GALLERY: Suzuki Swift facelift at Tesco Mutiara D’sara

Suzuki Swift Facelift 1

The facelifted Suzuki Swift has made its first local appearance in the unlikeliest of places, parked all on its lonesome within Tesco Extra in Mutiara Damansara, locked and with nary a salesperson in sight. Still, we thought it would be of service to our dear readers to bring you the first live exterior photos of the updated third-generation B-segment hatch.

We can sum up the changes Suzuki has made in one sentence, so minor are the improvements – the Swift now has a new reprofiled front bumper with a larger centre air intake (and L-shaped LED daytime running lights on this top-spec GLX), as well as a new LED-type third brake light. That is literally it.

Suzuki Swift Facelift 10

There were, however, efforts made to raise the equipment levels on the car just a little bit, so in addition to the aforementioned DRLs, the GLX also gets nice new 16-inch five-split-spoke alloys and a touchscreen navigation system that looks to be the same sort of locally-fitted system that is used on the S-Cross.

Elsewhere in the range, some of the GLX’s previous kit, such as the older multi-spoke 16-inch wheels and the higher-spec factory integrated head unit have been handed down to the new GL. A new GA trim swoops in to take the GL’s place at the entry level with basically the same kit (such as 15-inch steel wheels with plastic covers), save for a tyre repair kit taking the place of a spare tyre.

Suzuki Swift GLX Facelift 7

Under the bonnet, the 1.4 litre VVT four-pot has been retained, pushing out 95 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm through a four-speed automatic transmission. Safety kit also appears to have been improved – ABS with EBD and brake assist as well as Isofix child seat mounts at the rear have all been retained, but dual airbags are said to be standard across the range (previously, the GL only had a driver’s airbag).

With a new base model comes a lower entry price point, estimated at around RM59,000 for the GA, OTR without insurance. Otherwise, prices are expected to be roughly the same as before, at around RM65,000 for the GL and around RM73,000 for the GLX. A new Lagoon Turquoise hue joins the palette; other colours includes Supreme Red, Olive Gray, Bayside Blue (currently the only choice for the GA) and Superior White.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Considering that back then thw CBU Swift when first introduced was close to RM85k, then CKD RM71k. Now RM59k sounds like a fair deal for an updated Swift. Certainly will attract sushi lovers and position itself between the Myvi and the Jazz. At a difficult time like these, I need to sacrifice the new car smell and higher fuel consumption if my car than paying monthly car loans, with interest rate.

If excise duty of the car prices in Malaysia are abolished or reduced, the overall household debts in Malaysia can also be reduced significantly. Car loans continue to make up a huge proportion of household debts in Malaysia. According to iMoney’s infographic on bankruptcy in Malaysia, 25% (the highest) of bankruptcy cases in Malaysia is due to car loans. The value of the cars depreciates and therefore it is never a wise investment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • samelordupe on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Buy Vios you won’t be dissapointed, if you dun believe me ask Same Lorrrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 12:43 pm

The Swift is for mini-wannabe, especially ladies. 70k for such small car with normal engine… come on… give me a break.

However, you won’t regret if you insist for the Swift, because you will never go wrong with sushi cars.

• kzm - kita mesti bercukur on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:46 am

you complain too much. Kita mesti bercukur Negara aman dan damai

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:49 am

now Toyota sales ZERO, my ex Toyota customers are buying this toilet Suzuki also.

• sama sama on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:27 pm

based on what i see among malaysians, they’ll just spend the same amount on a better car…like if now you spend 85k on a vios then excise gone you buy camry.

• Suton on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:43 pm

This ckd suzuki will cease production in august. Pekan plant will shutdown. Suzuki malaysia automobile will no longer will be operating in malaysia. All suzuki vehicle after sale will be handled by proton from next year onwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • triplew on Jun 22, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Wondering if tied up with proton will cause ppl stay away from suzuki ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • samelordupe on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Buy p2, you get Toyota reliability. VSC vrap is not important as long as you drive carefully, you know how your grandparents drove cars at their time, no cars have those crap NCAP stars and they ddin’t involve in accidents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:00 pm

LOL.

That’s one facelift alright.

• Liam Cunningham on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:04 pm

If only Suzuki Swift bring rear disc brake and 6 airbags I think it will dominance Myvi and Jazz market share. Anyway Swift far value for money compared with Myvi thanks to high resale value. And most important factor is Swift is fun to drive

• No2Swift on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Its a faking high fuel consumption car for 1.4 litre. Mirage, Jazz a better choice… Avoid proton n perodua as thier fuel consumption is higher, no qualiy, no safety, oftem something will spoilt n u hv to repair, repair n repair. Not to forget their scheduled maintenace is expensive than foregin car makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • nosushi on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Go out from cave. Preve got 5 star Aussie NCAP, Iriz got 5 star Asean NCAP. Sushi got fatal airbags and some are moving coffins

• Almera on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:30 am

Takata airbags also involved BMW, Ford and Chrysler not just sushi cars. Just to compare stars is not enough but should compare crash test scores instead.

• This is the result for skipping morning briefing. Proton have stopped using the “cave” word in Paultan. If you reluctant to get updated, stop involving in social media. With staff like you, no wonder Proton is losing money.

• paanjang16 on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Suzuki sales sure affected after the MOU between Proton and Suzuki. Many potential buyers are afraid that they will suffer the same fate as Mitsubishi Lancer owners after Proton came out with the Proton Inspira.

I’m not surprised if suddenly Proton announce the new Proton Pantas which is the rebadge of the Swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Yep..you can to go the Tesco cashier to purchase this Swift as Suzuki does not have the funds to launch nor market their products any longer hehe.

• Jobless car salemantiger on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:57 pm

They still selling this outdated junk? But marketed as ” all new” …too bad many car magazines pomote it as “all new ” too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Jobless on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Anoter few month will become “potong burung”

• jinggo on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:25 pm

lahabao betol la perangai orang malaysia.. asik kondem je manjang.. lagak kunun omputeh tapi mentaliti 3rd world country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:52 am

No thank you. Waiting for the P1 version.

• DPCraft on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:39 am

In India suzuki= Maruti
    In future, malaysia Suzuki+Proton = Proroti ?!?

• kampungEGGpower! on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:29 am

it’s safer to stay away from mitsubishi, now also includes the suzuki…

• Wait for proton rebadge this car

• ben yap on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:58 am

suzuki should come out with the swift twincharge engine.