VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz GLC – closer look at new SUV

The big news this week has been the world premiere of the new Mercedes-Benz GLC. The second generation of the Tristar’s premium compact SUV (née GLK) trades its predecessor’s ultra-boxy styling for a sleeker, more rounded appearance, and will be available with right-hand drive for the first time – finally giving those who drive on the correct side of the road a credible alternative to the BMW X3 and Audi Q5.

To showcase the new car, Mercedes has prepared a little video running through some of the main characteristics, from the handsome GLA-plus looks to the sumptuous C-Class-style interior; the latter is claimed to have “substantially more space” whether in front, at the rear, or in the boot. Also touched upon are the improved powertrains, better aerodynamic efficiency and the lighter construction.

Available in standard, off-road and AMG Line variants, the GLC will be powered by either a 170 hp (GLC 220 d) or 204 hp (GLC 250 d) 2.1 litre turbodiesel, a 211 hp (GLC 250) or 241 hp (GLC 300) 2.0 litre turbo petrol or a 2.0 litre turbo petrol-electric hybrid (GLC 350 e) that will return a fuel consumption figure of just 2.6 litres per 100 km. Sales will commence in September, so we’re expecting a Malaysian launch sometime next year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• myvisport on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Boring car. Myvi can tarpau anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
    • Porsche owner on Jun 19, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Myvi can not I think, but my Macan definitely can tarpau this GLC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Otak Udang on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:08 pm

This Merc comes with 10 airbags. High time the cheats at UMW also think about giving Toyotas minimum 10 airbags. Cheap RM39k Picanto also can give 6 airbags

In UK, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features.

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

No idea why Toyota UMW does not follow MBM. Even the C and E class here also got 10 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Otak Udang Mmg Buduh on Jun 20, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Eh.. this article talk about merc or toyota? if you have grudges against toyota.. wait lah till any toyota related article come up.
          Or are you a-hyundai-kia salesman? cari makan by ‘kutuk’ing other brand?

anyway – another great product by Merc. any indicative price yet? do we get hybrid diesel version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Get a life on Jun 19, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Dei, go get a life lah…

• Tapau lah. When u reach the 5 star hotel first you’ll drive to the workers’ lot while the benz owner pulls up at the lobby. make sure your uniform is not messy when you greet him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 20, 2015 at 11:46 am

Like i said earlier, this car has no RV and rich one like me go for Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • karam singh on Jun 21, 2015 at 12:47 am

Lexus also have low RV

• iiAMGPackage on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:55 am

Lol, even the rich won’t go close to Lexus because it’s a Toyota. They go for something that is not a Toyota like a Bentley, Jaguar, Range Rover, Porsche, Infiniti, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • iiAMGPackageISSTUPID on Jun 21, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Your are talking nonsense!!!
          Bentley= VW
          Jaguar= Tata
          Range Rover= Tata
          Porsche= VW
          Infiniti= Nissan
          All the brand you mentioned is for cheapskate.

• karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:07 am

the Lamborghini/Bugatti/Audi & Ducati also under VW group..
            cheapskate ? really ?

• For you think Audi is not VW, first you have to recognize that Lexus is not a Toyota. You can’t have a separate rules for Lexus and Audi.

• iiAMGPackage on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:49 am

*Myvi’s are more boring to drive. It’s a fact, not my opinion.

• Jimmy on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Promising.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:16 am

It looks…meh. I think the X3 looks better in this case and I’d certainly wanna have a look at the upcoming Q5 too.

The front end seriously looks like a C class jacked up and same goes for the interior too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • sick&tired on Jun 20, 2015 at 1:22 am

agreed! i am starting to get bored of the design! I honestly don’t think that i will age gracefully, just look at the cla & a-class (especially the non-amg version)

i would take the x3 over the glc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Mercs are never known to age gracefully. Even with older model BMW ‘s you still look at them and feel there’s something special about the design. However I think this GLK might fare a bit better with its rather staid looks being an suv.

• Same L0rr Ori on Jun 20, 2015 at 8:58 am

Nobody gonna buy this rubbish GLC and X3. So crampy and expensive. Better get fortuner TRD or Lexus RX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • LOL6767 on Jun 20, 2015 at 1:10 pm

you go ham7 la

• karam singh on Jun 21, 2015 at 12:49 am

Boooooo…
        Toyota high cc , low power.. rubbish
        top speed 160kmh only, then cannot go

• iiAMGPackage on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:07 am

Why are even comparing this crap Toyota to a well made Mercedes, it’s like comparing Taylor Swift to Rosmah if you want to date one.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 9:52 am

Can we get a closer look at the woman in red instead of the GLC

• This will be the favorite among Malaysian GLC companies.

• i always heard continental car not as last as japanese, even brand new…always got problem

• ahmed on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:10 am

those who drive on the correct side lol
    As a man who drove all his life in the left side this is quite shocking.

• Looks like a win.

Wonder if it’s going to be priced decently here in Malaysia.

• I look at the fuel consumption figures and start hating Proton more and more. You are stopping more technologically advanced vehicles from competing in local market.

And yet you are telling people how good you are and how cheap is our fuel and stop complaining the price. Open up the market and don’t treat us like beggar.