driving it for almost a week:

1) Engine and Transmission:
    Some might say 1.2 is underpowered, seriously it is still the case with autos, but it is more than enough in MT, if you know how to shift properly. Next thing you know it is very snappy and zippy on the road.

Transmission wise, it is rock solid. Shifting is very smooth and that feel of holding the ergonomic gear knob, is just priceless. How i wish this manual transmission inside my golf tsi as well!

2) Driving and Handling:
    Believe it or not, 14 inch rims (15 for autos) enables the car handle bumps and holes in a very good way, i feel significantly less bumpy compared to the Myvi and even my very own golf.

It is quite stable during turning corners on a normal speed, and the steering feels solid compared to perodua models. The only catch is 14 inch rims tyre is a bit thin so u cannot expect much like a 17 inch would do. Braking is very precise and responsive.

High speed driving is a smooth and stable cruise, and i meant it when i am driving “safely” at least 140km/h (ok not advocating speeding here, as long as you know my point)

Interior and accessories:
    Well MT version lacks fog lamps (who cares) and keyless + push start (for me just a gimmick) and steering audio control, overall the interior looks far more premium than Myvi and Axia. Mine got a little rattling noise on the left passenger door, but it was fixed in a short time (its a 2013 car, now it is 2015 what do u expect?)

And it has USB, AUX, foldable mirror button and all the minor things as standard, but what i love the most is the wide open compartment area just below the infotainment, it is way better than my golf! i could put all my wallet and handphone there so conveniently!

Build quality wise, it is quite rock solid, and i realised that this car is quite heavy despite it is a manual, and the sound of closing door is a heavy thud instead of hollow feel on Axia and Myvi.

Fuel Consumption:
    Ok i will be honest here, Kia is not a leading brand on FC, but this kia picanto is already quite decent in FC on its auto, so i can safely assume MT version is getting even better FC than auto. Around 10-12 km per litre depends how you drive (i am a heavy footer so i get 9-10km per litre of Ron 95)

Safety wise, do i really need to say anything? 6 airbags, ESC, all four disc brakes and ISOFIX! This beats Axia, Myvi, Toyota VIOS, Mitusbishi Attrage or Mirage and Nissan Almera! Only Proton Iriz is faring the same in this aspect.

Iriz would be my alternative (i mentioned it sometime ago), but i can’t resist this attractive discount from KIA! Sure i will lose some power compared to Iriz, but it is a decent A segment! Boot space is small (obviously) but decent enough for basic cargo.

The catch is (non kia specific), its a 2013 car, so it is bound to have some minor problems, so u need to sort and fix them with your salesman and technician.

Second, it is a manual. Not good in a traffic jam, but i agree manual driving should be revived and cultivated in malaysia, because like some of the posters has stated, manual actually keeps the driver focus and engaged in driving and aware of surroundings, and this can actually reduce accident rates and mortalities. In myvi or even my golf, i always have the bad habit of checking my phones during driving (very dangerous)

Overall i am quite satisfied of this car! By the way, it looks awesome and better than current myvi and Axia (my own opinion though) And it has LED rear lights, LED day running lights, and halogen projector lamps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • its a very honest review, thumbsupp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Golf MK7 Owner on Jun 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

An honest and rare review to come by in PT these days ! Very informative indeed. Thanks for a good read.

• camtakpro on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:57 am

Honest because it just sing in tuned with what you want to hear. Just 1 week of driving and owning it… I’ll give you “honest” review 5yrs later:

“… car is shit… clutch wore out due to my aggressive driving so is expected… but engine leaking oil… wait in SC for few months… wait for spare parts arrive from korea… if only internal engine part I still can accept to wait but wait for a freaking clutch plate as well?… some more no replacement car… worst buy ever… cant sell because still owe banks after selling…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Golf MK7 Owner on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Before someone commented on those things u speculated, his review is still deemed honest based on his current owning experience. Just try to be subjective on this discussion.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 21, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Great, need more people like you to but the vehicle new.

