VIDEO: Samsung Safety Truck makes overtaking safer

You know the scenario by now, we’re sure. You find yourself on a narrow, two-lane stretch of tarmac with a truck in front of you. As you edge out to overtake, an oncoming vehicle approaches and you’re forced to fall back in line. The process gets repeated over and over until a sizeable (and safe) gap finally presents itself.

Unfortunately, there are times when a driver misjudges an overtaking opportunity – the end results being quite catastrophic usually. As a result, Korean tech giant Samsung has launched its initiative to help minimise the frequency of such an accident, particularly in Argentina, where the country is supposedly littered with two-lane roads. According to statistics, one road fatality is recorded every hour in the country.

So, how exactly does Samsung plan to alleviate the issue? With the introduction of the Samsung Safety Truck. Utilising a wireless camera embedded into the front of a truck, a live feed is channelled to the rear of said truck and projected onto a large screen, comprised of four individual monitors.

With the system installed, motorists trailing behind the Safety Truck will be granted a clear view of the road. Naturally, this would greatly improve the safety of drivers as they attempt to pass the truck in front. The cameras are even equipped with ‘night-vision’ capabilities to further aid motorists in the dark.

The firm claims that the system is fully operational with several prototypes said to have been put on the roads of Argentina. “So far Samsung has been able to confirm that the technology works and that this idea can definitely save the lives of many people,” the firm said in a statement. Currently, Samsung is working with the local government in hopes to receive the final word of approval to deploy the trucks on public roads.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Cutester on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Brilliant idea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:15 pm

should have this behind other large vehicles as well that blocks the view…like some Alphard or Estima or similar MPVs especially driven by housewives.

they are just painfully slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Jun 22, 2015 at 1:57 pm

And they use Volvo FM Trucks! <3<3<3

Volvo Truck. Driving progress :)))

• Susukotak on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Musim world cup nanti boleh buat tgk bola.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • ichihyaya on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Bravo!

• We really need this in Msia. But problem is, will truck owners give a fck, plus more costs.

• weiiskruez on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:32 am

Government will make it mandatory for all government vehicles regardless of type at a cost of 10 million per vehicle… Too expensive? MACC will investigate, no worries…

• Malaysia No1 No Licence Lori on Jun 22, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Malaysia won’t work because 9 out of 10 lorry drivers are illgal indons or bangla with no licence. JPJ know about this but all makan suap each time they catch our lorry drivers, so escape scott free.

So many road users kena langgar by illegal indon or bangla lorry drivers and then they run away. Pity the victims, always die.

So Malaysia, this Samsung TV cannot work. Until JPJ and Polis clean up their act, more accidents and deaths will occur caused by lorry drivers.

Cannot even prosecute the companies who own these lorries. Most of them well connected GLCs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Good..but which transport company would spare the expense to equip their HGV and container trailers with this…..

Take your safety in your own hands. Get a really powerful car. :D

• better safe then de.. on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Now why didnt dey think of this b4?
    Safety should be utmost priority for
    every auto maker.

• donkey J on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:41 pm

hard to pursuit myself this work in malaysia, worse of worse majority of lorry is illegal and not even safe to drive on road, Rakyat life so “cheap” like as #minister Brain

• ChrisG on Jun 22, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Pretty awesome idea. Will be nice to see how we could implement this idea Globally to help save lives. Have to start with the vehicle manufacturers, maybe Samsung themselves and relevant goverment bodies to promote and regulate a wonderful idea to save lives. Remember, it could save you or your loved one too…

• Captain Obvious on Jun 22, 2015 at 8:43 pm

If this was implemented in Malaysia, the truck drivers will be world’s most notorious trolls, they let you see that you can overtake, but when you overtake, they step on the gas. #onlyinmalaysia

• Another jobless salesman on Jun 22, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Tis is cutting edge tech and the result when u employed the best of the best..here we still boasting about eev

• kcsoo on Jun 22, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Thumbs UUPp!!!

• Some drunkers will tot the road are clear, they will just bang the truck.

• azrai on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:51 am

#Kipidap. Simple yet brilliant idea. I still remember when my late father drove in the 80’s, the lorry driver will give right signal if it is not safe to take over them, and turn on the left signal shen it is safe. The difference between old skool lorry driver (with ethic) compare with nowadays lorry driver (ketum’s affected). I respect those 80’s lorry driver back then.