Top Gear begins global public auditions for new host

chris-evans-top-gear

No sooner than being cast as Top Gear‘s new lead presenter; British radio and TV personality Chris Evans has announced the start of public auditions to replace current hosts James May and Richard Hammond, who are officially leaving the show following the departure of Jeremy Clarkson.

“The way Richard and James were found was by auditioning,” Evans said, “so what we’re going to do is hold auditions. Not just for famous people, ex-famous people, up-and-coming famous people, but for people who are watching the show.

“Male, female, old, young, it doesn’t matter. The one thing that does matter is that you’ve got to have a real appetite for cars, and you’ve got to know something about cars.”

And it really is open to the public – you don’t have to be an established presenter to apply for the job; heck, you don’t even need to be from the UK to be eligible to submit. “You can be a mechanic, you can be an amateur racing car driver, you can be a guy who’s a fireman but who’s been building his own Land Rover in his shed for five years, but you’ve got to know about cars.”

jeremy-clarkson-richard-hammond-james-may-top-gear

Participants have to be at least 16 years old, and must submit a video recording of themselves under 30 seconds long. “It should just be you, to camera from the waist up. No stunts, no gimmicks, just you talking to camera.”

Shortlisted candidates will then be invited to a live audition with Evans and the production team. “It’s all a big open book,” he said. “Top Gear has benefitted from the audition process, and we think that can happen again. You must know at least as much as me, preferably more than me, about cars.”

One proviso, however – Evans said that there was “no guarantee” that a member of the public would be given the gig, adding that the appointment will “only happen if there’s anything good.” Details on submissions will be released later today.

So, budding hosts, do you think you have what it takes? It seems a bit odd to be writing this, but if you have always dreamed to be a Top Gear presenter, now is as good a time as any.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anti-pati on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:17 am

Sam Loo, go and sell your Toyota to the BBC fellas. If you manage, I’ll buy Toyota forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • George Abdul on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:44 am

Don’t forget add Ah Beng so he can too sell Proton at Global helping Tun promote!

Proton quality = BMW and Volvo
      Let the world know about this statement.

• torsto on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Only retard dun understand and generalize the statement

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 19, 2015 at 2:33 pm

It isn’t easy to work in the UK, the winter could be torturing. I have big chance if I try… because I only comment on facts.

• UMW Mampus on Jun 19, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Toyota is actually not a bad car and it can sell worldwide. Back in Malaysia………….. we have UMW like zombies who take out everything from it and hooollaaa… here I present you empty UMW cars but I make a lot of profit.

• silent_hill on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:36 am

I vote for Paul Tan, Harvinder and Hefriz to try out for the audition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Doubt they will hire a non-Brit-caucasian to host the program. Really wondering they’re intentions on posting this out to the world.

The antics and chemistry of the ex-presenters are the main reasons why top gear works, not the cars.

• Cabinet reshuffle on Jun 19, 2015 at 3:24 pm

The Gemen of M’sia is considering to showcase our local antics worldwide with
      1. Ahmad “Nasi goreng” Mazlan
      2. “Big foot” Mokhtar
      3. Kerismuddin

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:46 am

Sam Loo should audition to become the resident RV expert.

• This is not Top Gear anymore

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Sam Loo, go la!

Side note, I don’t know, Clarkson could pull of sarcasm with a straight face… This guy…?

• lol that is seriously the final nail in TG’s coffin

• akulesapelagi on Jun 19, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Dear paultan.org administrators, send you CV now…