Don’t say I did not warn you, but be prepared to be denied promotions, looked down by friends and colleagues, deemed untrustworthy, distched by gal/spouse, having to park far far away at family gatherings, given and funny look by uncles and aunties and most of all, after all that humiliation, I will show you the Hilux within 12 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • BOYRACER on Jun 21, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Very well said.Totally agree with your comment.
      I find the Picanto interior have a slightly better layout and quality than the iriz.With this huge discount,it is a no brainer.I will get this instead of the Iriz.Price for price the cheapest Iriz is only short on the airbags count with 2 airbags,no rear wiper and electric folding mirror.The rest are the same as the picanto.

• irirzwinrar on Jun 22, 2015 at 5:32 am

Who cares about manual when you have aching foot in jam? This is city car really good not long distance unless you dun have many passengers. Better go for auto, Iriz winrar

• tokmoh. on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:45 am

Walau bro, baru one week edi lenjan to 140kph hahaha.

Btw, how u get the fc, agak2? 10-12km/L sounds too low, even for pure urban, it’s official fc is 21km/L, I would expect the real world fc more closer to myvi M/T… if driven sensibly :P

The round gear knob nice right? Dayum syiok shifting it, u feel so in control of the car feelsgood.jpg

Picanto is probably the most effortless/relaxing manual car I have driven, clutch tekan like no resistance at all, like tekan nothing. Steering also very light, may not be good for sporty driving, but hey, it’s a daily city workhorse, so tak kesah. In fact, probably better since it makes steering less tiring.

Congrats on your purchase!

• Ong Chee Boon on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Tokmoh, i am sure nobody will actually believe any car manufacturer’s bullshit type of FC already :) Their FC test is done in a controlled environment. I did mine on real life (hot weather, occasional traffic jams, and aggressive usage) I am actually impressed by its FC, despite having heavier car body weight yet bearing some real grunt within it.

We are being deceived by some carmakers’ FC claim thats why we might feel Kimchis are “fuel guzzling”. In fact, i value safety and build quality more than anything else. Fuel consumption is secondary.

Even my Golf tsi mk6 can only achieve 10-11km per litre on 100% pure city driving, but can achieve 14-15km per litre on highway cruising.

Like you said, it is not for sporty driving, it is a basic car, but with a manual, you can have your own fun with it while being practical. And yes the round gear knob feels really solid and nice at my grip. Would appreciate a colored knob, but hey less than 40k i don’t complain! Light Steering is perfect for city drive and parking!

• tokmoh. on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Manufacturer always say theoretical impractical fc, just use as guide only lol.

More reliable fc can find at forums, owners telling their real fc, or fuelly.

And look, u made me look at fuelly, and found out a commenter here got Picanto A/T lol. Summoning tiadaid :

http://www.fuelly.com/car/kia/picanto/2014/tiadaid/287458

His AT 12-13km/L. Myvi MT normally I see 13-15km/L, which is my expectation of real world fc of Picanto too.

Besides, ur car so new, engine baru mau run in, it’ll get better after few services.

Well, manual is not just for sporty driving, it’s the default choice in Europe. U buy an auto for this kinda car in Europe, they’ll think u either OKU or too much money until hailat edi (their general perception, auto is gearbox for fancy luxurious car).

Manual cheaper to buy, better fc, better CO2 (for Europeans, cheaper road tax), cheaper to service, more robust, best of all, CONTROL! The feeling you’re in control, instead of gearbox dictating, the best.

• Kumar on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:22 pm

The 2013 mt version no more in stock its eems..sad..

• KiaGud on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Buy this one if u want a manual. Better safety, quality, low maintenance compared to Milo Tin.

• Whynot on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:07 am

This shows how much is our cronies are earning by that kind of margins in differences. That is why only rich and tax evaders will buy expensive cars. And sorry to say those $$$$ goes to the cronies! Our Malaysia car prices is way too WAY UP high, does not worth it and is above our heads! Now that the petrol and diesel have no subsides. Proton selling SUZUKI. You are all cheated and are PAYING SOMETHING THAT WOULD GUARANTEE TO DEPRECIATE REGARDLESS OF WHAT BRANDS OF CAR YOU ARE BUYING!

• give me free also i dont want

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11